Fatal Frame II: Crimson Butterfly Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 124 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: (Also known as "Project Zero II: Crimson Butterfly") This time the terrifying journey takes you to a whole new creepy setting, an abandoned village, where you play the role of Mio Amakura, a young girl who is gifted with a strong sixth sense and her twin sister Mayu, who notices a crimson(Also known as "Project Zero II: Crimson Butterfly") This time the terrifying journey takes you to a whole new creepy setting, an abandoned village, where you play the role of Mio Amakura, a young girl who is gifted with a strong sixth sense and her twin sister Mayu, who notices a crimson butterfly faintly glowing in the sky. Mayu, feeling mysteriously compelled to follow the butterfly, chases it into the dark forest. Mio unwillingly follows her sister into the forest's depths. After chasing the crimson butterfly to a clearing in the forest, the two sisters stumble upon a deserted village. Unknown to either sister is that this lost village will become the spooky setting for yet another horrifying tale guaranteed keep you up at night. [Tecmo] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. I waited several days after finishing the game before writing this review, so that the initial enthusiasm would subside and I could be objective. Now I can honestly say that with Fatal Frame 2 we are presented with what is probably the scariest, most haunting and most unsettling of survival horror games!
  2. A wonderfully disturbing jaunt into the world of the supernatural. While the time spent with the game is less than perhaps many would have liked, this is an experience that will not soon be forgotten.
  3. Characters are animated smoothly with uncanny lifelike emotion. Not to mention that extra attention has been given to ghosts in terms of clothing facial expressions and overall creepiness.
  4. While the game isn't terribly difficult and doesn't create an entirely new mold for itself, it still manages to weave an unsettling tale--full of secret sacrificial rites--that draws you inexorably deeper.
  5. Before you get your first set of prints back, you’ll find clues in maps and diaries—even encounter the phantasmagoric—to unravel a plot with more slimy twists than a barrel of Udon noodles.
  6. PSM Magazine
    80
    Proves that skillful camera work, music and sound effects can creep the hell out of us more than a gore fest. [Feb 2004, p.35]
  7. 60
    Its hair-raising visual creep-outs and deft handling of foreboding folklore are undermined by a steadfast reliance on survival/horror-genre trappings and boring gameplay execution.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Jan 30, 2017
    10
    This is a beautiful horror game and most importantly it is VERY Japanese. 10 years ago this game actually motivated me to learn JapaneseThis is a beautiful horror game and most importantly it is VERY Japanese. 10 years ago this game actually motivated me to learn Japanese because I wanted to understand the plot. After I got quite fluent I watched the playthrough again and appreciated it much more because of all the puns as well as elements related to Japanese culture and history.

    I think it's very unfortunate when people do not get FF games because of cultural differences. I would say it's worth to learn Japanese for this game :)

    On the game itself, 2 is the most unique and perhaps most beautiful entry out of the 3 PS2 FF games in my opinion.
    1. It's quite easy compared with 1 and 3. (Difficulty wise it's 3>1>2) Camera also lacks charging mechanism.
    2. It's not as scary and claustrophobic. Except for a few levels...like the black and white chasing sequence...
    3. Colour palette is more vivid and warmer than the two other games.
    4. It's about sisterly love, while 1 and 3 are about loss of loved ones, sorrow and agony.
    5. Ending is legendary. You just have to play the game to watch it for yourself. I thought (and still think) that there is no place for songs with vocal in a game unless they are ballads, but "Chou" by Amano Tsukiko changed my opinion.

    There is a reason people still pick the original PS2 game over the remake including myself. Not only gameplay mechanism is better and characters look more authentic (because of the unnecessary face job, Mio and Mayu in the remake look artificial, almost like dolls), but the perfect blend of the intro of the song and ending movie created the most shocking, haunting and beautiful PS2 game experience, while the Wii ending does not evoke the same feeling.
    Expand
  2. BenR.
    Jan 26, 2004
    10
    The first one great and this is just the icing on the cake. Scary stuff indeed. the tecmo team has done it again for me.
  3. EricR.
    Nov 15, 2003
    10
    The only reason that I am going to give this game a 10, is because the number 11 wasn't an option. I have been waiting for this game to The only reason that I am going to give this game a 10, is because the number 11 wasn't an option. I have been waiting for this game to come out ever since I laid eyes on the original. I hope this one is longer because it only takes about 5 hours to beat the first one. The graphics look great. I cant WAIIIT!!! I just know its gonna be my new favorite game ever. And the scariest. Expand
  4. RuyaT.
    Jul 30, 2004
    10
    I never like scary stuff. I was always more of a Final Fantasy and Chrono Cross fan...and I hated the original Fatal Frame. Well, there I was I never like scary stuff. I was always more of a Final Fantasy and Chrono Cross fan...and I hated the original Fatal Frame. Well, there I was at the video store and they had literally NO FANTASY SHIT LEFT! So I said, 'what the hell?'and grabbed Crimson Butterfly, not really intending to play it. Boredom got the best of me, so I popped it in. Now, I can't get enough scary stuff!I actually WANT to be scared now! This is the best game ever! Not just in the survival/horror genre...EVER! ;_; BUT MY MEAN ASS MOM WON'T LET ME BUY IT! Expand
  5. Apr 24, 2014
    9
    Absolutely the most terrifying game I’ve ever played in which the game doesn’t sacrifice gameplay. The game is actually enjoyable andAbsolutely the most terrifying game I’ve ever played in which the game doesn’t sacrifice gameplay. The game is actually enjoyable and addictive as it gives the player “Just one more save” before you go to bed element. There are 2 spots in the game in which I almost complete stopped playing as I was too terrified to continue.

    The graphics are great in the PS2 era and still holds up well today. There is lots of great atmosphere music in the game (as well as silent portion) that fits the situation and location perfectly. The music also adds to the horror experience the music as it indicated if a ghost possibly may or may not be in the room.

    The gameplay also is the reason why I wanted to keep playing even though as it’s extremely enjoyable a in a horror genre without the bloody violence. The camera-gameplay can even be used in a non-horror game and it’ll still be enjoyable.
    The few minor issues I’ve had with the game are that the player character moves a tad bit too slow. It’s good that the developers don’t have the character run but it takes a while to take from place to place with a slow paced character. Another issue is rarely, I get lost in and forget what I have to do and where I have to go if I haven’t played the game for a week. I ended up going to every single building and every single room and eventually find my way. While the game had a very few puzzles, I had issues with very few puzzles in which I had to result a guide for to understand what I have to do to solve the puzzles in which I don’t enjoy doing. I was unsure if I was missing a part of the puzzles to come back to later or if I had to solve the puzzle right there and then.

    The story comes from the awesome creepy audio voices and the notes that the townspeople left. The best part is that it’s optional and is not needed since the story present itself well in a way you can interpret the ending and guess what’s going on. The FMV are mostly used to scare us which is a great idea.
    Expand
  6. May 26, 2014
    8
    Fatal Frame II: Crimson Butterfly is and improvement from the first in some ways, and weaker in others.

    Where it improves: -Well to start
    Fatal Frame II: Crimson Butterfly is and improvement from the first in some ways, and weaker in others.

    Where it improves:
    -Well to start off, it all the Fatal Frame games, items do not res-pawn, so if you used up all your film in the first one when fighting ghosts, you were screwed. Same went for medicine, and towards the later parts of the game this started to piss me off, and rather than feel like a difficult challenge, it felt like an unfair trap. Fatal Frame 2 offers a default film that doesn't run out, but is weak. This at least gives you a fighting chance if you run out of film, and makes it so that you are still provided with a challenge

    -More interesting and difficult puzzles. The puzzles Are more difficult to solve, and actually vary unlike the first one

    -Is more scary. The ghosts are scarier. They look scarier, and creepier, and act creepier too. They can be unpredictable, and hard to see even when visible because they blend in. Where in the first game, the ghosts were blue, so easy to see, but in this one they are grey.

    -THE GAME IS LONGER!! Fatal Frame was between 4-5 hours long. This is almost 11 hours long!

    Where the game weakened:
    -Well, just as a side note, the game still has you backtrack a lot, but thankfully the game varies wile you do this. But what really hurts the game a little bit is that it's wide open, so 1/6 of the game feels like running long distances all for the sake of backtracking. This is not really a major issue, because the game keeps you entertained while doing so.

    -Some of the puzzles can be unfair. This happened twice in the game. There are two puzzles where there is a door in the wall, and it doesn't look like a door, it just looks like a wall. Unless you walk around pressing "X" on EVERYTHING in the entire room, you won't find it. I ended up searching up where these doors were.

    All pros and cons aside, Fatal Frame II is an improvement with inevitably a few problems, but it has interesting gameplay, scary moments, and creates the effects you expect from it's genre :D
    Expand
  7. MaikaoX.
    Feb 17, 2004
    5
    It was alright. Not much different from the first. I was expecting more from this one, so a little disappointed.

See all 41 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

50
32
#32 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003
15
#15 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2003