• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Fatal Frame Image
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 44 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Immerse yourself in a world full of supernatural spirits and sheer terror. Guided by her sixth sense and armed only with an antique camera, Miku sets to solve the mystery of her brother's sudden disappearance. He was a journalist on a quest to gather research about the mansion's hauntedImmerse yourself in a world full of supernatural spirits and sheer terror. Guided by her sixth sense and armed only with an antique camera, Miku sets to solve the mystery of her brother's sudden disappearance. He was a journalist on a quest to gather research about the mansion's haunted history. As the story unfolds, Miku discovers gruesome details about the Himura mansion's troubled past. The property and surroundng area have a dark history involving grisly murders, and evil cult and restless spirits. [Tecmo] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. I am happy to report that after many hours of lost sleep, hearing things that weren’t really there, and near fatal heart attacks it definitely is not only the most terrifying game experience I have ever had, but one of the more solid ones I have had as well.
  2. If you're one of those gamers with a predilection for The Creeps - you know who you are - Fatal Frame is simply a must-see.
  3. Genuinely disturbing survival horror, dripping with menace. [Jan 2007, p.106]
  4. 79
    Quite an inventive piece of survival horror, managing to keep the fright up and the frustration down with a few smart design decisions and an abundance of creepy style.
  5. The enemies are tougher and more frequent in the brutal second half, but I still enjoyed every thrilling moment. [May 2002, p.106]
  6. Miku might be doing the same thing over and over through four chapters (divided in the game as 'Night 1-4'), but the tension and atmosphere of dread that this game continually builds is about on par with that of an interactive version of "The Sixth Sense".
  7. With gameplay as shallow as this, you’d expect it all to work smoothly. Unfortunately, it doesn't.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. CloudStrife
    Apr 10, 2005
    10
    One of the best Horror Games, or the best? Anyway it is VERY Scary even if you play it at daylight! i tried to play it once with headphones One of the best Horror Games, or the best? Anyway it is VERY Scary even if you play it at daylight! i tried to play it once with headphones and i almost pee on me!! Expand
  2. EmilyB.
    Nov 20, 2003
    10
    Loved it.
  3. FonstleL.
    Mar 15, 2004
    10
    This is extremely scary man.
  4. MarceloJ.
    Dec 25, 2006
    9
    This game keeps me in the edge of my seat, and my heart beating amazingly fast. The only game that creates this fear with more intensity is This game keeps me in the edge of my seat, and my heart beating amazingly fast. The only game that creates this fear with more intensity is Silent Hill, but this one gets really close. A must have for horror fans. Expand
  5. Dec 8, 2013
    9
    It is a 9 for me just because the other 2 were longer. It's good for what it is and this kind of game isn't supposed to have weapons andIt is a 9 for me just because the other 2 were longer. It's good for what it is and this kind of game isn't supposed to have weapons and action so forget about that, this isn't silent hill. This is slow paced and scary so it is supposed to surprise you and make you jump when it's quiet and you don't know what to expect. Weapons and a lot of fighting would ruin it badly. Expand
  6. May 20, 2014
    8
    Fatal Frame a good game. Unfortunately it is not a great game. If it were not for the following, then it would be great

    -Short. It is
    Fatal Frame a good game. Unfortunately it is not a great game. If it were not for the following, then it would be great

    -Short. It is literally between 4-6 hours long. You can complete it rather quick. However, Despite that the game is absolutely flavorful and the core concepts are original, making you not regret buying the game

    -The game does a poor job in preparing you for fights when the game gets hard. It doesn't gradually get harder, at one point it will all of a sudden be tough. Keep in mind that in the beginning it's easy. You have tons of film and medicine, however halfway through the game out of nowhere, the game decides to make everything scarce, and if you run out of film in the middle of a ghost fight, you're dead. You cannot leave rooms when being attacked by a ghost. I died several times in particular places because of this. Most parts of this game are fun, but when reaching these particular moments the game would simply piss me off.

    Aside from the two major drawbacks the game introduces it's own unique combat against ghost... Taking a picture and computing it inside the camera! The game has a creepy atmosphere, and you can feel a bit frightened even after putting the game down for years.
    Expand
  7. LouisD.
    Aug 28, 2003
    3
    Fatal Frame could have been acceptable, but the lack of weapons and action really hurt the game. Truly disappointing.

See all 20 User Reviews