User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 774 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JohnT
    Feb 23, 2009
    7
    How did this game get such a high rating??? I saw one dude mention that this was the best game in the series; are you freakin kidding me? Look, if you're looking for a graphics intensive game then this one is "O.K.". If you're an actual RPG fan then chances are you expect a little more story line; which was total garbage. The game plays nothing like the previous games in the How did this game get such a high rating??? I saw one dude mention that this was the best game in the series; are you freakin kidding me? Look, if you're looking for a graphics intensive game then this one is "O.K.". If you're an actual RPG fan then chances are you expect a little more story line; which was total garbage. The game plays nothing like the previous games in the series. Try to imagine a MMORPG, now imagine playing it by yourself. That's the exact same experience you'll get out of this; Square Enix put so much into making this into a single player FF11(also trash!). 10 was a good game, 9 was ok(opinions vary), 8 was pretty damn good and 7 was amazing(the absolute best; hands down), Tactics was freakin great. This game; was a piece of shit. Nuff said. Expand
  2. AJL.
    Nov 11, 2006
    9
    Amazing this game has drawn me in. I'm half way done and I can say im amazed by what I see the game is truly a masterpeice. I love everything about it including its new battlesystem. The battle system is disliked by some because it can be a difficult concept for a console gamer. the Gambit system is a set of macros which is commonly used in online games. in fact ff12 takes alot of Amazing this game has drawn me in. I'm half way done and I can say im amazed by what I see the game is truly a masterpeice. I love everything about it including its new battlesystem. The battle system is disliked by some because it can be a difficult concept for a console gamer. the Gambit system is a set of macros which is commonly used in online games. in fact ff12 takes alot of aspects from online games in effort to create a uniqe console final fantasy and not just an rpg clone. some of the main characters are not well developed and uninteresting, however thats the only flaw.everything else is exciting and enthralling. Expand
  3. MikeJ.
    Nov 16, 2006
    10
    Best game in Final Fantasy Series by far. 50 hours into game and not nearly halfway done with game. Tons of sidequests to do many options to explore. The new battle system takes away the long wait of screen loading and makes battles much more realistic. The license board is absolutely wonderful with actual board points that do HELP you in your game. The espers are phenominal and actually Best game in Final Fantasy Series by far. 50 hours into game and not nearly halfway done with game. Tons of sidequests to do many options to explore. The new battle system takes away the long wait of screen loading and makes battles much more realistic. The license board is absolutely wonderful with actual board points that do HELP you in your game. The espers are phenominal and actually are a part of the battle. Not a one time summoning. Expand
  4. BonbonA.
    Nov 18, 2006
    10
    A solid storyline, brand new ideas, best graphic ever, beautiful gameplay, hundreds of challenges n quests. All composed in one game. There's only one word to describe this. "Perfect".
  5. JonathanX.
    Nov 21, 2006
    10
    Perfect in any aspect. Lots of sidequests, charismatic characters, graphics, music, everything is just PERFECT.
  6. AmbushC.
    Nov 21, 2006
    7
    OK, been playing FFXII for about twenty hours now and while I'm well aware that there's a lot of stuff to unveil and do, I can pretty much say that I already have a well formed opinion about the game. The game is huge and incredibly well done in any way imaginable. But, as I already read somewhere else, 'well done doesn't mean fun'. Ok, it is fun. But, for me at OK, been playing FFXII for about twenty hours now and while I'm well aware that there's a lot of stuff to unveil and do, I can pretty much say that I already have a well formed opinion about the game. The game is huge and incredibly well done in any way imaginable. But, as I already read somewhere else, 'well done doesn't mean fun'. Ok, it is fun. But, for me at least, it doesn't even get close to the sheer feeling and awe experience that was for me to play FFX. Hands down. Forget it. If you think that this game will have that moving story, compelling characters and unforgettable moments, you will be disapointed. If feels a lot more like a MMORPG... and that's a shame. I played FFXI, and it didn't worked for me. I prefer story driven games like FFX. To give you an idea, with FFXIII feel more like playing Diablo than a FF game. Expand
  7. BT
    Nov 25, 2006
    3
    It looks like a Final Fantasy game, but it plays like an unfinished piece of crap. Production values don't mean anything when even the simplest task involves 200 steps. To start with, the save game system is as clunky as ever, which you'd think they would want to fix. Second the battle system is great at having your character standing around and getting killed, which happened to It looks like a Final Fantasy game, but it plays like an unfinished piece of crap. Production values don't mean anything when even the simplest task involves 200 steps. To start with, the save game system is as clunky as ever, which you'd think they would want to fix. Second the battle system is great at having your character standing around and getting killed, which happened to me before I even got to the first save spot. Just try to run away from a combat, I dare you. I regularly end up with 6 or 7 monsters chasing me and they are faster than you. Your only hope is to cross the all-too-frequent load border, then have you wait 2 minutes to start running again. The character models in game look like dirt has been smeared all over their faces, and frankly I just found myself saying "I hate this game" over and over again. Dragon Quest 8 waqs the pinnacle of console RPG, and the Final Fantasy crew ought to play it to understand where they fall flat on their faces. Expand
  8. Pixl8d[infinitezer0]
    Nov 3, 2006
    10
    [97%] -A truely epic and ingenious masterpiece. What Square-Enix has achieved with Final Fantasy XII is leaps and bounds ahead of every other game out there. To justify a score for it while comparing it to other games would be absolutely pointless, as it is on a completely different level. FFXII makes you wonder why you purchase titles of less quality, and it makes you wonder just HOW [97%] -A truely epic and ingenious masterpiece. What Square-Enix has achieved with Final Fantasy XII is leaps and bounds ahead of every other game out there. To justify a score for it while comparing it to other games would be absolutely pointless, as it is on a completely different level. FFXII makes you wonder why you purchase titles of less quality, and it makes you wonder just HOW Square-Enix managed to pull this one off. That being said, the game is still not flawless, but a creation of this magnitude will give Oblivion and Okami a run for their money for Game of the Year as well as, once again, establish a brand new standard for RPG's and gaming in general. The Good News: -MASSIVE/ long gameplay -Graphics/Visuals conquer every other PS2 title to date -Presentation values are the greatest out of any game ever created -New innovative battle system combines old and new for a fun, challenging, and ultimately addicting experience -The story/character development is even better than any other Final Fantasy -Load times are basically nonexistant The Bad News: -Minor camera problems sometimes distract -Immersive world will frustrate those who don't want a "complete" experience -Although there are side quests, the card games and Blitzball will be missed -Soundtrack fits the game well, but falls in comparision to past FF's -Traditionalists will still miss the SNES/PSX role-playing experience Scoring: Story- 9.5 Content- 10 Gameplay- 9.5 Graphics- 9.5 Presentation- 10 Sound- 9.0 Value- 10 Fun Factor- 10 Final Score: 97/100% Expand
  9. CaptainU.
    Nov 5, 2006
    7
    1. Character AI+movement when gambited = Horrible 2. Espers story battle wise = Useless 3. License Board = Crap (sphere grid is much better) 4. Story = so-so and unexciting 5. Battle System = More interesting than previous FFs 6. FMV sequences = Long and purrty 7. Characters = Ok except for vaan
  10. AndyM.
    Nov 5, 2006
    9
    An excellent game. Improves vastly on FFX, and incorporates quite a bit of the feel of WoW. Most everything has matured. Fantastic graphics, voices, storyline. Huge boss battles. Very imaginative. And the character liberal management allows you to choose your character's strengths (6 black mages, here we come!). Character development may get overwhelming, and battles may get chaotic, An excellent game. Improves vastly on FFX, and incorporates quite a bit of the feel of WoW. Most everything has matured. Fantastic graphics, voices, storyline. Huge boss battles. Very imaginative. And the character liberal management allows you to choose your character's strengths (6 black mages, here we come!). Character development may get overwhelming, and battles may get chaotic, but overall: engrossing, addicting and one of the best RPGs ever. Expand
  11. Devin
    Dec 10, 2006
    10
    Simply amazing, my only problem is that it makes my other new games seem dull. The person who gave it a 3 because the he/she died all the time must just not be very good and maybe should play something for younger ages. I just finished FFXII and it was amazing.
  12. Stacey
    Dec 12, 2006
    3
    This is not Final Fantasy. There's no story! Don't get me wrong...the gameplay is absolutely fantastic, the graphics are wonderful, and for the first time I actually had fun in battle. Unfortunately, Square-Enix put all its energy into gameplay and scenery and not enough heart into the reason we all play RPG's - for the story! There's no character development This is not Final Fantasy. There's no story! Don't get me wrong...the gameplay is absolutely fantastic, the graphics are wonderful, and for the first time I actually had fun in battle. Unfortunately, Square-Enix put all its energy into gameplay and scenery and not enough heart into the reason we all play RPG's - for the story! There's no character development whatsoever, and the majority of the game is spent killing monsters and level grinding rather than uncovering a plot. After awhile, it becomes more work and less play. It is a good game, but it is not Final Fantasy material. I am very dissappointed. Expand
  13. PaulD.
    Dec 12, 2006
    7
    For those of you looking for the next FFVII, or the next FFX, heck even the next FFIV or FFVI and dive into FFXII, expect to feel the same way you do when jumping into a cold pool. Nearly every aspect of the game has been reworked from its non-MMORPG brethren from combat to character development. Some is good, other parts however will leave you wanting to dust off an old copy of FFVII and For those of you looking for the next FFVII, or the next FFX, heck even the next FFIV or FFVI and dive into FFXII, expect to feel the same way you do when jumping into a cold pool. Nearly every aspect of the game has been reworked from its non-MMORPG brethren from combat to character development. Some is good, other parts however will leave you wanting to dust off an old copy of FFVII and kill Sephiroth all over again. The graphics of this game are exactly what we have come to expect from a premier game developer in this day and age. While there are some small problems from time to time, mainly characters appearing from thin air right after a map load, they are for the most part forgivable because the rest of the world looks so freaking... cool. The cut scenes are by far the best so far in the series, the best in most series actually RPG or not, and the opening sequence will leave you eager for battle. And that is where the shock occurs. The battle system has been completely revamped and will take some serious getting use to. Add this to a camera that seems made to frustrate a player(although with time and practice this changes) many players will put down the game before they even start, which would be a shame as their IS fun to be mined here but you will have to work for it. If you have ever played a MMORPG you will know what to expect and there is some obvious influence from the previous online installment in the series. Gone are the random battles in the past, you will be able to see your foes and if you want to fight them, simply walk up to them and start attacking. The ease of this is at first a breath of fresh air to a series that seems at times to be stuck in the past, after a while though it turns into a chore. Another side effect of the new system is that the fear of being jumped at any moment while in hostile territory is gone, and this hurts the experience a lot more than one might first expect and after finally getting down the pre-battle command gambit system included with the game it seems to almost play itself. In fact it is quite simple to wade into a group of foes and then... put the controller down and take up knitting. Seriously, knitting. You will find that in most instances your input into a battle is not required, in fact even the toughest of foes will have you pressing a button only on rare occasions. The second, although less drastic change is the character development tool. The new system involves gaining LP which you can spend to unlock abilities, magic, traits, and the ability to use armor and weapons. The entire set up at first feels like the old sphere grid from FFX, but that is where the similarities end. Unlike the character oriented sphere grid the new "grid" is much more open ended. Any character can become... anything. Want your pirate to be a healer? You can do it. Want your princess to become a sword swinging tank that can take down the toughest foe? Done. While this freedom might sound nice at first the end result is that by the end of the game you inevitably unlock nearly all of the grid for each character and they become simple cookie cutters off each other. Perhaps most unforgivable is that simply learning a spell or ability on the grid does not mean that you can use it. You must then go purchase that spell or ability (often at a hefty price) from a vendor. This is annoying at best and infuriating at worst as you will inevitably spend money on a skill you cannot yet use or LP on a skill that you cannot yet use and feels often like selling you a nifty clock and then charging you extra for the batteries. The story in this installment is another change for the series. While the previous games have centered on the story of a main character the "main" character this time around is for the most part just their. In fact most people will be hard pressed to understand why the others even suffer his presence. While the story is good this lack of a centralized theme means that the player simply isn't drawn into the game, and hence the world it is set in, as fully as in the past. Indeed the stories biggest failing is the lack of a main villain, expectably early on. You simply don't know who the bad guy is. While this is not really a failing from a story telling stand point it is yet another thing that helps to stop the character from really wanting to climb the mountain and slay the demon, a mentality that was crucial in the previous installments. Don't let all of this deter you however, FFXII is a good game though it is a far cry from what some critics are hailing it as and for most it will be a love it or hate it relationship. The best advice that I can give you is to rent this game first, if you are able to look past its faults you will find a little nugget of gold. If you can't, well there is always FFVII sitting on the shelf to remind you of the series heyday. Expand
  14. MarcD.
    Dec 17, 2006
    9
    The much publicised new battle system can get a little messy. Battles tend to get a little out of control and it's a far cry from the overly systematic scheme of past installments. That said, the system is a breath of fresh air. It reinvigorates the series the same way that MGS resurrected the old Metal Gear series. Vagrant Story was a brilliant and daring RPG...and Square Enix had The much publicised new battle system can get a little messy. Battles tend to get a little out of control and it's a far cry from the overly systematic scheme of past installments. That said, the system is a breath of fresh air. It reinvigorates the series the same way that MGS resurrected the old Metal Gear series. Vagrant Story was a brilliant and daring RPG...and Square Enix had the common sense to bring the flavour back with it's flagship title. A great game. Together with the upcoming God of War 2...the PS2 is receiving a remarkable swansong... Expand
  15. AnonymousMC
    Dec 2, 2006
    4
    I am sad to say it but this game sucks. I have been a finalfantisy fan since the start on the old nes! I really hate the battle mode why fix something that was never broken. you almost always get killed before you can save. just don't get this game.
  16. AnonymousMC
    Dec 2, 2006
    4
    I was so excited to get my hands on the game that took square enix 6 years to create. 6 f'n years!!!... When all i got was a game being to serious about itself...kind of similar to the tv show Friends... but with all gay guys. In fact, I don't think i found myself even smiling at one point... Ya, of course the graphics where fanomonal, but give me 6 years and I could create aI was so excited to get my hands on the game that took square enix 6 years to create. 6 f'n years!!!... When all i got was a game being to serious about itself...kind of similar to the tv show Friends... but with all gay guys. In fact, I don't think i found myself even smiling at one point... Ya, of course the graphics where fanomonal, but give me 6 years and I could create a game just as well. Sad to say... that this is my least favorite FF game ever. Expand
  17. BrianM.
    Dec 2, 2006
    5
    It feels like I'm playing on auto battle the whole game, and the mist charges almost put me asleep I waited years for this game, and ended up dissapointed.
  18. DiogoC.
    Dec 31, 2006
    9
    The game is very cool, I love it, but it lacks the romance and the history could be better.
  19. RonR.
    Dec 30, 2006
    9
    The battle system is a little different, and the character development isn't as great as in previous installments of the series. But overall, the graphics and gameplay of Final Fantasy XII put it over the top. I would compare this game to classics like Final Fantasy VII and X.
  20. Matt
    Dec 5, 2006
    9
    Just when I thought Square Enix was going to keep on cranking out more craptacular FFVII side story games, they made this. I'm genuinely impressed that this new, and extremely long-awaited entry in the final fantasy series retains the charisma I felt when I played games like FFVII (before it was the hype monster it is today), FFIX and FFX. Good work SE, now keep it up.
  21. AllistairP.
    Oct 31, 2006
    6
    So after a total of 5 fetch quests, minimal story, and a dull battle system I feel like things aren't going to get much better. It's the first FF game that doesn't begin with an absolutely mindblowing 3-hours. FF7 had the unbelieveable Reactor scenario, FF6 had the mood setting investigation in Terra(I think that's the name), and FFX had a very epic, vague storytelling So after a total of 5 fetch quests, minimal story, and a dull battle system I feel like things aren't going to get much better. It's the first FF game that doesn't begin with an absolutely mindblowing 3-hours. FF7 had the unbelieveable Reactor scenario, FF6 had the mood setting investigation in Terra(I think that's the name), and FFX had a very epic, vague storytelling aspect. This one feels like you just started an account on FFXI and need to do some level ups and fetch quests. I'm going to play it for a couple more hours, but I'm not going to waste 60 hours of my life "waiting for things to get good". A major dissapointment, and I expected nothing to begin with. Just my thoughts. Expand
  22. TitaniumDragon
    Nov 23, 2007
    6
    While a somewhat fun game, it is an RPG. The reason you play an RPG is for both the battle system and the story. This game is somewhat lacking in both. This game is basically a really monotonous movie dressed up in RPG form. I love the gambit system (though it could have been much improved) but on reflection I realized that while the gambit system was cool, it was covering for a major While a somewhat fun game, it is an RPG. The reason you play an RPG is for both the battle system and the story. This game is somewhat lacking in both. This game is basically a really monotonous movie dressed up in RPG form. I love the gambit system (though it could have been much improved) but on reflection I realized that while the gambit system was cool, it was covering for a major flaw in the game - the gameplay was highly repetitive and by going through areas you were essentially grinding en route. While this is a tried and true RPG method, FFXII's sprawling levels, while beautiful, are far too long. The older square games had much shorter dungeons precisely because they get monotonous after a while, and it turns out the pacing of FFXII is all off. The story is fine, but it comes so very slowly that it feels absent oftentimes when you're off in the middle of the desert or forest killing random animals for experience while you try and get to the next plot point. The extreme length of the game caused me to lose interest it in towards the end of the game, and the sidequests were frustrating rather than a source of enjoyment - its very easy to kill a 10 million hit point enemy, but if there's no user input involved because you just have your gambits set up why even bother giving it such a large number of hit points? All in all, the game fails because the monotony between story points is too long and the system itself is not engaging enough - all the characters are essentially the same. It feels like they took all the bad parts of MMOs, put in botting to make it tolerable, then put in a story that MMOs lack and made it into a game. While its a tolerable game, every other final fantasy game made for the playstation and the PS2 were superior to this one, as were many other RPGs. Only fans of the series should play this, and even then I wouldn't say "should" so much as "can". And if you're looking for gameplay, look elsewhere; this game has very little real gameplay. Expand
  23. JohnJ.
    Jan 14, 2007
    7
    AM one of the greatest fan of Final Fantasy. The graphics are great but the story is not very intriguing. Something is missing in that game. The game is okay. Not as good as the X and VII and VIII. Common Square Enix plz do something good next time. We waited so much for this release.
  24. MikeP.
    Jan 19, 2007
    9
    I really think this is the best FF I've playd but I did have some trouble with the gambits system and the battle system but other than that it was amazing.
  25. UnknownUnknown
    Dec 21, 2007
    7
    This game has a wonderful world and graphics and interesting new gameplay but also lacks many of the qualities that make a Final Fantasy or a great RPG. Its battle system resembles one from an MMORPG which is fine but it also has a few downsides one such being the gambit system. Though the gambit system is great and fun to play around with, you'll eventually find yourself setting up This game has a wonderful world and graphics and interesting new gameplay but also lacks many of the qualities that make a Final Fantasy or a great RPG. Its battle system resembles one from an MMORPG which is fine but it also has a few downsides one such being the gambit system. Though the gambit system is great and fun to play around with, you'll eventually find yourself setting up certain gambits that will probably be used for the whole game which ends in you watching the game play itself rather than you yourself playing it. Gameplay also becomes severely monotonous as you find yourself grinding through similarly structured long dungeons which lost my interest pretty quickly. RPG games should contain a great story with great characters which XII did not. Its story was weak with weak characters, namely Vaan, Penelo and Fran. Vaan goes along the journey to avenge his brother and... thats it. Penelo comes along because Vaan is going while Fran goes along because Balthier is going. Balthier at first doesn't have much depth either at the beginning but it later grows making him one of the tolerable characters along with Basch and Ashe who had importance concerning the story. The story wasn't compelling but not bad. In a more positive note the graphics however are amazing and its gameplay can be enjoyable. However looks and ok gameplay at best alone isn't enough to make a great RPG. Final Fantasy XII is worth it if you tend to dismiss the story and tend to prefer the gameplay itself but if you were hoping for a wonderful RPG you will most likely be disappointed. Expand
  26. OliverC.
    Feb 16, 2007
    6
    Can someone explain to me the high marks this game gets? Everyone i know who has played it finds the same problems, most importantly that the story is totally non-existent. The fighting is new, this is true, it's also completely autonomous and devoid of strategy. I guess critics nowadays think its fine to rate a game after playing the first few minutes and looking at screen shots. Oh Can someone explain to me the high marks this game gets? Everyone i know who has played it finds the same problems, most importantly that the story is totally non-existent. The fighting is new, this is true, it's also completely autonomous and devoid of strategy. I guess critics nowadays think its fine to rate a game after playing the first few minutes and looking at screen shots. Oh look, it's change, give it a 100! (Long live ffx!) Expand
  27. hehemehe
    Jun 14, 2007
    8
    While i gave it an 8... tahts low for a ff game in my opinion [other than 2.. thats like a 3rating] but yea... the story.. its interesting but WAY overhyped. the combat feels very very smooth at times.. and then other times it just feels cluttred and you don't know what the hell is going on. i found the gameplay to be very opinionated on how people like it.. the lisence board is the While i gave it an 8... tahts low for a ff game in my opinion [other than 2.. thats like a 3rating] but yea... the story.. its interesting but WAY overhyped. the combat feels very very smooth at times.. and then other times it just feels cluttred and you don't know what the hell is going on. i found the gameplay to be very opinionated on how people like it.. the lisence board is the dumbest thing ever.. i enjoyed the sphere grid in ff10 the most... the gambit system i didn't like because then your just controlling your party leader for the most part. the graphics are the physically best the ps2 can handle so thats great. the voice acting, while it is AMAZZZZING.. gets annoying because the game tries to make the characters sound more serious/smarter in very dumb cliche situations [balthier in paticular you will hate if you dislike bad smartass'ing that talk smart] overall.. through all these negatives. it was still really fun. its just that i just was hoping with my hopes sky high that they would release something like 10.. ya know.. ff on the ps2 should die with a bang... not a experiment. Expand
  28. RicardoR.
    Aug 12, 2007
    6
    Final Fantasy to me always was about the story and characters. I couldn't care less about that in this game. The characters and the story are incredibly vulgar. Vaan is the worst lead of all Final Fantasy games. I only gave it a 6 because everything else works. But to me the most important doesn't. I don't want to spend my time with these characters because they have no Final Fantasy to me always was about the story and characters. I couldn't care less about that in this game. The characters and the story are incredibly vulgar. Vaan is the worst lead of all Final Fantasy games. I only gave it a 6 because everything else works. But to me the most important doesn't. I don't want to spend my time with these characters because they have no personalities whatsoever nor reason to maintain together throughout the story. It's like watching a History channel documentary, or worse, sitting thru History Class. Expand
  29. GerryD.
    Aug 14, 2007
    6
    The license system annoyed me, I really cannot see the possible point in it. As soon as it was metnioned I knew I was going to have problems with it. Graphics are extremely good and voice acting is pretty decent. Plot is intruiging but not as goos as FFVII Decent game, not up to the class final fantasy standatds though.
  30. DavidF.
    Aug 16, 2007
    4
    The graphics in this game were excellent. The battle system was passable. Unfortunately, the story and general atmosphere of the game was just boring, to bad those are the reasons I play Final Fantasy games. The characters were poorly developed and some lacked motivation to be there in the first place. I understood what was going on in the world but I simply did not care. Overall the game The graphics in this game were excellent. The battle system was passable. Unfortunately, the story and general atmosphere of the game was just boring, to bad those are the reasons I play Final Fantasy games. The characters were poorly developed and some lacked motivation to be there in the first place. I understood what was going on in the world but I simply did not care. Overall the game lacked the originality and emotional ties to characters that I am used to in Final Fantasy games. Expand
  31. AnonymousMC
    Aug 22, 2007
    9
    First off, I hardly have any given right to review this game, as my log is only at 8 hours. However, not my fault for this, as I had an unfortunate memory card problem. But, I recently picked it up again, and remembered why I loved it. I can not pass judgment on anything past the leviathan, but up to that point, I have loved everything about this game. It is beautiful, as all have said,First off, I hardly have any given right to review this game, as my log is only at 8 hours. However, not my fault for this, as I had an unfortunate memory card problem. But, I recently picked it up again, and remembered why I loved it. I can not pass judgment on anything past the leviathan, but up to that point, I have loved everything about this game. It is beautiful, as all have said, in graphics and sound. I have never felt so immersed in a true 3-D world in a PS2 game. I really enjoyed the Gambit and License system in this game, and battle is actually a brain test now. I also noticed that some people criticize two main things: Vaan as a lead and the story being boring. First off, Vaan is less of a lead and more of your personal ticket to the story. He was not made to be some super interesting mega-character, but rather kind of a camera man.

    As for the story, sure it is different from FF9 and FF10, but it is good in its own way. Sure, gone is the sappy love story and the vengeance. Say good-bye to the brewing love in the party. Live with it. It provides what I seem to be finding as a very complex and twisting dark, political plot of deception and hate. I think it will shape up quite well.

    My only beef with the game was the insane difficulty increases. I was quite annoyed when I could fight through 20 enemies without manually healing, yet be destroyed by a boss in a matter of minutes. That, and how hard it is even move up one level.
    Expand
  32. WillS.
    Jan 13, 2008
    7
    Not the best game ive played on the PS2, but it does look nice and did keep me active. The gamestyle is not too bad either, and at least you are getting a chance to move around now compared to the last games. Having said that i did find that after eleven games that have came out (not incudin FFXI) that you dont get to actually see your character wearing the armor you set on them. Still a Not the best game ive played on the PS2, but it does look nice and did keep me active. The gamestyle is not too bad either, and at least you are getting a chance to move around now compared to the last games. Having said that i did find that after eleven games that have came out (not incudin FFXI) that you dont get to actually see your character wearing the armor you set on them. Still a pretty average game, and I only kept playing it so i could finish it. Expand
  33. WhaleW
    Aug 18, 2009
    10
    This game seems to take one of two routes with gamers, especially fans of the series. Players either claim it to be the greatest RPG on the PlayStation (and others are far more bold) while others claim it to be the worst. I think this is the greatest game ever made. Maybe because it lacks the sappy love story of it's kin, the annoying random encounters, and the over-the-top This game seems to take one of two routes with gamers, especially fans of the series. Players either claim it to be the greatest RPG on the PlayStation (and others are far more bold) while others claim it to be the worst. I think this is the greatest game ever made. Maybe because it lacks the sappy love story of it's kin, the annoying random encounters, and the over-the-top storytelling, did I enjoy this game so much. The story: mature and Shakespeare-ish completely drew me in immediately and the beautiful graphics, character design, and soundtrack had me sold. Plus, Balthier is such a hunk! ;) Expand
  34. GaryM.
    Nov 11, 2006
    5
    '5' is mainly for the graphics, which are awesome. However, when you get into battle mode, you just wish you could just skip it and watch some more FMVs or do something else instead. What a pity. Hope FF XIII comes to save the day when it's released.
  35. BugW.
    Dec 11, 2006
    2
    The camera sucks and the battle system is stupid. I wish they would have made it more like FFX.
  36. DanielK.
    Dec 21, 2006
    10
    An exceptionally deep Final Fantasy, blending series staples while ushering in new and much needed "breath of fresh air" play mechanics.
  37. mdzN^^
    Dec 23, 2006
    5
    Stacey said it all. I don't mind changing the gameplay, I really found it fun. However the story development sucked hard. I could sometime ask myself what the hell I was leveling up for...In FFX that was completely different. I actually didn't like the battlesystem, but that doesn't matter. The story went round the main characters and I was really interested to see what was Stacey said it all. I don't mind changing the gameplay, I really found it fun. However the story development sucked hard. I could sometime ask myself what the hell I was leveling up for...In FFX that was completely different. I actually didn't like the battlesystem, but that doesn't matter. The story went round the main characters and I was really interested to see what was really going to happen. The story made FFX my best choice, not its weak gameplay. Expand
  38. MikeW.
    Dec 14, 2007
    10
    This is a great addition to the Final Fantasy legacy. Final Fantasy 12 advances the FF series in many ways from the new gameplay elements to featuringa more mature storyline and characters. Final Fantasy 12 is for a more mature/advanced gamer and that is a GOOD thing a VERY good thing.
  39. Jul 22, 2013
    7
    With its overhauled (and improved) battle system Final Fantasy XII is certainly faster paced, and arguably more accessible to JPRG novices, than its predecessors. Unfortunately it also continues the series trend of having increasingly unmemorable characters and story-lines, two things that are of vital importance if you are going to invest 50+ hours in a game. Sitting here now I couldWith its overhauled (and improved) battle system Final Fantasy XII is certainly faster paced, and arguably more accessible to JPRG novices, than its predecessors. Unfortunately it also continues the series trend of having increasingly unmemorable characters and story-lines, two things that are of vital importance if you are going to invest 50+ hours in a game. Sitting here now I could still name every playable character from Final Fantasy VII but couldn't tell you a single one from this game despite it being nearly a decade more recent.

    It's still a good game but not one that'll ever be considered a true classic of the genre.
    Expand
  40. Jan 9, 2015
    6
    There is something to be said about the graphics and overall atmosphere of the game, but the characters and story are uninspiring and the battle system is about as fun as pushing the cruise control button on your steering wheel.
  41. Jun 25, 2013
    9
    The first six hours were a bit of a trudge; to begin with it didn't "feel" like (previous) Final Fantasy but once I got used to the mechanics FFXII really grew on me, possibly due to the innumerable similarities to Star Wars or the fact that it resembles western RPG "dungeon crawlers" in places (the influence on the Dragon Age games is huge). Characters are a bit flat thus excluding anyThe first six hours were a bit of a trudge; to begin with it didn't "feel" like (previous) Final Fantasy but once I got used to the mechanics FFXII really grew on me, possibly due to the innumerable similarities to Star Wars or the fact that it resembles western RPG "dungeon crawlers" in places (the influence on the Dragon Age games is huge). Characters are a bit flat thus excluding any sufficient emotional engagement to them (or the story), but not so it prevented me from enjoying either. The politicking, scheming and manoeuvring amongst the antagonists was well done. Impressive visual design, a common criticism is the lack of a Nobuo Uematsu score; which is noticeable at first, though Hitoshi Sakimoto's music fits the game perfectly and certainly grew on me enough that I had to buy the soundtrack. Gameplay can get repetitive in places and the new battle system negates any sort of strategy (the free camera is also an annoyance in confined areas) but the game is well worth playing through to the satisfying (and spectacular) finalé. Expand
  42. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    I only played this in 2013 on a ps2 emulator (4x resolution) and it was one the best game experiences I"ve had in a long time! (and I play a sht ton of games) It truly is a beautiful RPG with a very good story, massive world and deep gameplay.
    I didn't mind at all the supposedly negative MMO influences, at the contrary it feels so natural in the context of open world mechanics. Nice new
    I only played this in 2013 on a ps2 emulator (4x resolution) and it was one the best game experiences I"ve had in a long time! (and I play a sht ton of games) It truly is a beautiful RPG with a very good story, massive world and deep gameplay.
    I didn't mind at all the supposedly negative MMO influences, at the contrary it feels so natural in the context of open world mechanics. Nice new touch compared to the usual ATB/RTB battle systems and I even loved the gambit system which a lot of people seem to complain about.

    Graphics are unbelievably good for a ps2 game and one of the best examples where an increased internal resolution on the emulator can make a huge difference in overall quality to the point it doesn't seem you are playing a 2006 game at all.

    The music is simply perfect, I may be old style but it's hard to beat well made symphonic soundtracks. (compared to most of the electronic uninspired garbage 99% of games use today)

    It may have some minor gameplay issues but overall I just love everything about this game, I don't really care if it is a "true" FF game or not, it simply is a wonderful experience and I strongly encourage anyone to give it a try on the pcsx2 emulator on pc even if you have played it 9 years ago.
    Expand
  43. Jan 5, 2015
    10
    My favorite of all the final fantasy games, truly a work of art, even today most new gen console games can't hold a candle to this in terms of story, character development, combat/Strategy and environment.
    If we get a HD remake I'll buy it in heart beat.
  44. Nov 2, 2014
    9
    For a Final Fantasy game, it's not great. Don't get me wrong, it was a pretty good game, but not FF VI or VII quality. I started to question the series when XI came out. I'm not a big fan of MMORPG's and when I looked at the combat in this game, and saw how similar it looked to XI, I was hesitant to get it. But I got it because of my inner fanboy. The gameplay worked out well in the end,For a Final Fantasy game, it's not great. Don't get me wrong, it was a pretty good game, but not FF VI or VII quality. I started to question the series when XI came out. I'm not a big fan of MMORPG's and when I looked at the combat in this game, and saw how similar it looked to XI, I was hesitant to get it. But I got it because of my inner fanboy. The gameplay worked out well in the end, although it's not the most engaging for me. The story took a lot of ideas from Star Wars making this game pretty unoriginal. Although, the environments, and the lengthy gameplay made up for some of its flaws. One of my biggest complaints though, would have to be the main character. Like many people have said, he's pretty much pointless to the story and you can finish the game without even leveling him up after getting more party members. But again, a lot of its strong points make up for these flaws in the game. If you're looking for a game to start the FF series with, don't start with this. But, if you are already familiar with the series, then give this a try. 9/10 Expand
  45. Jan 1, 2014
    9
    Games in the series FF are my favorite. I burn with love for Final Fantasy VIII, but XII is also great! Games differ radically: Final Fantasy XII has new characters, story, combat system, open and different world, and of course the graphics and music. Twelfth part series leading Square Enix uses all the possibilities PS2 and more! Rendered animations are just beautiful, moreover, the sameGames in the series FF are my favorite. I burn with love for Final Fantasy VIII, but XII is also great! Games differ radically: Final Fantasy XII has new characters, story, combat system, open and different world, and of course the graphics and music. Twelfth part series leading Square Enix uses all the possibilities PS2 and more! Rendered animations are just beautiful, moreover, the same goes for textures. The characters are designed with the idea and I curiously followed their fate. The new combat system was difficult for me to get used to but I managed, and finally I really liked.It is very different from that of the eighth part of the FF but I really liked him. I believe that the game 100 percent deserved 10/10 from PlayStation magazine. I hope you enjoy it too Expand
  46. Sep 10, 2013
    9
    I'm gonna be blunt since this game has been out for a long time, I've played it twice at its release and I've played through it again and I can only say this game is amazing. Not only is the battle system progressive, it even lets you choose how your AI functions (it's still better than FFXIII's). The story is deep and even though the characters aren't that profound (according to some),I'm gonna be blunt since this game has been out for a long time, I've played it twice at its release and I've played through it again and I can only say this game is amazing. Not only is the battle system progressive, it even lets you choose how your AI functions (it's still better than FFXIII's). The story is deep and even though the characters aren't that profound (according to some), you never wonder why the hell they're there instead of just leaving. This game really is an improvement for the Final Fantasy series and I seriously can't help but wonder why there are so many haters. I can see alot of fans are disappointed because there's no cliche romance in this chapter of the series but there's absolutely no need for one. Crying over spilt milk is what all the babies are doing, grown ups LOVE Final Fantasy XII Expand
  47. Sep 11, 2013
    7
    FF 12 is perhaps my least favorite FF game. It isn't bad, just rather generic and forgettable.

    Graphics are beautiful and has some of the prettiest scenery pieces of all the FF games. The combat system was a little rough around the edges, but I liked it and thought it was a bold step changing the tried and true JRPG battle system. The lead character Vaan is as bland as they get and
    FF 12 is perhaps my least favorite FF game. It isn't bad, just rather generic and forgettable.

    Graphics are beautiful and has some of the prettiest scenery pieces of all the FF games. The combat system was a little rough around the edges, but I liked it and thought it was a bold step changing the tried and true JRPG battle system.

    The lead character Vaan is as bland as they get and completely forgettable. Side characters on the other hand are a bit more distinguished and have a bit more depth, even if their designs are a little odd and feel a little out of place.

    FF XII has some of the best creature battles of the series. The creatures are rich, varied and extremely challenging.

    Overall:
    Final Fantasy XII is decent enough for a FF game, but also feels like the designers just put the same level of love and care into it as they did with the previous games. Fun to play, but you won't remember too much about it once you're done.
    Expand
  48. Feb 25, 2013
    7
    I am writing this review trying to convince myself that the game deserves a higher mark.....no actually it deserves a lower one but for better or worse I spent 80 hours playing it, therefore I must have loved something right. First of all I am a big fan of FFX, loved the story, the characters (except you know who) even though he was still a much better protagonist than Vaan. I loved theI am writing this review trying to convince myself that the game deserves a higher mark.....no actually it deserves a lower one but for better or worse I spent 80 hours playing it, therefore I must have loved something right. First of all I am a big fan of FFX, loved the story, the characters (except you know who) even though he was still a much better protagonist than Vaan. I loved the magical world.....okay this review is about FFXII, sorry.... The reason I played 80 hours of this game is that I wanted to immense myself in its world, I wanted to have a great Final Fantasy experience. I was trying realy hard all the time to care for the characters, to care about its bizarre and nonsensical political plot....but actually what where they trying to do? A royal Japanese soap opera?! They couldn't move me one bit, except for maybe the relationship between Balthier and Cid, but then of course these two characters were believable, compelling and INTERESTING (Judge Bergan deserves a nod here for the best impersonation in video games of Darth Vader) As many fellow reviewers have mentioned rightfully the game has a terrible pacing, you can so easily forget what the whole point of the story was, why on earth you were going in that direction, what were the characters and the villians motives, etc. I could continue all day but in short the game falls flat on many high expectations and standards created by the magic of previous FF titles. And if we are looking at this game even as a standalone RPG.....well it is going to receive even a lesser mark....Why?
    Well sometimes dear Square Enix, quantity is not better than quality. Even though you guys have created an enormous world, full of many many side activities, many enemies to be slain, many locations to be explored......the game is very repetitive, the player is forced to spent countless hours in the same old killing of skeletons, bats and wolfs, just so he can afford to buy that precious new gear and new magicks, thus unnecessarily prolonging the game to an unimaginable lenght. From those 80 hours I spent, probably in only 20 I was having actual fun, by slaying bosses, by hunting marks, or by losing myself in some dungeon full of overpowered creatures, fighting for my survival One game is NOT measured by the amount of filler time it contains but by the thrilling moments it presents the player with. In this game unfortunately these moments were far too rare and spread unevenly.
    FFX had also shortcomings of course but it presents the player with MANY epic and memorable moments, an engaging and hearth-whelming story, comprised of great characters in a magical world. Unfortunately FFXII lacks many of these key components to feel like an epic and memorable game.
    I am sorry but unlike Vaan when I play a game I am not there just for the journey, I am there for the EXPERIENCE.
    Expand
  49. May 25, 2013
    10
    Some fans does not like FFXII because it is not like previous FF games but i think it is the best one, It does have much of what a FF game is. FF needs change to it so that it doesen´t become clones of each other like COD has.
  50. Ogr
    Jun 28, 2014
    9
    To make it short: FFXII is a great game and in my opinion better than FFX, critics show that they are equal but many fans seem to be disappointed by FFXII... I think it's because the usual Final Fantasy Fan wants a love story and doesn't like a more free to explore world and a political based story, FFXII is more adult than FFX.

    FFXII has the better combat system, tons of stuff to do
    To make it short: FFXII is a great game and in my opinion better than FFX, critics show that they are equal but many fans seem to be disappointed by FFXII... I think it's because the usual Final Fantasy Fan wants a love story and doesn't like a more free to explore world and a political based story, FFXII is more adult than FFX.

    FFXII has the better combat system, tons of stuff to do and explore, a great looking world and a nice (not great) story with no real main character... what I actually like.
    Expand
  51. Nov 12, 2014
    10
    I've played nearly every core game in the Final Fantasy, and this one has my favorite battle system. Your characters run around and fight in real time instead of having to wait through a cut scene animation for every battle.

    The story is a bit weak compared to other games in the series. There are amazing characters, but I don't feel like the game spent enough time developing them. That
    I've played nearly every core game in the Final Fantasy, and this one has my favorite battle system. Your characters run around and fight in real time instead of having to wait through a cut scene animation for every battle.

    The story is a bit weak compared to other games in the series. There are amazing characters, but I don't feel like the game spent enough time developing them. That is to say, the story was still better than what you'll find in most other games, but it wasn't Final Fantasy quality. However, the battle system totally makes up for it. 10/10 for enjoyment.
    Expand
  52. Aug 31, 2014
    10
    One of the if not THE best game on PS2.
    +This game features an exceptional open world with easily the best graphics on PS2. One of the best soundtracks ever (approx 5 hours of top quality OST).
    +The combat system is the most innovative and original I have ever seen in an RPG. (the gambit system rules). It may be a bit complex at first, but you soon get used to it. +The game itself is
    One of the if not THE best game on PS2.
    +This game features an exceptional open world with easily the best graphics on PS2. One of the best soundtracks ever (approx 5 hours of top quality OST).
    +The combat system is the most innovative and original I have ever seen in an RPG. (the gambit system rules). It may be a bit complex at first, but you soon get used to it.
    +The game itself is full of content (well over 200 hours of gameplay without getting bored).
    +The characters are very likeable (balthier ftw).
    Frankly, if you have a PS2 or an emulator on your PC or just want to check this game out, don't hesitate. It deserves it's critic rating and is easily one of the best games ever made.
    You can see that the developpers made everything in detail for example when you see that weather conditions affect the usefullness of your weapons, or that some enemies will detect you based on smell, some on hearing, some on vision, and some (like the undead for example) when you have less than 40% HP.
    I think this is enough to see at what extent the developpers wanted to make the perfect game and its really not far from that.
    If there was a negative point I could come up with it's that there are some things that you can not know without going on the wiki or having a walkthrough.
    Apart from that, this game is 10++/10. Definitely a must have.
    Expand
  53. Sep 14, 2014
    9
    Epico e grandioso, com uma grande historia , jogabilidade e suas sideguest o jogo o prende por horas sem vc nem ao menos perceber. Mas um grande Final Fantasy da Square.
  54. Sep 22, 2014
    8
    This really is a vegemite game; you either love it or hate it.

    The gameplay is probably the biggest argue point of the entire game. I found the Gambit system to be truly refreshing, easy to work with, versatile and fun. It allowed for so many combinations, and your Gambit setup truly does reflect your play style. That being said, many people hated it with a passion, and I can see why.
    This really is a vegemite game; you either love it or hate it.

    The gameplay is probably the biggest argue point of the entire game. I found the Gambit system to be truly refreshing, easy to work with, versatile and fun. It allowed for so many combinations, and your Gambit setup truly does reflect your play style. That being said, many people hated it with a passion, and I can see why. Yes, it had all these great points, but at times it did feel as if you were taking a back seat and just watching your characters do all the work. I do think that these people screaming 'IT'S THE WORST SYSTEM EVER IT'S SO BORING' are exaggerating and need to sit down and take a breath, however.

    The storyline is far different from the other Final Fantasy's. While I didn't like the massive amounts of text at the start and in big events, and got a bit bored with having to read paragraphs at a time all to end up skimming over it, getting confused later on, and having to Wiki what I missed, the storyline was a fairly strong one, allowing the player to be immersed in the world of Ivalice.

    Characters were a high point of the game. Vaan reminded me of Tidus a lot, and Penelo was cute and all, but where I really fell in love with the characters was with Fran and Balthier. Their relationship was better than any we see between characters in the latest FF games. I must admit, they're my OTP.

    Graphics, not much needs to be said here, they were absolutely great for a PS2 game, and even for today's standards.

    Overall, 8/10. 7/10 for gameplay, 8/10 for story, 9/10 for characters, and 9/10 for graphics. Recommend for anyone with patience and who can recognise a good game.
    Expand
  55. Oct 19, 2014
    10
    This game is my favorite PS2 game of all time! I know there are many people that don't like this game, but thats probably because they are used to the old style final fantasy games of turn-based and random encounters. Final Fantasy XII gets rid of that and lets you choose which enemies to fight, when to fight them, and how to fight them. The "how to fight them" part is where the gambitsThis game is my favorite PS2 game of all time! I know there are many people that don't like this game, but thats probably because they are used to the old style final fantasy games of turn-based and random encounters. Final Fantasy XII gets rid of that and lets you choose which enemies to fight, when to fight them, and how to fight them. The "how to fight them" part is where the gambits come into play. Gambits are automatic commands that excute under certain conditions and can be set up for each of the characters. For example, instead of repeatedly pressing attack when your ATB gauge fills up, you can set up a gambit to do that for you. This eliminates the repetitive and time consuming process of navigating through the menus to find the action you wish to take. Gambits are prioritized with the most important at the top of the list and the least important at the bottom. As you progress through the game however, the large diversity of gambits combined with the growing number of gambits you can set up can make the game (if done properly) play by itself without needing your input. So I recommend that you only use a few basic gambits to make sure that doesn't happen.

    Here are some pros and cons to the game:

    Pros:
    - excellent battle system (no random encounters; enemies are seen from a distance and battles are done in real time without switching between exploration mode and battle mode)
    - gambits make battles much more convenient
    - open world; many large areas in the game to explore (and freedom to do so)
    - many optional quests gives more gameplay value
    - boss fights are fun
    - freedom to customize characters' weapons, armor, and abilities.
    - graphics are amazing! (for PS2)
    - great diverse soundtrack
    - story is good (if understood)
    - The world of Ivalice and its history is excellently created
    - lots of optional character interaction

    Cons:
    - gambits may make the game play by itself
    - story is boring and sometimes confusing
    - main characters aren't really interesting and don't go through much change througout the story
    - boss fights can be very long at times (but depending on your play-style, it can be a pro or con)

    Basically, this is kind of like a single player MMO because of all the freedoms this game allows you to have. If you are a fan of MMOs and don't mind the single player aspect, this is the game for you!

    A masterpiece of the PS2 era and a definite 10/10!
    Expand
  56. May 27, 2015
    9
    This was my 1st Final Fantasy Game and my first impressions of it were not good let me tell ya. I used to hate this game I wanted to throw it out the window but for some reason I didn't.

    ~ Story ~ The story starts off with Reks who in my opinion would have made a better protagonist than Vaan but lets move on. After doing Roxas's Story I mean Reks Story you move on to Sora's Story I
    This was my 1st Final Fantasy Game and my first impressions of it were not good let me tell ya. I used to hate this game I wanted to throw it out the window but for some reason I didn't.

    ~ Story ~

    The story starts off with Reks who in my opinion would have made a better protagonist than Vaan but lets move on. After doing Roxas's Story I mean Reks Story you move on to Sora's Story I mean Vaan's Story. It starts off like this Vaan kills some rats than he goes on a hunting quest to kill a tomato so he can make tomato soup than he goes to Giza Plains to make a sunstone because the game wants to kill time. After that Vaan decides to go steal from the Castle Treasury because he read too many Sly Cooper Comics everything goes accordingly until he runs into Fran & Balthier and from there Vaan's long adventure begins.

    In all seriousness the story is actually political and war like and I love that. I also love the dialogue in this game even if there isn't enough of it. Overall decent story.

    ~ Characters ~

    Vaan - he wants revenge against the empire that stole his home of Dalmasca and his brother Reks. I consider Vaan a team player even if others don't. Vaan's outfit sucks I have no idea what Tetsuya Nomura was thinking.

    Penelo - has no role in this story other than to watch over Vaan she really has no purpose in this story whatsoever and I don't consider her a team player.

    Ashelia B'nargin Dalmasca - She seeks peace yet also looms towards revenge she seeks to fight yet questions the methods for which she should do so she is a very interesting character and I wish she had more dialogue.

    Basch Fon Rosenberg - A Fugitive seeking to atone for crimes he didn't commit. Freedom has blessed him with a chance to redeem himself and to free Dalmasca of Archadian Rule.

    Balthier - The best character in this game and the guy Vaan aspires to become in the future.

    Fran - She needs way more dialogue time. And her ears are just weird.

    ~ Sound ~

    Not the best music ever but I did enjoy Soundtrack moderately. Some of the songs in the game now give me huge nostalgia and I like them more than I did when I 1st started playing this game.

    ~ Graphics ~

    If only you were here you would hear me whistling to the masterpiece of FFXII's Graphics. My only issue is the attack & magic animations look kind of lame sometimes.

    ~ Gameplay ~

    Waiting For An Attack - This was why I hated this game. You have to wait for a bar to load to attack? What kind of stupid **** is this?[In my head]. The characters have no abilities at all you only have Attack Techniks and various Magic Spells. Enemies all have different abilities and magic attacks what do you have? Oh you only have Attack useless Techniks & Magic wow. The game does get better and alot more fun as you move along since the bar loads way faster and you get Haste which speeds it up even more.

    Mist Quickening - This is basically your trump card if your about to die or you just want to beat a boss quickly. But it takes away all your MP and you have to continuously press R2 and then press 1 of either Triangle Square Circle or X Buttons to do it right, you miss and all your MP is gone no take backs or do overs and if you need to heal your party your pretty much screwed unless you brought enough potions.

    License Board - I love the License Board why? Because it looks so cool I feel like I'm playing a game inside a game when I use it. To gain the use of weapons armor magic techniks quickenings or summons you get in the game you need to get the License for it in the License Board through the use of LP[License Points] you'll get License Points from defeating monsters. The License Board can restrict things sometimes but I still think its fun to use and its not hard to get LP.

    Gambits - Gambits are basically auto commands you set up in the main menu such as - Attack Nearby Enemies or When Poisoned - Use Antidote they come in useful for some situations like when your fighting a boss and you don't feel like using an Antidote while your fighting set up a Gambit for Balthier to use an antidote on you so you don't have to. There's alot of Gambits, you'll either find some or buy some.

    Overall - The Gameplay is fun even if waiting for a bar to load to attack sounds stupid and retarded it is fun.

    ~ In The End ~

    In the beginning I considered FFXII to be the worst game I ever played and I wished to throw into the deepest depths of fiery hell and watch it burn in the fire but after 3 years of trying to beat this stupid game the FFXII Strategy Guide my friend gave me and me beating the game again twice enjoying it alot more than the 1st time I have to say this is 1 of my favorite PS2 Games and I love it alot and I hope others will love it as well
    Expand
  57. Feb 1, 2015
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The worst Sakaguchi entry in the FF series, but still a decent game. In my mind, FFXII tried to do too much, rather than focusing on improving a single aspect of the game. The combat feels out of place, the customization table/forgot the name feels unfinished, the main character feels like he got lost in all the complex political story and the world felt very forced. Never at one point did I feel that I actually wanted to reach some point in the story or world, as everything roamed on from seemingly similar places to the next, from similar political story cutscene to the next. The game still has optional bosses, featuring one of the hardest in the franchise, and this is perhaps the only thing going for it, as there is no main villain like Kefka, Sephiroth or Kuja in the story. One of the things that turned me off the most were the huge blocks of text in the beginning of the game: I never, in any game, care for these. If you want to deliver a story, do it through the gameplay or have a character dump that information after a boss if you must. Just never give a huge block of text. We're not reading a book here. We're playing.
    6/10.
    Expand
  58. May 3, 2015
    10
    Final Fantasy XII is simply a masterpiece in every single aspect of the game, this work of art should be undoubtedly fully enjoyed by those more mature gamers.
  59. Mar 24, 2013
    0
    The FF XII storyline is one of the best and most mature FF storylines. The story isn't melodramatic or geared toward preteen girls. The dialog in the game is beautiful. The music is beautiful. The gameplay gambit system is fun enough although perhaps not interactive enough. I've played a lot of PS2 games (especially via PCSX2), but I keep coming back to this game in particular. I'dThe FF XII storyline is one of the best and most mature FF storylines. The story isn't melodramatic or geared toward preteen girls. The dialog in the game is beautiful. The music is beautiful. The gameplay gambit system is fun enough although perhaps not interactive enough. I've played a lot of PS2 games (especially via PCSX2), but I keep coming back to this game in particular. I'd have to say it's by far my favorite PS2 game. Collapse
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 64
  2. Negative: 0 out of 64
  1. The story soars, but not so often. The dungeons are long and meandering. The gameplay is effective, but not engrossing. It's a staggeringly well-made game that throws more at you than any other RPG on the PS2... but well-made doesn't necessarily mean "fun."
  2. This is absolutely my favorite Final Fantasy title, a claim I probably would have laughed at two years ago when rumors about the game’s battle system began to circulate.
  3. One of those rare games that can be appreciated by both hardcore and casual fans alike, Final Fantasy XII may very well be Square's last great adventure, and a fitting sendoff, for the PlayStation 2.