Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. 88
    One of the single most significant releases in the history of the PlayStation 2. Regardless of how many massively multiplayer games came before it and after, nothing this big, this ambitious, or this good has ever graced a home console before -- that's pretty important.
  2. Get very comfortable because Final Fantasy XI will have you so engrossed in its superbly massive world that you won’t want to leave your couch ever again.
  3. Square managed to capture most, if not all of the addictive, endearing qualities of the genre while retaining a decent amount of good ol’ fashion Fantasy elements.
  4. I can honestly say that I have logged more hours playing Final Fantasy XI than any other game in my life. [May 2004, p.46]
  5. Few of the tasks are dreary and boring, the graphics are gorgeous, the music is Final Fantasy grade A, most of the online community is helpful and fun, and you’ll never run out of things to do.
  6. The defining aspect of FFXI is the huge amount of time that is required to play the game. Couple that with the fact it is dangerously addictive and soon enough you will find yourself firmly ensconced in your chair not wanting to leave to do anything else.
  7. In all my years of playing MMORPGs, none has grabbed me as strongly as FFXI. None has made me more proud of my in-game accomplishments or more excited to see what's around the next corner. I'm addicted. [Mar 2004, p.97]
  8. As a MMORPG, Final Fantasy XI is definitely one of the best around and for those who enjoy them prepare for hours upon hours of fun.
  9. It would be nice if there wasn't such a heavy emphasis on menu driven gameplay, though it never gets in the way of having the best damn time of your life.
  10. The graphics are worlds apart from "Everquest Online Frontiers" and the gameplay is just off the chart as well.
  11. Highly addictive gameplay that seems to never end, generally impressive visuals, and a portal designed around an interactive worldwide community all combine to make this the best possible solution SCEA could have hoped for with regards to launching it's new 40GB Hard Disc Drive.
  12. It can be frustrating at times, but it's not until around levels 18 and 20 that the true appeal of the game even makes itself known. [May 2004, p.83]
  13. I absolutely love this game. I can see myself playing it for at least a year. There is so much to do and see and, quite frankly, I’d feel like I was letting my party down if I bailed.
  14. 100
    Filled to the brim with intense combat, expansive environments and a fantastic online community, Final Fantasy XI is one of the finest examples of online gaming to date.
  15. Deep character customization and development systems utilizing the series’ unique job system makes the game highly enjoyable and rewarding.
  16. 100
    Undoubtedly, this game offers far more playtime than the entire series put together, with constant tweaks and updates ensuring the experience remains at its best, through the constant evolving gameplay...a game which sucks you in and refuses to let go, a game which you'll wake up to every morning with that fresh "must play" feeling. [JPN Import]
  17. It is so involving and addictive that perhaps Sony and Square Enix should consider putting a warning label on the box, something like “Caution: life altering game contained within”.
  18. 100
    Final Fantasy XI far outstrips "Everquest's" addictiveness in the multiplayer online role-playing realm.
  19. If FFXI gets its hooks into you, you may find yourself not buying any other games for a long time.
  20. 10 / 9 / 10 / 9 - 38 platinum [May 2002]
  21. Its tight game design, multiple chat tools, and nods to story and questing amid the combat-heavy game play make it a worthy choice for those new to or familiar with the MMORPG genre.
  22. “Merely” a fantastically addictive, and quite easily one of the very best in the genre to date.
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 64 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 25
  2. Negative: 6 out of 25
  1. Sep 7, 2013
    10
    Oh my Final Fantasy XI what can I say, it is the first MMO I truly fell in love with. As all my reviews with MMO’s start out the same as I’veOh my Final Fantasy XI what can I say, it is the first MMO I truly fell in love with. As all my reviews with MMO’s start out the same as I’ve been playing MMO most all my life and they are my favorite type of game to play. As this review is being done on 9/7/2013 that’s how I’ll be looking at the game as it stands now. I’ve already done a PC review on this so check that out as for this review will be regarding the ps2 version of the game. It should be noted that you can still play on the PS2 but the latest expansion is unavailable to anyone outside of the JP market. It’s the same game that you will get on any other platform it’s available on, but with muddier graphics and longer load times. Right now if you need to play it on a console and don’t have a PC just get the XBOX 360 version of the game, it’s still fully supported and text textures are better for HDTV’s. Full Review »
  2. Jul 10, 2013
    10
    Once you get over the initial macro creation the game is boundless fun. Great class and crafting systems. Would play again if it were to everOnce you get over the initial macro creation the game is boundless fun. Great class and crafting systems. Would play again if it were to ever become F2P. Full Review »
  3. Nov 2, 2010
    6
    this is one of the best and worst MMO's ive ever played . there is some great things in this game with alot of bad. the good would be theresthis is one of the best and worst MMO's ive ever played . there is some great things in this game with alot of bad. the good would be theres actaully a decent story in this game which for most MMO's they usualy suck. combat is actaully fun with the use of skill chains and magic burst attacks you actaully feel like you have to use some team work to kill enimys although its more like speed things up for more exp . the world is huge and looks great. there are many crafts you can do to make money . the BCNM's are insanely tough and fun . every thing els pretty much sucks about this game . the party system is broken as because sqaurenix in its infinite stupidity destroyed most of the classes and favord just a few . so if you want to be that summoner and get to 75 forget it . unless you want to spend weeks looking for a party and never getting it . traveling around the worls is complete BS! it takes FOREVER to get any where miss the air ship well you gota sit and wait , miss the boat well gotta sit and wait and wait and wait and wait and wait and wait and wait and wait and wait , want a tele to some where then you sit and yell and wait , looking for a party well you put your flag up and you wait and you wait and wait and wait and wait and wait ... you get the picture . this game shouldnt be called FFXI it should be called FF online the extremely long waiting game . doing quests solo is extremely hard so guess what more waiting for people to help unless you have a very very helpful linkshell group. the econimy is a complete mess and prices fluctate so badly its beyond rediculas . the mix in with the japanese players is terrable especially if you are on a japanese driven server and they dont like to play with US players because of the communication breakdown . they should have gave you options to play in ENG, JP , or mixed servers . paying $13 a month for this game is rediculas it should be eather from free to $5 a month with up to 8 extra charicters FOR FREE!!! because why the **** am i paying $13 a month to sit around and do nothing ? Full Review »