Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 25
  2. Negative: 7 out of 25
  1. 100
    The game is supposed to be pure action and loads of fun, and Fistfull of Boomstick certainly delivers.
  2. It does excel at what the movies do best: making mass bloodletting entertaining as hell, and at a handy $20 pricepoint. [June 2003, p.105]
  3. If you’re a fan of the movies, don’t own Evil Dead 2 on DVD, and you’re not expecting too much from this amusing but shallow game, then shop smart, shop S-mart. Groovy.
  4. Successfully capturing the spirit of the movie and its hero, Ash, it's one of the better budget titles we've played in quite a long time. [July 2003, p.28]
  5. It's not the most gripping story we've ever come across, but it certainly isn't the worst, and if you like zombie films then it'll be right up your street.
  6. A decent little suprise. The price is right and the game doesn't suck... It works well as the only constant is Ash, voiced by the droll and often hilarious Bruce Campbell who delivers a tour de force when it comes to one liners and shlocky action hero lines.
  7. A fun little romp with plenty of gratuitous violence, witty one-liners, and hilarious cutscenes.
  8. 65
    While technologically more advanced than its predecessor, Evil Dead: Fistful of Boomstick proves to be no deeper or innovative than "Hail to the King."
  9. 64
    The game isn't bad. In fact, it's fun, mainly due to the chainsaw and shotgun action. The one-liners themselves are worth at least a rental.
  10. Ash is a great character and this is one of the better $19.99 games out there but without Bruce being on board the way he needs to be, the game is sorely lacking that special something.
  11. Mindlessly amusing at first, Fistful of Boomstick is ultimately a fistful of monotony and derivative gameplay, saved from gaming's abyss by the humor and life injected from its infamous lead character.
  12. There's definitely 20 bucks worth of gameplay here. Just don't expect a masterpiece. [July 2003, p.95]
  13. The gameplay is a mix of sloppy third-person action and even sloppier puzzles, putting the weight of the game squarely on Ash's tongue-in-cheek macho colloquialisms.
  14. There's an original story here, but it isn't very exciting, and it lacks the style and incessant comedy of its big screen brethren.
  15. Utilizing VIS' State of Emergency engine, the game is simply a mind-numbing experience. While there are indeed positives to be found, they are vastly outweighed by the negatives.
  16. It's more fun than "State Of Emergency" (but then, what isn't?) and more interesting than "Hunter: The Reckoning" (if only because Ash is a more identifiable character than anyone featured in that game), but most gamers will have to ask themselves if that actually means anything since neither of those games were classics to begin with.
  17. It's just fun enough to look past the mediocre graphics and iffy mission structure. For those not as interested in Bruce Campbell's wit, give it a rent or just pass it all together.
  18. Those who love Evil Dead will enjoy the game and the one-liners. The ending alone is worth playing through the game for.
  19. It's just too little, too late. The formula in Evil Dead: A Fistful of Boomstick remains virtually unchanged from "State of Emergency," and the new weapons and spells and license do little to disguise that the game is just a slightly improved version of its predecessor.
  20. 43
    The load times in Boomstick are really bad, taking almost up to 3 minutes to load the game up when I first started playing. It got a little bit faster after that, but not by much and still was about a 1 1/2 - 2 minute load time before getting to play.
  21. 40
    Bruce Campbell voices Ash's dialog, which should please fans of the movies, but his deadpan delivery might come across as bad acting to those not familiar with the distinct style of his character.
  22. Playing Boomstick is more excruciating than having your sphincter sewn shut and being force-fed prunes. [Shawn, July 2003, p.118]
  23. 25
    A plodding, tiresome bore. [July 2003, p.59]
  24. Seriously, you’d be hard-pressed to find a game with a more craptastic combination of graphics and gunplay.
  25. Gameplay? Boring. Get Item A to access Area B, then talk to this guy to find out where to pick up Item C. You’re being led around by the nose the entire time, and enemies just spawn over and over again... A slap in the face of Evil Dead fans everywhere. Absolute drek.
User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 34
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 34
  3. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. JoeM.
    Apr 9, 2006
    10
    This game rocks. its a total thumbs up ive never senn that good blood and gore in all the games i play i might be almost done but this game This game rocks. its a total thumbs up ive never senn that good blood and gore in all the games i play i might be almost done but this game is addicting i like it. this is even BETTER Then Grand Thft Auto Vice City Full Review »
  2. ScottW.
    Jul 9, 2004
    10
    I agree with Dave B. - It may not have the best graphics or the tightest play ever, but that doesn't really effect the fun factor. As I agree with Dave B. - It may not have the best graphics or the tightest play ever, but that doesn't really effect the fun factor. As for the proffesional critics? I've had more fun playing Goonies II for NES than some of the crap they rave about. Full Review »
  3. RickC.
    Aug 18, 2003
    10
    I bet these critics are the same guys that gave the classic Evil Dead Trilogy of films the "I don't get it..." reviews. Take your I bet these critics are the same guys that gave the classic Evil Dead Trilogy of films the "I don't get it..." reviews. Take your pencils out of your asses and have some fun, jerks! For Evil Dead fans everywhere, "come get some!" Full Review »