User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 28
  2. Negative: 9 out of 28
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 26, 2015
    7
    This is a really good soccer game but there are some things missing. The graphics are really good but the computer has a really big advantage over you. there are a lot of special moves that are almost impossible to do which the computer will do very easily. Also you can't really see everything you need to be able to pass to your players, there's a lot of different camera angles but none ofThis is a really good soccer game but there are some things missing. The graphics are really good but the computer has a really big advantage over you. there are a lot of special moves that are almost impossible to do which the computer will do very easily. Also you can't really see everything you need to be able to pass to your players, there's a lot of different camera angles but none of them are perfect. The computer will see a lot of excellent passes that you won't be able to see. It is a fun game to play with your friends. I'm being a little strict on it because it is a good game to play but those things did bother me when I played it. Expand
  2. HenryF.
    Mar 4, 2003
    0
    It's a bad bad representation of the beautiful game. A complete bastardization of the sport, makes a nice coaster for your beer though. Comparisons to Konami's WE6 are unfair, EA better stick to hockey. ps. The graphics are also c-r-a-p.
  3. PESAddict
    Aug 23, 2002
    0
    Even if you don't know a damn about soccer, you still would not expect soccer to behave like in this game. The gameplay is awful. Player models are disgusting and their faces look like they have genetic problems. Its a shame that even some of the most popular teams in the world do not have full rosters and instead they just have #1, #2 etc. There are the qualifying matches for the Even if you don't know a damn about soccer, you still would not expect soccer to behave like in this game. The gameplay is awful. Player models are disgusting and their faces look like they have genetic problems. Its a shame that even some of the most popular teams in the world do not have full rosters and instead they just have #1, #2 etc. There are the qualifying matches for the world cup, but still there isn't the World Cup. This means that even compared to FIFA RTWC 98, Fifa2002 is just a crap. You will see this game awful even if you're used to playing FIFA games. So any comparison to Konami's supreme Pro Evolution Soccer is just useless. Fifa2002 is aimed for people who enjoy tapping buttons and seeing balls travelling at supersonic speeds in the top of the net, and marvelling at super miracle saves not even superman dreams to do. Pro Evolution Soccer is aimed for those people who know what real soccer means. Expand
  4. [Anonymous]
    Jul 10, 2002
    10
    I don't even like soccer, and yet this game rocks!
  5. R.M.
    Jul 3, 2002
    10
    Great.
  6. KevinKeagan
    Jun 21, 2002
    0
    Bastardizing football. Has lack of visual finess and a very very poor gameplay.The AI is DUMP and doesn't plays like football . Every comparison to KONAMI'S supreme Pro Evolution Soccer is a joke and unfair.
  7. GeorgeP.
    Jun 17, 2002
    0
    With Pro Evolution Soccer and TIF 2002 in the market there is no real reason to buy this C~R~A~P. After playing those games i tried this for 20 min. to see how good is it really. BIG DISAPOINTEMENT AND VERY BORING . It just cant compare to PES and TIF 2002. These r one class higher. Dont buy this game because is an illusion. Seems EA spent its time getting the lisences and didn't With Pro Evolution Soccer and TIF 2002 in the market there is no real reason to buy this C~R~A~P. After playing those games i tried this for 20 min. to see how good is it really. BIG DISAPOINTEMENT AND VERY BORING . It just cant compare to PES and TIF 2002. These r one class higher. Dont buy this game because is an illusion. Seems EA spent its time getting the lisences and didn't concentrate to the gameplay (as always). The graphics aren't that good. In some occasions r mediocre and r more colourful than realistic. It offers nothing and it isn'nt even fun to play. Don't buy this game for 3 reasons. Because (1) it will disappoint u after a while, u will (2) make EA more rich and yourself more poor, so EA will think u liked this game and will keep the "good" work. Finally (3) if u dont buy this game u will make EA finally understand that its game is'nt that good and will try to make a game worth of our expectations. Besides, all of those who buy FIFA series titles for either its franchise or lisenses >big deal! For the moment keep playing KONAMI'S fantastic soccer titles or the ok TIF series u soccer fans. All of those who have played PES i'm sure can understand why i was so strict rating this game. All of u that havent played PES, u dont know what you're losing. Ihave PES since 00 and i still play it and that was the reason for me to go and buy PS2. I have also MGS 2 and GT 3 but boyyyy PES makes these games unplayable. U wil remember me when u will go and play it if u have'nt done it yet. Expand
  8. RhysD.
    Jun 11, 2002
    10
    This is the best game i have ever played. The players look so real and the game play is awesome. Gives you many options like curving the ball and power-up shots, this is what i like. i usually hate strikers (because i play as goalkeeper on weekend) but with the introduction of this game, it has made me start to actually like them. From Beckham to Henry to Kewell. They all look real and i This is the best game i have ever played. The players look so real and the game play is awesome. Gives you many options like curving the ball and power-up shots, this is what i like. i usually hate strikers (because i play as goalkeeper on weekend) but with the introduction of this game, it has made me start to actually like them. From Beckham to Henry to Kewell. They all look real and i congratulate ea sports for this. They are only going to get better and i will get their next edition of fifa (prob 2003). Cheers!! Expand
  9. ACBoaden
    May 10, 2002
    5
    Looked good at first but you cant do what the pc can in the game, needs improvements desperately...
  10. AndrewX.
    Feb 7, 2002
    10
    This game is exceptionally good, I advise a purchase to anyone looking for a really cool game. Peace out.
  11. Elmo
    Feb 1, 2002
    3
    After playing Pro Evolution this game just doesn't prove to be much cop. The players look odd. It plays clunky and i've been a fan of FIFA for years. This one let me down and now i'm a P.E.S. fan.
  12. RafaelR.
    Jan 19, 2002
    10
    Great graphics and the celebrations are really real. Buy it!!!
  13. B.Wetzel
    Dec 15, 2001
    10
    This game is the best. This is a must game of the year!!!!
  14. FredJ.
    Nov 28, 2001
    9
    I really like this game. It never gets boring and always has something new to offer.
  15. AndyP.
    Nov 10, 2001
    9
    Exceptionally good... nice graphics, different gameplay options, and muhc better than previous versions. Buy it !
  16. CalebJ>
    Nov 9, 2001
    8
    This game is much better than 2001 but one huge flaw in the game is the referee. The linesman tends to flag players before being involved in active play when the possibility of that player getting the ball is not very good. EA needs to remember one thing: PARTICIPATION!! Another bad thing about the referee is his inability to assess tackles correctly. Obvious and late tackles are rewarded This game is much better than 2001 but one huge flaw in the game is the referee. The linesman tends to flag players before being involved in active play when the possibility of that player getting the ball is not very good. EA needs to remember one thing: PARTICIPATION!! Another bad thing about the referee is his inability to assess tackles correctly. Obvious and late tackles are rewarded simply with a foul when a caution is the very minimum. Also the tackling is made way to hard, albeit I really do like the fact that there is no "foul" button I find it increasingly hard to deliver a bone crunching tackle when I need it most. But these little niggles of the game are simply overcome by the fantastic new gameplay which may not be perfect comes much closer than ever before. Expand
  17. NinoF.
    Nov 9, 2001
    10
    This is THE soccer game when you want real game-play, and the functions are amazing too. I have not played "Iss Pro Evolution 2," but I don't think it can be as good as FIFA 2002 is. This is the best game ever.

Awards & Rankings

35
36
#36 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2001
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. The best soccer game available. Despite the control flaws and graphic blemishes this game is a marvelous presentation of soccer, albeit slightly watered down for the masses.
  2. And while "Pro Evolution Soccer" could well reclaim its place at the summit shortly, for now FIFA 2002 - both for playability and aesthetically - is the champion of football games.
  3. Next Generation Magazine
    80
    The most authentic feeling (not to mention the prettiest) soccer sim on the market. [Jan 2002, p.78]