• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
ESPN NFL 2K5 Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 78 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: ESPN NFL 2K5 is uniting fans with a coupling of the most responsive and intense gameplay and the richest multi-player gaming experience possible. Maximum Tackling brings unique on-field control allowing gamers to go for the wrap-up tackle or deliver the big highlight hit. The addition of theESPN NFL 2K5 is uniting fans with a coupling of the most responsive and intense gameplay and the richest multi-player gaming experience possible. Maximum Tackling brings unique on-field control allowing gamers to go for the wrap-up tackle or deliver the big highlight hit. The addition of the V.I.P. System? allows gamers to play friends, even if they're not there! Players are invited to show off their coaching skills in Franchise mode and utilize Weekly Prep to fully plan the training schedule, intensity, and regimen each week. Full online leagues and tournament play with living rosters rounds out the most complete online experience. [Sega] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 37
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 37
  3. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. With better graphics, deeper gameplay, a polished ESPN interface to die for and an outrageously low price ESPN NFL 2K5 offers the most bang for your gaming dollar, period.
  2. For a mere $20, Sega's game is every bit as deep, feature-rich and addictive as EA's powerhouse. I'm not saying that 2K5 is better than "Madden"...but it's just as good - no joke. [Sept 2004, p.84]
  3. 93
    Are you kidding me? This game rivals "Madden" in every way and surpasses it in feature set. Plus it's only twenty dollars.
  4. An addictive football game with awesome gameplay, although the practice mode should have been more detailed. The franchise mode is very close to the real thing. [Apr. 05]
  5. Challenging, smooth, plays incredibly well and is as accurate as you would like.
  6. 85
    Despite all these improvements, I can't help but feel that last year's "Madden" still has the edge over this year's ESPN, thanks to fundamental pacing and controls. ESPN has great visuals, has tons of new features, all kinds of new animations, ... but the same gooey controls - they're just not as responsive as "Madden"'s.
  7. It's worth pointing out that most of these new options simply add a layer of polish to preexisting aspects of the game. [Sept 2004, p.93]

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 57
  2. Negative: 6 out of 57
  1. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    This game defined my LIFE from 2005-2009. Yes, 4 years and this game was my most played game. The controls are excellent (the first and onlyThis game defined my LIFE from 2005-2009. Yes, 4 years and this game was my most played game. The controls are excellent (the first and only football game that makes it humanly possible to kick/punt, play defense, or call a **** play), the graphics while far from state of the art don't hinder the game's fun. The mini-games found in the "crib" are fun as hell, and the teams and players were APPROPRIATELY rated (3rd string QBs do NOT get an 80 rating, Madden.) I never downgrade to madden after this masterpiece of sports gaming. The only flaw that I found was having to play within punching distance of my older brother. Expand
  2. KhrisB.
    Jul 22, 2004
    10
    The best football game ever...hands down a must buy.
  3. MikeN.
    Aug 15, 2004
    10
    Best Football game ever made. Hands down. Those that give it a low rank are disengenuouse. Madden is a great game,..no doubt about it. I own Best Football game ever made. Hands down. Those that give it a low rank are disengenuouse. Madden is a great game,..no doubt about it. I own madden 01, 02 and 03. I have also played 04. I was and am a madden fan. However ESPN is a better game. Face it, ESPN is the best Football SIMULATOR. And those that rank it below an 8 out of 10 will never get a second look from me when I am looking for a good game review. Expand
  4. JohnT.
    Aug 2, 2004
    9
    Gameplay is fantastic!! And thats all I care about . . . Madden has options galore, franchise etc . . . but when it comes down to pure Gameplay is fantastic!! And thats all I care about . . . Madden has options galore, franchise etc . . . but when it comes down to pure gameplay and graphics ESPN rules. Expand
  5. VernonB.
    Jul 25, 2004
    9
    ESPN NFL 2K5 totally rocks! The graphics are great, and the espn style presetation is awsome. The gameplay is also good, it does seem a ESPN NFL 2K5 totally rocks! The graphics are great, and the espn style presetation is awsome. The gameplay is also good, it does seem a little bit choppy to me. It is very easy to run. Other than that there are some small glitches that I noticed. But no game is perfect. Expand
  6. BenP.
    Nov 4, 2004
    7
    This game just doesn't flow well enough for me, that and I spent a whole Franchise season passing the ball the Owens for about 50 td This game just doesn't flow well enough for me, that and I spent a whole Franchise season passing the ball the Owens for about 50 td passes and racked up over 100 sacks with Kearse(sp?). Even after all that, the only part that I liked better than Madden was the defensive line's controls, but that was only until I understood how to control it on Madden. I haven't been able to go back to 2k5 after the first day of Madden. Madden just controls SO much better. Expand
  7. BobS.
    Aug 5, 2004
    0
    This game can't even carry Madden's jock strap. This game is worse than the 989 games. I can't believe I wasted 20 dollars on This game can't even carry Madden's jock strap. This game is worse than the 989 games. I can't believe I wasted 20 dollars on this horrible excuse for a game. Expand

See all 57 User Reviews