Fatal Frame II: Crimson Butterfly Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 111 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: (Also known as "Project Zero II: Crimson Butterfly") This time the terrifying journey takes you to a whole new creepy setting, an abandoned village, where you play the role of Mio Amakura, a young girl who is gifted with a strong sixth sense and her twin sister Mayu, who notices a crimson(Also known as "Project Zero II: Crimson Butterfly") This time the terrifying journey takes you to a whole new creepy setting, an abandoned village, where you play the role of Mio Amakura, a young girl who is gifted with a strong sixth sense and her twin sister Mayu, who notices a crimson butterfly faintly glowing in the sky. Mayu, feeling mysteriously compelled to follow the butterfly, chases it into the dark forest. Mio unwillingly follows her sister into the forest's depths. After chasing the crimson butterfly to a clearing in the forest, the two sisters stumble upon a deserted village. Unknown to either sister is that this lost village will become the spooky setting for yet another horrifying tale guaranteed keep you up at night. [Tecmo] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. I waited several days after finishing the game before writing this review, so that the initial enthusiasm would subside and I could be objective. Now I can honestly say that with Fatal Frame 2 we are presented with what is probably the scariest, most haunting and most unsettling of survival horror games!
  2. A wonderfully disturbing jaunt into the world of the supernatural. While the time spent with the game is less than perhaps many would have liked, this is an experience that will not soon be forgotten.
  3. Characters are animated smoothly with uncanny lifelike emotion. Not to mention that extra attention has been given to ghosts in terms of clothing facial expressions and overall creepiness.
  4. While the game isn't terribly difficult and doesn't create an entirely new mold for itself, it still manages to weave an unsettling tale--full of secret sacrificial rites--that draws you inexorably deeper.
  5. Before you get your first set of prints back, you’ll find clues in maps and diaries—even encounter the phantasmagoric—to unravel a plot with more slimy twists than a barrel of Udon noodles.
  6. PSM Magazine
    80
    Proves that skillful camera work, music and sound effects can creep the hell out of us more than a gore fest. [Feb 2004, p.35]
  7. 60
    Its hair-raising visual creep-outs and deft handling of foreboding folklore are undermined by a steadfast reliance on survival/horror-genre trappings and boring gameplay execution.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Jan 30, 2017
    10
    This is a beautiful horror game and most importantly it is VERY Japanese. 10 years ago this game actually motivated me to learn JapaneseThis is a beautiful horror game and most importantly it is VERY Japanese. 10 years ago this game actually motivated me to learn Japanese because I wanted to understand the plot. After I got quite fluent I watched the playthrough again and appreciated it much more because of all the puns as well as elements related to Japanese culture and history.

    I think it's very unfortunate when people do not get FF games because of cultural differences. I would say it's worth to learn Japanese for this game :)

    On the game itself, 2 is the most unique and perhaps most beautiful entry out of the 3 PS2 FF games in my opinion.
    1. It's quite easy compared with 1 and 3. (Difficulty wise it's 3>1>2) Camera also lacks charging mechanism.
    2. It's not as scary and claustrophobic. Except for a few levels...like the black and white chasing sequence...
    3. Colour palette is more vivid and warmer than the two other games.
    4. It's about sisterly love, while 1 and 3 are about loss of loved ones, sorrow and agony.
    5. Ending is legendary. You just have to play the game to watch it for yourself. I thought (and still think) that there is no place for songs with vocal in a game unless they are ballads, but "Chou" by Amano Tsukiko changed my opinion.

    There is a reason people still pick the original PS2 game over the remake including myself. Not only gameplay mechanism is better and characters look more authentic (because of the unnecessary face job, Mio and Mayu in the remake look artificial, almost like dolls), but the perfect blend of the intro of the song and ending movie created the most shocking, haunting and beautiful PS2 game experience, while the Wii ending does not evoke the same feeling.
    Expand
  2. JulieT.
    Jan 25, 2004
    10
    This game is soooo scary. It makes resident evil and all those other horror games look like a walk in the park. The best graphics i have ever This game is soooo scary. It makes resident evil and all those other horror games look like a walk in the park. The best graphics i have ever seen. Also has the prettiest sceneries and the scariest of all. And the twin girls mio and mayu are so pretty. But most of all one of the greatest games ever made in history of gaming. Expand
  3. KristineC.
    Nov 3, 2003
    10
    This has got to be an awesome spin off from the original FF1! I loved the first one for it's horrific surprises. Don't let us down This has got to be an awesome spin off from the original FF1! I loved the first one for it's horrific surprises. Don't let us down TecMo! I'm buyin this one too! Saw plenty of screen shots.....awesome. Expand
  4. DanR.
    Jun 20, 2004
    10
    This game kicks ass!
  5. Sep 26, 2013
    9
    Absolutely fantastic game. Creepy as hell, story deep and very flushed out, breathtaking visuals and locations and sound and music that willAbsolutely fantastic game. Creepy as hell, story deep and very flushed out, breathtaking visuals and locations and sound and music that will send chills down your spine.

    Fatal frame 2 takes follows the same formula of the first game, but improves on everything to near perfect status. Bigger area, deeply improved controls and combat, scarier and more varied enemies.

    For me, this is the perfect survival horror game. While it may not be everyone's cup of tea, for me it is perfection as far as the genre is concerned.

    Overall:
    One of the few games ever that got me scared and had me looking over my shoulder. To this day, I still get the creeps whenever I think of this game.
    Expand
  6. Dec 14, 2015
    8
    I Did not play the first game in series.but Crimson Butterfly...,it is great.
    if you like a horror game,with mysterious story and scary game
    I Did not play the first game in series.but Crimson Butterfly...,it is great.
    if you like a horror game,with mysterious story and scary game play full of deadly ghosts,it is your game. specially that you should capture photos of spirits!!for killing them.
    Expand
  7. MaikaoX.
    Feb 17, 2004
    5
    It was alright. Not much different from the first. I was expecting more from this one, so a little disappointed.

See all 40 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#33 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003
#11 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2003