Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 53 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 727 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Final Fantasy's first game on the Playstation 2 is the first to use voice acting and a massive leap in the cinematic approach to storytelling. Stop reading and go play.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 53
  2. Negative: 0 out of 53
  1. 100
    If you get this game, keep a copy of the Yellow Pages ear-marked on the Home Help page -a willing matron supplying bed-baths and spoon fed dinners may be needed as you turn your characters into mini Goliaths.
  2. Packs in more quality gameplay than most RPGs could ever hope for, with the finest battle system yet for the series. [Feb 2002, p.104]
  3. The delivery is head and shoulders above any other console RPG, and the overall experience leaves you with such a feeling of satisfaction that it's easy to dive right back into the game once you beaten it just to experience all the big moments again.
  4. The storyline is marvelously weaved together with twists, turns and an amazing connectivity between the characters lives.
  5. Does away [with] the traditional overworld, but introduces full voice acting. Artistically beautiful, as always. [Feb 2003, p.92]
  6. The most visually impressive role-playing game yet released, with meticulous character models offering dynamic facial expressions and breathtaking cut-scenes seamlessly integrated into gameplay.
  7. We've seen the Final Fantasy epic take us on a memorable journey, but now it all seems like it's been done before. 10 is good, great at times, but it is no longer original.

See all 53 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 228
  1. Oct 28, 2010
    10
    In my opinion this is the best final fantasy game since FF7. The story of the game is brilliant and just makes you want to play on until you finish it. the graphics of the game are brilliant and the game also shows great character development especially for the 2 main protagonists Expand
  2. Jun 1, 2013
    10
    This is an amazing game. I could write a 10 page report on why it's awesome but you can read what other people are saying. Instead I want to address those emo pricks hating on Tidus and Wakka. Tidus is almost unrealistically cheerful and upbeat. But guess what? his presence bring positivity to the journey. His naiveness and outgoing personality lightens the mood of what otherwise would be a depressing journey. Can you imagine what it would be like for if Tidus was replaced with Squall or Cloud? It would be an emo fest. And I don't know what people hate on Wakka either. He is supposed to be slow-wit guy with a big heart. The only flaw he might have is being inflexible when it comes to yevon's teaching. And I don't blame him. If you had to live your whole life in fear of a monster wiping your whole village at any given moment you act like him too. Expand
  3. Mar 5, 2012
    10
    FFX is the FINAL FANTASY that more I like. Beautiful and sad story, epic characters, ingenious and artistically beautiful world, the best combat system, the best sonorous band of any FF, and finally; a game that stay in my heart forever. Good job Square, Sakaguchi, Nomura and Uematsu. Expand
  4. Jun 18, 2011
    9
    Very in-depth final fantasy. Final Fantasy X easily has one of my favorite fighting styles and leveling up systems in the whole series. The story isn't bad but the overall game play does make up for what it lacks as a Final Fantasy story. Expand
  5. Aug 7, 2012
    9
    This was the first Final Fantasy game I played, and it was brilliant. Sure it has its weak points, but these are far outweighed by its many strengths. The graphics were great for the time, the music was enjoyable, and the story and characters were interesting. The battle system is about what you'd expect: fun, but not revolutionary, and the character leveling system is good once you understand it. While they could be frustrating at times, the dungeon puzzles were cool, and I actually enjoyed the blitzball mini-game. Expand
  6. Feb 14, 2013
    9
    This game is great, because of the fact that it actually takes some time to beat it. I played the international version of it, and i really liked it. Unlike the other games, X has more customization (weapons and armor can be fully customized to your liking) than the other games, and that can both be annoying and great. I disliked the horrible voice acting for Tidus and Yuna though, so i am giving this game a 9 instead of a 10. Expand
  7. Sep 2, 2011
    0
    Final Fantasy pretty much peaked for me with 6. 7 was also great, but after that, they just all became button mashers. Final Fantasy games are pretty much: insert disc, mash X repeatedly for around 48 hours until end credits roll. The game play is way too easy. The item management systems have been greatly simplified (and yet, oddly, with more confounding menus.) I miss the economics of Final Fantasy 6. It required some real strategy in the way you equipped the characters with armor, weapons and relics. And you could also shape and grow your characters however you like by assigning espers. FFX's sphere grid is more limiting, more simplified, and yet unnecessarily complicated to use. I guess fans are content to play "interactive movies," but even the best of Final Fantasy games doesn't have a storyline half as good as even the most mediocre of 80's fantasy films. You could play Final Fantasy X for 40 hours, or you could watch The Labyrinth 20 times, and probably be ten times more intellectually stimulated. Expand

See all 228 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Data Tracker: How Does "Final Fantasy XIII" Compare?

    Data Tracker: How Does
    Published: March 9, 2010
    The newest installment in the 23-year-old Final Fantasy franchise arrives in stores this week. How does it compare to past titles in the series?