FIFA Soccer 08 Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 29 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: FIFA Soccer 08 challenges players to master the skills required to play like a pro soccer player. Fans around the world can experience the same highs and lows of real-world players and tackle the challenges they face on a daily basis. FIFA Soccer 08 puts you on the pitch to defy the odds,FIFA Soccer 08 challenges players to master the skills required to play like a pro soccer player. Fans around the world can experience the same highs and lows of real-world players and tackle the challenges they face on a daily basis. FIFA Soccer 08 puts you on the pitch to defy the odds, perfect your skills, elevate your game and rise up to win glory for your club. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. It's back-to-back successful seasons for FIFA while the Be A Pro mode is really top-notch. [Nov 2007, p.77]
  2. Don't expect a revolution, or even an evolution, come to think of it, but this is solid stuff and truly excels in multiplayer. [Nov 2007, p.100]
  3. With the PS2 final whistle in sight, FIFA 08 brings it right back to the touch line.
  4. 80
    I’m willing to sacrifice aesthetics for a good kick-around any day.
  5. FIFA 08 makes small tweaks to last year's game, adds some new controls, and introduces new gameplay modes such as Be-a-Pro.
  6. The Be A Pro mode alone was worth a play-through – the enhanced controls only sweeten the deal.
  7. Considering the resources at EA's disposal, the practised excellence of their programmers and artists, and the experience of well over a decade of development, there should be more put into the game.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 6 out of 8
  1. Dec 30, 2010
    8
    Hey it's not that bad of a game. I started playing it again and it's awesome. Not perfect though but still good!
  2. MadsA
    Feb 15, 2008
    7
    Some bugs are annoying (invisible subs), lack of manager and be a pro mode makes game lack depth. Controls are different but can be learned...Some bugs are annoying (invisible subs), lack of manager and be a pro mode makes game lack depth. Controls are different but can be learned... online play is fun when controls are learned... I hope they improve next years version include what the PS2 has with no bugs... Then its a 9 Expand
  3. EvanP.
    Jan 20, 2008
    4
    I would probably rate this game higher if i had not played the Pro Evolution Soccer series. Next to Pro Evo FIFA falls short on many levels I would probably rate this game higher if i had not played the Pro Evolution Soccer series. Next to Pro Evo FIFA falls short on many levels including FIFA 08. Expand
  4. Oct 4, 2014
    3
    FIFA games in PS 2 were disaster. I played them too much but, it was just like walking in the park to dribble past 7 guys on legendaryFIFA games in PS 2 were disaster. I played them too much but, it was just like walking in the park to dribble past 7 guys on legendary difficulty versus any team with any player. Then there were some broken players, scoring everything from an angle. Even when playing with your friends, I suggest PES. It has joke graphics, but its gameplay is much better.

    In PS3, FIFA over PES all day.
    Expand
  5. JJC.
    Nov 27, 2007
    1
    I've played fifa since 98. this is absolutely the worst of the series. SO many bugs. The gameplay is awful. What were the critics I've played fifa since 98. this is absolutely the worst of the series. SO many bugs. The gameplay is awful. What were the critics doing??? Playing a different game? Expand
  6. FarisN.
    Oct 26, 2007
    0
    I can't tell you how angry i am. This game is a shame. I thought it was going to be better than ever. It turned out to be the worst ever.
  7. Ryan
    Nov 7, 2007
    0
    Just an absolute waste of time. This is the worst FIFA game in the series. I started in 07 and I loved that game. Now I get this crap. I am Just an absolute waste of time. This is the worst FIFA game in the series. I started in 07 and I loved that game. Now I get this crap. I am just very upset. Expand

See all 8 User Reviews