User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 852 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 53 out of 852

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 15, 2012
    7
    Final Fantasy X is a good game in many ways. The battle system is still turn based but the new way of using summons brings it to a new level. Also the game looks really good for being a early playstation 2 game. The voice acting and music are pretty good as well. The largest reason for my giving Final Fantasy X a 7/10 is it's story. Although this game is filled with memorable charactersFinal Fantasy X is a good game in many ways. The battle system is still turn based but the new way of using summons brings it to a new level. Also the game looks really good for being a early playstation 2 game. The voice acting and music are pretty good as well. The largest reason for my giving Final Fantasy X a 7/10 is it's story. Although this game is filled with memorable characters there are certain aspects of the game's story that seem somewhat unoriginal. Tidus and Yuna's love story is basically a blend of the love stories found in Final Fantasy VIII and Final Fantasy IX. Also Sin is by far the least interesting villain that the Final Fantasy series has had. Final Fantasy X then tries to fill it's villain void with Seymour but he looks really wimpy when comparing him to Sephiroth, Kefka or Ultimecia. Expand
  2. PhilM.
    May 15, 2008
    6
    I was disappointed with this game. It opened up really well, but then just went out without a bang. First of all, Tidus is probably the worst character ever. What I like about FF7 and 8 is that you want to be the main characters. Although Cloud and Squall were weak characters on the inside, on the outside they were powerful. Tidus is a weak character both inside and out, looks like a I was disappointed with this game. It opened up really well, but then just went out without a bang. First of all, Tidus is probably the worst character ever. What I like about FF7 and 8 is that you want to be the main characters. Although Cloud and Squall were weak characters on the inside, on the outside they were powerful. Tidus is a weak character both inside and out, looks like a woman and is someone I'd never want to ever be. The story is great, however it's shown through lame dialogue done by characters you don't really care about. I thought Auran and Yuna were the only real good characters. The battles were very balanced and were awesome, however the huge long intros to start off battles became unbelievably annoying. Expand
  3. NinjaMafia
    Aug 6, 2003
    5
    This game is really not my type of game. The game is extremeley easy. The voice actors are horrible, the storyline was pretty bad. The characters were even bad, especially Seymor. The only thing this game really had going for it was the spere grid, which is one of the reasons this game is so easy. However if they can tweak the spere grid, make the game harder, adn include a decent story This game is really not my type of game. The game is extremeley easy. The voice actors are horrible, the storyline was pretty bad. The characters were even bad, especially Seymor. The only thing this game really had going for it was the spere grid, which is one of the reasons this game is so easy. However if they can tweak the spere grid, make the game harder, adn include a decent story I'll definitely buy another game like this. Expand
  4. MichaelE.
    Jun 7, 2005
    6
    I give the game a 6 because i got the dark aeon and the new game + is missing in the americain one.So squaresoft it over me.it`s feel like i pay for a beta (the game is non complete).
  5. [Anonymous]
    Jul 14, 2002
    5
    FF7 was way better. The story was stupid. Once you got past Macalania it was super boring. Yunalesca was too hard. The first time it took me a month to beat her.
  6. JackR.
    Sep 9, 2003
    5
    This game seriously blew. The graphics were great (hence the 5 rating), but i think it's a testament to how completely boring the game is when you consider that I've only beaten it just now-- and it's an easy game! I say bring back FF7-- that game rocked.
  7. BlueFalcon
    Jul 21, 2005
    5
    It's like you're watching a slow movie, but have to keep pressing the X button for it to continue. The actual gameplay is brainless, and linear. Your mom could get through the game just as fast and skillfully as you. The sphere grid appears to add depth to the character building, but in reality it takes away any depth by forcing you to improve your character in specific It's like you're watching a slow movie, but have to keep pressing the X button for it to continue. The actual gameplay is brainless, and linear. Your mom could get through the game just as fast and skillfully as you. The sphere grid appears to add depth to the character building, but in reality it takes away any depth by forcing you to improve your character in specific predetermined ways. With all that said, the game does have some nice cinematic moments, and it's not unplayable. I'll give it a 5, since I'd take approximately half of the ps2 library over this one. Expand
  8. EagleEye
    May 7, 2003
    6
    This is good, I like the story and characters but its not a real game, you spend 80% of your time watching cut scenes and i wish i was being over the top but thats for real. Major dissapointment after ff7.... i certainly won't be goin for another ff until its a game again.
  9. ShaneS.
    Oct 24, 2007
    6
    For every fifteen minutes you play the game you spend another twenty minutes in unskipable cutscenes. The plot is written in the most cliche emo way imaginable. I can't even think of any anime in existance that has a plot as cliche and bad as this. The camera is beyond bad. Think Sonic (360/PS3) bad. The battle system is satisfying but like I said before you spend only 1/4 of your For every fifteen minutes you play the game you spend another twenty minutes in unskipable cutscenes. The plot is written in the most cliche emo way imaginable. I can't even think of any anime in existance that has a plot as cliche and bad as this. The camera is beyond bad. Think Sonic (360/PS3) bad. The battle system is satisfying but like I said before you spend only 1/4 of your time actually fighting. One of the characters attacks with a beach ball -_- (very lame). Blitzball is terrible with a bad camera, clunky controlls, and stupid AI. I bought this along with DQVIII, and FFXII. God I hope those are better. Expand
  10. ZiggyStardust
    Aug 28, 2002
    6
    While I do appreciate the great story, longevity, and sweet video sequences, I actually somewhat regret purchasing FFX. The gameplay is rather boring, and it's difficult to get in to. I wish there was more skill and strategy involved. Perhaps it's best suited to patient RPG fanatics.
  11. Jul 21, 2011
    7
    "HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA --- HA HA HA HA HA HA --- HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!"

    That's really all you need to know. Its very poorly dubbed, but manages to stay pretty original in the vein of JRPG. The storyline is a little silly, but it is accompanied by some rather deliciously fluid cut scenes that really draw you into the experience. However, it is full of some rather uninteresting
    "HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA --- HA HA HA HA HA HA --- HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!"

    That's really all you need to know. Its very poorly dubbed, but manages to stay pretty original in the vein of JRPG. The storyline is a little silly, but it is accompanied by some rather deliciously fluid cut scenes that really draw you into the experience. However, it is full of some rather uninteresting characters, some overly tedious (read: overly long) boss battles, and some puzzles that are clearly not there for challenge of any kind. Also the sphere leveling system is pretty boss- although it doesn't quite solve the grinding problem in any of these games. It inspired an uninspired sequel that has nothing to do with anything, but fan service.
    Expand
  12. Nov 21, 2011
    7
    Not a bad game, but it feels like they concentrated more on the graphics and appearance, than the content and merit... Doesn't hold up too well compared to FFIX, but still playing it was enjoyable.
  13. Jan 6, 2015
    5
    Final Fantasy X may be great on it's tactical combat and it's presentation for the time but on a lot of levels it's severely overrated. it's plot while on paper show's promise but it's really doesn't stand up to inspection and it's really undone by the fact that clearly Yuna should be main character and Tidus's presence actively makes the plot worse and is a top contender for worstFinal Fantasy X may be great on it's tactical combat and it's presentation for the time but on a lot of levels it's severely overrated. it's plot while on paper show's promise but it's really doesn't stand up to inspection and it's really undone by the fact that clearly Yuna should be main character and Tidus's presence actively makes the plot worse and is a top contender for worst character Final Fantasy history. I usually really enjoy the art style in final fantasy and i will say there are bright sparks of genius but at other times it's really head scratching and for the love of god the voice acting ranges from passable to god awfully annoying on so many levels honestly the best part about this game is it's soundtrack Expand
  14. DanE.
    Jan 10, 2002
    7
    The cutscreens are too damn long. The graphics are great and the fight sceens are real active. The game blitzball is also fun to play, as long as your guys are good. Another thing is the storyline. Its a little hard to understand at first so I suggest to those of you who cant get it, to visit their official website and figure it out further there.
  15. CharlieG.
    Jun 6, 2006
    7
    Maybe I just hate RPG's, but I think this game really sucked because it is difficult and repetitive in a bad way.
  16. BryanS.
    Dec 6, 2006
    7
    Amazing story, but too much of it. I felt like I wasn't even playing a game, but watching a movie. Most of the game involved pressing X to continue to the next scene.
  17. Jun 9, 2013
    7
    Arguably the last Final Fantasy with an interesting plot it is easy to get lost for hours at a time completing the main storyline or many, many sidequests. While it certainly retains, and indeed improves upon, many of the core mechanics from the PSone titles however Final Fantasy X, for me at least, just isn't quite as memorable as those earlier games in the series and Final Fantasy VIIArguably the last Final Fantasy with an interesting plot it is easy to get lost for hours at a time completing the main storyline or many, many sidequests. While it certainly retains, and indeed improves upon, many of the core mechanics from the PSone titles however Final Fantasy X, for me at least, just isn't quite as memorable as those earlier games in the series and Final Fantasy VII still remains its crowning glory. Expand
  18. Jan 1, 2015
    7
    Final Fantasy X has a lot of problems to it, most notably being that this is the first FF game with voice acting for the cast...it's not a great effort in any language.
    It also has a lot of things going to it that are good, a decent story, a decent amount of good visuals and the score.
    Like I said it's got a lot of problems but it's nowhere near terrible, I just don't think it's
    Final Fantasy X has a lot of problems to it, most notably being that this is the first FF game with voice acting for the cast...it's not a great effort in any language.
    It also has a lot of things going to it that are good, a decent story, a decent amount of good visuals and the score.
    Like I said it's got a lot of problems but it's nowhere near terrible, I just don't think it's brilliant, the overuse of the mini games at this time of the FF series seem to be something like a slow strangulation than enjoyment.
    Expand
  19. Oct 25, 2013
    7
    *SPOILERS*
    It is for sure a wonderful game, the first Final Fantasy on Ps2. a of content and over 200+ hours of grinding and at least 50 hours of story mode. except the bad voice-acting (you're getting used to it) and the suprise when you noticed the bald move by Square to move from ATB to CTB, it still works. I could still call it Final Fantasy. The feeling is there. the story is there
    *SPOILERS*
    It is for sure a wonderful game, the first Final Fantasy on Ps2. a of content and over 200+ hours of grinding and at least 50 hours of story mode. except the bad voice-acting (you're getting used to it) and the suprise when you noticed the bald move by Square to move from ATB to CTB, it still works. I could still call it Final Fantasy. The feeling is there. the story is there and the music is definitely there.
    Though you follow an immature and unbelievable stupid main character the plot is preatty obvious but I liked the fact that he actually died at the end of the game... though what I was dissapointed about was the cliffhanger in the secret movie, kinda ruined the ending that you where so suprised over.
    Anyway the battle system is nice, each character is a little better at his or her own job but still everyone can learn there skills. The limit breaks are actually preaddy cool. Nice concept but little too easy to gain as always. It's a good game for plot at grinding as the other final fantasy games, but the extra bosses is on a whole new level. I'll tell ya that
    Expand
  20. Mar 24, 2013
    7
    My favorite feature in this game is the sphere grid talent system. The sphere grid is probably one of the most well done character development systems in any game. The worst part, gameplay-wise, are some of the mini-games. Blitzball wasn't very fun, and the lightning-strike-dodge-game was mind numbing and frustrating if you want the final prize from it. However, the only reason I'm notMy favorite feature in this game is the sphere grid talent system. The sphere grid is probably one of the most well done character development systems in any game. The worst part, gameplay-wise, are some of the mini-games. Blitzball wasn't very fun, and the lightning-strike-dodge-game was mind numbing and frustrating if you want the final prize from it. However, the only reason I'm not giving this game a 10 is because of the poorly implemented voice-overs. The 'press X to continue the dialog' made it seem entirely unnatural, and the voices they chose for the characters were from a well known and cliche team that otherwise translates anime sitcoms. The bad voices marred the character personalities. I have to keep in mind, however, that Square Enix deserved some slack for the voice-overs since it's the first time they ever tried it. Expand
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 53 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 53
  2. Negative: 0 out of 53
  1. We've seen the Final Fantasy epic take us on a memorable journey, but now it all seems like it's been done before. 10 is good, great at times, but it is no longer original.
  2. The replay value is very low, and the design is flawed by an inability to skip past sequences, even in replay mode. The playability also suffers by a lack of freedom of movement.
  3. Great RPG and certainly the best one on the PS2 currently, however, I feel it isn't as great as past FF's have been due to its lack of freedom.