• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
ESPN NHL Hockey Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 21 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: ESPN NHL Hockey brings you authentic box scores, overlays, stats and more - fully capturing the atmosphere of an ESPN NHL broadcast. Groundbreaking Graphics Engine ? Pushing the hardware to new limits, player models and faces, environmental effects, arenas, cut-scenes, uniforms and more areESPN NHL Hockey brings you authentic box scores, overlays, stats and more - fully capturing the atmosphere of an ESPN NHL broadcast. Groundbreaking Graphics Engine ? Pushing the hardware to new limits, player models and faces, environmental effects, arenas, cut-scenes, uniforms and more are meticulously detailed - raising realism to a new level. Top-Notch Commentary- A superstar booth features the best in the business, as ESPN?s Gary Thorne and Bill Clement deliver smart play-by-play and color commentary with situational analysis and true ESPN flavor. Got Skills? - Put your skills to the test against the NHL?s best as you compete for the title in all of the NHL?s All-Star skills challenges. Mini-Games Galore ? Including "Mini-Rink," a fast-paced 2 on 2 intense hockey experience, Pond Hockey, and enhanced skills events. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 19
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 19
  3. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. The true star of the ESPN NHL Hockey is the play-by-play commentary. Courtesy of ESPN's Gary Throne and Bill Clement, this is some of the best commentary I've ever heard in a hockey game. [Jan 2004, p.80]
  2. Bar none, one of the most satisfying ice hockey titles to grace the PS2 console so far. It really does come close to perfection in everyway and that is saying a lot considering the fact that last year’s "NHL 2K3" was at the top of its game.
  3. 93
    The finest hockey video game we've ever played...The graphics have been refined, the gameplay has been considerably tightened, the already great control has been made better, and there are several new modes to keep everyone quite happy.
  4. The best hockey game I've ever played, hands down... ESPN's goalies look so good between the pipes, it's almost scary. [Oct 2003, p.120]
  5. Owns the three most important categories this year: graphics, gameplay, and online multiplayer. This, it's this season's Stanley Cup Winner. [Nov 2003, p.44]
  6. New features, new modes, tons of options, great control and online play makes this the hockey game that others will be compared to.
  7. 80
    Once the action's underway, however, ESPN NHL is old school all the way in its approach to passing and skating, but it offers the most extensive array of moves, and everything just handles butter-smooth. For sheer playability, its controls rule.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 17
  2. Negative: 2 out of 17
  1. TuomasK.
    Sep 10, 2003
    10
    I will get this game over a month 'cause I'm European, but I know it is the best hockey game on the market.
  2. VinnyR.
    Sep 30, 2003
    10
    The greatest hockey game i ever played in my life.
  3. RyanL.
    Sep 7, 2003
    9
    The best hockey game to date in terms of gameplay and realism... bar none. EA's NHL 2004 is still too arcadish compared to this game and The best hockey game to date in terms of gameplay and realism... bar none. EA's NHL 2004 is still too arcadish compared to this game and is falling behind fast. Expand
  4. Uter
    Oct 9, 2003
    9
    This is the best option on the ps2 for a hockey game this year. The gameplay is more sim than NHL & Hitz (although Hitz isn't supposed This is the best option on the ps2 for a hockey game this year. The gameplay is more sim than NHL & Hitz (although Hitz isn't supposed to be a sim). The graphics and sound are much improved from last year, and the gameplay is largely unchanged. I wish it was easier to score 5 hole though, it's virtually impossible. It's also unfortunate that it uses such a large chunk of the memory card (you need a few megs free if you want a franchise). Overall it's a great game, but there is room for improvement. Expand
  5. JasonK.
    Sep 9, 2003
    8
    nhl 2004 has better gameplay and more realism, with being able to get into the game as a GM, and having full ability to take control of your nhl 2004 has better gameplay and more realism, with being able to get into the game as a GM, and having full ability to take control of your favorite team or creat a team. much better, but still give props to espn, still a great game. Collapse
  6. JoeS.
    Dec 10, 2003
    5
    ESPN NHL HOCKEY is a game that is well designed. With its smooth play and great graphics, I highly recommend it. But it doesn't come ESPN NHL HOCKEY is a game that is well designed. With its smooth play and great graphics, I highly recommend it. But it doesn't come close to the realism that NHL 2004 delivers. EA sports, it's in the game!!! Expand
  7. G.G.
    Sep 22, 2003
    1
    Nhl 2004 is way more fun and hardcore!

See all 17 User Reviews