Dynasty Warriors 5 Empires PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Koei
  • Release Date: Mar 28, 2006
Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 23
  2. Negative: 4 out of 23
Buy On
  1. 53
    Dynasty Warriors has long outstayed its welcome, and even with Empires' semi-cool strategic elements, the game won't please anyone except the die-hard fans that, for whatever reason, just keep coming back for more.
  2. Once again, the Empires expansion of Koei's long-running hack-and-slash action series turns out to be the bright spot amid the doldrums of endless button-mashing, thanks to some legitimately interesting strategy.
  3. I like it, but I don't love it, and a part of me is really getting tired of it. The series needs to do something else – something new – if it wants to flourish.
  4. Game Informer
    60
    If you like this franchise's simple brand of mind-numbing hack 'n slash action, then Dynasty Warriors 5: Empires will deliver exactly what you want: more of the same. [May 2006, p.98]
  5. Dynasty Warriors obsessives can be sure they're getting something as comfortingly familiar as the delicate aroma of their own dribble-infused pillow.
  6. 70
    While a fairly competent game, it just doesn't manage to add enough new content to make it worth a serious look.
  7. Games Master UK
    55
    Feels archaic, despite the additions. Best wait for Koei's PS3 output. [July 2006, p.84]
  8. This is still the best Dynasty Warriors out there, and still well worth playing, but there's just not much reason to buy it if you have even a single eariler entry in the series.
  9. Dynasty Warriors 5: Empires isn't terrible, it's just totally uninspiring.
  10. It's a return to the glorious Three Kingdom era again, and the second try at the Empire spin-off. The gameplay remains intact, but the strategy and modes also remain paper-thin.
  11. 70
    Empires is an enjoyable game, but we'd like to see it become part of the main game, rather than continue to be a standalone add-on pack.
  12. But not even building an empire can keep Dynasty Warriors 5 from feeling archaic and shallow. We've been doing this same thing for something like ten games in a row now.
  13. Official Playstation 2 Magazine UK
    60
    We're tired of the senseless bloodshed, so the core action drags - the tactical elements are definitely improving though. [July 2006, p.89]
  14. PSM2 Magazine UK
    58
    The same old Dynasty Warriors, but with a competent-yet-underwhelming strategy game stapled onto it. Yet more of the same old thing unfortunately. [July 2006, p.98]

Awards & Rankings

90
#90 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2006
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Mar 27, 2016
    9
    I miss this game the whole idea being that you can unleash strategies through the cards you get makes the game that much better. Love itI miss this game the whole idea being that you can unleash strategies through the cards you get makes the game that much better. Love it really wish the newer games had things like this... Full Review »
  2. FueV.
    Aug 16, 2006
    8
    We as koei fan, in future game of dynasty, we like to see the graphic like dynasty warrior 3, instand of 4 and 5. because the 3 graphic is We as koei fan, in future game of dynasty, we like to see the graphic like dynasty warrior 3, instand of 4 and 5. because the 3 graphic is much better and it's more realytic. however, we like to see each troop represent each number. not just 20 troops represent 20,000 troops. for example if u have 5,000 troops can koei make 5,000 soldiers instand of 20 soldiers. or reduce the maximane troop to 2,000 instand of 20,000 in DW5-E and make 2,000 soldiers. Full Review »
  3. AdamM.
    Jul 4, 2006
    9
    its a great game everything is ace stratagey and controling your officers in battle is ace. but for experianced dynasty warriors players its its a great game everything is ace stratagey and controling your officers in battle is ace. but for experianced dynasty warriors players its quite easy and vetran players can finish it quite fast. Full Review »