User Score
4.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 51
  2. Negative: 29 out of 51
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Deadlus
    Jan 4, 2004
    0
    It's not fallout!
  2. RodneyDangerfield
    Jan 9, 2004
    1
    Maximum suckage, wait for it to hit the bargain bin.
  3. DennisE.Nyh
    Jan 30, 2004
    1
    This game is an outright insult and disgrace to the name of Fallout.
  4. PatrickM.
    Mar 15, 2004
    0
    Utter dogsh.t.
  5. Sep 24, 2014
    10
    The game is beautiful, an absolute masterpiece. It is the mark of a new genre in next gen gaming for us all. We should all learn to be like Fallout: Brotherhood of Steel, and strive to be one loving community.
  6. Dabblel
    Sep 23, 2003
    9
    its fallout!
  7. JohnnyBadBoy
    Jan 14, 2004
    9
    The poor fan boys of the original Fallout don't like it and probably haven't even played the game. This game is fun, the graphics are good. Shame on you sad fan boys ..
  8. AaronN.
    Jan 14, 2004
    1
    True a last ditch effort to save a dying company (rightfully so) this game is a mockery of the original Fallout Universe. The original used wit and humour (not to mention clippings from popular movies) that made the use of vulgar profanities funny. (exa. The bridgekeeper from Monty Python). The only thing at all funny in Fallout Tactics for PC was the clippings they had from Monty Python. True a last ditch effort to save a dying company (rightfully so) this game is a mockery of the original Fallout Universe. The original used wit and humour (not to mention clippings from popular movies) that made the use of vulgar profanities funny. (exa. The bridgekeeper from Monty Python). The only thing at all funny in Fallout Tactics for PC was the clippings they had from Monty Python. Anyways, The game blows and the only reason I gave it a number at all is due that the developers have already bashed themselves enough. I'll give them the 1 for Stupidity. Fo3 would have gorssed much more profit (about 22000 in garunteed sales minimum; which is better than zero). I have to laugh at their repeated attempt to pawn off crap for the fallout universe. I made the mistake of buying Fallout Tactics the first time... I'm sure not going to do it twice. At $100 bucks a copy, I'd still buy Fo3... I wouldn't even accept being paid to take this mockery. Expand
  9. KillianZ.
    Jan 4, 2004
    0
    A last ditch effort from a dying company, don't waste your time. It'll be 5 bucks out of the bargain bin in a month.
  10. Garry
    Jan 5, 2004
    2
    It goes between the RPGs but it all looks different. The 1950's sci-fi influence is almost totally gone. Thumbs way down.
  11. JoshG.
    Apr 5, 2004
    0
    Fallout B.H.O.S is NOT the fallout that I became addicted to back in 1996. This game lacks everything that made Fallout 1 & Fallout 2 great. For example the game has no depth when compared to the previous Fallout games which revolutionised the RPG market. The freedom of being able to play the game however you wanted has been removed, and now you are simply forced into the roll of three Fallout B.H.O.S is NOT the fallout that I became addicted to back in 1996. This game lacks everything that made Fallout 1 & Fallout 2 great. For example the game has no depth when compared to the previous Fallout games which revolutionised the RPG market. The freedom of being able to play the game however you wanted has been removed, and now you are simply forced into the roll of three goody two shoes lap dog type characters who do as they are told -where is the fun in that? Interplay has simply dumbed it down to suit what they see as a "mainstream" audience. This is a terrible case of selling out aswell as a giant leap backwards for a title that used to make some of the best RPG games on the market. I am a strong believer of the philosophy that if something isn't broken then don't fix it. I hope this isn't the new direction that the Fallout series is heading towards because that would be a great shame. I can't believe they scrapped Fallout 3 for this, what a crappy game. Expand
  12. BrandonK.
    Jan 4, 2004
    2
    Below average game. Set in a world which it has absolutely misrepresented in every way.
  13. Deadlus
    Jan 4, 2004
    0
    It's not fallout!
  14. Exitium
    Jan 4, 2004
    0
    The fact that this game was created for the precise reason to whore and abuse the Fallout name and franchise purely for the sake of profit without any regard whatsoever to the fans of the original games, the setting, or even the original games themselves is appalling and is a precise example of the demise of the digital entertainment industry. Thi habit of blatantly slapping out a large The fact that this game was created for the precise reason to whore and abuse the Fallout name and franchise purely for the sake of profit without any regard whatsoever to the fans of the original games, the setting, or even the original games themselves is appalling and is a precise example of the demise of the digital entertainment industry. Thi habit of blatantly slapping out a large quantity of games over fewer, vastly better, and dare I say high quality games (a rarity in these times) is precisely what's killing the industry, which scapegoats most of its dwindling sales on piracy, copy-protection and other issues rather than focusing on the real issue: quality. That said, this game will just be another shoddy attempt to keep Interplay from its inevitable demise, which isn't too long from now. I would think that if Interplay hadn't killed off Baldur's Gate 3 (Project Jefferson) or Fallout 3 (Project Van Buren), chances of a prolonged existence would be a lot better than they are now, as such titles were in fact highly anticipated, unlike this low quality dreck that they're attempting to pitch to the masses. Yes, it's true that console games make plenty of money, but poorly made, unanticipated console titles make a whole lot less money than highly anticipated quality titles. With the decisions they've made, you'd have to wonder if Interplay's marketing and finance people ever studied the subject they're supposedly involved in. Besides, there's other action console titles with much bigger budgets and much better developers involved. I think I'd prefer to go with one of those other games instead of some game which only purpose is to make a quick buck. Expand
  15. SaintProverbius
    Jan 4, 2004
    0
    A wonderful example of what a company is willing to do when they're in the throws of death, especially when run by someone from Titus who demonstrate nothing but a complete lack of understanding of how to nuture a franchise. It's also notable that the only preview of the game which has mentioned the actual gameplay of the game says it's pretty awful. A wonderful example of what a company is willing to do when they're in the throws of death, especially when run by someone from Titus who demonstrate nothing but a complete lack of understanding of how to nuture a franchise. It's also notable that the only preview of the game which has mentioned the actual gameplay of the game says it's pretty awful. http://www.worthplaying.com/article.php?sid=15307 Even more wonderful is that it's directly because of this game that Fallout 3 was cancelled in mid-development, which has been established by people who were working on Fallout 3: http://www.nma-fallout.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3805 So, recap. Poor gameplay, poor use of the setting, and it killed Fallout 3. 'nuff said. Expand
  16. PahaP.
    Jan 7, 2004
    0
    Boycott this crap, b/c Fallout3 got canceled.
  17. AndyK.
    Jan 9, 2004
    0
    I've previewed this game for my high school newspaper and I gotta tell ya, it sucks pretty bad! Stay away from this one.
  18. JoshB.
    Dec 7, 2003
    8
    It's gonna be good, but the fact that your world won't be as interactive disturbs me. You don't get to become a destructive warlord, or a honorable hero at your own bidding, your cast in a role and your stuck with it.
  19. EricT.
    Jan 15, 2004
    7
    This game isn't the greatest, but it for sure is a good time killer. These Fallout fanboys need to really get lives; though the game might not be Fallout 3, it isn't the end of the world. I've played all the previous Fallout games, and the atmosphere (cold, dark and gritty) is faithfully recreated. The music is top-notch for a game with all sorts of metal bands being This game isn't the greatest, but it for sure is a good time killer. These Fallout fanboys need to really get lives; though the game might not be Fallout 3, it isn't the end of the world. I've played all the previous Fallout games, and the atmosphere (cold, dark and gritty) is faithfully recreated. The music is top-notch for a game with all sorts of metal bands being signed, the sounds however become quite repetative especially the "witty" comments your characters make sometimes after killing hordes of baddies. The game moves at a really quick pace, and feels pretty much like Gauntlet set in the middle of a wasteland. A really fun addition is the two-player mode, though alot of the time the game quickly degenerates into both players trying to horde the best items. Me and some friends have got into some pretty heated debates over who gets the new minigun we just found in a crate... Expand
  20. JohnT.
    Jan 6, 2004
    9
    This graphics look awesome and the gameplay rocks.
  21. ShawnT.
    Feb 25, 2004
    5
    How sad. So much more they could have done. On its own, it's worthy of some good marks. The controls were almost instinctive, rifling through weapon options while simultaneously using stimpaks and keeping a target lock on the enemy. None of the usual bringing up of lists and lists to choose something, then having to activate it in battle, then back in to the lists to choose something How sad. So much more they could have done. On its own, it's worthy of some good marks. The controls were almost instinctive, rifling through weapon options while simultaneously using stimpaks and keeping a target lock on the enemy. None of the usual bringing up of lists and lists to choose something, then having to activate it in battle, then back in to the lists to choose something else. The graphics were of high caliber and so was the music, although it seemed to play only when it wanted to. All in all, it was a pretty good ride. As a member of the incredible Fallout series, however, it is mediocre at best. It felt like I was playing a shareware version. I kept thinking the game was suddenly going to end with a message to purchase the full version. It's too bad, really, a PS2 series could have gone on for years. After this, I doubt we'll see another one... Expand
  22. Oct 4, 2010
    7
    A somewhat good hack n slash n shoot RPG set in a Nuclear-War ravaged Earth. Would have been better if the RPG elements were deeper. There are no attributes to raise, no encumbrance limit, and health doesn't raise on its own. What you're left with is a perk/skill system that people who have played these type of games should be familiar with. Here you can spend skill points to raise yourA somewhat good hack n slash n shoot RPG set in a Nuclear-War ravaged Earth. Would have been better if the RPG elements were deeper. There are no attributes to raise, no encumbrance limit, and health doesn't raise on its own. What you're left with is a perk/skill system that people who have played these type of games should be familiar with. Here you can spend skill points to raise your health, improve various weapon damage and learn a new move or three. Aside from buying/finding loot there isn't much in the way of character progression. The economy system boils down to: "Should I buy this stuff now or wait until I inevitability find it lying around." This wouldn't be so bad if the game didn't fall apart in the 3rd and final chapter which culminates in the poorest excuse for a Boss Battle I've ever seen in this type of game. Ugh. Still, it can be a fun and mindless Action RPG about 70% of the time and is worthy buy if tou can find it for under 10 bucks. Warning: There are a lot of puzzles in the final chapter. Expand
  23. Feb 13, 2013
    5
    I really find that this game shows just how cruel fans can be. While it is NO WHERE near as good as Fallout 1 2 (even Tactics) it still deserves a little praise. I thought this game was OK. Not good, not bad. Just OK. Graphics were OK but a bit dated (even at time of release.) The engine it was using had been used by countless other titles before it and it just came in on the scene farI really find that this game shows just how cruel fans can be. While it is NO WHERE near as good as Fallout 1 2 (even Tactics) it still deserves a little praise. I thought this game was OK. Not good, not bad. Just OK. Graphics were OK but a bit dated (even at time of release.) The engine it was using had been used by countless other titles before it and it just came in on the scene far too late, making it look stale. Story was a little amusing in parts, but also felt a little flat. To be honest, this game really show how far from grace Interplay had fallen and just how much of a good thing it is that they sold it off to someone else for development. Overall: Like I said, it's OK. But nothing special. Expand
  24. Oct 28, 2013
    2
    Terrible terrible game. Thank god Bethesda took over and made things right.
    Game has terrible graphics
    Terrible gameplay
    Too linear
    Boring
    No free roaming
    Not even a real Fallout game
    Just a few piles of thrown together just to make a bigger pile of
  25. Jul 21, 2015
    2
    **** ass game. I preordered it too and oh man it's one of the few times I have ever regretted preordering a game. Save yourself the 5 bucks it's worth now and dont buy it.
  26. Dec 1, 2015
    10
    This is the worst Fallout game, and really is one of the worst games I've ever played. I could fin almost no redeeming qualities about this game. The music is the biggest problem about this game. It betrays the originals. I give it a 10/10.

Awards & Rankings

#32 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2004
#12 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2004
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 31
  2. Negative: 7 out of 31
  1. 75
    A competent and occasionally compelling hack-and-slash, but fans of the PC games won't give a damn about it, and "Champions of Norrath" is a more satisfying and more technically impressive example of the genre on the PlayStation 2.
  2. The repetitive hack-and-slash gameplay has nothing in common with the earlier incarnations of the series and will surely alienate the Fallout faithful. Meanwhile, the newcomers to the Fallout universe aren't likely to be sucked in by the uninteresting and flat characters nor the nonexistent story.
  3. games(TM)
    60
    While it may not be anywhere near the calibre of the PC titles, it does become a perfectly playable action RPG (with the emphasis on 'action') after the first trudging hour or so. [Apr 2004, p.122]