User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 772 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 48 out of 772

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 12, 2011
    9
    ive loved FF since FF2 on the Snes . this is FF evolved for sure with a new combat system thats fun and a new level up system using a sphere grid which is pretty cool since you can really go crazy custimising your charicters. the story is pretty solid the voice acting is a mixed bag some are pretty good are real good like auron or kinda bad or really bad like jecht who i could not standive loved FF since FF2 on the Snes . this is FF evolved for sure with a new combat system thats fun and a new level up system using a sphere grid which is pretty cool since you can really go crazy custimising your charicters. the story is pretty solid the voice acting is a mixed bag some are pretty good are real good like auron or kinda bad or really bad like jecht who i could not stand hearing him talk . the game takes a very very very linear path approtch which felt awkward at first but once the story picked up after about 6 hours i was hooked on what was gona happen next . there is alot of stuff to do especially at the end . my biggest gripe with this game besides the voice acting has to be how freeking EASY the final boss fight is . i mean he is a 0 challenge i mean if you loose to this guy i feel bad for you. i found it harder just getting to him then fighting him. all in all the FFX is a solid RPG and one of the last real good FF games ive played . Expand
  2. Dec 29, 2012
    10
    Amazing graphics, excellent story, great gameplay, phenomenal soundtrack, I can go on and on but there's no need for me to. A couple of (minor) problems include relatively weak character development for some people and a few issues with voice acting.
  3. Oct 28, 2010
    10
    In my opinion this is the best final fantasy game since FF7. The story of the game is brilliant and just makes you want to play on until you finish it. the graphics of the game are brilliant and the game also shows great character development especially for the 2 main protagonists
  4. Sep 28, 2010
    10
    Currently on a quest to finish reviewing (or at least write short comment) on Final Fantasy games I played before, not surprisingly this is the first PS2 game I ever played. The moment I laid eyes on cutey-pie Tidus... I mean the awesome graphics on Zanarkand being terrorized by sin, I was like wow... thank god I have a PS2. As an hardcore RPG gamer, I love the fact that it stays true to aCurrently on a quest to finish reviewing (or at least write short comment) on Final Fantasy games I played before, not surprisingly this is the first PS2 game I ever played. The moment I laid eyes on cutey-pie Tidus... I mean the awesome graphics on Zanarkand being terrorized by sin, I was like wow... thank god I have a PS2. As an hardcore RPG gamer, I love the fact that it stays true to a much improved turn based gameplay, each one of them is distinct in it's own way just makes the game even better. The characters provided were a cast of memorable characters starting from the naive Rikku to the should be less serious Yuna, each one them have a heart and soul, which to me is a prime sign that RPG should be taken seriously. At the time the graphics were too good to be true and the music is just... well, I have mixed feeling about the music. I just want to say that this is one the best RPG to date. Expand
  5. Sep 13, 2010
    10
    Late Review, but I just recently had time to finish this game.

    Easily one of the best in the series, FFX adds character voices for the first time in the series which, along with captivating cut-scenes, makes this a great game to play anytime of the day. Along with the addition of the blitzball mini-game, FFX changed the way you use summons, fight, and even how you level up. This game
    Late Review, but I just recently had time to finish this game.

    Easily one of the best in the series, FFX adds character voices for the first time in the series which, along with captivating cut-scenes, makes this a great game to play anytime of the day. Along with the addition of the blitzball mini-game, FFX changed the way you use summons, fight, and even how you level up. This game comes with all of this, packed into one of the greatest story-lines to date. The extra dungeons, mini-games, and unlockable end weapons gives you hours of endless gameplay. My personal time before i quit playing for good was 113:46

    The team who created this installment of the FF series truly put their hearts and souls into making this game. A definite must have for any fans of the FF series
    Expand
  6. Sep 23, 2010
    10
    It's closer to a 9.5 than a 10 out of 10, but I feel that the legacy that this game has left behind as a standard-bearer is enough to push it over the top. Final Fantasy X is, from start to finish, THE exemplary RPG on the PS2, and arguably the system's definitive title.
  7. Oct 3, 2010
    9
    This was in my opinion the last of the great modern Final Fantasy games, even if it was a bit too linear (which is now common) it was nonetheless a great RPG with great characters you could get involved with and the story was decent but not amazing. The general graphics and design of the game really brought it to the next level. Oh how I miss you FFX~
  8. Oct 14, 2010
    10
    Final Fantasy X is the last good game in the numbered Final Fantasy series. Great story, great visuals, great mini games, interesting progression system.
  9. Nov 17, 2010
    10
    This game by far is still not only my favorite game of the final fantasy series, it's one of my favorite games of all time! I absolutely LOVE this game to death, i don't think i'll ever get rid of my ps2 heavily due to this game. I LOVE the story line throughout the game and all the obstacles if you to do to accomplish goals and beat the game. Every character shines in there own way, andThis game by far is still not only my favorite game of the final fantasy series, it's one of my favorite games of all time! I absolutely LOVE this game to death, i don't think i'll ever get rid of my ps2 heavily due to this game. I LOVE the story line throughout the game and all the obstacles if you to do to accomplish goals and beat the game. Every character shines in there own way, and i've grown fond of all of them. If you don't have this game, something is seriously wrong with you, and you need to wipe the dust off your ps2 and play this game, NOW!

    i've beaten the game at least 5 times and i've started a new one to play it all over again. I LOVE FINAL FATNASY X!!!!!
    Expand
  10. Dec 18, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 4 biggest things (in no particular order): 1. Graphics/aesthetics - one of the best-looking games for PS2, period. 2. Characters - The 7 protagonists were done well. They have unique personalities with their own interests, faults, prejudices, and surprises. You get a decent amount of background on all the essential characters but not so much that there's no room for mystery. Some people say the protagonists were static, but I disagree. Wakka got rid of his prejudice against the Al Bhed, Khimarhi proved himself to his tribe, Tidus came to terms (sort of) with his father, and many of them threw away their religion. Maybe Auron is static, but he has already learned his lesson. There could have been more development in the relationship between Tidus and Yuna so the make-out scene wouldn't seem so out of place, and everything suffered slightly from the voice acting, but for the most part the characters were beautifully done.
    3. Story - You either like it or you think it's ridiculous. It really is a weird and dramatic plot, and it can get pretty cheesy as well as confusing, but it is entirely original. If you get into it, you'll realize there's a really good message behind it all, and the ending will leave you satisfied. Also, like people have said, the story is both linear and static; you can't change the course of the story. In that respect, it leans toward being an interactive movie - especially since you can't skip scenes. But you're in control for nearly all of the action, and it was paced well for the most part. There weren't too many cutscenes that weren't balanced with playable time and, honestly, you spend a ton of time running around and fighting. Besides that, there's plenty more to find out from talking to the numerous people standing around.
    4. Gameplay - I liked the battle system. It's turn-based and you can swap out characters, so you think more about strategy and less about mashing buttons. The overdrives were awesome - each character had unique and appropriate overdrives and they weren't too strong or too weak. The sphere grid is a good way to customize your characters, but your characters are locked into a path until at least halfway through the game, so it's hard to add magic, for example, to a usable level without many extra hours of leveling-up aside from the main story. The mini-games, like blitzball and chocobo racing, were fun and intuitive but too easy.

    Of course this isn't like previous Final Fantasies, and you shouldn't expect it to be. It's on a new platform with new capabilities, just like FFVII was on a (better) new platform compared to its predecessors. I completely appreciate that Square did something different with FFX (and FFX-2). It's not perfect, but I like it.
    Expand
  11. Nov 20, 2010
    9
    Very good game, one of my favourites out the final fantasy series, even thought the battle system has changed. A big risk for Square Enix but they managed to pull it, 3D cinematic cut scenes really showed the quality of the graphics. The only disappointment would have to be Blitz ball, it is very hard to understand no matter how much you read the instructions.
  12. Dec 21, 2010
    10
    for me the best ff ever, i cryed with the final, no other game had me in front of the tv for so many time.

    Good Graphics
    excellent history
    nice characters
    perfect combat system
  13. Feb 27, 2011
    10
    I loved everything about this game. I loved the battle system, how it gave you time to think about your actions. And, yes, you will run into fiends every 10 seconds, but you need to level up your characters like crazy to even attempt to finish the game, plus they drop items you need. The cut scenes were long sometimes, but they were beautiful. Some cut scenes made me cry. The scenery inI loved everything about this game. I loved the battle system, how it gave you time to think about your actions. And, yes, you will run into fiends every 10 seconds, but you need to level up your characters like crazy to even attempt to finish the game, plus they drop items you need. The cut scenes were long sometimes, but they were beautiful. Some cut scenes made me cry. The scenery in the game was breath taking. The characters were one of the best things about this game. The back stories, outfits, personalities, weapons, voices, really everything was so unique. This game has the BEST music I have ever heard for a video game, I never got tired of the music. I loved the plot twists and character development. I also liked how there was humor in the stories. The only thing that was bad was Tidus's voice, which was whiny at some times. Over all, I give this game 9 or 10, but you have to be patient with the cut scenes, battles, and characters. You will have to level up your characters a lot, watch many cut scenes, and deal with characters complain, plus, to level up characters and higher your chances of beating the game, you will have to do side quests, like winning blitzball, training chocobos, and going through many cloister of trails to earn aeons. If you are impatient, hate watching cut scenes or characters, I would not recommend this game. To me, this game changed my life, a definite buy. Expand
  14. Apr 10, 2011
    10
    The best game i ever played, with the awesome ost from nobuo uematsu.
    I really cry today when i hear "to zanarkand". have to play this another day
  15. Jul 14, 2011
    9
    One of my top five games of the PS2. Second best game (FF) after FFVII. A story that pulls you too get more engaged every-time, amazing detailed cutscene graphics , that managed to stay in par ( and even surpass) most of the games of this generation . Final Fantasy X is not a game is a masterpiece.
  16. Jun 9, 2013
    7
    Arguably the last Final Fantasy with an interesting plot it is easy to get lost for hours at a time completing the main storyline or many, many sidequests. While it certainly retains, and indeed improves upon, many of the core mechanics from the PSone titles however Final Fantasy X, for me at least, just isn't quite as memorable as those earlier games in the series and Final Fantasy VIIArguably the last Final Fantasy with an interesting plot it is easy to get lost for hours at a time completing the main storyline or many, many sidequests. While it certainly retains, and indeed improves upon, many of the core mechanics from the PSone titles however Final Fantasy X, for me at least, just isn't quite as memorable as those earlier games in the series and Final Fantasy VII still remains its crowning glory. Expand
  17. Jul 21, 2011
    7
    "HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA --- HA HA HA HA HA HA --- HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!"

    That's really all you need to know. Its very poorly dubbed, but manages to stay pretty original in the vein of JRPG. The storyline is a little silly, but it is accompanied by some rather deliciously fluid cut scenes that really draw you into the experience. However, it is full of some rather uninteresting
    "HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA --- HA HA HA HA HA HA --- HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!"

    That's really all you need to know. Its very poorly dubbed, but manages to stay pretty original in the vein of JRPG. The storyline is a little silly, but it is accompanied by some rather deliciously fluid cut scenes that really draw you into the experience. However, it is full of some rather uninteresting characters, some overly tedious (read: overly long) boss battles, and some puzzles that are clearly not there for challenge of any kind. Also the sphere leveling system is pretty boss- although it doesn't quite solve the grinding problem in any of these games. It inspired an uninspired sequel that has nothing to do with anything, but fan service.
    Expand
  18. Nov 21, 2011
    7
    Not a bad game, but it feels like they concentrated more on the graphics and appearance, than the content and merit... Doesn't hold up too well compared to FFIX, but still playing it was enjoyable.
  19. Mar 5, 2013
    9
    The story is good, despite beeing sometimes corny and having the baddest scene in history of rpg with the laughing scene. I also like the battle system very much and the music is pretty good to. Graphics are also nice its just way to linear, letting you only go forward. Nevertheless pretty good RPG.
  20. Oct 4, 2012
    2
    This game is one of the worst JRPG-s to this date, and worst FF game. Storyline is stupid, characters are annoying and underdeveloped. Main character is a whining brat Tidus who joins a group chosen to stop great evil monster Sin. Story also just stops at some points and you do stupid quests for random people. And those last for app. 10 hours. Final boss is also a slap in a face to everyThis game is one of the worst JRPG-s to this date, and worst FF game. Storyline is stupid, characters are annoying and underdeveloped. Main character is a whining brat Tidus who joins a group chosen to stop great evil monster Sin. Story also just stops at some points and you do stupid quests for random people. And those last for app. 10 hours. Final boss is also a slap in a face to every person that finished this game. Gameplay and battle system is much better than previous games and there is a full voice acting for every cut scene. But voice acting sucks and cut scenes cannot be skipped. Basically this game is horrible and very, very overrated. Expand
  21. Jun 18, 2011
    9
    Very in-depth final fantasy. Final Fantasy X easily has one of my favorite fighting styles and leveling up systems in the whole series. The story isn't bad but the overall game play does make up for what it lacks as a Final Fantasy story.
  22. Sep 12, 2011
    10
    A masterpiece, words cannot describe how excellent this game is. Fantastic story, memorable characters it's all there. Yes, X is one of the best Final Fantasys since VII, but it's also one of the best games ever made.
  23. Mar 21, 2013
    9
    Provided players can get used to Tidus, there's a lot in Final Fantasy X that you really have to try to dislike. The mechanics have been overhauled and combat is superb, the Sphere Grid is easy to understand and enjoyable (no "Junction" garbage) but best of all the game never devolves into a grind-fest, though the end-game is a bit of an end-boss gauntlet. Music as ever is incredible, asProvided players can get used to Tidus, there's a lot in Final Fantasy X that you really have to try to dislike. The mechanics have been overhauled and combat is superb, the Sphere Grid is easy to understand and enjoyable (no "Junction" garbage) but best of all the game never devolves into a grind-fest, though the end-game is a bit of an end-boss gauntlet. Music as ever is incredible, as are cinematics/cut-scenes, story is a little formulaic and predictable in places but I couldn't put FFX down until I finished, I actually became a little obsessed with it. Expand
  24. Aug 6, 2011
    10
    By far one of the most expansive and fun worlds in a final fantasy game, second best to ff7, but non the less it is impressive. Cut scenes bring to life this amazing storyline and the character's all have fantastic individualism. The annoying thing about this game is the addictiveness to quest for the storyline all the time and be stopped many a time for annoying battles. An impressiveBy far one of the most expansive and fun worlds in a final fantasy game, second best to ff7, but non the less it is impressive. Cut scenes bring to life this amazing storyline and the character's all have fantastic individualism. The annoying thing about this game is the addictiveness to quest for the storyline all the time and be stopped many a time for annoying battles. An impressive game. HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS TO ALL RPG AND FINAL FANTASY LOVERS EVERYWHERE! Expand
  25. Sep 17, 2011
    9
    I gave "9", and I'm going to tell where that 9 came from and why is 1 missing. The 9 : The game is brilliant, the graphics back in 2001 were the best, in 2001 Final Fantasy X had graphics that started to be considered "normal" in 2007 - 2008. The History behind it was completely complex and full of surprises and subliminal little things that appear in the game that you can only understandI gave "9", and I'm going to tell where that 9 came from and why is 1 missing. The 9 : The game is brilliant, the graphics back in 2001 were the best, in 2001 Final Fantasy X had graphics that started to be considered "normal" in 2007 - 2008. The History behind it was completely complex and full of surprises and subliminal little things that appear in the game that you can only understand when you play it for the second or third time, such as the words in Al-Bhed all over the initial maps that you can only read having the full Al-Bhed Language skill, and you can only understand by watching the entire game history. Also, some people never realize that the ship that Tidus, Auron, Yuna and the other ride later in the game is the same ship wich Tidus helps to get back in the beginning. Why less 1 : I could give a full 10 to Final Fantasy X, but if I give 10 to Final Fantasy X I would have to give 11 to Final Fantasy XII. In this game, the cinematic scenes are kind of Annoying since we can't skip them, but in Final Fantasy XII we can skip all the scenes. (I still see them, since it depends if the player wants to meet the story or not). Blitzball, a stupid sidekick RPG on the real RPG, I never got that game since it is more luck than RPG, anyway you are only obligated to play it one time so it won't annoy much, only if you want to get Wakka's Ultimate Weapon, then you will have to be a Blitzball Champion. Expand
  26. Sep 7, 2012
    2
    I remembered seeing this every where ten years ago so I pulled out my old ps2 and paid $3 for a copy. And for all the perseverance I had, all the hours I put in trying to get quality back out, this game might be one of the most disappointing endeavors of my life. The story is god awful; the relationships are rote and simple; there is absolutely no thematic development; the only good songI remembered seeing this every where ten years ago so I pulled out my old ps2 and paid $3 for a copy. And for all the perseverance I had, all the hours I put in trying to get quality back out, this game might be one of the most disappointing endeavors of my life. The story is god awful; the relationships are rote and simple; there is absolutely no thematic development; the only good song out of a horrendous soundtrack plays maybe twice; the villain might have the worst cliche name in gaming history; but possibly by far, the biggest, most torturous, agonizing flaw is the voice acting - it might have been decent in japanese but the american actors gave no effort, only stretching out insignificant dialogue (which was poorly written to begin with) with complete lethargy, or yelling through the pseudo dramatic moments. It may aspire to be a dramatic story but it fails miserably in every way possible. The gameplay is alright for a FF game; it allows for decent strategizing, but be aware that the only wit involved in FFX will have to be on your part because the creators had none. If you play video games for stories foremost, avoid, or better yet go out of your way to break copies of this if you see them lying around. Expand
  27. Oct 14, 2011
    10
    What can I say? An experience of a life time. I didnt want it to end! Have to check out X-2, when they realise at Playstation, that it has to be brought to the store.
  28. Feb 13, 2012
    10
    This game will always hold a special place for me amongst my video game collections. I got this game the year it came out and have loved it ever since. There is just something so emotionally involving and deeply engaging between the characters and the player. Itâ
  29. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    To this day, my favourite game of all time. Personally, this game was perfect. The story was just brilliant, with a perfect mix of characters with different emotions throughout. The gameplay was easy to get a grip of and the levelling up system was the best I've used. Even more so than the current generation of consoles. The ending of the game was incredible, I don't think I've everTo this day, my favourite game of all time. Personally, this game was perfect. The story was just brilliant, with a perfect mix of characters with different emotions throughout. The gameplay was easy to get a grip of and the levelling up system was the best I've used. Even more so than the current generation of consoles. The ending of the game was incredible, I don't think I've ever enjoyed the climax to such a wonderful story so much. And with the secret ending it fits well with the next chapter 'Final Fantasy X-2'. I'm an avid Xbox 360 user, but there is nothing on this generation of consoles which can even match this game. And I don't think there will be for a long long time. If you haven't played this yet, DO IT! Expand
  30. Dec 26, 2012
    10
    How dare anybody say the long cutscenes are a bad point in this game. They MAKE the game.
    Still, after 9 years of playing it a total of 4 times through, and clocking 400+ hours of gametime, there are a few scenes which I will never forget. The story is something to behold, and had me so emotionally involved that I were playing the game just to find out what happens in the next scene. The
    How dare anybody say the long cutscenes are a bad point in this game. They MAKE the game.
    Still, after 9 years of playing it a total of 4 times through, and clocking 400+ hours of gametime, there are a few scenes which I will never forget. The story is something to behold, and had me so emotionally involved that I were playing the game just to find out what happens in the next scene. The addition of Blitzball was perfect - It could be a standalone game! I played that minigame for SO long, and it had you exploring the world scouting for players while doing all of the extra stuff. And that's the thing - There is so much more to do beyond the main story! The additional Aeons to discover, finding the Celestial Weapons (A few of them was very difficult to obtain!) and the Monster Arena were simply amazing additions to the game.
    In short:
    Best story I've ever come across. Ever.
    Best progression system in any game I've ever played (the Sphere Grid)
    Best cutscenes I've ever seen in a game. (In terms of what happens in them and their involvement in the story)
    Best 'additional' tasks I've come across. (The monster arena mixed with the pursuit of celestial weapons and aeons easily doubles/triples your gametime)
    Expand
  31. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    If you ever want to experiance a story that will take your breath away,then this is the game for you. With smooth gameplay and amazing CG graphics. It may be the best Final Fantasy games ever made.
  32. Dec 25, 2011
    0
    This game is the reason I stopped playing the Final Fantasy series, and JRPGs in general. But to be fair, lets just look at this game for its own merits and not have the weight of the entire series hurt or help it. Although, I doubt all the help in the world would save this game. This "game" is absolutely depressing in its structure. FFX is something like a demonic love-child between aThis game is the reason I stopped playing the Final Fantasy series, and JRPGs in general. But to be fair, lets just look at this game for its own merits and not have the weight of the entire series hurt or help it. Although, I doubt all the help in the world would save this game. This "game" is absolutely depressing in its structure. FFX is something like a demonic love-child between a JRPG and an arcade rail-shooter. I guess it can best be described as a "Rail-JRPG", *shudder*. Playing through the game, this was my biggest problem. I felt like I wasn't playing a game, I felt like I was just pressing buttons to advance a dismally terrible story-line. Speaking of said story-line, I think it should win some award for the incredible feat of being equal parts cryptic and terrible. At the start I found it to be okay, some horribly cheesy dunce with a running disorder named "Tidus", gets attacked and eaten by an indecipherable fluorescent lump called "Sin", and gets pooped out into the future where he is met by a bunch of Russians in a poor disposition. The story continues on and only gets worse as you must protect an attractive young religious zealot who's on a quest to "catch them all!" By "all" I mean the same old recycled summons they've been using in the Final Fantasy series for years. In the end, **SPOILER ALERT**, you find out you're actually the physical manifestations of a dream that has been dreamed by a bunch a mysterious cloaked folks. All this dreaming is making them tired of course, so the mysterious cloaked folks give you your life's pink slip. Tidus,being the unemployed bum he is, accepts his pink slip, and by an incredible display of Deus Ex Machina, he wakes up on a beach the next day; driving anyone who had to that point been trying desperately to maintain their grasp of the story-line, to rip their hair out in both frustration and bewilderment. Oh yeah, and there was some stuff about his daddy issues littered about the story-line as well. Honestly, I can find nothing redeemable about this game, in the end, I just found it to be a boring waste of time, the story is linear, the game-play is linear, the leveling system, despite its appearance of complexity, is also depressingly linear. This is literally one of the worst games I've ever played, go ahead and save yourself the trouble by not playing it ever. Expand
  33. Feb 12, 2012
    10
    My favorite RPG of all time!!! This game is an absolute masterpiece, with an amazing storyline, memorable characters, gorgeous graphics(at the time), and fun combat. I first got it when I was a kid, so I didn't quite understand what was going on. Then I played it again years later, and I fell in love! For me, this is literally the perfect RPG! Other games might get amazing reviews, butMy favorite RPG of all time!!! This game is an absolute masterpiece, with an amazing storyline, memorable characters, gorgeous graphics(at the time), and fun combat. I first got it when I was a kid, so I didn't quite understand what was going on. Then I played it again years later, and I fell in love! For me, this is literally the perfect RPG! Other games might get amazing reviews, but they will be nothing compared to this game! Expand
  34. Feb 29, 2012
    9
    Final Fantasy X is an amazing game. The characters are all very interesting and are developed well, and the story has a few very good twists. The battle and leveling systems are also well done, and there are a lot of sidequest for the completionist. My only problem was that the battle system did get a bit repeditive after a while. A true testament to the qulity of this game is that itFinal Fantasy X is an amazing game. The characters are all very interesting and are developed well, and the story has a few very good twists. The battle and leveling systems are also well done, and there are a lot of sidequest for the completionist. My only problem was that the battle system did get a bit repeditive after a while. A true testament to the qulity of this game is that it still holds its own against later installments. Expand
  35. Mar 5, 2012
    10
    FFX is the FINAL FANTASY that more I like. Beautiful and sad story, epic characters, ingenious and artistically beautiful world, the best combat system, the best sonorous band of any FF, and finally; a game that stay in my heart forever. Good job Square, Sakaguchi, Nomura and Uematsu.
  36. Mar 7, 2012
    8
    Normally i don't like sport games but this one was diffrent. it is soccer game where you are soccer player who is the best in the world. But the other soccer teams use magic to send you back in time to middle ages so you don't win world cup against them. you need to win the tournaments so you can go back home to presetn. i like the soccer games in this, but they have wierd minigame whereNormally i don't like sport games but this one was diffrent. it is soccer game where you are soccer player who is the best in the world. But the other soccer teams use magic to send you back in time to middle ages so you don't win world cup against them. you need to win the tournaments so you can go back home to presetn. i like the soccer games in this, but they have wierd minigame where you kill monster which i didn't understand why it was there. even so this was good game and i recommend it for sports fan Expand
  37. Jun 30, 2012
    10
    The hype is well deserved in this installment. In my opinion VII can't even begin to match up to the masterpiece that is Final Fantasy X. Everyone usually hails VII as the masterpiece of the series, but X truly surpasses VII in almost every way. STUNNING graphics for a 2001 video game, some of the best characters set out on a journey to defeat the almighty creature Sin, who has plaguedThe hype is well deserved in this installment. In my opinion VII can't even begin to match up to the masterpiece that is Final Fantasy X. Everyone usually hails VII as the masterpiece of the series, but X truly surpasses VII in almost every way. STUNNING graphics for a 2001 video game, some of the best characters set out on a journey to defeat the almighty creature Sin, who has plagued the land of Spira for a thousand years. This plot may seem cliche but there are so many plot twists and enough character development to keep you at the edge of your seat wanting to play through to find out what happens next. This game is the pinnacle of what every RPG should strive to be, and it pulls out all the stops in the Final Fantasy world. Gone is the active time battle system in favor of a new Condition Turn Based system; allowing a strategic element rather in favor of pummelling them with magic. The new level up system known as the sphere grid is also a very nice touch. It now becomes possible to customize each character the way YOU want them to be, and not how the devs wanted them to turn out. AMAZING game, honestly the last good Final Fantasy from what I've heard, but nevertheless I highly recommend it to anyone who loves a good RPG! Expand
  38. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    Flawless, excels in every possible area for the time of release, and still excels in certain areas today. Gameplay is absolutely spot on, the story, voice acting is still the best I have seen, the visual style is simply gorgeous, with believable transitions between gameplay and CG sequences which no other game has achieved, ever.
    Side missions, endless hours which can be spent unlocking
    Flawless, excels in every possible area for the time of release, and still excels in certain areas today. Gameplay is absolutely spot on, the story, voice acting is still the best I have seen, the visual style is simply gorgeous, with believable transitions between gameplay and CG sequences which no other game has achieved, ever.
    Side missions, endless hours which can be spent unlocking new items which actually mean something to you as a player, have relevance to the story and are worth your time.
    You will wish that the story never ends, as this will absorb you and transport you along with Tidus to the world of Spira, this is the epitomy of gaming.
    Expand
  39. Aug 15, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Final Fantasy X is a game I've picked up and put down many times before. Originally, I was looking for Sonic Unleashed for the PS2, as its daytime stages are looked fun, but the gamestop I was in didnt have it, so instead, I got this. I have played three Final Fantasy games (VII, XII, X), and out of them all, this is the one I like the least. And beleive me, I have my reasons. Let me start off with the positives: The story. The story in this game is really really good. You take control of Tidus, an annoying character whom youll end up hating, who is a Blitzball player who is teleported away from his city of Zanarkand after a creature known as sin walks into it. He soon finds out that he is in the future, 1000 years later, and eventually meets Wakka, a fellow Blitzball player who has never won a game and decides to go off on one more championship before becoming a guradian. I dont want to spoil anymore now. The plot does have some flaws though: Apparently, when you die in the world of spira, if you are not sent by a summoner, you will be reborn as a fiend. If you get killed as a fiend, you will become a fiend. If you get killed as a fiend, you will become a feind! Eh? This means that there is no downside to dying. So death is pointless since ten minutes later, youll get back up. Also, the battle system is really really good as well. Strategic thinking and using the right characters is key to winning a battle. And a convienient bar at the right tells you who will move next, and you can also strateigecly switch party members. This is the one part of Final Fantasy X that I really love. The only bad thing I can say about them is that theyre a bit too slow paced, but thats not really something fair to gripe over. Thats unfortunately where the positives end really. Now its time for the ranting. Where to start? How about the character design and models? Alright. The character design is really... um... unique? Its all really weird. I mean, who looked at Seymour all of a sudden and said YES! THAT HAIR STYLE IS PERFECT! MAKE IT HAPPEN! Youll really have to see the characters to know what I mean. The models, while some are great for the time, look flat out weird, especially Rikku and Issaru. Some people dont even move their mouth when talking, and simle when theyre not supposed to. Okay, moving on. The gameplay is linear. Youre always set on a straight forward path with little to no oppertunity to go back. A factor to this linearity is the amount of cutscenes that spend way too much time showing off graphics and are like "YEAH! LOOK AT THESE PS2 GRAPHICS. SCREW GC AND XBOX, GO OUT AND BUY A PS2!" My first 5-6 hours of gameplay was spent moving from place to place which will trigger a cutscene, a boss fight or both. I land on an island. Theres a red arrow to follow. I follow it and a cutscene appears. It ends, and another red arrow appears. I walk two steps and another cutscene. That cutscene ends, and I proceed to follow the arrow. Another cutscen. Another arrow. Cutscene, arrow, cutscene arrow, cutscene, arrow, CUTSCEN, ARROW, CUTSCENE, ARROW, CUTSCENE, ARROW! WHY?!!! There was barley anything interseting around me. None of the NPCs have anythign to say, there is a severe lack of shops. If Yuna runs out of MP, and I dont have any potions, Im screwed. If there was a shop, just-UGGHHH! Another aspect of tyhe game is that its soo annoying! Dont get me started on those wait for yuna sections. In certain sections, Yuna is praying at a temple, and all of the characters keep on telling you to sit down, shut up, and wait till Yuna is done. But you
    re not supposed to wait. Youre not supposed to sit ther. Youre supposed to go a certain spot in the area, and then it will trigger a cutscene! HOW WAS I SUPPOSED TO KNOW THAT! Some places you\'re supposed to go to trigger the cutscene are the places that everyone is telling you not to go! Like the place where Yuna is praying why? I spend, I kid you not, 3 hours, sitting there waiting for Yuna, and she never came out. And besides; WAITING FOR SOMEONE? DOES THAT SOUND LIKE FUN TO YOU?! And last, Blitzball. Blitzball is so annoying. First off, the tutorial is painfully long, and it gives you som much wrong advice on what to do in the game. Second, Blitzball is slow, its boring, its quiet, and the first time you play it, you are the worst team by a lot, and youll loose. Luckily, by the end of your first Blitzball game, a majority of the problems you had are gone. No more Cutscene aroww following and Blitzball is completely optional. However, there are still some gripes. You can never really go a decent distance without a random battle, and, still, there are a lack of shops. Luckily, only my first 10 hours of the game were painfull, but ya know what? FFX wasnt that bad. Its the worst of the FF games Ive played, but thats not saying much, since the three I played were great. When its good, its great, and when its annoying...oh god........ill give it an 8.0/10
    Expand
  40. Jun 28, 2012
    10
    This is without a doubt one of my favorite Final Fantasy games I've ever played. FFX is the first game in the series to use voice actors. The game provides a likable cast of characters, a interesting world, and a excellent story. My favorite is the battle system, which still uses the turn based battles. The Visuals are lush and magical. The music is beautiful. The game is followed by aThis is without a doubt one of my favorite Final Fantasy games I've ever played. FFX is the first game in the series to use voice actors. The game provides a likable cast of characters, a interesting world, and a excellent story. My favorite is the battle system, which still uses the turn based battles. The Visuals are lush and magical. The music is beautiful. The game is followed by a sequel (Final Fantasy X-2) that is more lighthearted, yet offering extensive amounts of side quests, mini games, and includes a fast paced battle system similar to FF7. Expand
  41. May 15, 2012
    9
    If you could skip the cut-scenes this would be a perfect RPG! however its still an amazing game and the last of the great final fantasy's, Auron ftw!
  42. May 29, 2012
    9
    Best RPG of PS2. Everything in FFX is great, from the beginning to the end. History is really interesting and the soundtrack is amazing. The game mechanic is very deep with the sphere desk. In order to maximize your skills and characters, you'll need probably 100 or 150 hours if you want to face some of the most dangerous enemies in the game. Also, the equipment system which allows you toBest RPG of PS2. Everything in FFX is great, from the beginning to the end. History is really interesting and the soundtrack is amazing. The game mechanic is very deep with the sphere desk. In order to maximize your skills and characters, you'll need probably 100 or 150 hours if you want to face some of the most dangerous enemies in the game. Also, the equipment system which allows you to customize every item's skills is very smart. Also, this game goes back to the turn fighting system (without ATB from previous games). It's one of these games that you just have to play. Expand
  43. Jun 1, 2012
    10
    This is one of my favorite games ever, along with Final Fantasy 7. I'm the type of person that loves a good story and this game has it. They did a great job with pacing and storytelling. Also has a great soundtrack and some really good cut scenes. Can't wait for the remake!
  44. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    In my opinion, this is the best Final Fantasy game. While the voice acting can be a turn off with some characters, most of the main characters have decent voice acting. The leveling system is one of my personal favorites and the combat is quite good. Another great thing about this game is the soundtrack which is amazing.
  45. Aug 24, 2012
    10
    The best game of Final fantasy, The best game in the world. If you don't have this game, buy it and play it... And listen "to Zanarkand". The best song in a game.
  46. Jul 15, 2012
    7
    Final Fantasy X is a good game in many ways. The battle system is still turn based but the new way of using summons brings it to a new level. Also the game looks really good for being a early playstation 2 game. The voice acting and music are pretty good as well. The largest reason for my giving Final Fantasy X a 7/10 is it's story. Although this game is filled with memorable charactersFinal Fantasy X is a good game in many ways. The battle system is still turn based but the new way of using summons brings it to a new level. Also the game looks really good for being a early playstation 2 game. The voice acting and music are pretty good as well. The largest reason for my giving Final Fantasy X a 7/10 is it's story. Although this game is filled with memorable characters there are certain aspects of the game's story that seem somewhat unoriginal. Tidus and Yuna's love story is basically a blend of the love stories found in Final Fantasy VIII and Final Fantasy IX. Also Sin is by far the least interesting villain that the Final Fantasy series has had. Final Fantasy X then tries to fill it's villain void with Seymour but he looks really wimpy when comparing him to Sephiroth, Kefka or Ultimecia. Expand
  47. Dec 26, 2013
    8
    Innovations in gameplay, particularly with the battle and summon systems, the option to change party members during battle, and the character development and inventory management systems.+++ Gameplay and interfaces are very enjoyable but the story and characters are the weak points. Story is pretty stupid, confusing and unfocused(it has few great scenes). Characters are annoying from theirInnovations in gameplay, particularly with the battle and summon systems, the option to change party members during battle, and the character development and inventory management systems.+++ Gameplay and interfaces are very enjoyable but the story and characters are the weak points. Story is pretty stupid, confusing and unfocused(it has few great scenes). Characters are annoying from their looks to personalities. Expand
  48. Apr 9, 2013
    8
    It is a good Final Fantasy.

    Pros: Great graphics (especially if on PCSX2), interesting sphere leveling system, blitzball minigame, good story. Cons: I could not stand Tidus, the main character. After FF8, the main characters have gotten super gay and annoying. At least Auron compensates with his badassery. Also, I missed the freedom I had with the previous chapters while roaming on
    It is a good Final Fantasy.

    Pros: Great graphics (especially if on PCSX2), interesting sphere leveling system, blitzball minigame, good story.
    Cons: I could not stand Tidus, the main character. After FF8, the main characters have gotten super gay and annoying. At least Auron compensates with his badassery.
    Also, I missed the freedom I had with the previous chapters while roaming on the world map. Here, the whole story goes on a linear path and you get some freedom with the airship only on the very last chapter. It was needed much earlier in the game.

    Overall, it still deserves an 8.
    Expand
  49. Aug 7, 2012
    9
    This was the first Final Fantasy game I played, and it was brilliant. Sure it has its weak points, but these are far outweighed by its many strengths. The graphics were great for the time, the music was enjoyable, and the story and characters were interesting. The battle system is about what you'd expect: fun, but not revolutionary, and the character leveling system is good once youThis was the first Final Fantasy game I played, and it was brilliant. Sure it has its weak points, but these are far outweighed by its many strengths. The graphics were great for the time, the music was enjoyable, and the story and characters were interesting. The battle system is about what you'd expect: fun, but not revolutionary, and the character leveling system is good once you understand it. While they could be frustrating at times, the dungeon puzzles were cool, and I actually enjoyed the blitzball mini-game. Expand
  50. Apr 5, 2014
    9
    Currently replaying this game on the PS3 and I haven't played it since its' release on PS2. Will come back to finish my review when complete but this game is way more magnificent than I remember, I think possibly because I was too young to fully enjoy it.
  51. Feb 2, 2013
    10
    Not only the best Final Fantasy, or JRPG but rather the most perfect game to ever grace the gaming industry to said date of this review. It's taken aspects of former classic Final Fantasy games and combined into a package that defines perfection and heartrending storytelling that is worthy of your time. I will keep this short, but all-in-all this will translate to buy Final Fantasy X. BuyNot only the best Final Fantasy, or JRPG but rather the most perfect game to ever grace the gaming industry to said date of this review. It's taken aspects of former classic Final Fantasy games and combined into a package that defines perfection and heartrending storytelling that is worthy of your time. I will keep this short, but all-in-all this will translate to buy Final Fantasy X. Buy it. Buy it now.

    --STORY--
    You use Tidus the star player of Zanarkand's Blizball (Underwater soccer) team, the Zananrkand Abes. The monstrous whale-like monster Sin attacks Zanarkand, turning it to nothing but scrap. Tidus is transported to a distant land where he meets the grand summer Braska's daughter, Yuna. Together with their friends they set out to terminate Sin and so Tidus can return back to Zanarkand. --GAMEPLAY--
    World map movement feels identical to that of Final Fantasy 7 through to 9. While combat on the other hand returns to that of Final Fantasy (1) to 3 but with an added twist, the Conditional Turn-Based Battle. Once again turns are not timed however it shows the order in which all playable characters and enemies will make a move during battle. With the added feature of being able to adjust your active party during battle, it all feels very fresh, but also familiar to veterans of the series.

    One of the two negative points of the game however lies in the game. For the most part the game doesn't feel too easy or hard. However certain bosses feel far to powerful or bosses that are suppose to be iconic and mighty are rather easy.

    It can take anywhere between 50-60 hours on average to finish. Around 150 hours is the estimate for 100% completing it. Includes mastering blitzball.

    --SOUNTRACK--
    The best soundtrack overall in the series. While it doesn't have as many iconic songs. As an overall soundtrack however the quality is superb and you'll find yourself listening to it well after completing this epic journey. Some fantastic songs are "To Zanarkand" and "Otherworld".

    --CHARACTERS--
    While some characters can be annoying sometimes, they are undoubtable the most loveable characters to any game to date. By the end of this, when those credits are rolling, you will feel as if you developed a relationship with the characters. They are some human-like and develop so naturally.

    The second bad point. The voice acting is great. However the English dubbing gave some rather serious points some comedic relief. --VISUALS--
    The best graphics that ever existed in a video game til it's release. The game's real-time graphics and pre-renders competed throughout the entire life time of it's generation. It looks on par and maybe even better than future generation console, the Nintendo Wii. While kept up with early PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360 graphics.

    --CONCLUSION--
    There's nothing I can say that hasn't been said before. I just wanted to reinforce that this is a game that everyone should play. Thank you for reading.

    "You don’t need to play these games because you need to hear their stories or fight their battles; you need to play them because they let you have an experience unlike anything else in the world."
    - Kotaku
    Expand
  52. Oct 25, 2013
    7
    *SPOILERS*
    It is for sure a wonderful game, the first Final Fantasy on Ps2. a of content and over 200+ hours of grinding and at least 50 hours of story mode. except the bad voice-acting (you're getting used to it) and the suprise when you noticed the bald move by Square to move from ATB to CTB, it still works. I could still call it Final Fantasy. The feeling is there. the story is there
    *SPOILERS*
    It is for sure a wonderful game, the first Final Fantasy on Ps2. a of content and over 200+ hours of grinding and at least 50 hours of story mode. except the bad voice-acting (you're getting used to it) and the suprise when you noticed the bald move by Square to move from ATB to CTB, it still works. I could still call it Final Fantasy. The feeling is there. the story is there and the music is definitely there.
    Though you follow an immature and unbelievable stupid main character the plot is preatty obvious but I liked the fact that he actually died at the end of the game... though what I was dissapointed about was the cliffhanger in the secret movie, kinda ruined the ending that you where so suprised over.
    Anyway the battle system is nice, each character is a little better at his or her own job but still everyone can learn there skills. The limit breaks are actually preaddy cool. Nice concept but little too easy to gain as always. It's a good game for plot at grinding as the other final fantasy games, but the extra bosses is on a whole new level. I'll tell ya that
    Expand
  53. Jan 1, 2014
    10
    Best Final Fantasy for the PS2. Great graphics, music, battle system, characters, bosses, story, and ALL OTHERS. If you have a PS2 you have to play it!
  54. Sep 10, 2013
    9
    Oh my God, where to start! The blitzball, the sphere grid, the characters, the story, even the ending is something M. Night Shyamalan will NEVER be able to pull off. Final Fantasy X was my first and it will be my last. Definitely worthy to be called the Final Fantasy VII of the next generation.
  55. Sep 11, 2013
    8
    I have to say I didn't mind this FF. Great animation, interesting characters and a really deep and tear wrenching story.

    FF 10's biggest flaw would have to be it's linearity. Most of the game is very linear and leave little room to explore. Don't get me wrong, the environments are beautiful and the creature battles varied and engaging. The game does open up completely, but only right at
    I have to say I didn't mind this FF. Great animation, interesting characters and a really deep and tear wrenching story.

    FF 10's biggest flaw would have to be it's linearity. Most of the game is very linear and leave little room to explore. Don't get me wrong, the environments are beautiful and the creature battles varied and engaging. The game does open up completely, but only right at the end and the freedom to explore feels more like a needless additional activity that doesn't really add much to the central plot. But, that aside, the additional stuff is vast and incredibly challenging. The monster farm has some hard as nails fights.

    The story is can be really moving at times and you can not help but fall in love with Yuna. Tidus is a tool, but a lovable tool and it is great to see their relationship develop and grow.

    Blitzball is a simple little side game. but damn is it fun. The better you get the more you want to play. I'm a bit surprised that Square never a spin-off title around this.

    Overall:
    Final Fantasy X is a really good addition to the FF series and has done a good job bringing the FF franchise into the 21st century. While I didn't enjoy it as much as the previous titles, I still liked it none the less.
    Expand
  56. Jan 8, 2013
    10
    There's a reason why Square has been around for so long, and that's because they make amazing games. Final Fantasy X is an amazing game, at the time of it's release it had amazing graphics and cut-scenes, but it was also bundled with an amazing story and appealing characters, as well as a great combat system, awesome boss battles, and wonderful areas to explore. There was so much to do inThere's a reason why Square has been around for so long, and that's because they make amazing games. Final Fantasy X is an amazing game, at the time of it's release it had amazing graphics and cut-scenes, but it was also bundled with an amazing story and appealing characters, as well as a great combat system, awesome boss battles, and wonderful areas to explore. There was so much to do in this game, I've spent over 300 hours in several playthroughs of this game and I enjoyed every moment of it. Expand
  57. Jan 16, 2013
    10
    This game is extraordinarily captivating, emotional, beautiful and memorable. The story was perfectly thought out and utterly engrossing. I REALLY wanted to know what happened next and why. The music was amazing and the graphics were great for it's time. I've played quite a few games in my time but none have come close to what Final Fantasy X brings to the table. I was literally on theThis game is extraordinarily captivating, emotional, beautiful and memorable. The story was perfectly thought out and utterly engrossing. I REALLY wanted to know what happened next and why. The music was amazing and the graphics were great for it's time. I've played quite a few games in my time but none have come close to what Final Fantasy X brings to the table. I was literally on the edge of my seat on numerous occasions throughout the entire game. The plots twists left my jaw hanging low and the ending left me crying like a wimp.

    If you own a PS2 and are a fan of RPGs, there is no reason for you not to have this game.
    Expand
  58. Jan 22, 2013
    9
    it´s the best final fantasy with voice acting you can find today right now. it´s the best final fantasy from ps2 era and deserve being in the pantheon of the best games from the 128 bit era. The playable 3d models from characters and some enviroments are ugly, even for a ps2 system, but the graphics don´t matter when you immerse yourself completely for a compellingit´s the best final fantasy with voice acting you can find today right now. it´s the best final fantasy from ps2 era and deserve being in the pantheon of the best games from the 128 bit era. The playable 3d models from characters and some enviroments are ugly, even for a ps2 system, but the graphics don´t matter when you immerse yourself completely for a compelling storytelling and well executed gameplay. Expand
  59. Feb 14, 2013
    9
    This game is great, because of the fact that it actually takes some time to beat it. I played the international version of it, and i really liked it. Unlike the other games, X has more customization (weapons and armor can be fully customized to your liking) than the other games, and that can both be annoying and great. I disliked the horrible voice acting for Tidus and Yuna though, so i amThis game is great, because of the fact that it actually takes some time to beat it. I played the international version of it, and i really liked it. Unlike the other games, X has more customization (weapons and armor can be fully customized to your liking) than the other games, and that can both be annoying and great. I disliked the horrible voice acting for Tidus and Yuna though, so i am giving this game a 9 instead of a 10. Expand
  60. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    This is the best JRGP I've ever played. The story is really good, the characters are okay, the gameplay is brilliant. Unlike previous final fantasy games, final fantasy X let's everybody wait their turn. I like this very much. For example, in final fantasy IX the enemies attack when their bar is full, this means I felt rushed and I couldn't take my time to think about my next move. FinalThis is the best JRGP I've ever played. The story is really good, the characters are okay, the gameplay is brilliant. Unlike previous final fantasy games, final fantasy X let's everybody wait their turn. I like this very much. For example, in final fantasy IX the enemies attack when their bar is full, this means I felt rushed and I couldn't take my time to think about my next move. Final fantasy X let's the monsters wait their turn. You won't feel rushed. The gameplay is deep and the overall experience is one that you will not soon forget. Expand
  61. Mar 24, 2013
    7
    My favorite feature in this game is the sphere grid talent system. The sphere grid is probably one of the most well done character development systems in any game. The worst part, gameplay-wise, are some of the mini-games. Blitzball wasn't very fun, and the lightning-strike-dodge-game was mind numbing and frustrating if you want the final prize from it. However, the only reason I'm notMy favorite feature in this game is the sphere grid talent system. The sphere grid is probably one of the most well done character development systems in any game. The worst part, gameplay-wise, are some of the mini-games. Blitzball wasn't very fun, and the lightning-strike-dodge-game was mind numbing and frustrating if you want the final prize from it. However, the only reason I'm not giving this game a 10 is because of the poorly implemented voice-overs. The 'press X to continue the dialog' made it seem entirely unnatural, and the voices they chose for the characters were from a well known and cliche team that otherwise translates anime sitcoms. The bad voices marred the character personalities. I have to keep in mind, however, that Square Enix deserved some slack for the voice-overs since it's the first time they ever tried it. Expand
  62. May 12, 2014
    10
    THE GREATEST RPG OF ALL TIME AND THE BEST FINAL FANTASY. It is amazing. Top five best PS2 game ever. It is sad Squaresoft made 11 online only they had something here. I know that every Final Fantasy has different characters and a changed story. This by far the best of them all. The characters are lovable and the boss battles are some the most epic moments in gaming history. The story hasTHE GREATEST RPG OF ALL TIME AND THE BEST FINAL FANTASY. It is amazing. Top five best PS2 game ever. It is sad Squaresoft made 11 online only they had something here. I know that every Final Fantasy has different characters and a changed story. This by far the best of them all. The characters are lovable and the boss battles are some the most epic moments in gaming history. The story has twist and It is a classic style RPG unlike the latest Final Fantasy. This is the way an RPG should be. Expand
  63. Mar 29, 2013
    10
    First there is one thing that needs to be said. Don't listen to the reviewers giving this game low scores. They're generally the types of people with little to no attention span. We all have a friend like that.

    Now let's mention a few essential points about this game: - This is a long game. It will take you a long time to complete it. Cutscenes are very prominent. If you can't take
    First there is one thing that needs to be said. Don't listen to the reviewers giving this game low scores. They're generally the types of people with little to no attention span. We all have a friend like that.

    Now let's mention a few essential points about this game:

    - This is a long game. It will take you a long time to complete it. Cutscenes are very prominent. If you can't take the time to enjoy a well crafted story with interesting characters told at a slow pace, don't buy this game.
    - The battle system is very much vintage Final Fantasy. It is fairly similar to that of previous games in the series. It is turn based.

    Graphics: 8/10

    I played this game back in 2003. While the game certainly looks nice, it's definately not 10/10 worthy in this department. The major drawback in terms of graphics is the stiff animations and sometimes awkward facial expressions. Much of this is me subconsiously comparing FFX to that of MGS2, which did far better in this department (in a similar time period). Other than this, the game looks great, plenty of detail, worlds full of life with vibrant colours.

    Gameplay: 9/10

    Vintage Final Fantasy. There's not really anything new here. The greatest thing about this game is not the battles themselves, but the ability to build your characters to ungoldy levels. After you finish FFX, you could quite easily spend another 60 hours just finishing post-game content. This includes finding ultimate weapons, fighting various post-game bosses (who are incredibly strong), crafting godly equiptment, maxxing out the sphere grid in ways you never thought were possible ect ect. This is a game where it's entirely possible to max every stat to 255 for every character (and still get your ass kicked by the strongest boss in the game). The game also features several minigames, including blitzball tournaments (underwater football). Most people who actually get into this minigame, find out just how fun and engaging it is. It's almost like another game within FFX.

    Story 10/10

    This is a JRPG. Expect a long melodramatic story. Expect interesting characters that you really care about by the end of the game. Expect plot twists. Expect shocks. I have completed this game over 5 times just to see the story again. It's that good. Yes the voice acting can be a tad cheesy at times (mainly due to the accompanying facial expressions which sometimes look a little comedic), but most of the time it is spot on. People are quick to judge Tidus' personality, because he's not like Cloud of Squall. This is not 7/8. The characters are varied and all bring something to the table. The voice acting is, for the most part, top notch. The people telling you otherwise generally just lack the intelligence to see the comedic value behind certain scenes (the laughing scene was purposely cheesy. That was the point).

    Voice acting 9/10

    Sometimes it isn't perfect, but it is most of the time. No one sounds the same, voices perfectly match appearances. Yuna sounds like an angel, Auron sounds like a boss.

    Sound 10/10

    I don't really pay all that much attention to background music in games, but what I do hear sounds perfect. After you play this game, you'll be hearing the Hymn of the Faith for years.

    Replayability 10/10

    As I said, I have finished this game 5 times.

    Overall 10/10

    This game is one of the best in the FF franchise (and my personal favourite). The only people telling you this game is horrible, are those that either lack the attention span to play games like this, or can't seem to entertain the fact that FFVII isn't the only FF game. VII wasn't even that good. Seriously. This game is better in every way, it's just that good. (and I would give VII a 10/10).

    This is one of the greatest games ever created.
    Expand
  64. Jan 2, 2014
    9
    There is a lot that could be said about this game, it is the first Final Fantasy game on the PS2 which back then was a big deal. Everyone expected it to revolutionize the series much like VII. While X does make huge strides in presentation and gameplay, some of the voice acting and dialog isn't translated in a way that western gamers are used to. Tidus could have been a lot more likeable,There is a lot that could be said about this game, it is the first Final Fantasy game on the PS2 which back then was a big deal. Everyone expected it to revolutionize the series much like VII. While X does make huge strides in presentation and gameplay, some of the voice acting and dialog isn't translated in a way that western gamers are used to. Tidus could have been a lot more likeable, but the dialog he is given and his voice acting make seem like a 12 year old brat instead of a teenage sports jock. As far as the rest of the characters, they're all fine but really no stand-out performances. The graphics on the other hand are absolutely gorgeous even now. The style and the bright vivid color of the environments are wonderful to look at, and the FMV sequences are stunning. The turn-based gameplay won't surprise anyone, but the ability to switch out party members and some neat overdrives keep the gameplay from becoming stale for 50+ hours. The upgrade system called the sphere grid is, for the most part, a unique and interesting way to level up your character even if it is somewhat clunky. Overall, this game an outstanding entry in the series, despite one or two noticeable flaws. Expand
  65. Apr 11, 2013
    10
    The one that got my hooked on final fantasy, the first one I played. One of the metacritic reviewers wrote this game has low replay value; I finished the game atleast ten times and will play it again soon. This game has a great story, plenty of things to do besides the main story, and, for its time, great graphics.
    One of the greatest RPG's made in my opinion.
  66. May 2, 2013
    3
    The final fantasy series took a downward plunge after the SNES titles n my opinion, but this one really did not appeal to me, the story was slow paced, and the level up system was just not to my liking, I prefer to know what level I am and base my choices of combat on that, not on how many pieces of a grid I have.
  67. Jun 1, 2013
    10
    This is an amazing game. I could write a 10 page report on why it's awesome but you can read what other people are saying. Instead I want to address those emo pricks hating on Tidus and Wakka. Tidus is almost unrealistically cheerful and upbeat. But guess what? his presence bring positivity to the journey. His naiveness and outgoing personality lightens the mood of what otherwise would beThis is an amazing game. I could write a 10 page report on why it's awesome but you can read what other people are saying. Instead I want to address those emo pricks hating on Tidus and Wakka. Tidus is almost unrealistically cheerful and upbeat. But guess what? his presence bring positivity to the journey. His naiveness and outgoing personality lightens the mood of what otherwise would be a depressing journey. Can you imagine what it would be like for if Tidus was replaced with Squall or Cloud? It would be an emo fest. And I don't know what people hate on Wakka either. He is supposed to be slow-wit guy with a big heart. The only flaw he might have is being inflexible when it comes to yevon's teaching. And I don't blame him. If you had to live your whole life in fear of a monster wiping your whole village at any given moment you act like him too. Expand
  68. Nov 20, 2014
    10
    This game remains to this day, pretty much my all-time favourite game. This game has sat at the top of the list now for some 13+ years. It brought me into the world of FF. It also contains my favourite soundtrack of any game; everything about it screams 'enjoyment.' I could write on this for days, but when you tick all the boxes and score a perfect 10 - Well, it's pretty self-explanatory.
  69. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    Um, this is the pinnacle of FF games for me. Everything about it is just good. Was well beyond it's day when released. My brothers and I have played through multiple times. It just never gets boring. Auron is by far my favorite FF character. Story is amazing, I still remember feeling dazed and beyond impressed at the end. Kinda like after just finishing an epic book series like Wheel of Time.
  70. Aug 22, 2013
    10
    I loved this game, probably played through it 3 times, even though we had to take the disc back 3 times because it had been resurfaced badly that had no effect on how great I think this game is. I loved the story, the twists, and how emotional they made the ending. The characters felt real, and the role of the pseudo religion in the game was awesome. This is easily my favorite game in theI loved this game, probably played through it 3 times, even though we had to take the disc back 3 times because it had been resurfaced badly that had no effect on how great I think this game is. I loved the story, the twists, and how emotional they made the ending. The characters felt real, and the role of the pseudo religion in the game was awesome. This is easily my favorite game in the series, including FF7. Great boss battles, excellent story, I don't recall any UI bugs that annoyed me, all in all a very memorable game. Expand
  71. Oct 21, 2013
    10
    Final fantasy X was the last good game of final fantasy franchise
    after that,square soft fall and become into a monster
    Final fantasy X had a better story than final fantasy VIII and IX
    it had Better characters,a good gameplay and i loved the atmosphere
    the graphic were solid. this game
    was the final fantasy of square soft...
  72. Oct 29, 2013
    9
    This game delivers in all aspects even in the mini-game department. The characters are memorable and the story is well done. The battle system is quicker than it's predecessors and the blitzball side-quest/mini-game is very addictive once you give it the attention. The extra challenges are very entertaining and at times challenging, but they too deliver. The story is very interesting andThis game delivers in all aspects even in the mini-game department. The characters are memorable and the story is well done. The battle system is quicker than it's predecessors and the blitzball side-quest/mini-game is very addictive once you give it the attention. The extra challenges are very entertaining and at times challenging, but they too deliver. The story is very interesting and rewarding if you enjoy a good tale, this is Square in full rager. Expand
  73. Jan 14, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. PT-BR: Um ótimo jogo, não foi o primeiro FF que joguei, pois eu ja havia jogado o III, V, VII e o VIII, e o X ele marcou por alguns motivos.

    História: a história que se desenvolve em torno do protagonista e depois o mesmo desaparece é no minimo intrigante e emocionante. Os personagems que fazem parte, tambem, da história do game, não deixa ele fica vazio em nenhuma parte.

    Musica: Não tem como não ouvir a musica da saga do FF, é simplesmente linda, tambem a To Zanarkand quanto a End music, que é a orquestração junto com o Zanarkand, é simplesmente emocionante e uma das melhores.

    Estilo de jogo: Qualquer um que jogue FF, sabe que o estilo de jogo é praticamente por turno, entao isso excluí qualuqer comentário de haters que procura um hack'n Slash ou qualquer outro tipo de ação, pois o FF foca em história e musica. O estilo é quase que nem o dos outros games, porém as batalhas, os Aeons, tudo praticamente ficou ótimo, principalmente o grafico dos monstros e personagens. Alias, é um jogo antigo não?!?!

    Universo: Como os outros jogos, o FF X contem tambem praticamente tudo dos outros FF's, porém sem com alguma inovação, o que ficou muito legal foi o bestiário, onde se batalha com os monstros especiais e bem desafiadores.

    O unico contra... É que o jogo é muito curto! Mesmo as Cut scenes levarem quase 3 horas, ao total, é um universo que eu gostaria de ter mais coisas a fazer.

    Conclusão, É um jogo quase PERFEITO em que voce ficará mais preso na história do que em outra bobagem de querer fechar só para falar que fechou, o fator Yuna e Tidus, tambem é algo único.

    Obs: por favor, PAREM de falar do FF VII, o jogo é ótimo, concordo, mas ele não tem que ser comparado aos outros games, pois cada um tenta contar sua história.
    Expand
  74. Jan 23, 2014
    8
    Final Fantasy X is one of the most famous titles in the series alongside 7, 8, and 9. While it is indeed awesome, there were some pretty big flaws in the game that slightly ruined it for me. But before I can get to those, I have to talk about the amazing things.

    The story in FFX is quite what you'd expect from a Final Fantasy game: depressing, deep, and full of angst. For long-time fans
    Final Fantasy X is one of the most famous titles in the series alongside 7, 8, and 9. While it is indeed awesome, there were some pretty big flaws in the game that slightly ruined it for me. But before I can get to those, I have to talk about the amazing things.

    The story in FFX is quite what you'd expect from a Final Fantasy game: depressing, deep, and full of angst. For long-time fans of the franchise, it won't really amaze them much. But for first-timers, it'll blow you away. It is so amazing that you'll definitely shed a tear or two. I won't go into detail due to spoilers but I will say that it's one of the best stories I've seen for an RPG. The characters in FFX are very well-done and realistic. You might even see bits and pieces of yourself in some of them. Yes they're that deep.

    The gameplay in this game is very linear which is one of the flaws I was referring to earlier. Linearity in an RPG tends to turn me off. There are very few side quests and mini-games in FFX which saddened me since the side quests are so easy that anyone can do them. There's only one mini-game in X and that's blitzball. It's really fun and quite addicting! There is also something that you have to do several times in the game and it never fails to give me a headache. The Cloister of Trials. Ugh. Just thinking about it makes my head hurt.

    The fighting system in FFX is turn-based where up to three characters at a time can choose amongst their regular attacks, magic, items and specials to defeat the various enemies in the way. You unlock abilities to use as you level up by advancing characters through a special grid, differing from a standard level up system. However, I found that it's very easy to manipulate and quite predictable. For both you and the enemy. Some battles do have special controls which sorta makes up for it but only slightly. Another flaw is that X has the easiest final boss in gaming history. Are you kidding me? Seriously? But the ending to the game is so sad and tear-jerking that it makes it forgiveable.

    As for music, X is as good as it gets. The tracks in the game are very somber and easily match the game perfectly. You might even shed a tear or two. After beating the game, there's virtually nothing to do afterwards. The least the developers could've done is offer a New Game Plus. So X might be one of those RPGs that you'll only play once then let it collect dust on your shelf. Which I find to be very sad since it's quite good.

    So if you're looking for a one-time fling, Final Fantasy X is the RPG for you. If you're looking for a long-time relationship, you might want to look elsewhere.
    Expand
  75. Feb 21, 2014
    9
    Having played Final Fantasy 7 first, I wasn't too thrilled with X when starting out. Tidus voice was annoying. He seemed like an idiot. Auron seemed like a badass and then he just kinda of goes away and you are stuck with wakka and lulu. But as every minute goes by, you realize how incredible the story and message is of the game. Things gets more complex every second and you becomeHaving played Final Fantasy 7 first, I wasn't too thrilled with X when starting out. Tidus voice was annoying. He seemed like an idiot. Auron seemed like a badass and then he just kinda of goes away and you are stuck with wakka and lulu. But as every minute goes by, you realize how incredible the story and message is of the game. Things gets more complex every second and you become submerged in your inner battle of who is right and wrong. And you get Auron back witch is a plus because I argue that he is the coolest Final Fantasy character. As the story progresses you find out that the major religous leaders are all corrupt and are actually dead, yuna is going to die if she completes the final summoning, Tidus is actually just a dream of the Fayth and Auron is also dead but bound to the planet until they defeat sin. Say what! And a game that is filled with hope and motivation ends with sorrow and agony. One of the best installments in the franchise. Expand
  76. Mar 15, 2014
    10
    Story-10/10
    The best thing about ff is story and this one has a great one. I believe the love story between Tidus and Yuna is the best of any ff. This is the type of story of a game that keeps you hooked till the end. It makes you want to continue playing. The many great side quest like blitzball are great to keep you entertained.
    Graphics-8/10 It is one of the first ps2 games to hit
    Story-10/10
    The best thing about ff is story and this one has a great one. I believe the love story between Tidus and Yuna is the best of any ff. This is the type of story of a game that keeps you hooked till the end. It makes you want to continue playing. The many great side quest like blitzball are great to keep you entertained.
    Graphics-8/10
    It is one of the first ps2 games to hit the market but it by far has, including to this day great graphics. It hasn't aged much at all. Beautiful landscapes and cities look great in this game.
    Fun 9/10
    The game from the begin is fun and very creative especially with the battle system and sphere grid.
    Controls-10/10
    Very simple controls through out the game, in the game and in the menu for navigation.
    Ease to learn- 10/10
    Music 7/10
    Not the best for a ff but it is still decent enough. I enjoyed the battle music
    Length 10/10
    Easily one of the longest story wise and side quest wise. You could get carried away and get close to 100 hours.
    Replay ability 7/10
    Its an rpg i replay them often because of there great stories and this one is another example.
    Overall 10/10
    From the characters, to the landscapes, to the great story this ff is another great experience you must play for yourself. I believe it is recommended that every rpg fan plays this game. It is an instant classic. The interaction and connection from this game is a great example of what a true rpg should be.
    Expand
  77. May 8, 2014
    10
    While the gameplay is quite linear for a large portion of the game, during that period of linearity you can enjoy a nicely put together combat system that includes one of the best senses of strategy I've ever seen. Not only that, but throughout the game you get to enjoy a well written, properly paced, compelling, epic, and thoroughly explained story. As for characters, with FF10 being theWhile the gameplay is quite linear for a large portion of the game, during that period of linearity you can enjoy a nicely put together combat system that includes one of the best senses of strategy I've ever seen. Not only that, but throughout the game you get to enjoy a well written, properly paced, compelling, epic, and thoroughly explained story. As for characters, with FF10 being the first Final Fantasy with voice acting, the characters are each casted with voice actors who all give strong performances, especially Tara Strong (Rikku), James Arnold Taylor (Tidus), and Hedy Burress (Yuna). FF10 overall is quite possibly the greatest RPG ever made. Expand
  78. Mar 24, 2014
    8
    Corridors, the game. Apparently, director Motomu Toriyama went several steps further in Final Fantasy 13 and made that game 1 long corridor (haven't played FFXIII). FFX is a pretty good game, albeit Auron is a better main character than Tidus, & the game is way too linear. Rated 8/10 because I love the Blitzball minigame, it alone is worth the price.
  79. Oct 15, 2014
    10
    This was an outstanding game, and for the time frame of the game the graphics were awesome. This is one game I still play, though I'm going to have to get it on PS3 for better graphics. The storyline is amazing and as it unravels it just becomes a part of you. This to me, is probably one of the best games released on PS2.

    With that being said, if you've never played this game then you
    This was an outstanding game, and for the time frame of the game the graphics were awesome. This is one game I still play, though I'm going to have to get it on PS3 for better graphics. The storyline is amazing and as it unravels it just becomes a part of you. This to me, is probably one of the best games released on PS2.

    With that being said, if you've never played this game then you have to. This game is one of the ones you look back on later in life and sort of miss playing, or always remember.
    Expand
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 53 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 53
  2. Negative: 0 out of 53
  1. We've seen the Final Fantasy epic take us on a memorable journey, but now it all seems like it's been done before. 10 is good, great at times, but it is no longer original.
  2. The replay value is very low, and the design is flawed by an inability to skip past sequences, even in replay mode. The playability also suffers by a lack of freedom of movement.
  3. Great RPG and certainly the best one on the PS2 currently, however, I feel it isn't as great as past FF's have been due to its lack of freedom.