• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Sep 30, 2004
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 35
  2. Negative: 7 out of 35

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Rye
    Sep 30, 2004
    9
    Great Basketball game. Much better than Live.
  2. JahmalS.
    Oct 4, 2004
    10
    The Best Game out. go cop it.
  3. DannyP.
    Oct 4, 2004
    9
    Espn 2k5 beats Nba live in graphics, gameplay and 24/7 mode. Buy Espn, cheaper too.
  4. JohnC.
    Oct 4, 2004
    10
    This game beats live by a longshot it has great realism and it is THE GREATEST basketball game i have ever played.
  5. MikeR.
    Oct 4, 2004
    4
    Sucks!! Live is way better no wonder it costs so much less...
  6. StevenC.
    Sep 30, 2004
    10
    This game is awesome. It beats Live by a long shot.
  7. PaulS.
    Sep 30, 2004
    6
    We will do better next time. The game did not final well. Buy Live 2005.
  8. JohnB.
    Oct 23, 2004
    1
    Not a lot of fun to play and not a deep career mode. NBA Live is much better.
  9. JonV.
    Oct 6, 2004
    10
    It's awesome with a capital "A".
  10. AlexS.
    Oct 29, 2004
    9
    This is one of the best hoop games I have rver played. A few things anger me, like the fact big menn don't post up with authority. Also, the AI does some retarted things that might anger some. Overall, though, it is easily better than live nad will have u playing till next year.
  11. Kylej.juice
    Nov 9, 2004
    0
    Tihs game sucks . This game has so many gimmicks, fluffs and is not real basketball. It don't have nothing on LIVE. espn is so weak and easy to beat and has no defense its like playing nba jam. I got both of them when i played live it was hard to beat and still is when i played espn i beat the timberwolves pistons lakers and the kings in one day on superstar level. So if want a real Tihs game sucks . This game has so many gimmicks, fluffs and is not real basketball. It don't have nothing on LIVE. espn is so weak and easy to beat and has no defense its like playing nba jam. I got both of them when i played live it was hard to beat and still is when i played espn i beat the timberwolves pistons lakers and the kings in one day on superstar level. So if want a real game with no gimmicks no fluff gat NBA LIVE 2005 NOW!!! If you already got live you know what i am talking about. Collapse
  12. MarcD.
    Nov 3, 2004
    8
    The best hoops videogame this year.
  13. DanielD
    Nov 5, 2004
    9
    The best of the hoops game in terms of realism, a bit on the difficult side for beginners to get into. MUCH better than live, if you are looking for a sim.
  14. EdmundC.
    Dec 22, 2004
    8
    This is a good game for a cheap price. good graphics.
  15. KodyS.
    Dec 11, 2004
    8
    NBA 2K5 is by far the best sports game of the year. Graphics are sweet, gameplay is solid, and the Association is awesome. The only thing that bothered me was the turnovers. It seemed like everytime I passed the ball, it was picked off. I hope that is tweaked a bit in next year's version. Overall, the game rocks the socks off of NBA Live....That game is terrible!!! If you want a NBA 2K5 is by far the best sports game of the year. Graphics are sweet, gameplay is solid, and the Association is awesome. The only thing that bothered me was the turnovers. It seemed like everytime I passed the ball, it was picked off. I hope that is tweaked a bit in next year's version. Overall, the game rocks the socks off of NBA Live....That game is terrible!!! If you want a complete NBA video game, then pick this one up....20$ bucks???? R u kidding.. Expand
  16. [Anonymous]
    Jan 6, 2005
    10
    Very good, i play it all day.
  17. JonT.
    Feb 20, 2005
    8
    I think it is a good game because the gameplay is longlasting and the graphics are amazing. all the players look like themselves in the sim and the player control is good too.
  18. Austin
    May 20, 2005
    10
    I love this game its the best ever.
  19. Danny
    May 28, 2005
    2
    Is the game fun to play? Maybe. But when it comes down to it - It is WAY too easy to make inside shots... it doesn't matter how many people are in your face, if you throw up a shot with a good player it will go in - Too hard to drive around players - WAY too many steals - It doesn't seem to matter whatsoever how open/covered a player is whenever they take a three pointer If you Is the game fun to play? Maybe. But when it comes down to it - It is WAY too easy to make inside shots... it doesn't matter how many people are in your face, if you throw up a shot with a good player it will go in - Too hard to drive around players - WAY too many steals - It doesn't seem to matter whatsoever how open/covered a player is whenever they take a three pointer If you want to just have fun and play then this game is fine i'm sure... but if you're looking for a realistic experience than this is about as far away from reality as you can possibly get. Horrific. Expand
  20. Nbalive
    Sep 10, 2005
    1
    6 reasons why espn nba 2k5 sucks 1. you could never block when someone does a three pointer 2.the dunks are gay and cheap 3. way!!!! to easy 4. whenever you block the cpu you dont hear anything 5. the songs sucks with wannabees 6. the fans all look the same.
  21. Jan 19, 2014
    5
    This game has an extensive feature list and good franchise mode, but is held back by a poor free throw shooting mechanic, and awful in-game difficulty shifts. During the 1st quarter on the default 'Pro' difficulty you may make 60% of your shots, and go ahead by 5.. but then, in the second quarter, the game screws you by making you miss wide open shots while a 65 overall PF from the otherThis game has an extensive feature list and good franchise mode, but is held back by a poor free throw shooting mechanic, and awful in-game difficulty shifts. During the 1st quarter on the default 'Pro' difficulty you may make 60% of your shots, and go ahead by 5.. but then, in the second quarter, the game screws you by making you miss wide open shots while a 65 overall PF from the other team is lighting you up with 3's. It's silly, and frankly ruins what would have been a great entry into 2K's much revered 2004 sports game line-up. Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. 80
    If you already own "ESPN NBA 2K4" basketball game, 2K5 is probably not worth the dough -- prettier graphics aren't enough. The $20 price tag puts it in reach of most everyone else, though.
  2. The newly enhanced IsoMotion works just a tad better than last year but it still has a way to go, fortunately the rest of the game plays like a dream and the 24/7 Mode is even more awesome than before.
  3. It just shies away from greatness given how good last year's game was. [Dec 2004, p.103]