Fight Night Round 3 PlayStation 2

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 39
  2. Negative: 4 out of 39
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JesseM.
    Mar 26, 2007
    9
    Best boxing game i ever played, besides the old school knockout for nintendo.
  2. SteveH.
    Mar 17, 2006
    9
    the best game of the fight night series so far. not good enough-sized roster of fighters considering how many knockout kings 2001 had, and that was almost 5 years ago! it also lacks in presentation as well. more than one announcer would have been nice. also a more tv-style presentation as well. the gameplay is great. no haymaker-only fights anymore. much more strategy involved. great the best game of the fight night series so far. not good enough-sized roster of fighters considering how many knockout kings 2001 had, and that was almost 5 years ago! it also lacks in presentation as well. more than one announcer would have been nice. also a more tv-style presentation as well. the gameplay is great. no haymaker-only fights anymore. much more strategy involved. great create-a-player options too. Expand
  3. Tony
    Mar 3, 2006
    8
    This game is a mixed bag. It is a step down from Round 2 in terms of presentation and career mode (and it's not like Rnd 2 had a great career mode itself). And the soundtrack is good, but could seriously use some more tracks. The number of real fighters leave a lot to be desired. So in those respects it is disappointing. But when it comes down to the "meat and potatoes" of the game, This game is a mixed bag. It is a step down from Round 2 in terms of presentation and career mode (and it's not like Rnd 2 had a great career mode itself). And the soundtrack is good, but could seriously use some more tracks. The number of real fighters leave a lot to be desired. So in those respects it is disappointing. But when it comes down to the "meat and potatoes" of the game, the gameplay itself, it shines. Rnd 3 does a good job of toning down the haymakers, or at least making it a little more difficult to pull off (you have to set them up properly and timing is key). I just hope the next installment does a better job with delivering a more compelling career mode. And it really SHOULD, seeing as how it will definitely have to comeout on all of the next generation of consoles. Expand
  4. JoeK.
    Mar 31, 2006
    8
    Great grahics, great fun! The loading freezes up on my PS2 sometimes after a Title Fight, and that is VERY annoying because I have to start over. Other than that, I think this game is at the top of its, uh... game. I've yet to play a game where you can sutomize the cahracter with such amazing detail. They need to add some world locations to fight at, EA needs snatch the licences of Great grahics, great fun! The loading freezes up on my PS2 sometimes after a Title Fight, and that is VERY annoying because I have to start over. Other than that, I think this game is at the top of its, uh... game. I've yet to play a game where you can sutomize the cahracter with such amazing detail. They need to add some world locations to fight at, EA needs snatch the licences of some of the great fighters that aren't in the game, like Butter Bean and Little Mac. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#56 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2006
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Game Informer
    90
    Round 3 certainly doesn't shirk in the gameplay department one bit, as it has everything Round 2 offered and more. [Mar 2006, p.98]
  2. 90
    The best boxing game in the business keeps getting better.
  3. Play Magazine
    90
    Fight Night Round 3 takes the sweet science of boxing to bloody new levels, and he results are certainly impressive. [Mar 2006, p.40]