FIFA Soccer 2004 PlayStation 2

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 76 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 76
  2. Negative: 20 out of 76
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MartinM.
    Oct 30, 2003
    2
    90% of the game is scripted therefore almost every single goal is the same, pretty much all matches are the same and the overall gameplay is just unrealistic. Also far too easy to score. Fifa = Glamorised Football PES = Real Football.
  2. DavorM.
    Nov 7, 2003
    1
    You wan't realistic football? Avoid this game, I still can't believe FIFA sold their licence to a development team who has NO IDEA what real football plays like. Wrong likenesses, shoddy renders, zombie players, pointy elbows, monkey looking players, players DON'T LOOK AT THE BALL !, every longshot is a goal (40m away !) and overall the fluidity is missing, I'll give You wan't realistic football? Avoid this game, I still can't believe FIFA sold their licence to a development team who has NO IDEA what real football plays like. Wrong likenesses, shoddy renders, zombie players, pointy elbows, monkey looking players, players DON'T LOOK AT THE BALL !, every longshot is a goal (40m away !) and overall the fluidity is missing, I'll give it a 1 because those EA tycoons spent millions on the licences...3 words. Pro Evo 3. 'Nuff said. Expand
  3. TylerP.
    Nov 19, 2003
    1
    I expected this game to be wildly reaslistic. I was very disappointed. Instead the players looked wildly incorrect. You can score from mid field. I am a player and i expect the game to resemble the game i play not the game that one dreams they can play like. This game is so unrealistic it isnt fun. Players have pointy elbows and fouls look like the guy was thrown out of a cannon no one I expected this game to be wildly reaslistic. I was very disappointed. Instead the players looked wildly incorrect. You can score from mid field. I am a player and i expect the game to resemble the game i play not the game that one dreams they can play like. This game is so unrealistic it isnt fun. Players have pointy elbows and fouls look like the guy was thrown out of a cannon no one flies 5 feet into the air by a slide takle. I say these amateurs who made this some back next year witha better game and fix the reality problems of this game. Avoid this game totally! Collapse
  4. IamReallyPissed
    Dec 1, 2003
    0
    One of the worst footy games ever made... even FIFA Soccer 94 beats this piece of ****! What's wrong in this world?
  5. FredB.
    Feb 10, 2004
    0
    The worst football game ever, absolute wánk! Buy PES3 instead, it may not have the licences but what it does have is GAMEPLAY, and that is what counts in any game!
  6. BenR.
    Feb 12, 2004
    2
    Good but to easy to score and rubbish crowd.
  7. Odino
    Feb 22, 2004
    2
    Why play this if I get bored in 10 minutes, I've been playing PES for years and I'm never gonna stop.
  8. PaoloC.
    Apr 9, 2004
    0
    This game is really bad, comparing it with winnig eleven 7, USA should do better soccer games like Japan.Becuse soccer is the sport of the world not fotball,basketball,or baseball.
  9. KevinK.
    Apr 9, 2004
    0
    All the peolpe that say this game is the best ever played IGNORANTS. PRO EVOLUTION 3 OR WINNIG ELEVEN 7 rule in soccer games ok.
  10. ChrisA.
    Jun 6, 2004
    1
    I don't think this is the best Fifa game ever, and it's definitely not a good football game. Yes, the ball flys right, but if I wanted to study physics I would have taken it up for an a-level. The game gets even worse in football fusion with tcm 2004. Has anyone else managed to timewaste for the whole 90minutes and no one from the other team even come and tackle you. EA have got I don't think this is the best Fifa game ever, and it's definitely not a good football game. Yes, the ball flys right, but if I wanted to study physics I would have taken it up for an a-level. The game gets even worse in football fusion with tcm 2004. Has anyone else managed to timewaste for the whole 90minutes and no one from the other team even come and tackle you. EA have got it all wrong!! Expand
  11. SunnyS.
    Aug 21, 2004
    0
    Pedestrian paced "football" and arcade style action. Simple boring game with little ingenuity, if those little badges on the shirts, tacky music or very obscure foreign teams turn you on then this game will appeal to you. However if you enjoy fast paced, fluid, realistic football action with the addition of very DETAILED (fifa lacks tremoundously in this catergory) and accurate stats of Pedestrian paced "football" and arcade style action. Simple boring game with little ingenuity, if those little badges on the shirts, tacky music or very obscure foreign teams turn you on then this game will appeal to you. However if you enjoy fast paced, fluid, realistic football action with the addition of very DETAILED (fifa lacks tremoundously in this catergory) and accurate stats of players then Pro Evolution Soccer is the game for you. P.S Though EA have screwed up yet again at least they did better than This Is Football (if you've played the game, you'll see the irony in the title). Expand
  12. GlenHoddle
    Oct 25, 2003
    2
    3 words: PRO EVOLUTION SOCCER.

Awards & Rankings

#29 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003
#83 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2003
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Little tweaks in the AI here and there sometimes leave something to be desired (it’s easy to march on down the field until you get near the goal box – then it’s almost impossible) but overall the game is spot on.
  2. There’s plenty in FIFA 2004 to keep you happy until next season, when hopefully we’ll finally able to execute some plays of greater skill and complexity.
  3. With the addition of PS2 online play and another tightening of the gameplay across the board, who's going to really be a challenge this year?