Final Fantasy X PlayStation 2

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 981 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 58 out of 981
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BlueFalcon
    Jul 21, 2005
    5
    It's like you're watching a slow movie, but have to keep pressing the X button for it to continue. The actual gameplay is brainless, and linear. Your mom could get through the game just as fast and skillfully as you. The sphere grid appears to add depth to the character building, but in reality it takes away any depth by forcing you to improve your character in specific It's like you're watching a slow movie, but have to keep pressing the X button for it to continue. The actual gameplay is brainless, and linear. Your mom could get through the game just as fast and skillfully as you. The sphere grid appears to add depth to the character building, but in reality it takes away any depth by forcing you to improve your character in specific predetermined ways. With all that said, the game does have some nice cinematic moments, and it's not unplayable. I'll give it a 5, since I'd take approximately half of the ps2 library over this one. Expand
  2. M.Ous
    Sep 2, 2006
    1
    Bad animation and bad graphics date this as an early PS2 title. But bad character designs, voice acting, story, and game play are inexcusable. I really can't be bothered with learning how to play water dodgeball with 20 buttons in an RPG.
  3. CyrilD.
    Dec 30, 2001
    10
    Too nice to say something.
  4. ReinholdW.H.
    May 31, 2002
    3
    This title falls into the same trap as its predecessors: it's not really a GAME. Really. You have little to no control over the action. You are picked up and moved from place to place by tedious and poorly-scripted cutscenes. Only sparingly do you ever get to fight anything. I wish Square would make more FF titles like those on the NES and SNES and give players control and a sense of This title falls into the same trap as its predecessors: it's not really a GAME. Really. You have little to no control over the action. You are picked up and moved from place to place by tedious and poorly-scripted cutscenes. Only sparingly do you ever get to fight anything. I wish Square would make more FF titles like those on the NES and SNES and give players control and a sense of adventure, instead of the role of a bystander. Expand
  5. SnoopK.
    Sep 17, 2002
    10
    It's tha bomb.
  6. JonathanD.
    Sep 18, 2002
    9
    Pros: AMAZING GRAPHICS (!!!!!), good music, excellent voice acting (on par with MGS and Lunar), awesome battle system, compelling storyline. Cons: annoying frequency of random battles, blitzball, and an EXTREMELY LINEAR quest (I hate that). Special Notes: didn't sweep me up as much as FFs VI-IX. The Verdict: buy it. If you can't do that, play this game somehow. It's very Pros: AMAZING GRAPHICS (!!!!!), good music, excellent voice acting (on par with MGS and Lunar), awesome battle system, compelling storyline. Cons: annoying frequency of random battles, blitzball, and an EXTREMELY LINEAR quest (I hate that). Special Notes: didn't sweep me up as much as FFs VI-IX. The Verdict: buy it. If you can't do that, play this game somehow. It's very good, despite its minor flaws. Expand
  7. Uter
    Oct 28, 2003
    3
    I don't see the appeal of this series as a whole. I tried to like it and invested around 15 hours, but it simply wasn't engaging. The graphics don't impress me either. Talk about poor animation for Tidus. He's only got a walking animation, and a running animation - it looks just so unnatural, especially when he moves from one into the other. The combat rarely involves I don't see the appeal of this series as a whole. I tried to like it and invested around 15 hours, but it simply wasn't engaging. The graphics don't impress me either. Talk about poor animation for Tidus. He's only got a walking animation, and a running animation - it looks just so unnatural, especially when he moves from one into the other. The combat rarely involves strategy, and the game progresses in an unbareably linear way (hint* move forward). The level up system looks complex and deep, but in reality it's very simple. Usually you don't even get to choose what attribute you want to improve, just follow along a set path of leveling up. The only thing that I somewhat liked was the airy fairy story. While wimpy and overly pretend religious, it was entertaining and did make me care about the characters. Even if Tidus is the type of guy you might find in a beauty salon in real life. One more thing I'll complain about... The cut scenes all have different graphical styles and were done by different artists. Some look amazingly real, and others look not quite perfect versions of the characters you see during gameplay. Expand
  8. Marc444
    May 20, 2003
    3
    I just cannot believe how shocking Yuna's voice acting is... and how whiney Tidius sounds. The characters are so irritating, it's beyond the beyond. The game would have been infinitely more enjoyable if they made the time between battles and level explorations random, rather then exactly 20 seconds, sometimes even less. So all you can do is walk a few steps and then... BANG! you I just cannot believe how shocking Yuna's voice acting is... and how whiney Tidius sounds. The characters are so irritating, it's beyond the beyond. The game would have been infinitely more enjoyable if they made the time between battles and level explorations random, rather then exactly 20 seconds, sometimes even less. So all you can do is walk a few steps and then... BANG! you are in a battle. It kills the ability to explore completely!!! What were these guys thinking???? I'm not an RPG player, but I have to say it doesnt take one to see that they made some stupid decisions here. It could have been so much better, with not that much change. Expand
  9. EagleEye
    May 7, 2003
    6
    This is good, I like the story and characters but its not a real game, you spend 80% of your time watching cut scenes and i wish i was being over the top but thats for real. Major dissapointment after ff7.... i certainly won't be goin for another ff until its a game again.
  10. AnonymousMC
    Apr 9, 2004
    0
    Wat the hell is wrong with u idiots?! is there soms thing fun about watching people fight whyle u sit on the couch picking ur ass?? GOD no story no fun NO action. This game is not even worth crap.And jack.p U WANT TO MARRY A VIDO GAME CHARICTER?!!!!!!!!!!! thats kinda sad get some help
  11. Dave
    Jun 18, 2006
    0
    The most amazing thing about this game for me is how many people have bought into the hype surrounding it. In fact I use the word 'game' in its loosest sense, because in truth this is more of a movie, with brief 'game' sequences occasionally. The story is entirely linear, and most of the time you are just sitting watching mind-numbing boring movie sequences which you The most amazing thing about this game for me is how many people have bought into the hype surrounding it. In fact I use the word 'game' in its loosest sense, because in truth this is more of a movie, with brief 'game' sequences occasionally. The story is entirely linear, and most of the time you are just sitting watching mind-numbing boring movie sequences which you CANNOT SKIP! This is the first FF game I've played and I gather the other games in the series are much better, and don't consist of 90% movies which you can't skip. So I'm not slating the whole FF franchise but judging this game on its own merits, there is nothing to recommend it at all. If you want to watch a movie, go to the cinema or rent a DVD. Expand
  12. Eeganrac
    Jul 31, 2006
    3
    Great graphics, boring story, voice acting sucks. Not to mention, i thought i bought a game with cut scenes, not a movie with some interaction. Way too many cut scenes that you can't friggin skip.
  13. Noir
    Aug 7, 2006
    2
    I'm late to the game with this one, but it's pretty clear that this isn't really a video game, per se. It's more like a long, drawn out anime. I quickly grew tired of mundane tasks, like having my character walk from one cut scene to another. There just isn't enough real interaction to make this a video game, unfortunately. I will say, the cut scenes are beautiful I'm late to the game with this one, but it's pretty clear that this isn't really a video game, per se. It's more like a long, drawn out anime. I quickly grew tired of mundane tasks, like having my character walk from one cut scene to another. There just isn't enough real interaction to make this a video game, unfortunately. I will say, the cut scenes are beautiful to look at, but when it comes down to it, I could see a beautiful anime by renting one. Expand
  14. ShaneS.
    Oct 24, 2007
    6
    For every fifteen minutes you play the game you spend another twenty minutes in unskipable cutscenes. The plot is written in the most cliche emo way imaginable. I can't even think of any anime in existance that has a plot as cliche and bad as this. The camera is beyond bad. Think Sonic (360/PS3) bad. The battle system is satisfying but like I said before you spend only 1/4 of your For every fifteen minutes you play the game you spend another twenty minutes in unskipable cutscenes. The plot is written in the most cliche emo way imaginable. I can't even think of any anime in existance that has a plot as cliche and bad as this. The camera is beyond bad. Think Sonic (360/PS3) bad. The battle system is satisfying but like I said before you spend only 1/4 of your time actually fighting. One of the characters attacks with a beach ball -_- (very lame). Blitzball is terrible with a bad camera, clunky controlls, and stupid AI. I bought this along with DQVIII, and FFXII. God I hope those are better. Expand
  15. GatsbyJ.
    Apr 28, 2007
    3
    -To paraphrase Tolstoy: Good games are all alike; every bad game is bad in its own way. Reading over all the bad reviews for this game, of which there are surpisingly many, you can see a thread running through the complaints. -What seems to annoy some about FFX (including me) is that it's more like a movie than a game where you're watching rather than playing. The game is way -To paraphrase Tolstoy: Good games are all alike; every bad game is bad in its own way. Reading over all the bad reviews for this game, of which there are surpisingly many, you can see a thread running through the complaints. -What seems to annoy some about FFX (including me) is that it's more like a movie than a game where you're watching rather than playing. The game is way too easy. The sphere system sucks and robs the players of their freedom. Blitzball is a sorry attempt at a mini-game. The characters are HORRIBLE! Tidus is lackluster in all respects except in the fact that he looks like a transvestite in a halloween costume, not to forget his annoying voice acting. Yuna is also annoying and underdeveloped, and her movements are very awkward. And Seymor is a horrible villain: he looks like a hippy and he sounds like he sat on a spike. Wakka is just as big a sterotype as Jar-Jar Binks, the difference being that you can fastforward the parts with Jar-Jar. In other words, FFX has some of the worst voice acting in videogame history (and this includes Resident Evil). The battle system hasn't really improved over previous FF's, and the character are horrible.. -But to give due praise, the graphics are good (though not great, since they do seem insipid at many points), the music, which is the worst out of all the FF's since FF6, is still good. The ability to control summons is something new. The CGI is top quality. -Yet all these do not make up for the game being so bad. Tidus is the worst protagonist to grace the FF series, and Yuna is the worst heroine, and Seymor is the worst villain in FF history. Of course, those who love the game are perfectly entitled to their views: it's all just a matter of opinion. Expand
  16. JK
    Jul 16, 2009
    4
    This (game / Interactive movie) is a step back from other FF games. Unlike previous FF games, the battle system has been oversimplified, there's no longer intricate dungeons to explore, and you can no longer explore the "game world" freely. You will be overwhelmed with random battles every 5 seconds, and you are forced to watch unskippable 45 minute cut-scenes after every 10 minutes This (game / Interactive movie) is a step back from other FF games. Unlike previous FF games, the battle system has been oversimplified, there's no longer intricate dungeons to explore, and you can no longer explore the "game world" freely. You will be overwhelmed with random battles every 5 seconds, and you are forced to watch unskippable 45 minute cut-scenes after every 10 minutes of gameplay! Expand
  17. ZiggyStardust
    Aug 28, 2002
    6
    While I do appreciate the great story, longevity, and sweet video sequences, I actually somewhat regret purchasing FFX. The gameplay is rather boring, and it's difficult to get in to. I wish there was more skill and strategy involved. Perhaps it's best suited to patient RPG fanatics.
  18. DennisG.
    Nov 29, 2003
    3
    I've not played any other FF game, but hearing a lot about this I picked up a copy out of curiosity. While the plot is interesting, my saved game tells me I've been playing for over three hours and of that a few minutes could be considered "playing" and the rest watching cutscenes. Next to the sadly neglected graphic adventure genre, I always considered RPGs to be mentally I've not played any other FF game, but hearing a lot about this I picked up a copy out of curiosity. While the plot is interesting, my saved game tells me I've been playing for over three hours and of that a few minutes could be considered "playing" and the rest watching cutscenes. Next to the sadly neglected graphic adventure genre, I always considered RPGs to be mentally challenging. There is no challenge here. You are guided at every point, your choices only limited in the fight scenes - and they leave a lot to be desired. I have so far failed to see what warrants the sea of 10s on here. Expand
  19. Jul 12, 2011
    9
    ive loved FF since FF2 on the Snes . this is FF evolved for sure with a new combat system thats fun and a new level up system using a sphere grid which is pretty cool since you can really go crazy custimising your charicters. the story is pretty solid the voice acting is a mixed bag some are pretty good are real good like auron or kinda bad or really bad like jecht who i could not standive loved FF since FF2 on the Snes . this is FF evolved for sure with a new combat system thats fun and a new level up system using a sphere grid which is pretty cool since you can really go crazy custimising your charicters. the story is pretty solid the voice acting is a mixed bag some are pretty good are real good like auron or kinda bad or really bad like jecht who i could not stand hearing him talk . the game takes a very very very linear path approtch which felt awkward at first but once the story picked up after about 6 hours i was hooked on what was gona happen next . there is alot of stuff to do especially at the end . my biggest gripe with this game besides the voice acting has to be how freeking EASY the final boss fight is . i mean he is a 0 challenge i mean if you loose to this guy i feel bad for you. i found it harder just getting to him then fighting him. all in all the FFX is a solid RPG and one of the last real good FF games ive played . Expand
  20. Sep 28, 2010
    10
    Currently on a quest to finish reviewing (or at least write short comment) on Final Fantasy games I played before, not surprisingly this is the first PS2 game I ever played. The moment I laid eyes on cutey-pie Tidus... I mean the awesome graphics on Zanarkand being terrorized by sin, I was like wow... thank god I have a PS2. As an hardcore RPG gamer, I love the fact that it stays true to aCurrently on a quest to finish reviewing (or at least write short comment) on Final Fantasy games I played before, not surprisingly this is the first PS2 game I ever played. The moment I laid eyes on cutey-pie Tidus... I mean the awesome graphics on Zanarkand being terrorized by sin, I was like wow... thank god I have a PS2. As an hardcore RPG gamer, I love the fact that it stays true to a much improved turn based gameplay, each one of them is distinct in it's own way just makes the game even better. The characters provided were a cast of memorable characters starting from the naive Rikku to the should be less serious Yuna, each one them have a heart and soul, which to me is a prime sign that RPG should be taken seriously. At the time the graphics were too good to be true and the music is just... well, I have mixed feeling about the music. I just want to say that this is one the best RPG to date. Collapse
  21. Sep 13, 2010
    10
    Late Review, but I just recently had time to finish this game.

    Easily one of the best in the series, FFX adds character voices for the first time in the series which, along with captivating cut-scenes, makes this a great game to play anytime of the day. Along with the addition of the blitzball mini-game, FFX changed the way you use summons, fight, and even how you level up. This game
    Late Review, but I just recently had time to finish this game.

    Easily one of the best in the series, FFX adds character voices for the first time in the series which, along with captivating cut-scenes, makes this a great game to play anytime of the day. Along with the addition of the blitzball mini-game, FFX changed the way you use summons, fight, and even how you level up. This game comes with all of this, packed into one of the greatest story-lines to date. The extra dungeons, mini-games, and unlockable end weapons gives you hours of endless gameplay. My personal time before i quit playing for good was 113:46

    The team who created this installment of the FF series truly put their hearts and souls into making this game. A definite must have for any fans of the FF series
    Expand
  22. Sep 23, 2010
    10
    It's closer to a 9.5 than a 10 out of 10, but I feel that the legacy that this game has left behind as a standard-bearer is enough to push it over the top. Final Fantasy X is, from start to finish, THE exemplary RPG on the PS2, and arguably the system's definitive title.
  23. Oct 3, 2010
    9
    This was in my opinion the last of the great modern Final Fantasy games, even if it was a bit too linear (which is now common) it was nonetheless a great RPG with great characters you could get involved with and the story was decent but not amazing. The general graphics and design of the game really brought it to the next level. Oh how I miss you FFX~
  24. Nov 17, 2010
    10
    This game by far is still not only my favorite game of the final fantasy series, it's one of my favorite games of all time! I absolutely LOVE this game to death, i don't think i'll ever get rid of my ps2 heavily due to this game. I LOVE the story line throughout the game and all the obstacles if you to do to accomplish goals and beat the game. Every character shines in there own way, andThis game by far is still not only my favorite game of the final fantasy series, it's one of my favorite games of all time! I absolutely LOVE this game to death, i don't think i'll ever get rid of my ps2 heavily due to this game. I LOVE the story line throughout the game and all the obstacles if you to do to accomplish goals and beat the game. Every character shines in there own way, and i've grown fond of all of them. If you don't have this game, something is seriously wrong with you, and you need to wipe the dust off your ps2 and play this game, NOW!

    i've beaten the game at least 5 times and i've started a new one to play it all over again. I LOVE FINAL FATNASY X!!!!!
    Expand
  25. Dec 18, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 4 biggest things (in no particular order): 1. Graphics/aesthetics - one of the best-looking games for PS2, period. 2. Characters - The 7 protagonists were done well. They have unique personalities with their own interests, faults, prejudices, and surprises. You get a decent amount of background on all the essential characters but not so much that there's no room for mystery. Some people say the protagonists were static, but I disagree. Wakka got rid of his prejudice against the Al Bhed, Khimarhi proved himself to his tribe, Tidus came to terms (sort of) with his father, and many of them threw away their religion. Maybe Auron is static, but he has already learned his lesson. There could have been more development in the relationship between Tidus and Yuna so the make-out scene wouldn't seem so out of place, and everything suffered slightly from the voice acting, but for the most part the characters were beautifully done.
    3. Story - You either like it or you think it's ridiculous. It really is a weird and dramatic plot, and it can get pretty cheesy as well as confusing, but it is entirely original. If you get into it, you'll realize there's a really good message behind it all, and the ending will leave you satisfied. Also, like people have said, the story is both linear and static; you can't change the course of the story. In that respect, it leans toward being an interactive movie - especially since you can't skip scenes. But you're in control for nearly all of the action, and it was paced well for the most part. There weren't too many cutscenes that weren't balanced with playable time and, honestly, you spend a ton of time running around and fighting. Besides that, there's plenty more to find out from talking to the numerous people standing around.
    4. Gameplay - I liked the battle system. It's turn-based and you can swap out characters, so you think more about strategy and less about mashing buttons. The overdrives were awesome - each character had unique and appropriate overdrives and they weren't too strong or too weak. The sphere grid is a good way to customize your characters, but your characters are locked into a path until at least halfway through the game, so it's hard to add magic, for example, to a usable level without many extra hours of leveling-up aside from the main story. The mini-games, like blitzball and chocobo racing, were fun and intuitive but too easy.

    Of course this isn't like previous Final Fantasies, and you shouldn't expect it to be. It's on a new platform with new capabilities, just like FFVII was on a (better) new platform compared to its predecessors. I completely appreciate that Square did something different with FFX (and FFX-2). It's not perfect, but I like it.
    Expand
  26. Nov 20, 2010
    9
    Very good game, one of my favourites out the final fantasy series, even thought the battle system has changed. A big risk for Square Enix but they managed to pull it, 3D cinematic cut scenes really showed the quality of the graphics. The only disappointment would have to be Blitz ball, it is very hard to understand no matter how much you read the instructions.
  27. Dec 21, 2010
    10
    for me the best ff ever, i cryed with the final, no other game had me in front of the tv for so many time.

    Good Graphics
    excellent history
    nice characters
    perfect combat system
  28. Feb 27, 2011
    10
    I loved everything about this game. I loved the battle system, how it gave you time to think about your actions. And, yes, you will run into fiends every 10 seconds, but you need to level up your characters like crazy to even attempt to finish the game, plus they drop items you need. The cut scenes were long sometimes, but they were beautiful. Some cut scenes made me cry. The scenery inI loved everything about this game. I loved the battle system, how it gave you time to think about your actions. And, yes, you will run into fiends every 10 seconds, but you need to level up your characters like crazy to even attempt to finish the game, plus they drop items you need. The cut scenes were long sometimes, but they were beautiful. Some cut scenes made me cry. The scenery in the game was breath taking. The characters were one of the best things about this game. The back stories, outfits, personalities, weapons, voices, really everything was so unique. This game has the BEST music I have ever heard for a video game, I never got tired of the music. I loved the plot twists and character development. I also liked how there was humor in the stories. The only thing that was bad was Tidus's voice, which was whiny at some times. Over all, I give this game 9 or 10, but you have to be patient with the cut scenes, battles, and characters. You will have to level up your characters a lot, watch many cut scenes, and deal with characters complain, plus, to level up characters and higher your chances of beating the game, you will have to do side quests, like winning blitzball, training chocobos, and going through many cloister of trails to earn aeons. If you are impatient, hate watching cut scenes or characters, I would not recommend this game. To me, this game changed my life, a definite buy. Expand
  29. Apr 10, 2011
    10
    The best game i ever played, with the awesome ost from nobuo uematsu.
    I really cry today when i hear "to zanarkand". have to play this another day
  30. Jun 9, 2013
    7
    Arguably the last Final Fantasy with an interesting plot it is easy to get lost for hours at a time completing the main storyline or many, many sidequests. While it certainly retains, and indeed improves upon, many of the core mechanics from the PSone titles however Final Fantasy X, for me at least, just isn't quite as memorable as those earlier games in the series and Final Fantasy VIIArguably the last Final Fantasy with an interesting plot it is easy to get lost for hours at a time completing the main storyline or many, many sidequests. While it certainly retains, and indeed improves upon, many of the core mechanics from the PSone titles however Final Fantasy X, for me at least, just isn't quite as memorable as those earlier games in the series and Final Fantasy VII still remains its crowning glory. Expand
  31. Jul 21, 2011
    7
    "HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA --- HA HA HA HA HA HA --- HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!"

    That's really all you need to know. Its very poorly dubbed, but manages to stay pretty original in the vein of JRPG. The storyline is a little silly, but it is accompanied by some rather deliciously fluid cut scenes that really draw you into the experience. However, it is full of some rather uninteresting
    "HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA --- HA HA HA HA HA HA --- HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!"

    That's really all you need to know. Its very poorly dubbed, but manages to stay pretty original in the vein of JRPG. The storyline is a little silly, but it is accompanied by some rather deliciously fluid cut scenes that really draw you into the experience. However, it is full of some rather uninteresting characters, some overly tedious (read: overly long) boss battles, and some puzzles that are clearly not there for challenge of any kind. Also the sphere leveling system is pretty boss- although it doesn't quite solve the grinding problem in any of these games. It inspired an uninspired sequel that has nothing to do with anything, but fan service.
    Expand
  32. Nov 21, 2011
    7
    Not a bad game, but it feels like they concentrated more on the graphics and appearance, than the content and merit... Doesn't hold up too well compared to FFIX, but still playing it was enjoyable.
  33. Mar 5, 2013
    9
    The story is good, despite beeing sometimes corny and having the baddest scene in history of rpg with the laughing scene. I also like the battle system very much and the music is pretty good to. Graphics are also nice its just way to linear, letting you only go forward. Nevertheless pretty good RPG.
  34. Oct 4, 2012
    2
    This game is one of the worst JRPG-s to this date, and worst FF game. Storyline is stupid, characters are annoying and underdeveloped. Main character is a whining brat Tidus who joins a group chosen to stop great evil monster Sin. Story also just stops at some points and you do stupid quests for random people. And those last for app. 10 hours. Final boss is also a slap in a face to everyThis game is one of the worst JRPG-s to this date, and worst FF game. Storyline is stupid, characters are annoying and underdeveloped. Main character is a whining brat Tidus who joins a group chosen to stop great evil monster Sin. Story also just stops at some points and you do stupid quests for random people. And those last for app. 10 hours. Final boss is also a slap in a face to every person that finished this game. Gameplay and battle system is much better than previous games and there is a full voice acting for every cut scene. But voice acting sucks and cut scenes cannot be skipped. Basically this game is horrible and very, very overrated. Expand
  35. Mar 21, 2013
    9
    Provided players can get used to Tidus, there's a lot in Final Fantasy X that you really have to try to dislike. The mechanics have been overhauled and combat is superb, the Sphere Grid is easy to understand and enjoyable (no "Junction" garbage) but best of all the game never devolves into a grind-fest, though the end-game is a bit of an end-boss gauntlet. Music as ever is incredible, asProvided players can get used to Tidus, there's a lot in Final Fantasy X that you really have to try to dislike. The mechanics have been overhauled and combat is superb, the Sphere Grid is easy to understand and enjoyable (no "Junction" garbage) but best of all the game never devolves into a grind-fest, though the end-game is a bit of an end-boss gauntlet. Music as ever is incredible, as are cinematics/cut-scenes, story is a little formulaic and predictable in places but I couldn't put FFX down until I finished, I actually became a little obsessed with it. Expand
  36. Sep 17, 2011
    9
    I gave "9", and I'm going to tell where that 9 came from and why is 1 missing. The 9 : The game is brilliant, the graphics back in 2001 were the best, in 2001 Final Fantasy X had graphics that started to be considered "normal" in 2007 - 2008. The History behind it was completely complex and full of surprises and subliminal little things that appear in the game that you can only understandI gave "9", and I'm going to tell where that 9 came from and why is 1 missing. The 9 : The game is brilliant, the graphics back in 2001 were the best, in 2001 Final Fantasy X had graphics that started to be considered "normal" in 2007 - 2008. The History behind it was completely complex and full of surprises and subliminal little things that appear in the game that you can only understand when you play it for the second or third time, such as the words in Al-Bhed all over the initial maps that you can only read having the full Al-Bhed Language skill, and you can only understand by watching the entire game history. Also, some people never realize that the ship that Tidus, Auron, Yuna and the other ride later in the game is the same ship wich Tidus helps to get back in the beginning. Why less 1 : I could give a full 10 to Final Fantasy X, but if I give 10 to Final Fantasy X I would have to give 11 to Final Fantasy XII. In this game, the cinematic scenes are kind of Annoying since we can't skip them, but in Final Fantasy XII we can skip all the scenes. (I still see them, since it depends if the player wants to meet the story or not). Blitzball, a stupid sidekick RPG on the real RPG, I never got that game since it is more luck than RPG, anyway you are only obligated to play it one time so it won't annoy much, only if you want to get Wakka's Ultimate Weapon, then you will have to be a Blitzball Champion. Expand
  37. Jan 1, 2015
    7
    Final Fantasy X has a lot of problems to it, most notably being that this is the first FF game with voice acting for the cast...it's not a great effort in any language.
    It also has a lot of things going to it that are good, a decent story, a decent amount of good visuals and the score.
    Like I said it's got a lot of problems but it's nowhere near terrible, I just don't think it's
    Final Fantasy X has a lot of problems to it, most notably being that this is the first FF game with voice acting for the cast...it's not a great effort in any language.
    It also has a lot of things going to it that are good, a decent story, a decent amount of good visuals and the score.
    Like I said it's got a lot of problems but it's nowhere near terrible, I just don't think it's brilliant, the overuse of the mini games at this time of the FF series seem to be something like a slow strangulation than enjoyment.
    Expand
  38. Sep 7, 2012
    2
    I remembered seeing this every where ten years ago so I pulled out my old ps2 and paid $3 for a copy. And for all the perseverance I had, all the hours I put in trying to get quality back out, this game might be one of the most disappointing endeavors of my life. The story is god awful; the relationships are rote and simple; there is absolutely no thematic development; the only good songI remembered seeing this every where ten years ago so I pulled out my old ps2 and paid $3 for a copy. And for all the perseverance I had, all the hours I put in trying to get quality back out, this game might be one of the most disappointing endeavors of my life. The story is god awful; the relationships are rote and simple; there is absolutely no thematic development; the only good song out of a horrendous soundtrack plays maybe twice; the villain might have the worst cliche name in gaming history; but possibly by far, the biggest, most torturous, agonizing flaw is the voice acting - it might have been decent in japanese but the american actors gave no effort, only stretching out insignificant dialogue (which was poorly written to begin with) with complete lethargy, or yelling through the pseudo dramatic moments. It may aspire to be a dramatic story but it fails miserably in every way possible. The gameplay is alright for a FF game; it allows for decent strategizing, but be aware that the only wit involved in FFX will have to be on your part because the creators had none. If you play video games for stories foremost, avoid, or better yet go out of your way to break copies of this if you see them lying around. Expand
  39. Oct 14, 2011
    10
    What can I say? An experience of a life time. I didnt want it to end! Have to check out X-2, when they realise at Playstation, that it has to be brought to the store.
  40. Feb 13, 2012
    10
    This game will always hold a special place for me amongst my video game collections. I got this game the year it came out and have loved it ever since. There is just something so emotionally involving and deeply engaging between the characters and the player. Itâ
  41. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    If you ever want to experiance a story that will take your breath away,then this is the game for you. With smooth gameplay and amazing CG graphics. It may be the best Final Fantasy games ever made.
  42. Aug 15, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Final Fantasy X is a game I've picked up and put down many times before. Originally, I was looking for Sonic Unleashed for the PS2, as its daytime stages are looked fun, but the gamestop I was in didnt have it, so instead, I got this. I have played three Final Fantasy games (VII, XII, X), and out of them all, this is the one I like the least. And beleive me, I have my reasons. Let me start off with the positives: The story. The story in this game is really really good. You take control of Tidus, an annoying character whom youll end up hating, who is a Blitzball player who is teleported away from his city of Zanarkand after a creature known as sin walks into it. He soon finds out that he is in the future, 1000 years later, and eventually meets Wakka, a fellow Blitzball player who has never won a game and decides to go off on one more championship before becoming a guradian. I dont want to spoil anymore now. The plot does have some flaws though: Apparently, when you die in the world of spira, if you are not sent by a summoner, you will be reborn as a fiend. If you get killed as a fiend, you will become a fiend. If you get killed as a fiend, you will become a feind! Eh? This means that there is no downside to dying. So death is pointless since ten minutes later, youll get back up. Also, the battle system is really really good as well. Strategic thinking and using the right characters is key to winning a battle. And a convienient bar at the right tells you who will move next, and you can also strateigecly switch party members. This is the one part of Final Fantasy X that I really love. The only bad thing I can say about them is that theyre a bit too slow paced, but thats not really something fair to gripe over. Thats unfortunately where the positives end really. Now its time for the ranting. Where to start? How about the character design and models? Alright. The character design is really... um... unique? Its all really weird. I mean, who looked at Seymour all of a sudden and said YES! THAT HAIR STYLE IS PERFECT! MAKE IT HAPPEN! Youll really have to see the characters to know what I mean. The models, while some are great for the time, look flat out weird, especially Rikku and Issaru. Some people dont even move their mouth when talking, and simle when theyre not supposed to. Okay, moving on. The gameplay is linear. Youre always set on a straight forward path with little to no oppertunity to go back. A factor to this linearity is the amount of cutscenes that spend way too much time showing off graphics and are like "YEAH! LOOK AT THESE PS2 GRAPHICS. SCREW GC AND XBOX, GO OUT AND BUY A PS2!" My first 5-6 hours of gameplay was spent moving from place to place which will trigger a cutscene, a boss fight or both. I land on an island. Theres a red arrow to follow. I follow it and a cutscene appears. It ends, and another red arrow appears. I walk two steps and another cutscene. That cutscene ends, and I proceed to follow the arrow. Another cutscen. Another arrow. Cutscene, arrow, cutscene arrow, cutscene, arrow, CUTSCEN, ARROW, CUTSCENE, ARROW, CUTSCENE, ARROW! WHY?!!! There was barley anything interseting around me. None of the NPCs have anythign to say, there is a severe lack of shops. If Yuna runs out of MP, and I dont have any potions, Im screwed. If there was a shop, just-UGGHHH! Another aspect of tyhe game is that its soo annoying! Dont get me started on those wait for yuna sections. In certain sections, Yuna is praying at a temple, and all of the characters keep on telling you to sit down, shut up, and wait till Yuna is done. But you
    re not supposed to wait. Youre not supposed to sit ther. Youre supposed to go a certain spot in the area, and then it will trigger a cutscene! HOW WAS I SUPPOSED TO KNOW THAT! Some places you're supposed to go to trigger the cutscene are the places that everyone is telling you not to go! Like the place where Yuna is praying why? I spend, I kid you not, 3 hours, sitting there waiting for Yuna, and she never came out. And besides; WAITING FOR SOMEONE? DOES THAT SOUND LIKE FUN TO YOU?! And last, Blitzball. Blitzball is so annoying. First off, the tutorial is painfully long, and it gives you som much wrong advice on what to do in the game. Second, Blitzball is slow, its boring, its quiet, and the first time you play it, you are the worst team by a lot, and youll loose. Luckily, by the end of your first Blitzball game, a majority of the problems you had are gone. No more Cutscene aroww following and Blitzball is completely optional. However, there are still some gripes. You can never really go a decent distance without a random battle, and, still, there are a lack of shops. Luckily, only my first 10 hours of the game were painfull, but ya know what? FFX wasnt that bad. Its the worst of the FF games Ive played, but thats not saying much, since the three I played were great. When its good, its great, and when its annoying...oh god........ill give it an 8.0/10
    Expand
  43. May 15, 2012
    9
    If you could skip the cut-scenes this would be a perfect RPG! however its still an amazing game and the last of the great final fantasy's, Auron ftw!
  44. May 29, 2012
    9
    Best RPG of PS2. Everything in FFX is great, from the beginning to the end. History is really interesting and the soundtrack is amazing. The game mechanic is very deep with the sphere desk. In order to maximize your skills and characters, you'll need probably 100 or 150 hours if you want to face some of the most dangerous enemies in the game. Also, the equipment system which allows you toBest RPG of PS2. Everything in FFX is great, from the beginning to the end. History is really interesting and the soundtrack is amazing. The game mechanic is very deep with the sphere desk. In order to maximize your skills and characters, you'll need probably 100 or 150 hours if you want to face some of the most dangerous enemies in the game. Also, the equipment system which allows you to customize every item's skills is very smart. Also, this game goes back to the turn fighting system (without ATB from previous games). It's one of these games that you just have to play. Expand
  45. Jun 1, 2012
    10
    This is one of my favorite games ever, along with Final Fantasy 7. I'm the type of person that loves a good story and this game has it. They did a great job with pacing and storytelling. Also has a great soundtrack and some really good cut scenes. Can't wait for the remake!
  46. Dec 26, 2013
    8
    Innovations in gameplay, particularly with the battle and summon systems, the option to change party members during battle, and the character development and inventory management systems.+++ Gameplay and interfaces are very enjoyable but the story and characters are the weak points. Story is pretty stupid, confusing and unfocused(it has few great scenes). Characters are annoying from theirInnovations in gameplay, particularly with the battle and summon systems, the option to change party members during battle, and the character development and inventory management systems.+++ Gameplay and interfaces are very enjoyable but the story and characters are the weak points. Story is pretty stupid, confusing and unfocused(it has few great scenes). Characters are annoying from their looks to personalities. Expand
  47. Apr 9, 2013
    8
    It is a good Final Fantasy.

    Pros: Great graphics (especially if on PCSX2), interesting sphere leveling system, blitzball minigame, good story. Cons: I could not stand Tidus, the main character. After FF8, the main characters have gotten super gay and annoying. At least Auron compensates with his badassery. Also, I missed the freedom I had with the previous chapters while roaming on
    It is a good Final Fantasy.

    Pros: Great graphics (especially if on PCSX2), interesting sphere leveling system, blitzball minigame, good story.
    Cons: I could not stand Tidus, the main character. After FF8, the main characters have gotten super gay and annoying. At least Auron compensates with his badassery.
    Also, I missed the freedom I had with the previous chapters while roaming on the world map. Here, the whole story goes on a linear path and you get some freedom with the airship only on the very last chapter. It was needed much earlier in the game.

    Overall, it still deserves an 8.
    Expand
  48. Sep 11, 2013
    8
    I have to say I didn't mind this FF. Great animation, interesting characters and a really deep and tear wrenching story.

    FF 10's biggest flaw would have to be it's linearity. Most of the game is very linear and leave little room to explore. Don't get me wrong, the environments are beautiful and the creature battles varied and engaging. The game does open up completely, but only right at
    I have to say I didn't mind this FF. Great animation, interesting characters and a really deep and tear wrenching story.

    FF 10's biggest flaw would have to be it's linearity. Most of the game is very linear and leave little room to explore. Don't get me wrong, the environments are beautiful and the creature battles varied and engaging. The game does open up completely, but only right at the end and the freedom to explore feels more like a needless additional activity that doesn't really add much to the central plot. But, that aside, the additional stuff is vast and incredibly challenging. The monster farm has some hard as nails fights.

    The story is can be really moving at times and you can not help but fall in love with Yuna. Tidus is a tool, but a lovable tool and it is great to see their relationship develop and grow.

    Blitzball is a simple little side game. but damn is it fun. The better you get the more you want to play. I'm a bit surprised that Square never a spin-off title around this.

    Overall:
    Final Fantasy X is a really good addition to the FF series and has done a good job bringing the FF franchise into the 21st century. While I didn't enjoy it as much as the previous titles, I still liked it none the less.
    Expand
  49. Jan 8, 2013
    10
    There's a reason why Square has been around for so long, and that's because they make amazing games. Final Fantasy X is an amazing game, at the time of it's release it had amazing graphics and cut-scenes, but it was also bundled with an amazing story and appealing characters, as well as a great combat system, awesome boss battles, and wonderful areas to explore. There was so much to do inThere's a reason why Square has been around for so long, and that's because they make amazing games. Final Fantasy X is an amazing game, at the time of it's release it had amazing graphics and cut-scenes, but it was also bundled with an amazing story and appealing characters, as well as a great combat system, awesome boss battles, and wonderful areas to explore. There was so much to do in this game, I've spent over 300 hours in several playthroughs of this game and I enjoyed every moment of it. Expand
  50. Jan 16, 2013
    10
    This game is extraordinarily captivating, emotional, beautiful and memorable. The story was perfectly thought out and utterly engrossing. I REALLY wanted to know what happened next and why. The music was amazing and the graphics were great for it's time. I've played quite a few games in my time but none have come close to what Final Fantasy X brings to the table. I was literally on theThis game is extraordinarily captivating, emotional, beautiful and memorable. The story was perfectly thought out and utterly engrossing. I REALLY wanted to know what happened next and why. The music was amazing and the graphics were great for it's time. I've played quite a few games in my time but none have come close to what Final Fantasy X brings to the table. I was literally on the edge of my seat on numerous occasions throughout the entire game. The plots twists left my jaw hanging low and the ending left me crying like a wimp.

    If you own a PS2 and are a fan of RPGs, there is no reason for you not to have this game.
    Expand
  51. Jan 22, 2013
    9
    it´s the best final fantasy with voice acting you can find today right now. it´s the best final fantasy from ps2 era and deserve being in the pantheon of the best games from the 128 bit era. The playable 3d models from characters and some enviroments are ugly, even for a ps2 system, but the graphics don´t matter when you immerse yourself completely for a compellingit´s the best final fantasy with voice acting you can find today right now. it´s the best final fantasy from ps2 era and deserve being in the pantheon of the best games from the 128 bit era. The playable 3d models from characters and some enviroments are ugly, even for a ps2 system, but the graphics don´t matter when you immerse yourself completely for a compelling storytelling and well executed gameplay. Expand
  52. Feb 14, 2013
    9
    This game is great, because of the fact that it actually takes some time to beat it. I played the international version of it, and i really liked it. Unlike the other games, X has more customization (weapons and armor can be fully customized to your liking) than the other games, and that can both be annoying and great. I disliked the horrible voice acting for Tidus and Yuna though, so i amThis game is great, because of the fact that it actually takes some time to beat it. I played the international version of it, and i really liked it. Unlike the other games, X has more customization (weapons and armor can be fully customized to your liking) than the other games, and that can both be annoying and great. I disliked the horrible voice acting for Tidus and Yuna though, so i am giving this game a 9 instead of a 10. Expand
  53. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    This is the best JRGP I've ever played. The story is really good, the characters are okay, the gameplay is brilliant. Unlike previous final fantasy games, final fantasy X let's everybody wait their turn. I like this very much. For example, in final fantasy IX the enemies attack when their bar is full, this means I felt rushed and I couldn't take my time to think about my next move. FinalThis is the best JRGP I've ever played. The story is really good, the characters are okay, the gameplay is brilliant. Unlike previous final fantasy games, final fantasy X let's everybody wait their turn. I like this very much. For example, in final fantasy IX the enemies attack when their bar is full, this means I felt rushed and I couldn't take my time to think about my next move. Final fantasy X let's the monsters wait their turn. You won't feel rushed. The gameplay is deep and the overall experience is one that you will not soon forget. Expand
  54. Mar 24, 2013
    7
    My favorite feature in this game is the sphere grid talent system. The sphere grid is probably one of the most well done character development systems in any game. The worst part, gameplay-wise, are some of the mini-games. Blitzball wasn't very fun, and the lightning-strike-dodge-game was mind numbing and frustrating if you want the final prize from it. However, the only reason I'm notMy favorite feature in this game is the sphere grid talent system. The sphere grid is probably one of the most well done character development systems in any game. The worst part, gameplay-wise, are some of the mini-games. Blitzball wasn't very fun, and the lightning-strike-dodge-game was mind numbing and frustrating if you want the final prize from it. However, the only reason I'm not giving this game a 10 is because of the poorly implemented voice-overs. The 'press X to continue the dialog' made it seem entirely unnatural, and the voices they chose for the characters were from a well known and cliche team that otherwise translates anime sitcoms. The bad voices marred the character personalities. I have to keep in mind, however, that Square Enix deserved some slack for the voice-overs since it's the first time they ever tried it. Expand
  55. Mar 29, 2013
    10
    First there is one thing that needs to be said. Don't listen to the reviewers giving this game low scores. They're generally the types of people with little to no attention span. We all have a friend like that.

    Now let's mention a few essential points about this game: - This is a long game. It will take you a long time to complete it. Cutscenes are very prominent. If you can't take
    First there is one thing that needs to be said. Don't listen to the reviewers giving this game low scores. They're generally the types of people with little to no attention span. We all have a friend like that.

    Now let's mention a few essential points about this game:

    - This is a long game. It will take you a long time to complete it. Cutscenes are very prominent. If you can't take the time to enjoy a well crafted story with interesting characters told at a slow pace, don't buy this game.
    - The battle system is very much vintage Final Fantasy. It is fairly similar to that of previous games in the series. It is turn based.

    Graphics: 8/10

    I played this game back in 2003. While the game certainly looks nice, it's definately not 10/10 worthy in this department. The major drawback in terms of graphics is the stiff animations and sometimes awkward facial expressions. Much of this is me subconsiously comparing FFX to that of MGS2, which did far better in this department (in a similar time period). Other than this, the game looks great, plenty of detail, worlds full of life with vibrant colours.

    Gameplay: 9/10

    Vintage Final Fantasy. There's not really anything new here. The greatest thing about this game is not the battles themselves, but the ability to build your characters to ungoldy levels. After you finish FFX, you could quite easily spend another 60 hours just finishing post-game content. This includes finding ultimate weapons, fighting various post-game bosses (who are incredibly strong), crafting godly equiptment, maxxing out the sphere grid in ways you never thought were possible ect ect. This is a game where it's entirely possible to max every stat to 255 for every character (and still get your ass kicked by the strongest boss in the game). The game also features several minigames, including blitzball tournaments (underwater football). Most people who actually get into this minigame, find out just how fun and engaging it is. It's almost like another game within FFX.

    Story 10/10

    This is a JRPG. Expect a long melodramatic story. Expect interesting characters that you really care about by the end of the game. Expect plot twists. Expect shocks. I have completed this game over 5 times just to see the story again. It's that good. Yes the voice acting can be a tad cheesy at times (mainly due to the accompanying facial expressions which sometimes look a little comedic), but most of the time it is spot on. People are quick to judge Tidus' personality, because he's not like Cloud of Squall. This is not 7/8. The characters are varied and all bring something to the table. The voice acting is, for the most part, top notch. The people telling you otherwise generally just lack the intelligence to see the comedic value behind certain scenes (the laughing scene was purposely cheesy. That was the point).

    Voice acting 9/10

    Sometimes it isn't perfect, but it is most of the time. No one sounds the same, voices perfectly match appearances. Yuna sounds like an angel, Auron sounds like a boss.

    Sound 10/10

    I don't really pay all that much attention to background music in games, but what I do hear sounds perfect. After you play this game, you'll be hearing the Hymn of the Faith for years.

    Replayability 10/10

    As I said, I have finished this game 5 times.

    Overall 10/10

    This game is one of the best in the FF franchise (and my personal favourite). The only people telling you this game is horrible, are those that either lack the attention span to play games like this, or can't seem to entertain the fact that FFVII isn't the only FF game. VII wasn't even that good. Seriously. This game is better in every way, it's just that good. (and I would give VII a 10/10).

    This is one of the greatest games ever created.
    Expand
  56. Jan 2, 2014
    9
    There is a lot that could be said about this game, it is the first Final Fantasy game on the PS2 which back then was a big deal. Everyone expected it to revolutionize the series much like VII. While X does make huge strides in presentation and gameplay, some of the voice acting and dialog isn't translated in a way that western gamers are used to. Tidus could have been a lot more likeable,There is a lot that could be said about this game, it is the first Final Fantasy game on the PS2 which back then was a big deal. Everyone expected it to revolutionize the series much like VII. While X does make huge strides in presentation and gameplay, some of the voice acting and dialog isn't translated in a way that western gamers are used to. Tidus could have been a lot more likeable, but the dialog he is given and his voice acting make seem like a 12 year old brat instead of a teenage sports jock. As far as the rest of the characters, they're all fine but really no stand-out performances. The graphics on the other hand are absolutely gorgeous even now. The style and the bright vivid color of the environments are wonderful to look at, and the FMV sequences are stunning. The turn-based gameplay won't surprise anyone, but the ability to switch out party members and some neat overdrives keep the gameplay from becoming stale for 50+ hours. The upgrade system called the sphere grid is, for the most part, a unique and interesting way to level up your character even if it is somewhat clunky. Overall, this game an outstanding entry in the series, despite one or two noticeable flaws. Expand
  57. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    Um, this is the pinnacle of FF games for me. Everything about it is just good. Was well beyond it's day when released. My brothers and I have played through multiple times. It just never gets boring. Auron is by far my favorite FF character. Story is amazing, I still remember feeling dazed and beyond impressed at the end. Kinda like after just finishing an epic book series like Wheel of Time.
  58. Aug 22, 2013
    10
    I loved this game, probably played through it 3 times, even though we had to take the disc back 3 times because it had been resurfaced badly that had no effect on how great I think this game is. I loved the story, the twists, and how emotional they made the ending. The characters felt real, and the role of the pseudo religion in the game was awesome. This is easily my favorite game in theI loved this game, probably played through it 3 times, even though we had to take the disc back 3 times because it had been resurfaced badly that had no effect on how great I think this game is. I loved the story, the twists, and how emotional they made the ending. The characters felt real, and the role of the pseudo religion in the game was awesome. This is easily my favorite game in the series, including FF7. Great boss battles, excellent story, I don't recall any UI bugs that annoyed me, all in all a very memorable game. Expand
  59. Oct 1, 2015
    7
    Tier 2
    + Innovative audio visual experience at its time
    + Evolved the aesthetic of the FF franchise in an interesting way + Cool new level progression system, somewhat reduces the grind of previous FF games + As always, a good cast of supporting characters - Story falls off the deep end pretty quickly - For the most part, takes itself too seriously when it's serious, and is fairly
    Tier 2
    + Innovative audio visual experience at its time
    + Evolved the aesthetic of the FF franchise in an interesting way
    + Cool new level progression system, somewhat reduces the grind of previous FF games
    + As always, a good cast of supporting characters
    - Story falls off the deep end pretty quickly
    - For the most part, takes itself too seriously when it's serious, and is fairly ridiculous when it tries to be funny
    Expand
  60. Oct 30, 2015
    10
    FINAL FANTASY X is the first game from the FINAL FANTASY series released on the PlayStation 2 and was voted by Famitsu readers as the greatest video game of all time in 2006. FINAL FANTASY X was also the first game in the series to feature voice acting both in battle and in cutscenes. It was also my first FINAL FANTASY game. I loved it on the PlayStation 2 and remastered in high definitionFINAL FANTASY X is the first game from the FINAL FANTASY series released on the PlayStation 2 and was voted by Famitsu readers as the greatest video game of all time in 2006. FINAL FANTASY X was also the first game in the series to feature voice acting both in battle and in cutscenes. It was also my first FINAL FANTASY game. I loved it on the PlayStation 2 and remastered in high definition on the PlayStation 3 was no different.

    Square Enix's 1st Production Department did an amazing job remastering it, and the re-arranged music was also amazing.

    I already got to enjoy the additional content on the PlayStation 2, but it's great that North Americans were able to finally enjoy this title's additional content.

    FINAL FANTASY X has a truly amazing story, enjoyable gameplay and plenty of side quests. It is to be noted there is no way to skip cutscenes, but you probably won't want to since they look and sound fantastic. There's also noticeable lip sync issues but that's understandable considering that's how they were originally.

    After completing this amazing adventure, I grew addicted to Blitzball. Blitzball is a mix of Soccer and American football. Everything about it was great fun.

    Love challenging trophy lists? This game is for you.

    Replaying the game will also prove beneficial as you'll be able to actually understand the Al Bhed language.

    All in all, FINAL FANTASY X is the greatest JRPG of all time and it looks great in HD. If you've played it before, there's plenty of reasons to revisit this adventure or if you're to venture through it for the first time you're in for a treat.
    Expand
  61. Jan 4, 2015
    8
    Very very good game.
    The turn based combat where you're allowed to switch characters in and out is executed fantastically. This is absolutely the biggest strength of the game.
    The story is hit and miss. When it goes into deeper explanation of what's happened it's just overly complicating what didn't need more and actually makes it worse. Tidus, AKA Meg Ryan, is... well... he's awful. He
    Very very good game.
    The turn based combat where you're allowed to switch characters in and out is executed fantastically. This is absolutely the biggest strength of the game.
    The story is hit and miss. When it goes into deeper explanation of what's happened it's just overly complicating what didn't need more and actually makes it worse.
    Tidus, AKA Meg Ryan, is... well... he's awful. He never should have been the main character. Many of the side characters are quite great though, such as Auron and Lulu.
    If you're a fan of JRPGs this is a must have. If you're not, this isn't likely going to be the one to change your mind.
    Expand
  62. Sep 9, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Breathtaking. From the moment I got this game alongside my PS2 console over a decade ago, I was amazed. From everything, from the animations to voice acting, from the enormous content to the jaw-dropping story that unfolds.
    It's one of those games that when it ends you scream "NO,NO,NO,don't end like this!!!!", much like a movie. An absolute masterpiece. My favorite game so far. 11/10
    Expand
  63. Dec 6, 2015
    9
    I love the combat system, the story, the characters, the music... EVERYTHING! The grapgics are very good for being a 14 year old game, lol. I'm enjoying it A LOT! Highly recommended
  64. Jan 4, 2016
    10
    This was the game PS2 users were waiting for back in 2001. It's probably my favorite RPG even surpassing FFVII to a degree and it's definitely the best game on PS2. The lush environments and music are beautiful! The follow the yellow brick road-Wizard of Oz esque linearity is more of a plus than a negative. Along your adventure you meet tons of interesting character, amazing scenery, andThis was the game PS2 users were waiting for back in 2001. It's probably my favorite RPG even surpassing FFVII to a degree and it's definitely the best game on PS2. The lush environments and music are beautiful! The follow the yellow brick road-Wizard of Oz esque linearity is more of a plus than a negative. Along your adventure you meet tons of interesting character, amazing scenery, and fight some of the coolest looking monsters! The gameplay is my favorite of the franchise let alone the genre! Expand
  65. Apr 23, 2016
    4
    All in all, passable gameplay, good graphics for it's time and an interesting (if silly) premise, but the game does the worst sin an RPG could do by completely destroying any sense of immersion and wonderment almost immediately. It does this with what seems like a minor issue, but what (for me, at least) turned me off this world right off the bat: absolutely atrocious voice acting. For me,All in all, passable gameplay, good graphics for it's time and an interesting (if silly) premise, but the game does the worst sin an RPG could do by completely destroying any sense of immersion and wonderment almost immediately. It does this with what seems like a minor issue, but what (for me, at least) turned me off this world right off the bat: absolutely atrocious voice acting. For me, this very simple act of switching to voice acting but not maintaining quality is totally unforgivable. The main characters of Tidus and Yuna are unfortunately the worst of the bunch, though it doesn't help that every single character is a flat stereotype. No character is likeable, and Tidus I can only describe like every other negative review here: annoying, whiny and douchy.

    The English translation feels very clunky and unnatural. Japanese games seem to have a problem with this, for some odd reason. This is something that has existed in every Final Fantasy game, but not until I actually heard it with my own ears did I realize how bad it was. I can forgive some offences (silly plot and character design, mainly), just because by now it is a more or less an established staple of these games, but breaking my immersion with the voice acting and the bad characters left me with no sense of personal involvement, which was enough for to really turn on the game. Not having relatable or likeable main characters in a game of this genre is unforgivable.

    This combined with the overabundance of cutscenes (unskippable, BTW), uncreative and linear level up system, and the early signs of hallway-itis (brought to it's absolute apex with the perhaps even more horrible FFXIII) make this game that breaking point where the Final Fantasy series seemed to veer off a cliff for me. And I have greatly enjoyed every FF so far, even the divisive VIII.

    FFX has set a dangerous example because since it's release and subsequent success, Square Enix seem to be putting all their focus on world and creature design and cutscene animation, with the actually relevant things (character writing, plot and an explorable game world) becoming nothing more than afterthoughts. So basically style over substance. A shame.
    Expand
  66. DanE.
    Jan 10, 2002
    7
    The cutscreens are too damn long. The graphics are great and the fight sceens are real active. The game blitzball is also fun to play, as long as your guys are good. Another thing is the storyline. Its a little hard to understand at first so I suggest to those of you who cant get it, to visit their official website and figure it out further there.
  67. Adam
    Jan 20, 2007
    8
    I'm about halfway through now. Graphics are good as every Final Fantasy is. The story is alright, the gameplay is better than a lot of Final Fantasy RPG's (more interactive instead of just pressing buttons.) My one big complaint is a common one. WAY too much video footage. Even when it ends, you walk 2 steps and there's another video. Each opponent is harder though which is I'm about halfway through now. Graphics are good as every Final Fantasy is. The story is alright, the gameplay is better than a lot of Final Fantasy RPG's (more interactive instead of just pressing buttons.) My one big complaint is a common one. WAY too much video footage. Even when it ends, you walk 2 steps and there's another video. Each opponent is harder though which is something that is appreciated since its usually to easy. And the level system (with spheres) works better too since you have more choice on how your characters grow. Expand
  68. AndrewN.
    Jul 7, 2007
    9
    Fantastic game and a definate noteworthy entry in this series. It introduced proper 3D environments which looked stunning. It had voice acting for the first time and a refined battle system. Having the ability to switch characters was a great touch as not having the right abilities in a battle was very frustrating. As well as the stunning visuals, it easily had one of the best storylines Fantastic game and a definate noteworthy entry in this series. It introduced proper 3D environments which looked stunning. It had voice acting for the first time and a refined battle system. Having the ability to switch characters was a great touch as not having the right abilities in a battle was very frustrating. As well as the stunning visuals, it easily had one of the best storylines accompanied by an excellent soundtrack and score. An enthralling adventure. If it wasnt for the linear nature of the game, this would have been a perfect 10. Expand
  69. Val
    Dec 8, 2009
    10
    Absolutely better than any other Final Fantasy (close to 12 and 9 though). The most beautiful and touching game ever
  70. AlexanderS.
    Mar 29, 2009
    10
    This is the best FF, screw FF7! First off the main character is not the "Fuc* the world, I'm so mysterious and lonely" type (which many FF fans claim to be themselves). Tidus is at first a normal teenager but he developes (not degenerates like Cloud) to a responsible figure. The characters are not so stereotypical and predictable like FF7s for example. While Auron may look like the This is the best FF, screw FF7! First off the main character is not the "Fuc* the world, I'm so mysterious and lonely" type (which many FF fans claim to be themselves). Tidus is at first a normal teenager but he developes (not degenerates like Cloud) to a responsible figure. The characters are not so stereotypical and predictable like FF7s for example. While Auron may look like the quiet, strict old warrior he also has a sense of humor, while Barret for example (FF7) is always grumpy. All in all the characters are more alive in FF10. Also FF10 does best at mastering the gap between sci-fi and fantasy setting, while older FFs are more like Final Cyber-Punk. The FF10 story is based on myths and religion but in a world, that is completely different from anything we know. Spira has its own rituals, laws and lifestyle. The gameplay is good and there is tons to do outside of the story. All in all it's the best game for people who love story-driven games. Expand
  71. GlennB.W.
    Dec 29, 2001
    10
    This is the best game I have ever tried. The graphics especially is one of the many great things about this game.
  72. ShyanmarM
    Feb 15, 2010
    10
    FFX is an absolutely awesome game. Yes, the storyline might be more linear than in the past, but that makes the narrative all the better. All those whiny little kids that complain because you "cant f-ing skip thar cutsceneZ, d00d" just don't get that Final Fantasy is, above anything else, about the Story. There's a reason you can't skip the cutscenes. If you could, FFX is an absolutely awesome game. Yes, the storyline might be more linear than in the past, but that makes the narrative all the better. All those whiny little kids that complain because you "cant f-ing skip thar cutsceneZ, d00d" just don't get that Final Fantasy is, above anything else, about the Story. There's a reason you can't skip the cutscenes. If you could, it'd basically take away what the game is all about. The Character design is cool, OK? Just because Tidus doesn't have spiky hair and wears black/deep purple and is all emo doesn't mean that's bad. Just 'cause Yuna doesn't run around in slutty outfits doesn't mean her character design sucks. The voice acting is great, especially considering that it's a series first here! What can you compare it to to say that it's bad? The battle system is absolutely cool and laid back. And especially considering that this game is the first FF title on the PS2, the first featuring voice acting, fully 3D-rendered landscapes and an ability system like the sphere grid (To all those who say that that is too easy or restricitve, just choose the expert mode on beginning the game ... ), this game is revolutionary. One of the best FFs up to date, in quite a lot of aspects even better than VII. Also better than IX, although not by that much. A full 10, anyway. Expand
  73. MaxG
    Mar 3, 2010
    10
    This game has an incredible story, one of the best I have experienced in any game or movie. This is the most emotionally moving game I have ever played with amazing graphics, story, and music.
  74. DavidD.
    Jan 16, 2002
    10
    If the scale was larger I would have given it a better score. The game's storyline alone is worth a 10 alone. The new voice overs worth it as while, the characters are unique & animated very while. Thank you.
  75. NeoW.
    Oct 22, 2002
    9
    This game is frickin good, nice storyline AWSOME graphics this is tha bomb the jenna jameson of the PS2.
  76. RyanT.
    Feb 13, 2002
    10
    This game kicks ass.
  77. JonathanC.
    Feb 17, 2002
    10
    This game is superior to any other RPG games yet! The graphics are superb and teh battle system makse it all interesting. The voice-overs could use some work but it all worked out in the end.
  78. TarikT.
    Feb 27, 2002
    10
    Still not as good as Final Fantasy Seven, but this game is kick ass.
  79. MilesP.
    Mar 16, 2002
    10
    I gave it a ten because it's a ff. It's not the best ff. ff7 waz the best but it still kicks ASS!!!!!
  80. JamesM.
    Mar 20, 2002
    10
    Not as good as FF3 or not even close to FF7 but all 'n all great game.
  81. ChloiC.
    Mar 26, 2002
    10
    I think tidus is hot!!!
  82. ShivonD.
    Mar 3, 2002
    10
    I never play this crappy game but my siblings play it- and they say it is scrumptrulescent- a must have for PS2 owners, but it doesn't top "Final Fantasy 7." I wanna send a shout out to my clever people at Squaresoft for their brilliant series of RPG games.
  83. PatrickK.
    Apr 10, 2002
    10
    Unbelivable! This is the best game I have ever seen!
  84. ThomasG.Jr.
    Apr 29, 2002
    10
    This game rocks. I think it was even better than FF7. There are so many things to do, even after you beat the game. Blitzball alone is good enough to be it's own game! Then talk about the optional bosses! In the monster arena alone ther's at least 20, most of them stronger than the last guy. And everybody loves high damaging games and this one gets you up to 5 digits of damage! This game rocks. I think it was even better than FF7. There are so many things to do, even after you beat the game. Blitzball alone is good enough to be it's own game! Then talk about the optional bosses! In the monster arena alone ther's at least 20, most of them stronger than the last guy. And everybody loves high damaging games and this one gets you up to 5 digits of damage! I'm talking 99,999 damage from 1 hit! Yeah FF7 was a great game but there wasn't much to it once you beat the game. FFX gives you players that start out as individuals but can learn other peoples' moves and abilities! And to be able to switch characters in and out of a fight at will makes the combat scenes never tiresome! All in all the greatest rpg i've ever played! Expand
  85. Luke
    Sep 3, 2002
    9
    What a great game!! Storyline itself has got to be the best yet of any final fantasy game so far. Graphics and soundtrack are truly remarkable. Each character has there own, well-defined personality and u grow to recognise this. Sometimes it's more like watching an amazing film then playing a game. Saying this though, the battle operations are now more complex and user friendly, with What a great game!! Storyline itself has got to be the best yet of any final fantasy game so far. Graphics and soundtrack are truly remarkable. Each character has there own, well-defined personality and u grow to recognise this. Sometimes it's more like watching an amazing film then playing a game. Saying this though, the battle operations are now more complex and user friendly, with even more emphasise on strategy during fights. Very, very, very good game. Bring on FF11!! Expand
  86. DanielA.
    Dec 1, 2003
    9
    This game is awesome, it rocks the badass driving skills well improved from Grand Theft Auto or any other game of the sort. The shooting is way more advanced then like Max Payne or like Dead to Rights. And the Karate style fighting rivals street fighter...ok a little overboard on that one. but it is awesome and the storyline is interesting, the only thing it lacks is length. the bonusThis game is awesome, it rocks the badass driving skills well improved from Grand Theft Auto or any other game of the sort. The shooting is way more advanced then like Max Payne or like Dead to Rights. And the Karate style fighting rivals street fighter...ok a little overboard on that one. but it is awesome and the storyline is interesting, the only thing it lacks is length. the bonus video is the funniest thing ever. Expand
  87. Mr._Rabbit
    Oct 7, 2003
    9
    The only thing i didn't like was how the story happened in the future otherwise the game was great.
  88. MarkL.
    Feb 13, 2003
    10
    This game is amazing squaresoft have done it again.
  89. TitoY.
    Aug 19, 2003
    10
    Once again, squaresoft create a masterpiece. FinalFantasy X can't disappoint their fans. Of course is weird to hear the characters voices but it's great to live your own epic story.
  90. ChaddS.
    Sep 24, 2003
    10
    For a start i would like to point out that marc444 has no taste in games whatsoever. That said,this is 1 of the best games ever to grace our ps2,sure it may be somewhat cheesy but that cant be helped.In any case FFX rocks hands down.
  91. SteveW.
    Oct 11, 2004
    9
    Its Hard To Be Negative About This Game Because It Gives You Everything You Could Want In A Final Fantasy Game But That Said Others Have Done That And More (FF9 , FF7) But On Its Own An Excellent Game That I Cant Fault.
  92. NaomiM.
    Nov 4, 2004
    10
    Best ff game EVER!!!
  93. Mr.Chicken
    Oct 6, 2004
    10
    The first rpg I've ever played and i couldn't be happier.
  94. Pucciocorona
    Feb 28, 2004
    10
    Very cool , graphics and the story.
  95. DanijelJ.
    Sep 4, 2004
    10
    This is the best game ever given from ff creators.
  96. MaresF.
    Mar 6, 2005
    10
    This game is great.
  97. VarunB.
    Aug 11, 2005
    10
    A one-of-a-kind gaming experience...a must-have for the PS2, even for the non-fans of RPGs!!!
  98. DavidM.
    Nov 2, 2006
    9
    Great game with dozens of side quests and missions to keep you playing for months, the game isn't over till you own that grid.
  99. AnsonG.
    Apr 1, 2006
    9
    Nice graphics, good story and good game.
  100. Sep 28, 2010
    0
    Currently on a quest to finish reviewing (or at least write short comment) on Final Fantasy games I played before, not surprisingly this is the first PS2 game I ever played. The moment I laid eyes on cutey-pie Tidus... I mean the awesome graphics on Zanarkand being terrorized by sin, I was like wow... thank god I have a PS2. As an hardcore RPG gamer, I love the fact that it stays true to aCurrently on a quest to finish reviewing (or at least write short comment) on Final Fantasy games I played before, not surprisingly this is the first PS2 game I ever played. The moment I laid eyes on cutey-pie Tidus... I mean the awesome graphics on Zanarkand being terrorized by sin, I was like wow... thank god I have a PS2. As an hardcore RPG gamer, I love the fact that it stays true to a much improved turn based gameplay, each one of them is distinct in it's own way just makes the game even better. The characters provided were a cast of memorable characters starting from the naive Rikku to the should be less serious Yuna, each one them have a heart and soul, which to me is a prime sign that RPG should be taken seriously. At the time the graphics were too good to be true and the music is just... well, I have mixed feeling about the music. I just want to say that this is one the best RPG to date. Collapse

Awards & Rankings

#2 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2001
#5 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2001
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 53 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 53
  2. Negative: 0 out of 53
  1. We've seen the Final Fantasy epic take us on a memorable journey, but now it all seems like it's been done before. 10 is good, great at times, but it is no longer original.
  2. The replay value is very low, and the design is flawed by an inability to skip past sequences, even in replay mode. The playability also suffers by a lack of freedom of movement.
  3. Great RPG and certainly the best one on the PS2 currently, however, I feel it isn't as great as past FF's have been due to its lack of freedom.