Fatal Frame PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Tecmo
  • Release Date: Mar 4, 2002
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
Buy On
  1. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    72
    The enemies are tougher and more frequent in the brutal second half, but I still enjoyed every thrilling moment. [May 2002, p.106]
  2. You'll honestly find some sequences rather creepy...As far as horror-themed games go, Fatal Frame is one of the most interesting--in regard to its premise and the way it plays--to surface in a while.
  3. Miku might be doing the same thing over and over through four chapters (divided in the game as 'Night 1-4'), but the tension and atmosphere of dread that this game continually builds is about on par with that of an interactive version of "The Sixth Sense".
  4. Play Magazine
    70
    Doesn't match the heights ascended by "Silent Hill" or "Resident Evil," but the game thoroughly entertains with its building tension. [Jan 2003, p.64]
  5. 70
    Discovering hidden ghosts and piecing together the mystery of the mansion are almost fun enough to excuse the lame combat controls, but not quite.
  6. Game Informer
    70
    It can't keep you on that knife-edge of expectation because of the gameplay. Although you can upgrade your camera, enemy battles merely consist of snapping pictures of ghosts. [Apr 2002, p.73]
  7. PSM Magazine
    60
    Feels quite derivative of a lot of other horror games. [Apr 2002]
  8. Fatal Frame certainly has its share of scary moments without relying on blood or graphic violence, but the battle system is so hokey and repetitive that the game's potential is left underexposed.

Awards & Rankings

86
31
#31 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 77 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. CloudStrife
    Apr 10, 2005
    10
    One of the best Horror Games, or the best? Anyway it is VERY Scary even if you play it at daylight! i tried to play it once with headphones One of the best Horror Games, or the best? Anyway it is VERY Scary even if you play it at daylight! i tried to play it once with headphones and i almost pee on me!! Full Review »
  2. LissaR.
    Nov 13, 2004
    10
    This is the best survival horror game out there, especially if you're not too scared to play it in the dark. I'm a big fan of the This is the best survival horror game out there, especially if you're not too scared to play it in the dark. I'm a big fan of the Silent Hill and Resident Evil games, but this game easily blows them both away. It's really too bad that so many people have been closed minded about it because you fight with a camera. The only way that this game could have been better would be if Miku's voice actress didn't sound brain damaged half of the time... Full Review »
  3. Feb 10, 2016
    10
    My favorite game/series in the world. The first PS2 game I played, so it touched my heart. The story is intense, read all the files you get inMy favorite game/series in the world. The first PS2 game I played, so it touched my heart. The story is intense, read all the files you get in the game, is great. Full Review »