Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 53 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 771 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Final Fantasy's first game on the Playstation 2 is the first to use voice acting and a massive leap in the cinematic approach to storytelling. Stop reading and go play.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 53
  2. Negative: 0 out of 53
  1. 100
    If you get this game, keep a copy of the Yellow Pages ear-marked on the Home Help page -a willing matron supplying bed-baths and spoon fed dinners may be needed as you turn your characters into mini Goliaths.
  2. Packs in more quality gameplay than most RPGs could ever hope for, with the finest battle system yet for the series. [Feb 2002, p.104]
  3. The delivery is head and shoulders above any other console RPG, and the overall experience leaves you with such a feeling of satisfaction that it's easy to dive right back into the game once you beaten it just to experience all the big moments again.
  4. The storyline is marvelously weaved together with twists, turns and an amazing connectivity between the characters lives.
  5. Does away [with] the traditional overworld, but introduces full voice acting. Artistically beautiful, as always. [Feb 2003, p.92]
  6. The most visually impressive role-playing game yet released, with meticulous character models offering dynamic facial expressions and breathtaking cut-scenes seamlessly integrated into gameplay.
  7. We've seen the Final Fantasy epic take us on a memorable journey, but now it all seems like it's been done before. 10 is good, great at times, but it is no longer original.

See all 53 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 229
  1. Oct 28, 2010
    10
    In my opinion this is the best final fantasy game since FF7. The story of the game is brilliant and just makes you want to play on until youIn my opinion this is the best final fantasy game since FF7. The story of the game is brilliant and just makes you want to play on until you finish it. the graphics of the game are brilliant and the game also shows great character development especially for the 2 main protagonists Expand
  2. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    Um, this is the pinnacle of FF games for me. Everything about it is just good. Was well beyond it's day when released. My brothers and I haveUm, this is the pinnacle of FF games for me. Everything about it is just good. Was well beyond it's day when released. My brothers and I have played through multiple times. It just never gets boring. Auron is by far my favorite FF character. Story is amazing, I still remember feeling dazed and beyond impressed at the end. Kinda like after just finishing an epic book series like Wheel of Time. Expand
  3. MarkL.
    Feb 13, 2003
    10
    This game is amazing squaresoft have done it again.
  4. Nick
    Oct 28, 2003
    10
    this is one of the best games ever and i can't wait for the sequel to come out.
  5. NeoW.
    Oct 22, 2002
    9
    This game is frickin good, nice storyline AWSOME graphics this is tha bomb the jenna jameson of the PS2.
  6. Feb 21, 2014
    9
    Having played Final Fantasy 7 first, I wasn't too thrilled with X when starting out. Tidus voice was annoying. He seemed like an idiot. AuronHaving played Final Fantasy 7 first, I wasn't too thrilled with X when starting out. Tidus voice was annoying. He seemed like an idiot. Auron seemed like a badass and then he just kinda of goes away and you are stuck with wakka and lulu. But as every minute goes by, you realize how incredible the story and message is of the game. Things gets more complex every second and you become submerged in your inner battle of who is right and wrong. And you get Auron back witch is a plus because I argue that he is the coolest Final Fantasy character. As the story progresses you find out that the major religous leaders are all corrupt and are actually dead, yuna is going to die if she completes the final summoning, Tidus is actually just a dream of the Fayth and Auron is also dead but bound to the planet until they defeat sin. Say what! And a game that is filled with hope and motivation ends with sorrow and agony. One of the best installments in the franchise. Expand
  7. AnonymousMC
    Apr 9, 2004
    0
    Wat the hell is wrong with u idiots?! is there soms thing fun about watching people fight whyle u sit on the couch picking ur ass?? GOD noWat the hell is wrong with u idiots?! is there soms thing fun about watching people fight whyle u sit on the couch picking ur ass?? GOD no story no fun NO action. This game is not even worth crap.And jack.p U WANT TO MARRY A VIDO GAME CHARICTER?!!!!!!!!!!! thats kinda sad get some help Expand

See all 229 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Data Tracker: How Does "Final Fantasy XIII" Compare?

    Data Tracker: How Does
    Published: March 9, 2010
    The newest installment in the 23-year-old Final Fantasy franchise arrives in stores this week. How does it compare to past titles in the series?