ESPN NFL 2K5 PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Jul 20, 2004
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 83 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 83
  2. Negative: 9 out of 83
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. LuisM.
    Aug 9, 2004
    6
    It's essentially a poor man's Madden (and I'm not only talking about talking about the price tag). I honestly cannot come up with an element of the game that surpasses last year's Madden. The gameplay is pretty good, but can still be a bit sluggish from time to time. The franchise mode has most of the same elements that Madden offers during the regular season, but the It's essentially a poor man's Madden (and I'm not only talking about talking about the price tag). I honestly cannot come up with an element of the game that surpasses last year's Madden. The gameplay is pretty good, but can still be a bit sluggish from time to time. The franchise mode has most of the same elements that Madden offers during the regular season, but the off-season doesn't offer much at all. The draft is a crap shoot because the scouting is weak. The on-line play also needs improvement. The server often cannot establish or maintain the connection between players. The kicking game is, for lack of a better term, retarded. Despite it's flaws the game is still enjoyable. The $20 price tag is also very enticing. I wasn't going to pick up a football game this year, but at that price a person can afford to let curiosity get the better of them. My only advice, don't be fooled by the rave reviews. If you've played Madden, you'll easily figure out which of the two is better. If you're a novice football video game fan looking to kill some time then I recommend this game to you. Expand
  2. AdamQ.
    Aug 4, 2004
    6
    I bought this game for one reason: Its 20 bucks. That is the only reason I dont' feel too upset I bought it. I probably expect too much because madden is done so well, but the both the gameplay and presentation aren't as good.. I went back to playing madden '04 shortly after buying this game, and i'm just waiting for madden 05 to come out. There are some kinda cool I bought this game for one reason: Its 20 bucks. That is the only reason I dont' feel too upset I bought it. I probably expect too much because madden is done so well, but the both the gameplay and presentation aren't as good.. I went back to playing madden '04 shortly after buying this game, and i'm just waiting for madden 05 to come out. There are some kinda cool ideas, where espn makes its mark. First person football is novel, but its still poor when it comes to playability. The stuff with chris berman is a good idea, but it gets boring after two games cuz there are maybe a total of 20 comments. In the franchise mode, game prep is just tedious, but i guess you can turn it off. Buy this game if you just feel like getting a football game, and aren't used to the madden series, because this doesn't hold a candle to it. Expand
  3. BenP.
    Nov 4, 2004
    7
    This game just doesn't flow well enough for me, that and I spent a whole Franchise season passing the ball the Owens for about 50 td passes and racked up over 100 sacks with Kearse(sp?). Even after all that, the only part that I liked better than Madden was the defensive line's controls, but that was only until I understood how to control it on Madden. I haven't been able This game just doesn't flow well enough for me, that and I spent a whole Franchise season passing the ball the Owens for about 50 td passes and racked up over 100 sacks with Kearse(sp?). Even after all that, the only part that I liked better than Madden was the defensive line's controls, but that was only until I understood how to control it on Madden. I haven't been able to go back to 2k5 after the first day of Madden. Madden just controls SO much better. Expand
  4. SteveC.
    Jul 25, 2004
    5
    I was in the mall the other day and couldn't decide what to do with my money. Two choices buy ESPN 2K5, or throw my money away and step in front of a bus. I should have gone with my second option. I'd probably get out of the hospital in time to buy a great game I like to call Madden. This game is terrible.
  5. Bob
    Jul 25, 2004
    6
    Reading these comments, I feel like I've woken up in a Bizarro world. This game could be considered worth buying if it came out in 1999. Has anyone out there played a game since Madden 98? The graphics suck. The Playability is like Preschool Football. Where's the challenge? Pure crap. I am however comparing this to Madden which actually takes some measure of football knowlege to Reading these comments, I feel like I've woken up in a Bizarro world. This game could be considered worth buying if it came out in 1999. Has anyone out there played a game since Madden 98? The graphics suck. The Playability is like Preschool Football. Where's the challenge? Pure crap. I am however comparing this to Madden which actually takes some measure of football knowlege to play, unlike this game, which could be "mastered" by a blind, one-armed monkey. Thanks. P.S. This game sucks compared to any Madden game put out since 99. Expand
  6. M.D.
    Aug 3, 2004
    5
    I was really looking forward to this game after reading the reviews. But after renting it, I was very disappointed. The gameplay seems choppy, the players look unrealistic, and the franchise mode is thinner than Lara Flyn-Boyle. The crib feature is interesting and much better than the all-but-useless Madden Cards available in EA's offering. But the lack of defensive player control, I was really looking forward to this game after reading the reviews. But after renting it, I was very disappointed. The gameplay seems choppy, the players look unrealistic, and the franchise mode is thinner than Lara Flyn-Boyle. The crib feature is interesting and much better than the all-but-useless Madden Cards available in EA's offering. But the lack of defensive player control, the unrealistic player models (sorry, but Dante Hall is NOT that built) and aforementioned weak franchise mode means that I will go back to Madden this year. Expand
  7. PierreG.
    Aug 4, 2004
    7
    This game is a lot better than espn2k4. But there is still a long way before you can compare it to madden. The players body is unrealistic and the gameplay is average at best. Sega made a big step in the right directions with 2k5 but in the end madden is still the best. Tapping the x button to run faster??? Come on!!!
  8. JuliusM.
    Jul 31, 2004
    7
    I got this game cause it was cheap, and I got what I paid for. There's nothing in this game that is as good as Tecmo football, and it doesn't even touch Madden. The Front End is hard to navigate, and has a lot of extra steps. The running game is too easy and unrealistic (on every setting) Passing is lame on it's own, and worse when comparing to Madden. Too much stuff worse I got this game cause it was cheap, and I got what I paid for. There's nothing in this game that is as good as Tecmo football, and it doesn't even touch Madden. The Front End is hard to navigate, and has a lot of extra steps. The running game is too easy and unrealistic (on every setting) Passing is lame on it's own, and worse when comparing to Madden. Too much stuff worse than Madden to type. Just because it's less than Madden, doesn't mean it's worth buying. Save your money and put it towards Madden. At best, this game is a "renter." Expand
  9. LeRoi
    Jul 31, 2004
    6
    People talkin about the graphics? They look like Madden 98 or something. Gameplay looks fine, but the menu, and the crib are so Super NES. Big, and blocky. The defensive control is terrible. Madden used to have this problem, but over time has fixed it. ESPN needs to focus on their whole game, not just the price. I'll be renting the next one before I buy it. It could be worth buying People talkin about the graphics? They look like Madden 98 or something. Gameplay looks fine, but the menu, and the crib are so Super NES. Big, and blocky. The defensive control is terrible. Madden used to have this problem, but over time has fixed it. ESPN needs to focus on their whole game, not just the price. I'll be renting the next one before I buy it. It could be worth buying after a few more years of trial and error. I got tricked into buying it ($20.00) My mistake. I'm waitin on Madden. Expand
  10. MitchS.
    Jan 1, 2005
    7
    I really like this game but I do have a few complaints. This game is easier to pass on but running is difficult. Also it will seem like you just sacked the QB for a big loss but then it turns out it was only a 3 or 4 yard loss. All in all I really like this game.

Awards & Rankings

#8 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2004
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 37
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 37
  3. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Visual Concepts has done an awesome job of squeezing every ounce of power that the PlayStation 2 has to offer while developing this game. The player’s faces look like their real life counter parts, and everything is smoothly animated.
  2. Deep, customizable gameplay along with a number of innovative features go a long way to giving "Madden" a run for its money.
  3. For all of its excellent modes and gameplay, however, ESPN NFL 2K5's greatest asset comes in the form of its graphics. Hands down, flat out, undeniably, inarguably, this is the best-looking football game ever made.