Final Fantasy X-2 PlayStation 2

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 414 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Kizer
    Jan 1, 2004
    7
    Here it is, the truthfulness of X-2... Has anyone else noticed that all the reviews rated 5 and below is repetitive saying it's crap and it has no story or that the graphics are outdated and the same. The number 1 complaint I've seen is the music, Yeah it has it's problems, but have any of you consider turning down the volume and using music you like? Didn't think so. Here it is, the truthfulness of X-2... Has anyone else noticed that all the reviews rated 5 and below is repetitive saying it's crap and it has no story or that the graphics are outdated and the same. The number 1 complaint I've seen is the music, Yeah it has it's problems, but have any of you consider turning down the volume and using music you like? Didn't think so. Now to whomever complains about reusing the map... ITS A SEQUEL! What'd you expect? The game to take place on the moon? Secondly, the graphics are the same as in X, which when X was released it's graphics were ahead of it's time, other games are just catching up. Some people complained about the voice overs.... heres something, the voice actress for Rikku is a proffesional. As for Yuna, it's more lively compaired to X. I'll leave off on this. My favorite complaint was about the dressspheres and no weapons and armor. The good thing about X-2(and earlier FFs on SNES if you removed all equip) is that your characters stats rely on raw power and bonuses granted through the dressspheres. Expand
  2. TomK.
    Mar 20, 2004
    10
    This is a brillant game, with excellent graphics and a gameplay system which really works. The only thing i can fault the game for is not being long enough, but the sexyness of the characters counteracts this. Two thumbs up for a brill game.
  3. VickyL.
    Mar 22, 2004
    7
    The game did not meet my expectations considering how awesome ffx was. Gameplay was great. I love how you can attack and make chain attacks like that. You no longer have to stand there for 30 hours for your next characters gauge to fill up to attack. Dressspheres were a great idea too though an alchmeist made a traditional white mage look pathetic. Graphics were great as always...though The game did not meet my expectations considering how awesome ffx was. Gameplay was great. I love how you can attack and make chain attacks like that. You no longer have to stand there for 30 hours for your next characters gauge to fill up to attack. Dressspheres were a great idea too though an alchmeist made a traditional white mage look pathetic. Graphics were great as always...though the movies still seemed to lack something compared to ffx. Storyline..this is the thing that pisses me off. It was PATHETIC. There hardly was one due to all these side missions. Some missions were great while others were so stupid i just wanted to stop playing. Seems like squaresoft just makes up stupid things like catching chocobos just to expand the game time. Suppodsly theres suppose to be a love feel to it but there isnt! Music was okay..but not great compared to ffx tracks FFX-2 was okay but its unable to compare with FFX though it is a sequal it should of been kept at the same quality and EMOTION. Those who give it 10 really should rethink that after u beat the game. Expand
  4. Mai
    Apr 24, 2004
    8
    It's not as good as ffx but allowed more freedom. The battle systems good but way too easy, I found that battle was over before it started! The beginning was a bit too charlie's angels but it got better, and the song 1000 words is good. It's a good game and the only things keeping me from giving it a 10 is the fact that the beginnig is a let down and game play too easy. I It's not as good as ffx but allowed more freedom. The battle systems good but way too easy, I found that battle was over before it started! The beginning was a bit too charlie's angels but it got better, and the song 1000 words is good. It's a good game and the only things keeping me from giving it a 10 is the fact that the beginnig is a let down and game play too easy. I was expecting more of a challenge. Still, can't stop playing! Expand
  5. Andy
    Apr 7, 2004
    10
    EXCELLENT!
  6. Loviedovietidus!!twinkle
    Jun 3, 2004
    7
    Well it was good but not that good because i think yuna look better as a summoner and there are no summons plus where was my cutei pie tidey i missed him through out the game his funny comment and every thinf.this game was just good.
  7. AlanD.
    Jul 7, 2004
    3
    As someone who has enjoyed the final fantasy series, I have never felt so disappointed by any of the games before. Following such an excellent plot as final fantasy X has is not easy, but the lack of depth and "dumbing down" this game has are very disappointing and, for me, led to a pretty unchallenging and unfulfilling experience. The adaptation of the "Job" system into "garment grids" As someone who has enjoyed the final fantasy series, I have never felt so disappointed by any of the games before. Following such an excellent plot as final fantasy X has is not easy, but the lack of depth and "dumbing down" this game has are very disappointing and, for me, led to a pretty unchallenging and unfulfilling experience. The adaptation of the "Job" system into "garment grids" was a welcome addition to the battle system, but the music was the main area I had a problem with. As a music student myself I have always found Nobuo Uematsu's scores excellent and a vital part of the FF experience, but sadly he was not involved in the music of this game, which was so light and unimaginitive I found it depressing. Sadly I doubt Mr. Uematsu will be involved in writing music for FF games in the future, but I'm still hoping that he does, or I will be steering clear of future FF titles. Disappointing stuff. Expand
  8. NickF.
    Sep 24, 2004
    9
    Ive read all about it and it sounds wicked but i was thinking Aww wheres tidus i meen he is my favourite character ohh and one more question ...does yuna and riku find him at the end??? and wht is paines history?? email me and pleez do TELL! Thanx guys
  9. BonbonA.
    Apr 6, 2006
    7
    Not good as FFX, though. The gameplay turns out to be a classic gameplay of RPG. The Dress Sphere system iz.. kinda ok, I mean just like old RPGs where you can change your jobs. Missions and other stuffs limit the gameplay, could be fun or boring at the same time. The story is between not too good and good, audio n graphics are fine, I have to say that I don't like the opening movie, Not good as FFX, though. The gameplay turns out to be a classic gameplay of RPG. The Dress Sphere system iz.. kinda ok, I mean just like old RPGs where you can change your jobs. Missions and other stuffs limit the gameplay, could be fun or boring at the same time. The story is between not too good and good, audio n graphics are fine, I have to say that I don't like the opening movie, the song was kinda horrible o__O. Limitation of characters doesn't help either. And no Aeons or Summon makes it worse.. (but the 3 Special Dress Spheres in the game subtitute it a lil' bit). After all is just a "good" videogame, and if you want continue the journey of FFX, you should buy this game, but you'll get bored once you finish the game. My rate is 6, but I give it 7, coz I'm an FF fan. Expand
  10. Bob
    Nov 26, 2003
    10
    The begining hour of the games sucks but after that it is like ffx, the perfect game
  11. Mikey
    Dec 3, 2003
    10
    I think the game is awsome game.its better than the other ones(to me). the only put down is the music they play its a little bit too happy. and how the characters act some times is too girly i know they are girls but they do a lot of girly things dont you think???
  12. DimitriF.
    Oct 23, 2003
    10
    This game is the perfect sequel i love it even though it is a sequel it is still original. This game is both beautiful and breathtaking with an amazing storyline, it is the perfect balance of beautiful graphics and an amazing depth of gameplay.
  13. MattP.
    Dec 5, 2003
    10
    I have also played all of them up to x2 and this isnt bad. The music is awesome and lets face it its not girlish the costumes are a bit slutty and you can tell a guy designed them come on the worst one i think was final fantsy 9 that was a joke.
  14. WillaimE.
    Jan 4, 2004
    10
    It's the best final Fanstasy of all time. i can play it for hours even days.
  15. LoganA.
    Jan 4, 2004
    10
    Everyone who doesn't like this game should be flogged to start with. Then they should be sexually molested in public by five hairy 400 pound men and have it videotaped. They should then be forced to watch it everyday from that day forth. Lastly, they should be grilled naked and eaten for dinner. This game is awesome. I won't give you the reasons because I don't want to Everyone who doesn't like this game should be flogged to start with. Then they should be sexually molested in public by five hairy 400 pound men and have it videotaped. They should then be forced to watch it everyday from that day forth. Lastly, they should be grilled naked and eaten for dinner. This game is awesome. I won't give you the reasons because I don't want to waste my time writing this crap, I'm off to go play it. Expand
  16. J.S.
    Feb 24, 2004
    8
    Playing a group of girls in mini-skirts and bikinis.... cant complain. But yea it is too feminine so i give it an 8.
  17. BlackDragonOfAlthena
    Feb 27, 2004
    10
    This by far is one of the best Final Fantasy games I have played. And I think that all of the bad things you critics out there are giving it arn't as bad as you all put it. First, the fact that you think it was too femminen was not really justified. I never for a second thought this was a barbie game(save the rommance, but rommance isn't nessesarily a bad thing) I mean going This by far is one of the best Final Fantasy games I have played. And I think that all of the bad things you critics out there are giving it arn't as bad as you all put it. First, the fact that you think it was too femminen was not really justified. I never for a second thought this was a barbie game(save the rommance, but rommance isn't nessesarily a bad thing) I mean going around the world in a bad ass airship and killing monster's from another plain of existence isn't what little Jenny down the street would do. Second the music. You all think it is so bad and that the whole pop theme sucks. It is just trying to show the light heartedness of the game. Sin isn't about to eat all that you love in this one! People are upbeat and happy and so are the tunes. Third the plot. "Oh it had no plot at all! It didn't even make sense!" I got one thing to say to you people...open your ears and listen to what the people are saying on the little square thing called a T.V.! Which brings me to my next point. All of the voice actors are professionals and know what they are doing. They all did a good job(I'll admit that Rikku's voice gets a little annoying, but it's Rikku, she's supposed to be like that it's her character.) Next the reuse of the same maps and places. 1) Kilika is totally different save the temple. 2) A sh.t load of new dungeons. 3) And it's a sequel! If it takes place in Spira in the first on it probably ain't going to be on mars 8 million years away. Finally all of you freaking out about how in "REAL LIFE" Yuna's hair wouldn't grow that fast and all the countless other unrealalistic things you are all so worried about. Just chill out, take a step back, and remember that real life is a little different than what comes out of the ps2. Chill out and have fun with the fantasy. I mean it is called Final FANTASY! That's my speil. Thanks for listening to my complaining. Expand
  18. Odno
    Feb 28, 2004
    10
    It's just so much fun, we want to see more adventures of Yuna and her friends...FFX-3 where are you?
  19. DyneWolf
    Mar 13, 2004
    2
    This was one of the most terrible games I have ever played. I enjoy all of the Final Fantasy games since the beginning. They got better and better with more of an in-depth story line each time. They were and are all good, except for this. I was expecting so much more from what I have heard. This turns Square's reputation upside down. They used to be all about the story and This was one of the most terrible games I have ever played. I enjoy all of the Final Fantasy games since the beginning. They got better and better with more of an in-depth story line each time. They were and are all good, except for this. I was expecting so much more from what I have heard. This turns Square's reputation upside down. They used to be all about the story and well-plotted character rolls, not so much of a pathetic, want to be, glamorous show. This is only a cheap anime with a bunch of half-dressed girls running around not knowing what the hell they are doing or what they are saying. Truly pathetic. I only gave this game a 2 instead of a 0 simply because the fighting sequences were good. I can honestly say that is the only good thing about this game though. Expand
  20. Meh
    Mar 2, 2004
    10
    This is a great game, just like all of the FF's.
  21. FF3lover
    Mar 5, 2004
    10
    sweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeet.
  22. FFFreak
    Apr 7, 2004
    8
    GREAT GAME, i really enjoyed it graphics are just great and the girls are TO sexy, but sometimes i really miss the real men in the series, like auron and tidus it's just a lil' femminen i think an FF X-3 isn't a bad idea:p i want more adventures of yuna and company!!!!!
  23. JeffB.
    Jun 1, 2004
    9
    This game being the first sequal in a great series, 10-2 proved to be successful, even though people say that it doesn't come close to 10, the story line might be a little worse than 10's but the fighting style by far beats 10's gameplay. I enjoyed playing through this game more than 10, I think the whole changing costumes during battle is a great idea, because it saves you This game being the first sequal in a great series, 10-2 proved to be successful, even though people say that it doesn't come close to 10, the story line might be a little worse than 10's but the fighting style by far beats 10's gameplay. I enjoyed playing through this game more than 10, I think the whole changing costumes during battle is a great idea, because it saves you items and its more fun tahn having to change characters. Besides girls need to be the main character of atleast a few video games, and this one backs them up. Expand
  24. Pedro
    Jan 27, 2005
    10
    Ohhhhh this game is so coool i can´t belive that some people give it 1.
  25. Kimberly
    Jun 16, 2005
    8
    The game had some unique points, but it wasn't as exciting as some other Final Fantasy games. I dreaded the music. the Music of Final Fantasy X was much better (the only songs that I liked were 1000 words and Real Emotion)
  26. EayBlack
    Jul 16, 2005
    8
    For the people who say this game is not the best sequel you are correct but for those who say this game just plain out sucks you are not a very good game critic. To me it was an okay game.
  27. KirstenB.
    Jul 6, 2005
    10
    I LOVED this game.so i think it deservs a 10!
  28. MattJ.
    Jul 7, 2005
    10
    This game is very fun to play. It also has the best graphic through out the Final Fantasy Series. I love this game becuase it is so realstic and people can have the same realisons in this game to real life. If I could help make the next Final Fantasy 10-3 it would be awesome.
  29. [Anonymous]
    Jul 8, 2005
    10
    This is my only ff game (well I have kingdom hearts) I also like the music.
  30. A.Delgado
    Jan 7, 2006
    0
    I really really wanted to like this game...instead i can't stand it. Maybe if i was a 12 year old girl, or old enough to remember charlies angels i would like it. What can i say.... i really really dislike this game.
  31. IsaacR.
    May 1, 2006
    8
    i really think it deserves a 9 but for all of you crittics, i will lower my standards for you:) its a good game. i love it really,but not as good as X.
  32. Cap'nChang
    Jun 23, 2006
    4
    I didn't even finish. EXTREMELY undeveloped storyline and like no challenge whatsoever.... I almost bought it too but I was like "Maybe I'll rent it first.." That thought saved me like $40 lol. Its pretty disapointing to like diehard final fantasy peeps but I mean it wasn't that bad... the graphics were awesome... and there were aeons in it... at least lol. I just wish I didn't even finish. EXTREMELY undeveloped storyline and like no challenge whatsoever.... I almost bought it too but I was like "Maybe I'll rent it first.." That thought saved me like $40 lol. Its pretty disapointing to like diehard final fantasy peeps but I mean it wasn't that bad... the graphics were awesome... and there were aeons in it... at least lol. I just wish there was more to choose from lol. Expand
  33. GalenH.
    Nov 16, 2003
    4
    Not worthy of the name Final Fantasy. Pure crap..... oh well, Square had to find more ways to milk out Final Fantasy.
  34. IreprepA.
    Nov 26, 2003
    7
    Disappointment! The music is totally crap. I mean what kind of an idiot did they had composing this garbage? Not a good idea not having mr. Uematsu doing the tunes. And then the charachters. Oh boy. Rikku is sexy but.. This game does not have the magic of Final Fantasy. I have put my hopes on FF XII.
  35. RayA.
    Nov 30, 2003
    10
    First of all, nhat is a f***in r...., how could you hate a game like this? man when i played it i couldn't put the damn controller down...this game is pure amazment just like all the others in the past....in other words: THIS GAME IS THE BEST GAME!!!
  36. ChuckM.
    Dec 1, 2003
    10
    LOVE IT. I'm 15% of the way through, and I can't wait to get home from work to play. I love the battle system, I love the abilities system, I love all of the possibilities this presents. LOVE IT.
  37. BrittanyW.
    Dec 1, 2003
    10
    I'm michael k.'s girlfriend and i would get him anything he ever wanted because i love him so!!! I LOVE YOU MICHAEL!
  38. DanF.
    Dec 21, 2003
    10
    All i truly can say about this game is that i thoroughly enjoy it. The ATB battles are supurb, and the ability to change jobs even if it is by means of a "dresssphere" is an added welcome. I think most people are put off by the fact that you only have three female characters throughout the entire game are just missing the most important part of this game, which IS the gameplay. This game All i truly can say about this game is that i thoroughly enjoy it. The ATB battles are supurb, and the ability to change jobs even if it is by means of a "dresssphere" is an added welcome. I think most people are put off by the fact that you only have three female characters throughout the entire game are just missing the most important part of this game, which IS the gameplay. This game would be no different if the characters were all male, besides who made the rule that RPG characters could be only or mostly male? The game was designed to be lighthearted after all. And as far as the game engine, why would a company want to spend millions on development only to make a new engine for a sequel? Yes the fiends and backgrounds remain FFX but that is were it absolutely ends. FFX was linear gameplay, this one is DEFINATELY not linear, and is very much welcome by me and alot of other gamers for sure. I have yet to be impressed enough by ANY FF game to give it a 10 rating, because frankly, i found alot of games to be lacking somewhere. Character development is important in any Rpg. Why the three women as main characters. Well, i don't know for sure but wasn't the prior story about Yuna and Tidus? What other way to represent a sequel than the way they have? Sure they could have used others but would it have made much difference. To me no, if anything it would have been even more boring. Is this game for everybody? I imagine not. In my opinion if you aren't sure , rent it first. There is nothing more disgusting than buying a game you truly don't like. Did Square do a good job with this game. I definately think so. of course this is only MY opinion. By the way, would anyone be intrested in a used copy of FFXI ? The desire to play has slipped away along with the monthly fee to play this game. *sigh* Please hurry, I can't wait for FFXII. Expand
  39. AlexB.
    Dec 20, 2003
    10
    I'm a fan of final fantasy games i finish them all and this is one of the best !!!
  40. EricB.
    Dec 2, 2003
    0
    Game sucks, I've played every single Final Fantasy from 1-X2. This and Final Fantasy XI are by far the most horrible out of the series. The Music is pure crap, the whole game is a complete joke. No weapons, No Armor, No Limit Breaks, No Overdrives, No Aeons. Garmet Grids and Dress Spheres?? This game should be called Final Fantasy: Barbie. Its so feminine, I can't believe so Game sucks, I've played every single Final Fantasy from 1-X2. This and Final Fantasy XI are by far the most horrible out of the series. The Music is pure crap, the whole game is a complete joke. No weapons, No Armor, No Limit Breaks, No Overdrives, No Aeons. Garmet Grids and Dress Spheres?? This game should be called Final Fantasy: Barbie. Its so feminine, I can't believe so many GUYS are giving it the praise it DOES NOT deserve. Horrible game. Expand
  41. PeterA.
    Dec 24, 2003
    9
    Funny. Many of the reviews that complain about people giving FF X-2 good scores and not backing it up are guilty of a much worse offense. Some can say that reviwers "bought into the hype," but most of the negative reviews seem to be written by people who have bought into the hype of the opposite nature. Plenty of people want to bash this game because it's too girly or too silly and Funny. Many of the reviews that complain about people giving FF X-2 good scores and not backing it up are guilty of a much worse offense. Some can say that reviwers "bought into the hype," but most of the negative reviews seem to be written by people who have bought into the hype of the opposite nature. Plenty of people want to bash this game because it's too girly or too silly and can't look past that narrow mindedness long enough to see an extremely polished and entertaining game. That said, Final Fantasy X-2's graphics are far from "outdated." Final Fantasy X set a precident on the PS2 graphically, and although X-2 may not go quite that far, there are significant improvements graphically to keep the game fresh. The character animations are improved by leaps and bounds from the stale and repetitive movements of X and the facial animations are some of the best seen in any game on the PS2 period. To say the game has very little action would invoke me to ask the question: have you even played it? Regardless of whether you like the dress sphere system, being able to change a characters abilities on the fly during battle does add a new level of strategy to the fights that is new to the series. Moreover, the pace of battles in X-2 is insanely fast. No action? There's so much going on at once during battles that it's often times hard to keep track of it all, and the fact that the monsters don't hold off attacks while selecting spells, items or switching dress spheres keeps the battle pace challenging and intense. The voice acting is down right impressive, especially in comparison to FF X. The returning voice actors seem more comfortable in their roles and honestly take the characters to another level. The dialouge can sometimes be cheesy, but it fits with the light hearted flavor of the game and some of dialouge is even genuinely funny and clever, especially brother who takes the comic relief role in this installment. The music is admittedly not on the same level as X, but its a different type of game and therefore a different musical score. The music fits with the tone of the game, but is nothing spectacular. The story is also a bit lacking in comparison to X, it takes a while to pick up and does deliver on some fronts (the political aspects with New Yevon and the Youth Leauge were interesting) but overall falls a little short when compared to some of the epic story lines of Final Fantasies past. Then again, those story lines are some big shoes to fill and X-2's story is by no means bad and is definitely more than entertaining enough to keep you hooked through the experience. Throw in the new game plus feature that adds some replay value and the chance to try out different paths through the game and multiple endings and you've got some insentive to keep X-2 in your PS2 for quite a while. My advice to you is don't believe the hype. Don't let the nay sayers psych you out and don't rush head long into X-2 just because it's a Final Fantasy and a Square game either because it is a very different experience from any FF you've seen before. The scenery and characters may be a tad repetitious, but I promise you the experience is not. If you're an RPG fan, not to mention a FF fan, you owe it to yourself to give this game a try. Treat yourself to a return trip to Spira. You won't regret it. Expand
  42. DavidL.
    Dec 31, 2003
    9
    It's a good game. its different, it lighter, its more fun, yet its still good. Maybe a little corny a times, but we all are at one time or another. a lot more versatility in the game. different music score that fits well with the game. totally different battle system that is much faster, but adds to the excitement and realism of the battles. The dressspheres are a great idea and giveIt's a good game. its different, it lighter, its more fun, yet its still good. Maybe a little corny a times, but we all are at one time or another. a lot more versatility in the game. different music score that fits well with the game. totally different battle system that is much faster, but adds to the excitement and realism of the battles. The dressspheres are a great idea and give you more choices in how to develop characters. the only things i miss are the overdrives and more useable characters. i kinda miss the aeons but its all good. quality game. a worthy sequel of ffx. Expand
  43. RickS.
    Dec 8, 2003
    3
    Ahhh, chessy love-story, what did they do to final fantasy, its like a freakin barbie game, i bought this game as soon as it came out, and what did i get, well i got this, a game with so little action(button mashing) i forgot how good ffX was.. I can't remember how many times i'v cringed, half of this games dialogue is a joke... The critics don't wanna give it a bad score, Ahhh, chessy love-story, what did they do to final fantasy, its like a freakin barbie game, i bought this game as soon as it came out, and what did i get, well i got this, a game with so little action(button mashing) i forgot how good ffX was.. I can't remember how many times i'v cringed, half of this games dialogue is a joke... The critics don't wanna give it a bad score, cuz god help us if someone says a final fantasy game is crap... The critics bought the hype the most..If i came out with a game with very little action, weapons, control, and script, slapped Square on it and called it a final fantasy game would everyone go crazy for it, apparently they would... Ohh man the girls dress and look like they came straight out a HENTAI movie, i had to look twice to see if this was a M rated game. The whole feel of the game was awkward to a point were i was wondering what was the creators thinking(and what tone-deaf person made the music for this game), Did the music have to be that annoying.. Overall, its a very disappointing game, with final fantasy X is mind this game doesn?t come close..Hardcore fans is gonna love this game, but for average gamers who played a few FF, there gonna hate this game....yes hate, for what they have done to such a great game(final fantasy X).. Expand
  44. FinalFantasy
    Jan 14, 2004
    10
    Best game ever!!!!!
  45. Mal
    Jan 2, 2004
    3
    Holy sweet Bahamut, this game is the epitome of disappointment. I played through it with great optimism and expected, in the very least, a good game. Never before has Square erected a direct sequel to a Final Fantasy game, and if this is the long awaited change to that trend, I beseech them never to do it again. In a nutshell, this game is horrible. You show me a person who could honestly Holy sweet Bahamut, this game is the epitome of disappointment. I played through it with great optimism and expected, in the very least, a good game. Never before has Square erected a direct sequel to a Final Fantasy game, and if this is the long awaited change to that trend, I beseech them never to do it again. In a nutshell, this game is horrible. You show me a person who could honestly give it a straight-faced good rating, and I'll show you a person who has no taste and would be as easily amused buying a children's coloring book for good reading material. No single person can honestly give this a good rating by praising its features. Those who do are lying to themselves. Why? Well, that's easy. Let's start with the plot. Upon the end of Final Fantasy X, Tidus dies and rejoins his father while Yuna Stein (I add "Stein" because I believe she must be a relative of Ben Stein based on her voice "talent") goes on to basically do nothing productive with her life. Yuna finds a typical plot device in a sphere that happens to show Tidus, or as another character forebodes, someone resembling Tidus. This of course causes Yuna to set out to find more spheres to discover the fate of her fling the past -- apparently she's suffering from obsessive-compulsive disorder and can't let him go even though it's been two years. That sums up the basis of the plot. It may seem enthralling to the most simple of romance fans, but I expect a little something more from Square. If that wasn't bad enough, all the old talentless voice actors have returned. That means more of Yuna's...fragmented...William Shatner...sentences...and Rikku's over-the-top annoying voice that would make warring cats flee in terror. It's really unfortunate, because when a script is as bad as it is in Final Fantasy X-2, you should at least expect talented actors to provide the voices to make it entertaining. The graphics are all the same as they were in Final Fantasy X, as well. There is no improvement and many of the characters use the same models they did from the original, with minor tweaking here and there to make them more scantily clad. Somehow, in the span of two years from Final Fantasy X to the present of Final Fantasy X-2, Yuna has proven to have a gland that allows her hair to grow about five feet in length, which she has promptly braided into a ponytail. Being someone who has long hair, I can confess there is no way that is possible. Despite that minor flaw in logic, the flaw in its unoriginal graphics and non-linear-but-still-linear plot is inexcusable. And if you are like me, you could look past a dry and boring story if the music is good, which is something most Final Fantasy titles have had. I emphasize: "had." This sequel marks the Apocalypse of Final Fantasy musical scores. The music does not fit most of the emotions it's assigned, and while it may be every teenybopper's dream, it's every Final Fantasy music fan's nightmare. Final Fantasy X's score was more ambient than its predecessors, but it worked for the atmosphere of the game. This one uses Pop music. Pop music does not make good ambient music, or battle music, or theme music, or, dare I say, good music in general. The musical score to this game is an insult to the series. To sum it all up: Final Fantasy X-2 was made with the mentality of a pubescent 12-year old girl, as its gameplay, music, characters and atmosphere implies, and unless you fit that description, I highly suggest you find another title. Leave this one to the teenyboppers. Expand
  46. DebbieC.
    Jan 7, 2004
    10
    I loved it.
  47. TysonB.
    Feb 13, 2004
    7
    This is a solid game not quite as good as FFX.This is a big sequel i'm going to bring you the details. On the positive side it's very nice to see that the game's graphics have gotten a bit better, a brand new level up system, and the gameplay is just great. On the negative side i don't think that the mission based challenges are such a good idea, you only have 3 This is a solid game not quite as good as FFX.This is a big sequel i'm going to bring you the details. On the positive side it's very nice to see that the game's graphics have gotten a bit better, a brand new level up system, and the gameplay is just great. On the negative side i don't think that the mission based challenges are such a good idea, you only have 3 charcters that are playable, and the music is just weird. Still Final Fantasy X-2 is still a solid sequel to the original. I wonder what Square Enix has in plan for Final Fantasy XI and Final Fantasy XII. Will have to wait and see. Expand
  48. Josh
    Feb 26, 2004
    10
    Square revolution.
  49. EntertainmentCritic
    Feb 26, 2004
    10
    So okay... criticise the music, costumes, voice actors, graphics, script and plot all you like but you do take for granted a lot of game-making process. Taking these in turn... the music, like all other FF games is relevant to the atmosphere of the game. It adds to it. Remember in FF7 where Tifa's theme is a slow, sad song relating to the slums of Midgar and Yuffie's was very So okay... criticise the music, costumes, voice actors, graphics, script and plot all you like but you do take for granted a lot of game-making process. Taking these in turn... the music, like all other FF games is relevant to the atmosphere of the game. It adds to it. Remember in FF7 where Tifa's theme is a slow, sad song relating to the slums of Midgar and Yuffie's was very upbeat? Well listen again to Yuna, Rikku and Shuyin's themes. The first two are extremely upbeat. Rikku's is for the fact that her personality is naturally over-cheerful and Yuna's is based on her newfound optimism. In FFX she accepted her fate. She would live and die for Spira but, as Rikku points out, Yuna never pursued her own aspirations. Saving Spira was her priority because she cared for the people, not because she wanted to be a heroine. Also, the two Yuna songs are adaptations from Japanese. I prefer the originals but the English versions do much in the way of retaining to meaning of the songs. 1000 Words releases Lenne?s emotions and concealed thoughts and the music aboard the Celsius reflects the fun that the Gullwings are having and the positive nature of all of it. So your music criticisms are out the window. Now onto the costumes. Yes some are skimpy but they aren?t the best dress spheres. I tend to have Paine as a Dark Knight, Rikku as a warrior and Yuna as a white mage (not skimpy). Three very useful classes and I haven?t even mentioned the Mascot. Yuna?s special is a little risqué though I must admit. Now the voice actors, in my opinion, embody the personality of the characters perfectly. Hedy Burress acted Yuna as a reserved and profound character back in FFX and added some excitement into her voice in FFX-2. Tara Strong, although a little squeaky, lets Rikku?s personality shine and Gwendoline Yeo makes Paine the serious type. Also remember that, as Kizer pointed out, the voice actors are professionals. Many of the main ones have voiced Animatrix other cartoon characters. Tara Strong did the voices for Bowser Jr in Super Mario Sunshine and also Roshan/Start in Ice Age. John DiMaggio (Wakka/Kimahri) is the genius behind Bender from Futurama. James Arnold Taylor (Tidus/Shuyin) is a very good impressionist so he has done voice doubling for many people. So I know for a fact that these are not amateurs. The graphics are self-explanatory. Despite the characters having a slightly unnaturally perfect physique, they are some of the most realistic we?ve seen in a video game. Even the likes of Half Life 2 don?t have much better. Oh yeah? fire. Do you have any idea how hard it is to make realistic fire?! Also, remember this is an RPG. Generally, a lot is based on mathematics (stats and rolls) and less on graphics so Squaresoft/Square-Enix has gone beyond their calling. As for the scripts, Square have implemented much more humour within X-2 than any other FF making it the most light hearted. However, in my opinion, FFX-2 is ironically the darkest and most emotional of the series (although admittedly I?ve yet to play 1-3 and 8,9 and 11). Is it a coincidence that Vegnagun is deep within the earth? Bevelle?s secrets hidden up inside the world? Secrets hidden in caves Spira-wide? Lenne?s feelings lost in the depths of time? How everyone jumps into the dark holes? Not in my eyes. Played for, and got is what I say. Which leaves me with the plot to discuss. FFX was supposed to be Tidus? story but it was intertwined with Spira, Sin and the Fayth?s story (1000 years in his future). FFX-2 was Yuna?s story, intertwined with that of the Bevelle/Zanarkand war and the Lenne/Shuyin love story (1000 years in her past) for the normal ending at least. We have seen aspects of Tidus? personality (like his stubbornness) rub off on Yuna. Also note that she wields the Brotherhood as her warrior weapon and her victory celebration for it is identical to Tidus? in the original. Also her rejection of Nooj?s plan is similar to Tidus? reluctance to lose Yuna. Personally, I believe the two episodes are based on the theme of hope. In FFX, the Summoners bring hope of the calm, the High Summoners deliver the hope, Tidus and Rikku hope to save Yuna, Wakka?s faith is lost and his hopes are changed (to become a blitz champion, to reconcile with Al Bhed etc). Also it has a strong tie of friendship with any of the seven willing to die for another (except for the short period of Wakka?s shock over Rikku). The hope in FFX-2 is that of Yuna to find her lost love, Lenne to send her words to hers, Rikku to free Yuna, the Akagi group to bring order to Spira, Wakka and Lulu of their future? catch my drift? I give it 9.6 and FFX 9.7 but rounded to the nearest number it makes 10. I think Square took the biggest set of scales they could find and tried to balance it with coins placed on their edge. Not an easy task but, somehow, they succeeded. Final Fantasy X-2: A blatant cash-in? Of course it is? the purpose of a company?s existence is to make a profit you idiots! If it something will make your product sell then use it. BUT that doesn?t mean the cash-in will be a cheap two-bit job. Also a note to Mal. Have you tried summoning an aeon? So what Yuna?s hair grew five feet in two years. The girl knows magic! Expand
  50. JasonC.
    Feb 26, 2004
    10
    People have now said many things about ff X-2. this my opinion... if you ever talk to a guy in japan they'll probably say IT RULZ!!! Y? some may ask... BECUZ THE NEED TO CHANGE THE GAME FROM JAPANESE TO ENGLISH IS VERY HARD!!! ok... look if u could understand japanese and played the JAPANESE VERSION you'll see y the voice acting is "crapped up" becuz the cut scenes were never People have now said many things about ff X-2. this my opinion... if you ever talk to a guy in japan they'll probably say IT RULZ!!! Y? some may ask... BECUZ THE NEED TO CHANGE THE GAME FROM JAPANESE TO ENGLISH IS VERY HARD!!! ok... look if u could understand japanese and played the JAPANESE VERSION you'll see y the voice acting is "crapped up" becuz the cut scenes were never fomatted to blend with so the it would look like their actually talking. If you actually had a brain ( and this is directed to the people who badly of X-2 ) you could realize that the music isn't crap it's just that the music is changed to math the game i mean... do u think itll make sense seeing these girls walking around with dark and evil music... i dont think so... and to all who it's girly... ignore it. if music too different for your liking... turn the sound off and put something u do like. its not that hard. if u think the character's outfit is too scantly... then just concentrate on watching where ur goin, wut ur attacking and only listen to the cut scenes becuz it's not like sin gonna suddenly appear out of nowhere and kill u if u do... overall the game's a very good game... whether ur a ff fan , or a loner goin to college and has no girlfriends... i mean their's nothin stopping u from turning yuna and rikku into thieves and have paine as a samurai killing everything :) Expand
  51. BombExploder
    Feb 27, 2004
    8
    Good Gameplay,very sh.tty music.
  52. RyanL.
    Feb 29, 2004
    10
    AMAZING GAME, it just makes me want to find out what happens before this game. Time to play ffx to find out what happens (never even touch ffx yet)
  53. TimmyT.
    Mar 10, 2004
    10
    It is so cool, fast good story EVERYONE should get it.
  54. Sarah
    Mar 14, 2004
    8
    This game has a lot of plusses. The "dress system" that reminds me of the job system of yore is really quite fun. You'll find its one of the driving forces behind playing the game. However, you'll wish there was a "turn off the damn music" option, as it makes you want to smash things. Also: there is no plot, despite what many may say. Well, there's no plot beyond showing This game has a lot of plusses. The "dress system" that reminds me of the job system of yore is really quite fun. You'll find its one of the driving forces behind playing the game. However, you'll wish there was a "turn off the damn music" option, as it makes you want to smash things. Also: there is no plot, despite what many may say. Well, there's no plot beyond showing girls in as little clothing as possible. However, if you don't mind that (as I obviously don't), its a great bit of mindless fun. Expand
  55. FrederickF.
    Mar 5, 2004
    6
    I m french so it s interessant isn t it? FFX-2 is always in 50 hz for Europe but since many years we ve got 60 or 100 hz for tv in france the game is really beautyfull in 60 hz but in 50 it is horrible Very big alliasing many many bugs and other. I m sorry i m a fan of FF but this part is really bad for me . i don t speak about the game because it s mor horrible. The game is funny baby. I m french so it s interessant isn t it? FFX-2 is always in 50 hz for Europe but since many years we ve got 60 or 100 hz for tv in france the game is really beautyfull in 60 hz but in 50 it is horrible Very big alliasing many many bugs and other. I m sorry i m a fan of FF but this part is really bad for me . i don t speak about the game because it s mor horrible. The game is funny baby. it s just for girl With The YRP lol.... the story is too bad ,this the same view all the time (i don t speak about the same world). squaresoft is the best in cinematics and for this chapter pfff where are the cinematics (maybe 10 ). The good point it s the mode battle it s like FF7. For concluding square please take the time and produce a game like the old time like FF7 like bushido blade and many other. But i m happy because i play in star ocean 3 and it is terrible (oups it s enix) and i take a look about FFXII FFX: beautifull FFX-2:very horrible FFXII:magic terrible FFVII:legendary PS: PLease don t say too me that i don t understand what is an FF i say my opinion and many person are in the same case like me. SquareENIX spent 4 month for produce FFX-2 4MONTH? it s normal IN france the game cost 60 euro 60 euro 4 month and finally a bad game pfffffffff. Expand
  56. CodyandArjay
    Apr 13, 2004
    10
    This game is best game we ever played. We can play for 14 days and 14 nights.
  57. Lily
    Apr 25, 2004
    7
    Compared to FF X, FF X-2 is very... shallow. The love story in this one just doesn't work. The main purpose of X-2 is seemingly to show off how "cute" Rikku and Yuna are. The graphics and music are very good as always but the plot is not up to par.
  58. HarryK.
    May 26, 2004
    6
    If I were to compare this game to the entire RPG market, it comes across as being a very average game with good graphics. When I compare it to the original FFX, it looks like dog pooh. The story in the game is terrible and I hate all of the characters, even though I had fallen in love with them all in the previous game. If you love FFX, keep those pleasant memories and do not play FFX-2. If I were to compare this game to the entire RPG market, it comes across as being a very average game with good graphics. When I compare it to the original FFX, it looks like dog pooh. The story in the game is terrible and I hate all of the characters, even though I had fallen in love with them all in the previous game. If you love FFX, keep those pleasant memories and do not play FFX-2. If you haven't played FFX, go get it. It is the best console RPG I have played. Expand
  59. RyanM.
    Jun 5, 2004
    10
    I congratulate squaresoft for going out of the norm and creating a sequel to an incredible series. But this game isn't completely a sequel. it is a whole new adventure within itself, and offers up a whole host of insane bosses, great new ideas, such as dressspheres, and new gameplay mechanics, like real time. But, i'm upset that the graphics hardly improved over ff 10. If your aI congratulate squaresoft for going out of the norm and creating a sequel to an incredible series. But this game isn't completely a sequel. it is a whole new adventure within itself, and offers up a whole host of insane bosses, great new ideas, such as dressspheres, and new gameplay mechanics, like real time. But, i'm upset that the graphics hardly improved over ff 10. If your a final fantasy fan you could look at this as a disappointing final fantasy game, and a game that breaks the pattern of being the first ever sequel in the series. or you could look at it as a whole new era of the final fantasy series, and enjoy every bit of this fantastically unique experience. Expand
  60. AudioS.
    Apr 25, 2005
    7
    Only major problem no playable blitzball.
  61. ErnestoC.
    Jun 10, 2005
    10
    This is one of the best games i have ever played.
  62. ReginaH.
    Jul 7, 2005
    10
    I loved the game. it has gd graphics and the story line was kool. i realli think it deserves a 10!!
  63. VarunB.
    Aug 11, 2005
    10
    Was admittedly a bit tentative at first, but this game really grew on me...its new combat system and awesome graphics make it a worthy sequel to the original...and if you manage to get the special ending, it gives you a feeling of closure that can only be desribed as truly gratifying!!!
  64. DanA.
    Dec 20, 2006
    9
    Still the most underrated game in the series. It's a shame that the casual gamers were so uncomfortable controlling three vaginas so they create the cloud that this game is bad or something. Great game.
  65. RogerK.
    Jan 5, 2006
    10
    I don't care what anyone else says this was one of the best final fantasys i ever played. And puting in all the time, just try to get the perfect ending was worth it. I liked X and also liked X-2. And i cant wait for final fantasy XII to come.
  66. D.Ramos
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    I Love Final Fantasy X-2 and X They are my favorite game characters of all time. I mean you can't find any better couple then them. Maybe some Movie stars should look at Tidus and Yuna's relationship. And I never got to see the perfect ending. My game messed up and then my little brother ended up throwing it away. =T Well. Thats all I have to say, If you don't like the I Love Final Fantasy X-2 and X They are my favorite game characters of all time. I mean you can't find any better couple then them. Maybe some Movie stars should look at Tidus and Yuna's relationship. And I never got to see the perfect ending. My game messed up and then my little brother ended up throwing it away. =T Well. Thats all I have to say, If you don't like the game. Try making one yourself. Expand
  67. AndrewC.
    Feb 8, 2007
    7
    Uh...take one part FFX, one part Charlie's Angels, and you have FFX-2. This is about the most bizarre concept I've ever run into, and it ain't perfect. In fact, it all feels rather shallow. The character customization works pretty well and all, and the battles are a bit more interesting, but really...it's too strange and almost blasphemous for its own good.
  68. AndrewN.
    Jul 7, 2007
    8
    Not as good as Final Fantasy 10 and at times its a bit too girl power esque but still a really decent RPG. Its lighthearted humour and non linear gameplay adds an element of freshness to the series. Because it uses a lot of FF10s assets, it feels slightly inferior to a traditional sequel and at times it is a little too easy but its otherwise a genuinely great addition to the series. Had a Not as good as Final Fantasy 10 and at times its a bit too girl power esque but still a really decent RPG. Its lighthearted humour and non linear gameplay adds an element of freshness to the series. Because it uses a lot of FF10s assets, it feels slightly inferior to a traditional sequel and at times it is a little too easy but its otherwise a genuinely great addition to the series. Had a great intro as well. Expand
  69. JoshP.
    Aug 2, 2008
    2
    This, in itself, is a great game. Good feel to it, nice rpg elements, nice soundtrack, decent graphics, and a great battle system. The only problem is that the game is suppose to be a sequel to final fantasy X and a game in the Final Fantasy franchise. In Final Fantasy X, the key elements are its saddening story, compelling music, and fantasy aspects that fit in with 1-9. It seems more This, in itself, is a great game. Good feel to it, nice rpg elements, nice soundtrack, decent graphics, and a great battle system. The only problem is that the game is suppose to be a sequel to final fantasy X and a game in the Final Fantasy franchise. In Final Fantasy X, the key elements are its saddening story, compelling music, and fantasy aspects that fit in with 1-9. It seems more than a mistake to take those elements away and trade them for a sunshine feel with bubbley characters and J-pop music. People buying a sequel will most likely buy it because they enjoyed the 1st and want more which this game simply doesn't live up to. A good game, but not a good sequel. Expand
  70. AkiraS
    Sep 15, 2008
    9
    I and Most agree the soundtrack of choice was poor and it did not meet up to its previous, FF10 game. But it really did stem out to the female Audience. I could enjoy an RPG that
  71. ShanaS
    Sep 25, 2009
    10
    I loved the game. Finally they make a game about girls. I really enjoyed this game. In my opinion ppl say they dont like it because their girls and blah blah blah. IT WAS WONDERFUL ! I dont care what anybody else says but this is one of my favorite games ever. No one cant convinced me otherwise.
  72. Me
    Nov 21, 2003
    10
    Yeah you are right, some of those import reviews don't even play the game and you can't rate a game simply coz it's a sequel, then they would have made all FFs low scores, THIS GAME ROCKS!!
  73. Huaa
    Nov 24, 2003
    10
    This is great game.. i didn't like a lot of thing in the beginning but as i got used to them... they can't make it any better than this final fantasy... FF impoves with every version.
  74. Huaa
    Nov 24, 2003
    10
    This is great game.. i didn't like a lot of thing in the beginning but as i got used to them... they can't make it any better than this final fantasy... FF impoves with every version.
  75. MichaelK.
    Nov 30, 2003
    10
    This game is the best. it is a lot different then X but it is just as fun if not more. if you like any of the final fantasy game you will like this one. And i owe all the fun im having in this great game to my beautiful girl friend brit who got it for me and i love her for ever.
  76. OdinW.
    Oct 13, 2003
    9
    I played the import and I don't seem to understand anything the graphics are excellent and the music is cool, the game system seems fine and really weird is the battle is a real mess sometimes when the character stays on the other side after slashing an opponent...got stuck on the first mission but I'll buy the US version soon enough.
  77. BrianO.
    Dec 11, 2003
    9
    This game is good I love the new spin and yuna and riku are complimented by an interesting character paine I look forward to playing it again and again before getting the bonus ending.
  78. GeoffC.
    Dec 12, 2003
    8
    If any Final Fantasy X fan has ever seen the two recent Charlie's Angels movies and enjoyed themselves, they would appreciate this game. In some respects the game seems frivilous, but, in the context of the original game where an indestructable, town-destroying monster called Sin is finally defeated forever after a thousand years of carnage... well, you might expect people to act a If any Final Fantasy X fan has ever seen the two recent Charlie's Angels movies and enjoyed themselves, they would appreciate this game. In some respects the game seems frivilous, but, in the context of the original game where an indestructable, town-destroying monster called Sin is finally defeated forever after a thousand years of carnage... well, you might expect people to act a little goofy too. With 3 female characters and the in-battle, job-changing "Dressspheres", Final Fantasy X-2 is definitely a girl-power game, which may alienate a few people who don't get that sort of thing. Still, true to Squaresoft form, the fighting style is original, yet strangely familiar. The random monsters you fight are a mix of very easy to very deadly if you're not on your toes. You do have to sit up and take notice every once in awhile. There is a fair amount of recycled scenes in the game too... the benefit is that it makes sense, considering it's the same world, plus it reduced the development time to produce the game and lowered the cost of the game somewhat (though perhaps not quite enough). The familiarity with the world also makes you think "I wonder whatever happened to so-and-so" as you progress through it nostalgicly. The downside is, displaying the trail of the summoner's pilgramage makes little sense since it's no longer necessary in the post-Sin world, plus you have an airship to take you anywhere you'd care to go. So, travelling up and down lengthy roads to perform your missions seems a bit counter-intuitive. While some places are revamped (such as the rebuilt town of Killika), some people may be unimpressed with seeing the same old backgrounds from the original game even if they were quite good. Despite the light-hearted aspects, the game does have a more serious, underlying story that slowly emerges from the background. So those worried there won't be a meaningful storyline will have their fears abated as they progress through the game. I think anyone who's craved a sequel to Final Fantasy X will not be disappointed, particularly if they liked Yuna or Rikku, but those looking for a completely new, in-depth experience may be better off waiting for FF12 to come out. In short, it's a worthy sequel, but those skipping Final Fantasy X for X-2 probably wouldn't see what all the fuss was about. I think shaving another 5 or 10 dollars off the price would have made this a more reasonable value. Expand
  79. MatthewS.
    Dec 22, 2003
    10
    This game is awesome, a great first sequel that square has made, excuse me, square enix. And to continue from FFX, a great game its self, with well over 150+ hrs, it has made the story even better.
  80. MedoQ.
    Dec 26, 2003
    4
    It was a really big shock for me. I tried to be optimistic as much as I can but this is the best to rate it. I can't give it more because I played all the final fantasy series and I can know what's correct and what is wrong.The game have no new ideas all are the same with bad feelings through fighting our all friends all the game. If I am working in square cinex i won't be It was a really big shock for me. I tried to be optimistic as much as I can but this is the best to rate it. I can't give it more because I played all the final fantasy series and I can know what's correct and what is wrong.The game have no new ideas all are the same with bad feelings through fighting our all friends all the game. If I am working in square cinex i won't be proud by this product and I need to see how blind was the people who check it before bringing it to us. If square cinex doesn't make an excellent game it will loose the customers forever because they don't respect the quality game customers. Expand
  81. EricS.
    Dec 4, 2003
    9
    This game has taken some inovative ideas and basically lets u design ur own chars and abilities... only disapointment so far is the fact u loose ur levels at new game +
  82. ZackF.
    Dec 8, 2003
    10
    Honestly, the game DOES starts out boring, but after a while it is a really great game (although I miss the aeons). A lot of guys say it sucks because there are no dudes, because it is too girly, or because the dress sphere system is a dumb idea. To me, those are sexist remarks and shouldn't be able to affect any ones views about this great game.
  83. Jumpinflash
    Nov 19, 2004
    1
    this game is horrid! the one thing i liked is the battle system. they try to do almost like a Sonic the Hedehog type thing with levels and missions and gets on ur nerves very quickly. the story is very lacking. all u do is go around looking for spheres with movies in them, because yuna is looking for tidus...which if you've played final fantasy 10 u no he aint comin' back this game is horrid! the one thing i liked is the battle system. they try to do almost like a Sonic the Hedehog type thing with levels and missions and gets on ur nerves very quickly. the story is very lacking. all u do is go around looking for spheres with movies in them, because yuna is looking for tidus...which if you've played final fantasy 10 u no he aint comin' back anytime soon. this game couldve had better graphics than it did not that the werent spectacular already. this game has only three playable characters. two of them people from the original ff10! the only new character is Paine. the cinematics of this game are great graphicly but are very cheesy and stupid. this game should not have even been made. Expand
  84. JiloverzP.
    Nov 27, 2004
    1
    Oh my g wht were sqare thinking......i am just so stunned at how lame and cheesy this story is.... i liked the ffx(which was a masterpiece)waaaay better than ths CRAP!! i can't belive this was the sequel to the greatest game ever. ffx-2's storyline is so bad and shallow. I coudn't get into the game like i used to,.. but in the game when i heard the whistle...i was hoping theOh my g wht were sqare thinking......i am just so stunned at how lame and cheesy this story is.... i liked the ffx(which was a masterpiece)waaaay better than ths CRAP!! i can't belive this was the sequel to the greatest game ever. ffx-2's storyline is so bad and shallow. I coudn't get into the game like i used to,.. but in the game when i heard the whistle...i was hoping the story would get better...-_- it didnt. im gonna spoil the game right now so if you ddnt see the ending go away. at the end, yuna finally meets tidus and asks, 'are u real' and tidus replys, 'i think so' ... wat the hell was dat????? isn't anibody gonna explain WHY????(not the perfect ending.) this game is trash.-_- worst sequel EVER!!! Expand
  85. IanF.
    Oct 24, 2004
    3
    Trash. This feels like blasphemy but what were you thinking Square. This is so awful. It has a lame story, stupid character's (which is hard to believe because I like them in the last game), its painfully easy, and its way to feminine. Where are the men? Where are the pirates? Where is the red meat? But seriously, if you like the final fantasy games don't ruin happy memories by Trash. This feels like blasphemy but what were you thinking Square. This is so awful. It has a lame story, stupid character's (which is hard to believe because I like them in the last game), its painfully easy, and its way to feminine. Where are the men? Where are the pirates? Where is the red meat? But seriously, if you like the final fantasy games don't ruin happy memories by playing this garbage. Expand
  86. BizNess
    Feb 18, 2004
    10
    Ok, seriously, if you people dont like the game, dont play it!!!!! I for one happen to like it, the monsters, the battle system could have just not changed... i would have liked the garment grid to never happen and the sphere grid to come back but other than that... EVERYTHING is top notch, i like the graphics, however dangerous for old playstations to have too many graphics which can Ok, seriously, if you people dont like the game, dont play it!!!!! I for one happen to like it, the monsters, the battle system could have just not changed... i would have liked the garment grid to never happen and the sphere grid to come back but other than that... EVERYTHING is top notch, i like the graphics, however dangerous for old playstations to have too many graphics which can cause the GUI to crash, but really this is a really good damn game and i love it.... and to all the high raters, ignore the #$(%#$s who seem to have no feelings in RPG, nor Final Fantasy Peace Expand
  87. FFLover
    Feb 25, 2004
    10
    OH MAN THIS GAME IS GOOD!! And if any body makes fun of FF I'll drench their own blood on their final fantasy disk.
  88. HosenU.
    Mar 14, 2004
    10
    It was far most the 2nd beat game I played next to final fantasy 10 and the rating was the best every where and the characters were good but paine and rikku werent so this was a really good game and I say and give it a 10.
  89. RichardW.
    Nov 29, 2005
    6
    While I LOVE FF and all....this one was sorta bad in the areas that usually make FF games so memorable. For one thing, it was totally lacking in the plot area, and most of the time I felt like I was just playing to find out what new skimpy costume I could get the characters into next.
  90. MichelleM.
    Apr 27, 2005
    10
    THIS GAME IS THE BEST! thats all i can say THIS GAME IS THE BEST EVER! anywais g2g
  91. DavidJ.
    Jul 19, 2005
    10
    I say it's the best ff game i'v played.
  92. DanielleF.
    Jul 22, 2005
    7
    Yeah, so, I am an die hard FF fan, but for not REALLY being an FF game, Squaresoft really got it right. I love the way to fight in the game. If only the music hadn´t been so irritating, it would have been great. You gotta love Yuna in this one too ;P She´s just friggin´awesome!
  93. bryanMcCann
    Dec 2, 2006
    6
    this is not the best final fantisy game but it is way better then final fantisy XII. so what if you play as girls what are people sexest. the graphics are ok and this was there fist try at a story after the main one (FFX) and now that the game is chepper i would get it.
  94. JoeshieB.
    Aug 14, 2006
    4
    Let me start by saying that the biggest problem I had with this game was the atmosphere. Simply put, I felt like I was watching my Final Fantasy series being mashed with some horrible chick flick drivel. I mean, you have to go throw a concert in the Thunder Plains. A CONCERT! What's next? Help Yuna go pick out that fabulous prom dress she has always dreamed about or perhaps we should Let me start by saying that the biggest problem I had with this game was the atmosphere. Simply put, I felt like I was watching my Final Fantasy series being mashed with some horrible chick flick drivel. I mean, you have to go throw a concert in the Thunder Plains. A CONCERT! What's next? Help Yuna go pick out that fabulous prom dress she has always dreamed about or perhaps we should go try go try and find the elusive red lipstick that was stolen by the Al Bhed! Aside from the girlish atmosphere, the game also suffered from sub-par music and rather horrible voice acting. However, despite these huge problems, the game still has one saving grace. The battle system is one of the most enjoyable systems I have ever played. Overall, this game could have been so much more if it had dropped the Barbie or Pretty Pretty Princess approach. Expand
  95. AkibaH
    Nov 17, 2008
    9
    you are missing the point you are 3 girls 2 of wich are the hotest babes in the history of final fantasy the battle system is amazing it has guns and sword good story best opening of all final fantasys awsome graphics i think it is one of the best final fantasys right under final fantasy 7 and 10 i loved i have besten it over 20 times if you dont like the game thin go fuck yore selfs
  96. ArshadS
    Dec 7, 2009
    9
    The girly theme here was abit (fill in adjective) at first. As sum1 that love to complete games 100% i felt the 8X% at first disturbing. probably after the 3rd try getting 100%. Graphics are great sound is well done and the Story goes abit here and there altho in the end....satisfying! Overall great game.
  97. MysteryMan
    Nov 13, 2003
    9
    Final Fantasy, never lets you down.
  98. GeorgeC.
    Nov 17, 2003
    10
    This is a great game. metacritic should really take out the reviews score such as " uhh this is cheap cuz the graphic is the same as the first one." or "this is a good game but too expensive." the heck with these crap, who cares as long as it's a good game!?
  99. NhatT.
    Nov 21, 2003
    4
    The first 5 minutes of this game made me want to turn this POS final fantasy off. I didn't know weather to laugh or cry that I wasted my money on such a Cheesy ass game. What were the creators thinking when they made this abomination of a final fantasy.
  100. DeathCritique
    Nov 24, 2003
    9
    Final Fantasy X-2 is definitely worth playing, for even though the gameplay is different, the game is just as good, if not better than the others in the series. Many reviewers are scared of the "new" battle system, and the "scantily clad women," but the truth is, no matter how little the women are wearing, and how different the game is, Square will always make it worthwhile. The fighting Final Fantasy X-2 is definitely worth playing, for even though the gameplay is different, the game is just as good, if not better than the others in the series. Many reviewers are scared of the "new" battle system, and the "scantily clad women," but the truth is, no matter how little the women are wearing, and how different the game is, Square will always make it worthwhile. The fighting system starts off as a hard to grasp, button-mashing event, but as the game progresses, there is no doubt that you will get the hang of it and grow to love it. In order to really appreciate the game itself, you need to play through the game in its entirety, and I think that you will find it extremely entertaining. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003
#3 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2003
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. 90
    There's never been a Final Fantasy as free and as fun as X-2.
  2. Over-familiarity and stagnation has bred a cancerous apathy among gaming's cognoscenti. FFX-2, like it or not, gives players a reason to take notice again. [Jan 2004, p.98]
  3. A respectable follow-up, but it doesn't come close to rekindling the magic of the original. [Dec 2003, p.132]