• Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: May 14, 2003
  • Also On: PC
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 131 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 91 out of 131
  2. Negative: 15 out of 131
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RyanM.
    Jun 5, 2004
    6
    the most horrendous thing about this game is the camera angles. it completely takes you out of the experience when your stuck behind walls and the camera's flippin all over the place. the extra content is cool, but the gameplay is what really matters. And in Enter the Matrix, the gameplay sucks. A true disappointment.
  2. BenN.
    Jun 1, 2003
    6
    Good but not for long, rushed !
  3. PS2Fan
    Jun 9, 2003
    6
    This console has reached its expiry date I'm afraid. I have played this game on the XBOX. I have to be honest It looks totally awesome on the XBOX. It plays and sounds better on the Box. You have to congratulate Microsoft for making one hell of a console. I own a PS2 and I was disappointed when I saw the game run on my friends XBOX. It blew the PS2 out of the water. Oh well at least This console has reached its expiry date I'm afraid. I have played this game on the XBOX. I have to be honest It looks totally awesome on the XBOX. It plays and sounds better on the Box. You have to congratulate Microsoft for making one hell of a console. I own a PS2 and I was disappointed when I saw the game run on my friends XBOX. It blew the PS2 out of the water. Oh well at least I have a much larger library of games than my friends do. I still like my PS2 but I am defiantly buying an XBOX. Oh the game itself is very good, with a ton of moves you can do. Expand
  4. FernandoC.
    Jan 26, 2004
    7
    Spanish comment: Pues no es malo el juego como historia... puede ser entretenido. Tiene unas graficas bastante regulares pero existen apartes interesante y que pueden entretener mucho. Pero no es un juego excelente... alcanza a pasar como regular.
  5. BrianM.
    May 29, 2003
    6
    Very disappointing! The most impressive thing about shinys work on ETM was their animated corporate logo before the title screen. Other than that I would say they used their money on thinking about what they wanted to do with the game, but didnt acually go thru with it. I'm sure the Wachowskis have only put credit to themselves on the FMV sequences seen throughout the game, and none Very disappointing! The most impressive thing about shinys work on ETM was their animated corporate logo before the title screen. Other than that I would say they used their money on thinking about what they wanted to do with the game, but didnt acually go thru with it. I'm sure the Wachowskis have only put credit to themselves on the FMV sequences seen throughout the game, and none of the shoddy graphics. Oh yeah did I mention my game has frozen 3 times when using Hacking codes. I feel like Im using a more primitive version of the game genie for nintendo... Expand
  6. JohnJ.
    May 16, 2003
    7
    Looks cool but gets boring.
  7. JoeyW.
    Jun 27, 2003
    6
    The graphics were impressive, i'll give it that much and i was eager to learn how to do all the cool moves i saw in the movie but the constant "save game" break ups interupted the whole story part of it. It seemed sort of repetitive though after a while since u go around and shoot here, shoot there, kill that police man, kill another, and then find a new weapon. the moves for The graphics were impressive, i'll give it that much and i was eager to learn how to do all the cool moves i saw in the movie but the constant "save game" break ups interupted the whole story part of it. It seemed sort of repetitive though after a while since u go around and shoot here, shoot there, kill that police man, kill another, and then find a new weapon. the moves for punching and kicking were also too easy to do for instance, just pressing triangle. it's fun when u rent it but by no means spend ur hard earned 35 to 50$ dollars on it. Expand
  8. JoelA.
    Jun 3, 2003
    7
    Although kinda short, it does everything matrix right- the bullet time, soundtrack, and the storyline are all prime examples. Non-matrix fans who like action may want to reconsider. Most everyone else will enjoy.
  9. JackM.
    Jul 25, 2003
    7
    huuuuummmmmmmmmmmmmmm....... when i first bought the game i thought that it was BRILLIANT, but now it is just gettin boring, the graphics are good, but when they r hanging from poles and goin 2 the other end i think the movement is a bit demented.
  10. MarcW.
    Aug 14, 2003
    5
    A huge disappointment. A movie about living in a virtual dreamworld and it's videogame counterpart? A sad shadow of the brilliance which is The Matrix world. The PS2 version features pathetic graphics and a truly uninspired level design. If not for the so-called tie-in story...I would not have finished it. Even that...was better off released as a straight to DVD movie...without any A huge disappointment. A movie about living in a virtual dreamworld and it's videogame counterpart? A sad shadow of the brilliance which is The Matrix world. The PS2 version features pathetic graphics and a truly uninspired level design. If not for the so-called tie-in story...I would not have finished it. Even that...was better off released as a straight to DVD movie...without any posturing as a game. Expand
  11. Feb 26, 2011
    6
    This game was pretty satisfying, but it could have been much better. For one thing, the camera angles always seem to get you killed because their facing the wrong way when you engaged in combat. Also, the first person view when shooting was a complete disaster because you couldn't move; you just stuck shooting at the people. Also, the Agents are almost impossible to beat unless you canThis game was pretty satisfying, but it could have been much better. For one thing, the camera angles always seem to get you killed because their facing the wrong way when you engaged in combat. Also, the first person view when shooting was a complete disaster because you couldn't move; you just stuck shooting at the people. Also, the Agents are almost impossible to beat unless you can knock them off a ledge; otherwise, they just kill you in some way. The amount of guns and moves you could do/shoot with were cool, but it doesn't save this game from its faults. Expand
  12. Sep 2, 2013
    7
    This was a playable game with some parts that were really difficult.The up-the-wall attack system and big levels really made it fun. What was best about this game was its presentation and story that integrated with the movies. You don't have a complete Matrix experience until you've played this game. While not everything was perfect in this on a technical level, I thought it was worth itThis was a playable game with some parts that were really difficult.The up-the-wall attack system and big levels really made it fun. What was best about this game was its presentation and story that integrated with the movies. You don't have a complete Matrix experience until you've played this game. While not everything was perfect in this on a technical level, I thought it was worth it overall. If you found it too hard, try a cheat code. If you don't like run-n-gun games then you probably shouldn't get this. I thought it was good enough to complete and I loved the levels. Compared to Ghost In The Shell: SAC game, this one didn't have as nice of camera and control. It is still better than a lot of PS2 games out there, and for Matrix fans this is a must play. Tip: Avoid Path of Neo, its worse than this one. OK game. Expand
  13. Feb 23, 2014
    5
    The terrible controls and no checkpoint system is why this game is getting a 5 from me. There's no doubt that this was rushed to release alongside Reloaded. Biggest complaint is two campaigns which basically follow the same plot. They should have stuck with one, but that's not the point, is it?
  14. Aug 15, 2011
    7
    For a game based of a movie is good, very good beginning to the end, but the thrill won't last enough. The missions start feeling tired and dull, and the difficulty gets annoying but in the good way. The weapons shakes well and the graphics are simply bland, the story is messed up, never understood the freaking series, but thats fine. Get it if you have the luck to find it.
  15. May 28, 2012
    6
    Decent game. Combat was fun and recreated movies well.

Awards & Rankings

12
#12 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003
Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 30
  2. Negative: 6 out of 30
  1. Fans of action titles are almost certainly also big fans of The Matrix, and will be disconcerted by such a pallid tie-in.
  2. While Enter the Matrix ties in really well with the movie franchise, it isn’t much of a game.
  3. Play Magazine
    83
    All is not perfect in Enter the Matrix, but for its few flaws, the game delivers what it is meant to: a very convincing experience inside The Matrix that looks, smells, and feels like... The Matrix. [July 2003, p.76]