Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 53 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 736 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Final Fantasy's first game on the Playstation 2 is the first to use voice acting and a massive leap in the cinematic approach to storytelling. Stop reading and go play.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 53
  2. Negative: 0 out of 53
  1. 100
    If you get this game, keep a copy of the Yellow Pages ear-marked on the Home Help page -a willing matron supplying bed-baths and spoon fed dinners may be needed as you turn your characters into mini Goliaths.
  2. Packs in more quality gameplay than most RPGs could ever hope for, with the finest battle system yet for the series. [Feb 2002, p.104]
  3. The delivery is head and shoulders above any other console RPG, and the overall experience leaves you with such a feeling of satisfaction that it's easy to dive right back into the game once you beaten it just to experience all the big moments again.
  4. The storyline is marvelously weaved together with twists, turns and an amazing connectivity between the characters lives.
  5. Does away [with] the traditional overworld, but introduces full voice acting. Artistically beautiful, as always. [Feb 2003, p.92]
  6. The most visually impressive role-playing game yet released, with meticulous character models offering dynamic facial expressions and breathtaking cut-scenes seamlessly integrated into gameplay.
  7. We've seen the Final Fantasy epic take us on a memorable journey, but now it all seems like it's been done before. 10 is good, great at times, but it is no longer original.

See all 53 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 228
  1. Oct 28, 2010
    10
    In my opinion this is the best final fantasy game since FF7. The story of the game is brilliant and just makes you want to play on until you finish it. the graphics of the game are brilliant and the game also shows great character development especially for the 2 main protagonists Expand
  2. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    This is the best JRGP I've ever played. The story is really good, the characters are okay, the gameplay is brilliant. Unlike previous final fantasy games, final fantasy X let's everybody wait their turn. I like this very much. For example, in final fantasy IX the enemies attack when their bar is full, this means I felt rushed and I couldn't take my time to think about my next move. Final fantasy X let's the monsters wait their turn. You won't feel rushed. The gameplay is deep and the overall experience is one that you will not soon forget. Expand
  3. SammytheBull
    Dec 17, 2002
    10
    This game is so friggin awesome. It has awesome graphics, story, and even good voice-overs. Plus Blitzball is a blast (why am I the only one who thinks so). Definitely a must-buy for any remote RPG fan, or just anyone who owns a PS2. Expand
  4. Nick
    Oct 28, 2003
    10
    this is one of the best games ever and i can't wait for the sequel to come out.
  5. JonathanD.
    Sep 18, 2002
    9
    Pros: AMAZING GRAPHICS (!!!!!), good music, excellent voice acting (on par with MGS and Lunar), awesome battle system, compelling storyline. Cons: annoying frequency of random battles, blitzball, and an EXTREMELY LINEAR quest (I hate that). Special Notes: didn't sweep me up as much as FFs VI-IX. The Verdict: buy it. If you can't do that, play this game somehow. It's very good, despite its minor flaws. Expand
  6. Jan 2, 2014
    9
    There is a lot that could be said about this game, it is the first Final Fantasy game on the PS2 which back then was a big deal. Everyone expected it to revolutionize the series much like VII. While X does make huge strides in presentation and gameplay, some of the voice acting and dialog isn't translated in a way that western gamers are used to. Tidus could have been a lot more likeable, but the dialog he is given and his voice acting make seem like a 12 year old brat instead of a teenage sports jock. As far as the rest of the characters, they're all fine but really no stand-out performances. The graphics on the other hand are absolutely gorgeous even now. The style and the bright vivid color of the environments are wonderful to look at, and the FMV sequences are stunning. The turn-based gameplay won't surprise anyone, but the ability to switch out party members and some neat overdrives keep the gameplay from becoming stale for 50+ hours. The upgrade system called the sphere grid is, for the most part, a unique and interesting way to level up your character even if it is somewhat clunky. Overall, this game an outstanding entry in the series, despite one or two noticeable flaws. Expand
  7. AnonymousMC
    Apr 9, 2004
    0
    Wat the hell is wrong with u idiots?! is there soms thing fun about watching people fight whyle u sit on the couch picking ur ass?? GOD no story no fun NO action. This game is not even worth crap.And jack.p U WANT TO MARRY A VIDO GAME CHARICTER?!!!!!!!!!!! thats kinda sad get some help Expand

See all 228 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Data Tracker: How Does "Final Fantasy XIII" Compare?

    Data Tracker: How Does
    Published: March 9, 2010
    The newest installment in the 23-year-old Final Fantasy franchise arrives in stores this week. How does it compare to past titles in the series?