• Publisher: Tecmo
  • Release Date: Mar 4, 2002
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. I am happy to report that after many hours of lost sleep, hearing things that weren’t really there, and near fatal heart attacks it definitely is not only the most terrifying game experience I have ever had, but one of the more solid ones I have had as well.
  2. Through careful scripting, disturbing audio-visual tricks, solid gameplay and a judicious use of cinematics, Fatal Frame manages to convey the disarming sense of feeling one's sanity crumble under the assault of otherworldly influences...At least, that's what the Voices told me to say.
  3. If you're one of those gamers with a predilection for The Creeps - you know who you are - Fatal Frame is simply a must-see.
  4. A nicely done title that delivers a unique experience, both visually and gameplay wise.
  5. Fatal Frame is damn scary. For the first time ever, I not only had to play a game with the lights on, but I had to throw in another game afterward playing this to kill the mood of it all.
  6. I'm usually one to skip the cut scenes and get on with the game, but the cinema fits perfectly with the gameplay, balancing out story and action, making one just as enjoyable as the other.
  7. 80
    Injects a good dose of originality and fun into what can often be an unoriginal genre.
  8. Beyond seriously creeping me out, Fatal Frame made me feel like a wuss of a gamer: Put simply, it gets tough. [Apr 2002, p.102]
  9. 80
    One of those rare titles that benefit from being played loud. All the background noise (or lack thereof) will play with your mind to the point that you'll be taking frequent breaks to collect yourself.
  10. If you can get past the horrible voice acting and the tedious backtracking, you're in for a good scare. If you dare.
  11. Genuinely disturbing survival horror, dripping with menace. [Jan 2007, p.106]
  12. 79
    Quite an inventive piece of survival horror, managing to keep the fright up and the frustration down with a few smart design decisions and an abundance of creepy style.
  13. Fatal Frame has made me realize the company is definitely capable of producing fresh gameplay experiences that have the ability to thrill, chill and generally scare the bejeebus out of us.
  14. The enemies are tougher and more frequent in the brutal second half, but I still enjoyed every thrilling moment. [May 2002, p.106]
  15. You'll honestly find some sequences rather creepy...As far as horror-themed games go, Fatal Frame is one of the most interesting--in regard to its premise and the way it plays--to surface in a while.
  16. Miku might be doing the same thing over and over through four chapters (divided in the game as 'Night 1-4'), but the tension and atmosphere of dread that this game continually builds is about on par with that of an interactive version of "The Sixth Sense".
  17. Doesn't match the heights ascended by "Silent Hill" or "Resident Evil," but the game thoroughly entertains with its building tension. [Jan 2003, p.64]
  18. 70
    Discovering hidden ghosts and piecing together the mystery of the mansion are almost fun enough to excuse the lame combat controls, but not quite.
  19. It can't keep you on that knife-edge of expectation because of the gameplay. Although you can upgrade your camera, enemy battles merely consist of snapping pictures of ghosts. [Apr 2002, p.73]
  20. Feels quite derivative of a lot of other horror games. [Apr 2002]
  21. Fatal Frame certainly has its share of scary moments without relying on blood or graphic violence, but the battle system is so hokey and repetitive that the game's potential is left underexposed.
  22. With gameplay as shallow as this, you’d expect it all to work smoothly. Unfortunately, it doesn't.
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. CloudStrife
    Apr 10, 2005
    10
    One of the best Horror Games, or the best? Anyway it is VERY Scary even if you play it at daylight! i tried to play it once with headphones One of the best Horror Games, or the best? Anyway it is VERY Scary even if you play it at daylight! i tried to play it once with headphones and i almost pee on me!! Full Review »
  2. LissaR.
    Nov 13, 2004
    10
    This is the best survival horror game out there, especially if you're not too scared to play it in the dark. I'm a big fan of the This is the best survival horror game out there, especially if you're not too scared to play it in the dark. I'm a big fan of the Silent Hill and Resident Evil games, but this game easily blows them both away. It's really too bad that so many people have been closed minded about it because you fight with a camera. The only way that this game could have been better would be if Miku's voice actress didn't sound brain damaged half of the time... Full Review »
  3. May 18, 2015
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I do not have to say anything. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it................................. Full Review »