F1 2002 PlayStation 2

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 3 out of 10
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 9, 2015
    10
    Anyone who evaluates this game let them make sure that played a version of Electronic Arts. She left in 2002, yet another F1. This game is a product of outstanding at that time. The reflections in the mirrors, driver's footwork and attention! ... Slip Stram! The progenitor of all the games with nitro. I regret that Codemasters is doing now so stiff and serious games. I love the PlaystationAnyone who evaluates this game let them make sure that played a version of Electronic Arts. She left in 2002, yet another F1. This game is a product of outstanding at that time. The reflections in the mirrors, driver's footwork and attention! ... Slip Stram! The progenitor of all the games with nitro. I regret that Codemasters is doing now so stiff and serious games. I love the Playstation F1 2002 and F12005 / 2006 games. These are representatives of the genre. Expand
  2. BenN.
    Mar 29, 2003
    4
    I am confident that it is impossible to get away from the grid start without knocking your front wing off, and the other cars don't slow down for yellow flags when you have to, frustrating, and on easy mode you could be the Jaguar car and beat the Ferrari in the race, The slip streaming idea is brilliant though !
  3. NogaiciB.
    Feb 25, 2003
    5
    The game has many many nice details, but still causes frustration if you are a real hard core f1 fan. You can´t save after practice or qualify, or in mid race, so if you want to playa full rela race, you ahve to spend about 4 HOURS! straight. You get penalized, but other don´t for yellow flag speeding! and the AI drives really strangely around some corners (too slow) I much The game has many many nice details, but still causes frustration if you are a real hard core f1 fan. You can´t save after practice or qualify, or in mid race, so if you want to playa full rela race, you ahve to spend about 4 HOURS! straight. You get penalized, but other don´t for yellow flag speeding! and the AI drives really strangely around some corners (too slow) I much rather play the Grand Prix series for PC. Collapse
  4. PodP.
    Nov 7, 2002
    6
    There's a lot to do in this game but why do EA insist on imposing a speed limit when the yellow flag comes out? Where in the FIA rulebook is that one listed? Please dont put it on the 2003 game!
  5. ChandlerP.
    Oct 22, 2002
    1
    If you like Grand Turismo3's F1 cars, you are going to hate this game. Sound, graphic, play, handling, all junks.
  6. JamesR.
    Oct 1, 2002
    0
    What a waste of time and money. F1 2002 is slow and jerky in comparison with 2001. What were EA thinking about letting this one be released as it obviously has serious frame rate issues. Money down drain.
  7. EmilevanZ.
    Aug 12, 2002
    10
    This game is great the graphics, commentry etc is brilliant it is a pitty that it came out so late.
  8. MunteanuC.
    Jul 11, 2002
    8
    The graphics are great but could someone tell me why only i get Stop and go penalty on yellow flags. There are some other guys who are pasing or speeding on them.
  9. BlaK.
    Jun 26, 2002
    10
    The graphics, gameplay, sound and commentary are great!

Awards & Rankings

#95 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
#100 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2002
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Yes, this is another installment of a long-running series, but it is by far the best, most enjoyable one of them all.
  2. Play Magazine
    80
    This team must have crawled directly into the brain trust of Formula One racing to have produced a game this seeping with perfection. [Aug 2002, p.68]
  3. 82
    The joy of F1 2002 is that it can play as realistically or as non-realistically as you like.