Enter the Matrix PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: May 14, 2003
  • Also On: PC
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 130 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 91 out of 130
  2. Negative: 15 out of 130
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RyanM.
    Jun 5, 2004
    6
    the most horrendous thing about this game is the camera angles. it completely takes you out of the experience when your stuck behind walls and the camera's flippin all over the place. the extra content is cool, but the gameplay is what really matters. And in Enter the Matrix, the gameplay sucks. A true disappointment.
  2. LevitonK.
    Jul 12, 2003
    4
    This game was totally and completley rushed. The graphics are decent, but that's about it.
  3. JohnS.
    Jan 28, 2006
    10
    I liked it a lot.
  4. BonehoChane
    Jan 3, 2004
    0
    This game sucks bad. It's extremely irritating, unworthly, horrible, awful, hideous, and horrendous. The most disappointing game of 2003. I was looking forward to this game as soon as they announced they were making it. There was a heck of a lot of hype. When the game came out, I rented and thought "this game sucks!" Everthing is worst than mediocre. The controls, the gameplay, the This game sucks bad. It's extremely irritating, unworthly, horrible, awful, hideous, and horrendous. The most disappointing game of 2003. I was looking forward to this game as soon as they announced they were making it. There was a heck of a lot of hype. When the game came out, I rented and thought "this game sucks!" Everthing is worst than mediocre. The controls, the gameplay, the graphics, and the sound stink. There's barely any music. I remember I was going through a level and there was no music whatsoever. Suddenly some ememies popped out of nowhere about 50 feet in front of me and some sort of rock song started up. I hit the fire button about 5 times, and all the enemies fall over dead. As soon as the enemies die, the music stopped. There's also a huge amount of glitches. I remember I saw kid punch Agent Smith off a building only to see him pop up 20 seconds later in the level. The only thing good about the graphics is most likely Niobe's shiny red coat textures. Other than that, you'll think you're looking at playstation game. Everthing is really dull looking. The difficulty is also really easy. Try handing the control to someone much younger than you, like six. Watch the kid zoom through every level without any trouble. You don't even have to kill all the enemies. Just run right past them and they won't do anything. If I had the game with me, I could start up a level right now, run past every enemy, and run through the exit all in a few minutes or less. Here's another example of an easy mission: You are required to shoot at the front tire of an airplane from the top of a building, before it takes off. Well, this airplane is moving at an extremly slow rate and it won't take off in another 1 minute or so. All you have to do is move the sight of the gun over the tire and fire one bullet. In fact, the sight doesn't have to be perfectly over the tire, it just has to be near it. In all, this mission can take you 10 seconds. Yet another example of how easy this game is: There's a popular screenshot of Enter the Matrix showing Niobe running on the wall shooting a guy. Well if you look, she's not even aiming at him. That's right, you don't even need to aim. Let's say you have to travel down a long hall way but there's 20 guards blocking your way. Okay, now blindfold your self, and hold down the fire button. Now take off the blindfold and look, they're all dead. What about all the new footage made just for the game you ask? It's boring. Just about all of the new footage involves watching people talk. If you want to see some real Matrix footage, watch The Matrix, Reloaded, or Revolutions. It's sad that I actually looked forward to this, because I hate this game. Please do me a favor and don't buy this game. In fact don't even rent it. Expand
  5. BenN.
    Jun 1, 2003
    6
    Good but not for long, rushed !
  6. Zack
    Jun 7, 2003
    0
    This game suck!!! Especially the two chraraters.
  7. PS2Fan
    Jun 9, 2003
    6
    This console has reached its expiry date I'm afraid. I have played this game on the XBOX. I have to be honest It looks totally awesome on the XBOX. It plays and sounds better on the Box. You have to congratulate Microsoft for making one hell of a console. I own a PS2 and I was disappointed when I saw the game run on my friends XBOX. It blew the PS2 out of the water. Oh well at least This console has reached its expiry date I'm afraid. I have played this game on the XBOX. I have to be honest It looks totally awesome on the XBOX. It plays and sounds better on the Box. You have to congratulate Microsoft for making one hell of a console. I own a PS2 and I was disappointed when I saw the game run on my friends XBOX. It blew the PS2 out of the water. Oh well at least I have a much larger library of games than my friends do. I still like my PS2 but I am defiantly buying an XBOX. Oh the game itself is very good, with a ton of moves you can do. Expand
  8. FernandoC.
    Jan 26, 2004
    7
    Spanish comment: Pues no es malo el juego como historia... puede ser entretenido. Tiene unas graficas bastante regulares pero existen apartes interesante y que pueden entretener mucho. Pero no es un juego excelente... alcanza a pasar como regular.
  9. RobinV.
    Aug 10, 2004
    10
    It's a TOP game, finaly you can play the matrix by yourself!
  10. Rogue
    Aug 3, 2005
    9
    It is a very good game! It is full of action packed kung-fu moves, just like in the movie!
  11. Msquared-
    Jan 9, 2007
    3
    An awesome game with awesome visuals and awesome game mechanics, combined with a near-perfect rendition of Matrix-like effects and feeling, let down by a poor control system. The PS2 has two directional controls on the controller, yet Enter the Matrix uses the L2 and R2 buttons to control "strafing" (moving sideways without changing the direction you are facing). The right analog stick is An awesome game with awesome visuals and awesome game mechanics, combined with a near-perfect rendition of Matrix-like effects and feeling, let down by a poor control system. The PS2 has two directional controls on the controller, yet Enter the Matrix uses the L2 and R2 buttons to control "strafing" (moving sideways without changing the direction you are facing). The right analog stick is wasted on the "camera mode" control: move any direction to switch in and out of 1st-person. This could have been relegated to a single button, rather than waste a directional control (which could have been used for strafing). To make matter worst, you can't even change the controls. In 1st-person mode you are stuck with aircraft-style Y-axis (push up to look down and vice versa). This is not even a configurable option, either. The final nail in this game's coffin for me was that the more you get into the game the more you realise you need strafing to survive and to take out difficult enemies. Combine that with a control system that doesn't map easily to hand movements, and that spells frequent death for your player character. Also an irritation is that whenever you go into the pause-game menu (and you have to do so frequently to read the tips supplied throughout the game) the in-game music stops, which is very jarring and interrupts the Matrix-like atmosphere that the game otherwise maintains quite well (poor controls notwithstanding). Visuals: 10 Audio: 7 (10 for style, -3 for interrupting while paused) Controls: 1 Gameplay: 5 (10 for faithful Matrix style, -5 for poor controls) Final score: 3 I give this game three as a final score because control is critical in a real-time first-person game. Contrast to Battlefield 2: Modern Combat, where you rarely have to think about what button to press to do something. Simple controls make for enjoyable gameplay. If you can not sufficiently control your player character, you are dead in the water. Expand
  12. POed
    Oct 1, 2003
    0
    Burn 50 bucks rather than buy this game... it'll probably take you longer to light the bills than it will to beat this stinker. I thought that 5 hour games went out of style with the Super Nintendo.
  13. PeteJumbo
    May 20, 2003
    10
    IF there was a 100 out of 100 it would is get it THIS KICKS ASS.
  14. RobertL.
    May 20, 2003
    9
    Wow. This game is fantastic. Easily, it's one of the best beat-em/shoot-em ups I've ever played and it manages to faithfuly bring the world of the movies to your PS2. A helluva good time.
  15. MystakisN.
    May 23, 2003
    10
    This game is killer it has anything and everything a matrix junkie wants and most gamers will find that the game play is awsome from the kung fu to the m16s its all there.
  16. MikeP.
    May 26, 2003
    8
    If you're a MATRIX fan, you should love this game. Why? Because it FEELS like the Matrix. The green glowing atmosphere, the ABSOLUTELY AMAZING Kung-Fu fighting, the WICKED Bullet Time stunts, the awesome gunplay, the SWAT teams, the agents, the SUPERB sound effects. You will feel that you're in the Matrix, doing all the above - I did. Sure the game has its problems (clearly If you're a MATRIX fan, you should love this game. Why? Because it FEELS like the Matrix. The green glowing atmosphere, the ABSOLUTELY AMAZING Kung-Fu fighting, the WICKED Bullet Time stunts, the awesome gunplay, the SWAT teams, the agents, the SUPERB sound effects. You will feel that you're in the Matrix, doing all the above - I did. Sure the game has its problems (clearly released too early): frustrating level design, driving and hovercraft flying that would have been better left out, not the brightest AI, a camera that needs some improvements, and a mediocre plot with mediocre film footage. But if you're a Matrix fan, these glitches won't prevent you from fully enjoying the FUN parts of the game. You WILL be in the Matrix, you WILL bend the rules, and you WILL have a great time doing it. Expand
  17. BrianM.
    May 29, 2003
    6
    Very disappointing! The most impressive thing about shinys work on ETM was their animated corporate logo before the title screen. Other than that I would say they used their money on thinking about what they wanted to do with the game, but didnt acually go thru with it. I'm sure the Wachowskis have only put credit to themselves on the FMV sequences seen throughout the game, and none Very disappointing! The most impressive thing about shinys work on ETM was their animated corporate logo before the title screen. Other than that I would say they used their money on thinking about what they wanted to do with the game, but didnt acually go thru with it. I'm sure the Wachowskis have only put credit to themselves on the FMV sequences seen throughout the game, and none of the shoddy graphics. Oh yeah did I mention my game has frozen 3 times when using Hacking codes. I feel like Im using a more primitive version of the game genie for nintendo... Expand
  18. Tim
    May 9, 2003
    10
    It looks like a really cool, fun, intersting game.
  19. EricC.
    Jun 11, 2003
    8
    I feel that if this game had come out before "Max Payne", the reviews would be higher. "Enter the Matrix" may not be the first game to give players the option of bullet-time, but it uses it perfectly. This game is a lot of fun to play, and the fighting system gives the player many cool-looking combos. If you're a Matrix fan, you HAVE to play this game, not just for the intertwining I feel that if this game had come out before "Max Payne", the reviews would be higher. "Enter the Matrix" may not be the first game to give players the option of bullet-time, but it uses it perfectly. This game is a lot of fun to play, and the fighting system gives the player many cool-looking combos. If you're a Matrix fan, you HAVE to play this game, not just for the intertwining story, but because it really makes you feel like you're playing in the movie. Many elements, such as control, graphics, and sound hold up very well. However, I could have done without the last level, onboard the Logos. It felt like the makers just wanted the game to end. While the game was fun to play, some areas felt rushed, and given the amount of money, time, and effort put into the game, I feel the gameplay should have been improved in some areas. Rent it before you decide to buy it. Let's hope Ubi Soft can out-do Atari in the sequel. Expand
  20. N.C.
    Jun 4, 2003
    9
    I really love this game. there is only a few minor flaws. 1) not enough fighting combos. 2) to much losing a mission because you dont help your defenseless allies.
  21. AssKicker
    Jun 7, 2003
    10
    This game is the dog's b*llocks.Simple as that.
  22. RicardoC.
    Jul 4, 2003
    9
    This is definitely one of the best RPG games I have played in a long time. I look forward to playing another series of this game.
  23. LofriD.
    Aug 9, 2003
    10
    Awesome.
  24. JohnY.
    Sep 8, 2003
    10
    Best game in the world because it has focus. Yanni
  25. Genie
    Mar 17, 2003
    9
    This game is great! The best for the sci-fi fan. The driving and shooting is fantasic!
  26. DenisY.
    Apr 24, 2003
    10
    This has to be 1 of the best games u can do eney think and evey thing u break and bend the games rules never has a game been like this 1.
  27. JohnJ.
    May 16, 2003
    7
    Looks cool but gets boring.
  28. Neo
    May 17, 2003
    8
    This game is a kick ass game. It's has every thing action game needs. Enter the Matrix has awesome gunplay and spectacular martial arts.
  29. SeanD.
    May 20, 2003
    4
    For all the hype that Enter the Matrix was about, I can easily say that I was a little more then disappointed. After seeing many jagged and rough edged screenshots, I thought the game might not be that good, yet all the previews seemed to say different. I was VERY tempted to pick up the game the day it came out but decided (thankfully) to wait until I rented it. After paying $6, I have to For all the hype that Enter the Matrix was about, I can easily say that I was a little more then disappointed. After seeing many jagged and rough edged screenshots, I thought the game might not be that good, yet all the previews seemed to say different. I was VERY tempted to pick up the game the day it came out but decided (thankfully) to wait until I rented it. After paying $6, I have to admit that I am disappointed. The graphics are not as good as I had heard. There are many jagged edges and the dynamic lighting is not even that much to write home about. The cutscenes are poorly done, especially the "transitions" from the matrix to reality, I swear that it looks like your character is dying. The movements are blocky and forced, it seems quite rushed. The sound is excellent, there are no arguements here. The voice acting is great and sound effects are superb. The gameplay is INCREDIBLE for the first 30 minutes, then you realise that you will find yourself doing the same moves over and over and over......yeah, not as exciting as it sounds. Using bullet time (or the aptly named focus) is where things get a little interesting, more moves open up, but you will realise that soon enough they will get repetitive as well. One of the worst things here I find is the camera. While at times it really works for you (like it should) once you get into fights with multiple enemies it really tends to jump around, blocking out all of your enemies so you are really guessing where they are and what you are doing. The camera could really use ALOT of work. The moves in the game are incredible to watch however, the first time you pull one of the three (maybe 4) disarm moves its really cool to watch, however which disarm you pull is random. Thats also the same with the rest of the moves, they are entirely random, however, they are cool to watch. Unfortunately, it also gets rather boring. If anything is the high point of the game (apart from the sound) its the extra movies added into the game. While I am not sure if I could say over an hour extra footage has been shot, it is pretty neat seeing things in the game that lead up to scenes in the movie. THey also have the movie quality and fit together well. If you are a complete Matrix fanboy (or girl) and absolutely MUST have everything thats Matrix related, then I guess you should pick it up (that is, if you havn't already). If you are just a gamer and was REALLY looking forward to the game coming out but are not completely in love with the game, then I suggest you at least rent the game first, that way you will know for sure if you really want it for not. Personally, I am VERY glad I rented it first so I didn't waste $80 (Can) on something I don't really like. Don't listen to the hype.....thats all it is. I gave it a 4 because I was expecting soo much (a la hype) and actually got so little. Expand
  30. MattR.
    May 22, 2003
    10
    Very Good Game ist just badd to the bone how you can hack the matrix and drop guns into the matrix.
  31. IsaacS.
    May 23, 2003
    10
    This is the best game! It kicks ass! It has the best martial arts of any game and goes in and out of the movie to urge you to go see Matrix Reloaded. The best part is the FOCUS. You can do real moves like running across walls.
  32. T.Anderson
    May 25, 2003
    4
    Guys, it really, REALLY, pains me to do this. I am THE Matrix fan - co-workers call me "Neo" for Pete's sake. But please, PLEASE, rent this game before you buy it. You might read a lot of reviews where people complain about jagged edges in graphics, or unimaginative level design, or long-term replay value, or how easy it was to beat the game in 6.2 hours or less, and you might just Guys, it really, REALLY, pains me to do this. I am THE Matrix fan - co-workers call me "Neo" for Pete's sake. But please, PLEASE, rent this game before you buy it. You might read a lot of reviews where people complain about jagged edges in graphics, or unimaginative level design, or long-term replay value, or how easy it was to beat the game in 6.2 hours or less, and you might just think they are whiners. Well, they are. Get a life. But the truth is, the game just plain falls short. When you first jump in, you are awestruck by all the cool maneuvers (I love bouncing off of a wall in bullet-time and doing a sping-kick into some dude's jaw), and the immersion in the movie that you experience when you realize that you are participating in a scene that builds up to one in the movie. I couldn't wait to email my friends about how coold the game was. But the truth is, if this game was not about a movie I absolutely love, I wouldn't give it the time of day. I really, truly, want to say nice things, and the game certainly is not without it's VERY cool elements, but in the end, I am sure the developers of the game are saying to management, "Just give us a couple more months, and we can make this game REALLY cool (and with a lot fewer bugs)." At least I hope they are saying that. If this is really the best they can do, then they really need to consider a career in custodial engineering. I'm trying not to be distasteful, but guys, please, can we not have my character die for some esoteric reason that is not explained until I have gone through the same painful death 72 times? Just a little continuity would be swell. Yes, the game is still really bug-ridden. Yes, a lot of time was taken to make the bullet-time scenes look outrageously cool, but Barney Rubble looks more natural climbing a ladder than Niobe. And what the heck is up with the contrived, amateurish driving scene? I don't know if there are more to come, but I hope not! I feel like one of those angry grunts that lives in the basement while his mom still cuts the crusts off of his sandwiches, but this game just falls dramatically short of the vision. I'm actually even embarrassed to be one of those goofballs that writes a cranky review, but I really feel like somebody should know! Everybody involved in the Matrix franchise is still going to make a lot of money from this game, but really, truly, they could have made a lot more if the story-telling in the game was a fraction of what the story-telling in the movies have been thus far. I might play this game through to the end, just to get more peeks at the extra footage, but every time the game asks me "Do you want to jack in again?" after I have died for one of the said, esoteric reasons, I really do ask myself, "Do I? Do I really?" Please, don't do this to the fans again. Collapse
  33. NickF.
    May 26, 2003
    10
    This game is the best game i have ever played.
  34. Vin
    May 28, 2003
    9
    The game itself was great. I have it on playstation 2 and there was only one time where I had to quit the game because of a glitch. Otherwise the only other complaint that I had was that it was too short. I think the Movie scenes fall far from short. What other videogame has name actors in it. I mean come on the scene with Monica Beluccie and Jada Pinkett Smith, that was just great. The The game itself was great. I have it on playstation 2 and there was only one time where I had to quit the game because of a glitch. Otherwise the only other complaint that I had was that it was too short. I think the Movie scenes fall far from short. What other videogame has name actors in it. I mean come on the scene with Monica Beluccie and Jada Pinkett Smith, that was just great. The fighting was alot of fun.. I would recommend renting the game becasue it really doesnt take long to beat. Expand
  35. JackD.
    Jun 21, 2003
    10
    Wow!!!!! What else can I say.
  36. JoeyW.
    Jun 27, 2003
    6
    The graphics were impressive, i'll give it that much and i was eager to learn how to do all the cool moves i saw in the movie but the constant "save game" break ups interupted the whole story part of it. It seemed sort of repetitive though after a while since u go around and shoot here, shoot there, kill that police man, kill another, and then find a new weapon. the moves for The graphics were impressive, i'll give it that much and i was eager to learn how to do all the cool moves i saw in the movie but the constant "save game" break ups interupted the whole story part of it. It seemed sort of repetitive though after a while since u go around and shoot here, shoot there, kill that police man, kill another, and then find a new weapon. the moves for punching and kicking were also too easy to do for instance, just pressing triangle. it's fun when u rent it but by no means spend ur hard earned 35 to 50$ dollars on it. Expand
  37. JoelA.
    Jun 3, 2003
    7
    Although kinda short, it does everything matrix right- the bullet time, soundtrack, and the storyline are all prime examples. Non-matrix fans who like action may want to reconsider. Most everyone else will enjoy.
  38. JackM.
    Jul 25, 2003
    7
    huuuuummmmmmmmmmmmmmm....... when i first bought the game i thought that it was BRILLIANT, but now it is just gettin boring, the graphics are good, but when they r hanging from poles and goin 2 the other end i think the movement is a bit demented.
  39. MarcW.
    Aug 14, 2003
    5
    A huge disappointment. A movie about living in a virtual dreamworld and it's videogame counterpart? A sad shadow of the brilliance which is The Matrix world. The PS2 version features pathetic graphics and a truly uninspired level design. If not for the so-called tie-in story...I would not have finished it. Even that...was better off released as a straight to DVD movie...without any A huge disappointment. A movie about living in a virtual dreamworld and it's videogame counterpart? A sad shadow of the brilliance which is The Matrix world. The PS2 version features pathetic graphics and a truly uninspired level design. If not for the so-called tie-in story...I would not have finished it. Even that...was better off released as a straight to DVD movie...without any posturing as a game. Expand
  40. AndoM.
    Aug 15, 2003
    0
    This game hmmmm!!!! let put it into words ......SUCKS F@#%^$# c@#$ i think pushing the same exact buttons the whole time get a little repetitive i mean you have to have no skill at all its just a complete waste of time!!!! you no what i have nothing else to say about this game its not worth the energy coming from my MOUTH ...dont buy it or youll regret it.........i mean .............really!!!!
  41. TyC.
    Feb 23, 2004
    8
    I thought this was a fairly good game. It has it's flaws, but for the parts I got to play, it was fantastic. I rented it, and well, duh!! It was scratched up, so i couldn't get past a certain part. I thought the "hacking" engine was pretty fun. It was confusing, but It's all good!!!!!!!
  42. JohnS.
    Mar 26, 2004
    10
    I liked it a lot.
  43. NathP.
    Apr 17, 2004
    10
    This Game Is Sweet!
  44. RichardO.
    Apr 26, 2003
    10
    It is good.
  45. DJ
    May 16, 2003
    8
    A good effort but it seems like it was rushed. The game could definetely use more polish but the source material helps you overlooks some of the flaws. I don't know about the other versions but the PS2 game is broken up too often by saving and load times. And "bullet time" has already been frequently used in videogames so its nothing new here. So whats so good about it then? The A good effort but it seems like it was rushed. The game could definetely use more polish but the source material helps you overlooks some of the flaws. I don't know about the other versions but the PS2 game is broken up too often by saving and load times. And "bullet time" has already been frequently used in videogames so its nothing new here. So whats so good about it then? The depth that went into making this a companion to the movie is fantastic and really feels like a whole other movie. Expand
  46. Vlad
    May 23, 2003
    10
    This game is the shit! its the best action shoot em up ever, if u got 50 bucks to spare, get it. i assure u its awsome, dont listen to all those fucking comp nerds that rate this game shit because they have no life, if u just wana have fun get this game!
  47. T.Anderson
    May 25, 2003
    3
    Guys, it really, REALLY, pains me to do this. I am THE Matrix fan - co-workers call me "Neo" for Pete's sake. But please, PLEASE, rent this game before you buy it. You might read a lot of reviews where people complain about jagged edges in graphics, or unimaginative level design, or long-term replay value, or how easy it was to beat the game in 6.2 hours or less, and you might just Guys, it really, REALLY, pains me to do this. I am THE Matrix fan - co-workers call me "Neo" for Pete's sake. But please, PLEASE, rent this game before you buy it. You might read a lot of reviews where people complain about jagged edges in graphics, or unimaginative level design, or long-term replay value, or how easy it was to beat the game in 6.2 hours or less, and you might just think they are whiners. Well, they are. Get a life. But the truth is, the game just plain falls short. When you first jump in, you are awestruck by all the cool maneuvers (I love bouncing off of a wall in bullet-time and doing a sping-kick into some dude's jaw), and the immersion in the movie that you experience when you realize that you are participating in a scene that builds up to one in the movie. I couldn't wait to email my friends about how coold the game was. But the truth is, if this game was not about a movie I absolutely love, I wouldn't give it the time of day. I really, truly, want to say nice things, and the game certainly is not without it's VERY cool elements, but in the end, I am sure the developers of the game are saying to management, "Just give us a couple more months, and we can make this game REALLY cool (and with a lot fewer bugs)." At least I hope they are saying that. If this is really the best they can do, then they really need to consider a career in custodial engineering. I'm trying not to be distasteful, but guys, please, can we not have my character die for some esoteric reason that is not explained until I have gone through the same painful death 72 times? Just a little continuity would be swell. Yes, the game is still really bug-ridden. Yes, a lot of time was taken to make the bullet-time scenes look outrageously cool, but Barney Rubble looks more natural climbing a ladder than Niobe. And what the heck is up with the contrived, amateurish driving scene? I don't know if there are more to come, but I hope not! I feel like one of those angry grunts that lives in the basement while his mom still cuts the crusts off of his sandwiches, but this game just falls dramatically short of the vision. I'm actually even embarrassed to be one of those goofballs that writes a cranky review, but I really feel like somebody should know! Everybody involved in the Matrix franchise is still going to make a lot of money from this game, but really, truly, they could have made a lot more if the story-telling in the game was a fraction of what the story-telling in the movies have been thus far. I might play this game through to the end, just to get more peeks at the extra footage, but every time the game asks me "Do you want to jack in again?" after I have died for one of the said, esoteric reasons, I really do ask myself, "Do I? Do I really?" Please, don't do this to the fans again. Expand
  48. KyleS.
    May 26, 2003
    10
    I have a PS2 and this game did have some small glitches as they said in other reviewes. but the moves rock, the plot, the crazy kung fu and walking on walls, awesome, a must buy.
  49. NickV.
    Jul 11, 2003
    8
    Good game, good gameplay and good graphics i think this game deserves better than a 62. And after you win you get to see the trailer to the third movie coming in november.
  50. KevinF.
    Apr 16, 2004
    3
    Very poor game.
  51. gwGRWwGR.
    Jun 27, 2005
    10
    I WOULD GIVE the game a stinkin 16 if i could.
  52. Feb 26, 2011
    6
    This game was pretty satisfying, but it could have been much better. For one thing, the camera angles always seem to get you killed because their facing the wrong way when you engaged in combat. Also, the first person view when shooting was a complete disaster because you couldn't move; you just stuck shooting at the people. Also, the Agents are almost impossible to beat unless you canThis game was pretty satisfying, but it could have been much better. For one thing, the camera angles always seem to get you killed because their facing the wrong way when you engaged in combat. Also, the first person view when shooting was a complete disaster because you couldn't move; you just stuck shooting at the people. Also, the Agents are almost impossible to beat unless you can knock them off a ledge; otherwise, they just kill you in some way. The amount of guns and moves you could do/shoot with were cool, but it doesn't save this game from its faults. Expand
  53. Sep 2, 2013
    7
    This was a playable game with some parts that were really difficult.The up-the-wall attack system and big levels really made it fun. What was best about this game was its presentation and story that integrated with the movies. You don't have a complete Matrix experience until you've played this game. While not everything was perfect in this on a technical level, I thought it was worth itThis was a playable game with some parts that were really difficult.The up-the-wall attack system and big levels really made it fun. What was best about this game was its presentation and story that integrated with the movies. You don't have a complete Matrix experience until you've played this game. While not everything was perfect in this on a technical level, I thought it was worth it overall. If you found it too hard, try a cheat code. If you don't like run-n-gun games then you probably shouldn't get this. I thought it was good enough to complete and I loved the levels. Compared to Ghost In The Shell: SAC game, this one didn't have as nice of camera and control. It is still better than a lot of PS2 games out there, and for Matrix fans this is a must play. Tip: Avoid Path of Neo, its worse than this one. OK game. Expand
  54. Feb 23, 2014
    5
    The terrible controls and no checkpoint system is why this game is getting a 5 from me. There's no doubt that this was rushed to release alongside Reloaded. Biggest complaint is two campaigns which basically follow the same plot. They should have stuck with one, but that's not the point, is it?
  55. Aug 15, 2011
    7
    For a game based of a movie is good, very good beginning to the end, but the thrill won't last enough. The missions start feeling tired and dull, and the difficulty gets annoying but in the good way. The weapons shakes well and the graphics are simply bland, the story is messed up, never understood the freaking series, but thats fine. Get it if you have the luck to find it.
  56. May 28, 2012
    6
    Decent game. Combat was fun and recreated movies well.
  57. Oct 3, 2015
    3
    Si bien no he sido un amante de la peli matrix pero me hice con este juego ya hace un par de años porque estaba a precio baratisimo y por suerte porque los gráficos fueron unos de sus puntos mas débiles de este juego si bien para su época no era una maravilla escenarios algo pobres y texturas de baja calidad aunque los modelados de los personajes estaba bien en resumen habían muchas cosasSi bien no he sido un amante de la peli matrix pero me hice con este juego ya hace un par de años porque estaba a precio baratisimo y por suerte porque los gráficos fueron unos de sus puntos mas débiles de este juego si bien para su época no era una maravilla escenarios algo pobres y texturas de baja calidad aunque los modelados de los personajes estaba bien en resumen habían muchas cosas que no era de mucho agrado en cuanto a términos visuales y de positivo bien poco la luchas a un no estaban tan mal . Pero podemos decir que fue un juego realmente pobre en todo los apartados . Expand
  58. Jun 25, 2016
    8
    Plunged hours into this title several years ago. Remember it having pretty neat gamplay, neat controls, good characters and a pretty good story. Really captured the feel of the real film with the emphasis on the focus mode and the new abilities that were granted when you start that up. A solid game with a few great moments.
  59. Mar 19, 2017
    8
    This is a very good game especially if your a fan of the movies. I remember playing this at friends house many times, Solid game that is worth a play through.

Awards & Rankings

#12 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003
Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 30
  2. Negative: 6 out of 30
  1. Fans of action titles are almost certainly also big fans of The Matrix, and will be disconcerted by such a pallid tie-in.
  2. While Enter the Matrix ties in really well with the movie franchise, it isn’t much of a game.
  3. Play Magazine
    83
    All is not perfect in Enter the Matrix, but for its few flaws, the game delivers what it is meant to: a very convincing experience inside The Matrix that looks, smells, and feels like... The Matrix. [July 2003, p.76]