User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1054 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JackC.
    Jan 14, 2007
    9
    Stop whining about something you don't like, it won't make it better. To those who haven't tried it yet, do it. You may like it, you may not. It's an acquired taste.
  2. Andrew
    Feb 21, 2007
    10
    Too many people knock this game for being just what it is - a bold, new direction for the series. As a longtime Final Fantasy fan, I was thrilled to be rid of ridiculous amounts of annoying random battles, and hopefully they are gone for good. The rest of this game is certainly worthy of being called a Final Fantasy game (epic storyline, enjoyable character, massively destructive battles). Enjoy.
  3. Barry
    Feb 26, 2007
    10
    Best game on PS2, this year at the least. Even more so than Okami. Battle system is perfect, graphics are the best on PS2 and the size of the map is just awesomely huge. It's a different experience for FF fans. Amazing.
  4. Mithyus
    Mar 25, 2007
    10
    Although Final Fantasy XII strays a bit off the path that has credited the series it's notoriety, it is nevertheless a great gaming experience.
  5. Sep 3, 2011
    9
    FFXII is a step in the right direction. Its the most dynamic Final Fantasy to date, which can make it good or bad depending on how you play it. If you have to do alot of grinding then you are not using all of the tools available correctly.
  6. Sep 24, 2015
    10
    El mejor final fantasy hasta la fecha, muy infravalorado, muy adelantado a su tiempo, una aventura que fácil puede durar más de 130 horas si eliges terminarlo al 100% con todas sus misiones secundarias, los enemigos son un reto, es una obra maestra.
  7. AnonymousMC
    May 21, 2006
    8
    Its a very enjoyable game, colorfull and imaginetive as final fantasy games always, the reel time combat system is prety good but also very slow and lags the tactical aspects of previus games in the series. oh and of course its very text heavy so wait for the US version unless u can understand japenese.
  8. MannyF.
    Mar 27, 2007
    10
    For those of you with good taste and patience, prepare to play the best RPG ever made. To the others... don't bother, I can't stand the thought of another ignorant negative review of this game on here. THIS IS FINAL FANTASY! Period.
  9. JoeM.
    May 15, 2007
    10
    Did I hear someone talking about a bad camera angle - did they fail to notice that the camera angle can be adjusted throughout with the right analogue stick depending on where you want to look? Even if this game did have a bad camera angle (which it doesn't) that isn't enough justification to give it a 0/10. Now i'm going to justify why it deserves 10/10 - superb graphics Did I hear someone talking about a bad camera angle - did they fail to notice that the camera angle can be adjusted throughout with the right analogue stick depending on where you want to look? Even if this game did have a bad camera angle (which it doesn't) that isn't enough justification to give it a 0/10. Now i'm going to justify why it deserves 10/10 - superb graphics with a massive expansive world, great characters and voice acting, a beautiful musical score, fun and strategic battles, loads of sidequests and a long game meaning you can spend over 100 hours on it and an immersive story. Seriously though, what more could you want from an RPG? I challenge anyone to suggest, and even if they do come up with something, Squaresoft will probably right these wrongs in thier next spellbinding installment to this deservedly long running series. In other words, yep, they've done it again. Well actually, not only that, but this is the best of the lot since number 7, and that's a big claim but it really is an outstanding game and comes with my highest reccomendation. Expand
  10. Sciros
    May 21, 2007
    10
    An amazing game through-and-through. Visually impressive in every way. The sheer number of detailed facades, monsters, items, and characters in the game gave me a great respect for the designers and artists, who are the without question at the top of their field. The music is epic and comples, and it gives the game a unique mood. The combat system is an improved version of KOTOR's An amazing game through-and-through. Visually impressive in every way. The sheer number of detailed facades, monsters, items, and characters in the game gave me a great respect for the designers and artists, who are the without question at the top of their field. The music is epic and comples, and it gives the game a unique mood. The combat system is an improved version of KOTOR's (which was a 3-D adaptation of the Baldur's Gate system). In other words, it takes some adjustment at first but once you get the hang of it it's amazing. The Gambit system gives you the option of being as active or inactive during the battle as you prefer. The story is actually GOOD; I am not sure why people claim it has no story. Not only did the writers put effort into the plot, but the dialogue is top-notch and the voice acting (in the US release, at least) is the best I have ever heard in a game. In my mind Gideon Emery's Balthier stands out as the most perfectly executed character in games, period. Altogether, FFXII is a must-play and deserves every bit of praise. The only shortcoming: leveling takes a long time so if one wants to fully explore the entire game and all sidequests, it will take some real patience. But the fact that the game even *has* so *many* high-level sidequests is astounding, and far more than one should be used to expecting from a single game. In every way, it goes above and beyond what is typical. Expand
  11. Dr.Avery
    Jun 24, 2007
    10
    In a single word? Epic. Squaresoft's flagship series has finally returned to its roots -- rejecting the insipid, childish plot and dialog which plagued IX, X and X-2. Instead of dumbing it down for the youngsters, the story and speech have been elevated to an almost shakespearian bearing. A most refreshing change of pace from the usual condescending puerile drivel we are usually fed In a single word? Epic. Squaresoft's flagship series has finally returned to its roots -- rejecting the insipid, childish plot and dialog which plagued IX, X and X-2. Instead of dumbing it down for the youngsters, the story and speech have been elevated to an almost shakespearian bearing. A most refreshing change of pace from the usual condescending puerile drivel we are usually fed as gamers. The gameplay could have been a bit more complex and customizable (as with VII or VIII), but the graphics, and overall style puts this game in a class of it's own. A class which will likely remain the sole domain of FF XII until the fourteenth installment of the series is released (the thirteenth will, no doubt, be rushed through development too quickly to be any good) The architecture is particularly noteworthy. The tombs and ancient places of this game seem to have come forth from the wildest dreams of the engineers of ancient Egypt -- What might have been built if they had an army of 1000 foot tall men to do their work. Your enjoyment of this game will depend largely on your level of education. School-age children and semi-literate adults, are likely going to struggle to keep up with the shades of meaning hidden behind some very obfuscatory and stylized language. However, those with a mastery of the English language are in for one of the best plots to be found in any media. Expand
  12. MikeG.
    Jul 17, 2007
    8
    Let me tell you, contrary to what Mr 'Avery' says, the story is utter bilge, and in itself barely 'semi-literate'. The transparent pseudo-intellect of certain characters is particularly annoying, forced and unrealistic, and knowledge of the 'English language' (and in particular articles of LITERATURE) will only show the player how far videogames have to go Let me tell you, contrary to what Mr 'Avery' says, the story is utter bilge, and in itself barely 'semi-literate'. The transparent pseudo-intellect of certain characters is particularly annoying, forced and unrealistic, and knowledge of the 'English language' (and in particular articles of LITERATURE) will only show the player how far videogames have to go before they even approximate the quality of plot to be found in the average fairly well-written book. That said, the game is engrossing. It retains the same addictive gameplay and high production values that characterise the series, and the battle system, though initially tedious, eventually becomes second-nature. The graphics are technically excellent but not as artistically inspired as titles such as Okami, Ico and Shadow of the Colossus, the PS2's artistic flagbearers. Overall the game is good but I'm starting to wonder if they'll ever come remotely close to topping VII or VIII. Expand
  13. Angelbane
    Jul 22, 2007
    10
    Anyone who gave this game a 6 or less can go throw all their videogames out and start reading a good book. If you don't like the camera angles, the story, or the battle system I'm sorry to say, but your thought stray not far from incompetence. Simply put: Smart people made it so the stupid won't play it. Sometimes harsh words are the simplest to understand. If you really Anyone who gave this game a 6 or less can go throw all their videogames out and start reading a good book. If you don't like the camera angles, the story, or the battle system I'm sorry to say, but your thought stray not far from incompetence. Simply put: Smart people made it so the stupid won't play it. Sometimes harsh words are the simplest to understand. If you really can't keep up with the greatness of a game like this then you've seriously not been going to school or something, because to the more educated I'm sure the features were very simple. Square, please don't listen to any review thats 6 or less because honestly I think you're doing great. If Square people really are reading this don't rush into FF13 because of the hype. Make sure that the story is as solid as FF12 and just as entertaining. I could play FF12 over 100 times... You know what? I think I will. Can't wait for 13 and 14. Like I said though, there might be a problem if FF13 is rushed. Keep it real Square Enix, keep it real. Expand
  14. FFFan
    Aug 9, 2007
    10
    I give this game a ten on pure entertainment value. I don't always have the time to play, but when I do I can play for a few hours and even though I don't get alot of gameplay done it is still great. The only beef I have with the game is the way the enemies jump up in level so fast. I have needed to spend alot of time running around leveling up to get further. Other than this, I give this game a ten on pure entertainment value. I don't always have the time to play, but when I do I can play for a few hours and even though I don't get alot of gameplay done it is still great. The only beef I have with the game is the way the enemies jump up in level so fast. I have needed to spend alot of time running around leveling up to get further. Other than this, FFXII is the greatest game that I have ever played. Graphics are awesome, surround sound for the sound is fantastic, and the story is sweet. I hope that Square will come out with a sequel that is PS2 or PS3 playable, not just Nintendo DS. Though I will buy that one too. Expand
  15. DemonC.
    Apr 15, 2008
    8
    Good game with very nice visuals, and a great musical score. Battle system is nicely done, I prefer the old school turn based battle system though. Side quests, especially the hunts get tedious with the time, no real variety. Also prepare for long travels on foot. All in all still a very good RPG.
  16. AJL.
    Nov 11, 2006
    9
    Amazing this game has drawn me in. I'm half way done and I can say im amazed by what I see the game is truly a masterpeice. I love everything about it including its new battlesystem. The battle system is disliked by some because it can be a difficult concept for a console gamer. the Gambit system is a set of macros which is commonly used in online games. in fact ff12 takes alot of Amazing this game has drawn me in. I'm half way done and I can say im amazed by what I see the game is truly a masterpeice. I love everything about it including its new battlesystem. The battle system is disliked by some because it can be a difficult concept for a console gamer. the Gambit system is a set of macros which is commonly used in online games. in fact ff12 takes alot of aspects from online games in effort to create a uniqe console final fantasy and not just an rpg clone. some of the main characters are not well developed and uninteresting, however thats the only flaw.everything else is exciting and enthralling. Expand
  17. MikeJ.
    Nov 16, 2006
    10
    Best game in Final Fantasy Series by far. 50 hours into game and not nearly halfway done with game. Tons of sidequests to do many options to explore. The new battle system takes away the long wait of screen loading and makes battles much more realistic. The license board is absolutely wonderful with actual board points that do HELP you in your game. The espers are phenominal and actually Best game in Final Fantasy Series by far. 50 hours into game and not nearly halfway done with game. Tons of sidequests to do many options to explore. The new battle system takes away the long wait of screen loading and makes battles much more realistic. The license board is absolutely wonderful with actual board points that do HELP you in your game. The espers are phenominal and actually are a part of the battle. Not a one time summoning. Expand
  18. BonbonA.
    Nov 18, 2006
    10
    A solid storyline, brand new ideas, best graphic ever, beautiful gameplay, hundreds of challenges n quests. All composed in one game. There's only one word to describe this. "Perfect".
  19. JonathanX.
    Nov 21, 2006
    10
    Perfect in any aspect. Lots of sidequests, charismatic characters, graphics, music, everything is just PERFECT.
  20. Pixl8d[infinitezer0]
    Nov 3, 2006
    10
    [97%] -A truely epic and ingenious masterpiece. What Square-Enix has achieved with Final Fantasy XII is leaps and bounds ahead of every other game out there. To justify a score for it while comparing it to other games would be absolutely pointless, as it is on a completely different level. FFXII makes you wonder why you purchase titles of less quality, and it makes you wonder just HOW [97%] -A truely epic and ingenious masterpiece. What Square-Enix has achieved with Final Fantasy XII is leaps and bounds ahead of every other game out there. To justify a score for it while comparing it to other games would be absolutely pointless, as it is on a completely different level. FFXII makes you wonder why you purchase titles of less quality, and it makes you wonder just HOW Square-Enix managed to pull this one off. That being said, the game is still not flawless, but a creation of this magnitude will give Oblivion and Okami a run for their money for Game of the Year as well as, once again, establish a brand new standard for RPG's and gaming in general. The Good News: -MASSIVE/ long gameplay -Graphics/Visuals conquer every other PS2 title to date -Presentation values are the greatest out of any game ever created -New innovative battle system combines old and new for a fun, challenging, and ultimately addicting experience -The story/character development is even better than any other Final Fantasy -Load times are basically nonexistant The Bad News: -Minor camera problems sometimes distract -Immersive world will frustrate those who don't want a "complete" experience -Although there are side quests, the card games and Blitzball will be missed -Soundtrack fits the game well, but falls in comparision to past FF's -Traditionalists will still miss the SNES/PSX role-playing experience Scoring: Story- 9.5 Content- 10 Gameplay- 9.5 Graphics- 9.5 Presentation- 10 Sound- 9.0 Value- 10 Fun Factor- 10 Final Score: 97/100% Expand
  21. AndyM.
    Nov 5, 2006
    9
    An excellent game. Improves vastly on FFX, and incorporates quite a bit of the feel of WoW. Most everything has matured. Fantastic graphics, voices, storyline. Huge boss battles. Very imaginative. And the character liberal management allows you to choose your character's strengths (6 black mages, here we come!). Character development may get overwhelming, and battles may get chaotic, An excellent game. Improves vastly on FFX, and incorporates quite a bit of the feel of WoW. Most everything has matured. Fantastic graphics, voices, storyline. Huge boss battles. Very imaginative. And the character liberal management allows you to choose your character's strengths (6 black mages, here we come!). Character development may get overwhelming, and battles may get chaotic, but overall: engrossing, addicting and one of the best RPGs ever. Expand
  22. Devin
    Dec 10, 2006
    10
    Simply amazing, my only problem is that it makes my other new games seem dull. The person who gave it a 3 because the he/she died all the time must just not be very good and maybe should play something for younger ages. I just finished FFXII and it was amazing.
  23. MarcD.
    Dec 17, 2006
    9
    The much publicised new battle system can get a little messy. Battles tend to get a little out of control and it's a far cry from the overly systematic scheme of past installments. That said, the system is a breath of fresh air. It reinvigorates the series the same way that MGS resurrected the old Metal Gear series. Vagrant Story was a brilliant and daring RPG...and Square Enix had The much publicised new battle system can get a little messy. Battles tend to get a little out of control and it's a far cry from the overly systematic scheme of past installments. That said, the system is a breath of fresh air. It reinvigorates the series the same way that MGS resurrected the old Metal Gear series. Vagrant Story was a brilliant and daring RPG...and Square Enix had the common sense to bring the flavour back with it's flagship title. A great game. Together with the upcoming God of War 2...the PS2 is receiving a remarkable swansong... Expand
  24. DiogoC.
    Dec 31, 2006
    9
    The game is very cool, I love it, but it lacks the romance and the history could be better.
  25. RonR.
    Dec 30, 2006
    9
    The battle system is a little different, and the character development isn't as great as in previous installments of the series. But overall, the graphics and gameplay of Final Fantasy XII put it over the top. I would compare this game to classics like Final Fantasy VII and X.
  26. Matt
    Dec 5, 2006
    9
    Just when I thought Square Enix was going to keep on cranking out more craptacular FFVII side story games, they made this. I'm genuinely impressed that this new, and extremely long-awaited entry in the final fantasy series retains the charisma I felt when I played games like FFVII (before it was the hype monster it is today), FFIX and FFX. Good work SE, now keep it up.
  27. MikeP.
    Jan 19, 2007
    9
    I really think this is the best FF I've playd but I did have some trouble with the gambits system and the battle system but other than that it was amazing.
  28. hehemehe
    Jun 14, 2007
    8
    While i gave it an 8... tahts low for a ff game in my opinion [other than 2.. thats like a 3rating] but yea... the story.. its interesting but WAY overhyped. the combat feels very very smooth at times.. and then other times it just feels cluttred and you don't know what the hell is going on. i found the gameplay to be very opinionated on how people like it.. the lisence board is the While i gave it an 8... tahts low for a ff game in my opinion [other than 2.. thats like a 3rating] but yea... the story.. its interesting but WAY overhyped. the combat feels very very smooth at times.. and then other times it just feels cluttred and you don't know what the hell is going on. i found the gameplay to be very opinionated on how people like it.. the lisence board is the dumbest thing ever.. i enjoyed the sphere grid in ff10 the most... the gambit system i didn't like because then your just controlling your party leader for the most part. the graphics are the physically best the ps2 can handle so thats great. the voice acting, while it is AMAZZZZING.. gets annoying because the game tries to make the characters sound more serious/smarter in very dumb cliche situations [balthier in paticular you will hate if you dislike bad smartass'ing that talk smart] overall.. through all these negatives. it was still really fun. its just that i just was hoping with my hopes sky high that they would release something like 10.. ya know.. ff on the ps2 should die with a bang... not a experiment. Expand
  29. AnonymousMC
    Aug 22, 2007
    9
    First off, I hardly have any given right to review this game, as my log is only at 8 hours. However, not my fault for this, as I had an unfortunate memory card problem. But, I recently picked it up again, and remembered why I loved it. I can not pass judgment on anything past the leviathan, but up to that point, I have loved everything about this game. It is beautiful, as all have said,First off, I hardly have any given right to review this game, as my log is only at 8 hours. However, not my fault for this, as I had an unfortunate memory card problem. But, I recently picked it up again, and remembered why I loved it. I can not pass judgment on anything past the leviathan, but up to that point, I have loved everything about this game. It is beautiful, as all have said, in graphics and sound. I have never felt so immersed in a true 3-D world in a PS2 game. I really enjoyed the Gambit and License system in this game, and battle is actually a brain test now. I also noticed that some people criticize two main things: Vaan as a lead and the story being boring. First off, Vaan is less of a lead and more of your personal ticket to the story. He was not made to be some super interesting mega-character, but rather kind of a camera man.

    As for the story, sure it is different from FF9 and FF10, but it is good in its own way. Sure, gone is the sappy love story and the vengeance. Say good-bye to the brewing love in the party. Live with it. It provides what I seem to be finding as a very complex and twisting dark, political plot of deception and hate. I think it will shape up quite well.

    My only beef with the game was the insane difficulty increases. I was quite annoyed when I could fight through 20 enemies without manually healing, yet be destroyed by a boss in a matter of minutes. That, and how hard it is even move up one level.
    Expand
  30. WhaleW
    Aug 18, 2009
    10
    This game seems to take one of two routes with gamers, especially fans of the series. Players either claim it to be the greatest RPG on the PlayStation (and others are far more bold) while others claim it to be the worst. I think this is the greatest game ever made. Maybe because it lacks the sappy love story of it's kin, the annoying random encounters, and the over-the-top This game seems to take one of two routes with gamers, especially fans of the series. Players either claim it to be the greatest RPG on the PlayStation (and others are far more bold) while others claim it to be the worst. I think this is the greatest game ever made. Maybe because it lacks the sappy love story of it's kin, the annoying random encounters, and the over-the-top storytelling, did I enjoy this game so much. The story: mature and Shakespeare-ish completely drew me in immediately and the beautiful graphics, character design, and soundtrack had me sold. Plus, Balthier is such a hunk! ;) Expand
  31. DanielK.
    Dec 21, 2006
    10
    An exceptionally deep Final Fantasy, blending series staples while ushering in new and much needed "breath of fresh air" play mechanics.
  32. MikeW.
    Dec 14, 2007
    10
    This is a great addition to the Final Fantasy legacy. Final Fantasy 12 advances the FF series in many ways from the new gameplay elements to featuringa more mature storyline and characters. Final Fantasy 12 is for a more mature/advanced gamer and that is a GOOD thing a VERY good thing.
  33. Jun 25, 2013
    9
    The first six hours were a bit of a trudge; to begin with it didn't "feel" like (previous) Final Fantasy but once I got used to the mechanics FFXII really grew on me, possibly due to the innumerable similarities to Star Wars or the fact that it resembles western RPG "dungeon crawlers" in places (the influence on the Dragon Age games is huge). Characters are a bit flat thus excluding anyThe first six hours were a bit of a trudge; to begin with it didn't "feel" like (previous) Final Fantasy but once I got used to the mechanics FFXII really grew on me, possibly due to the innumerable similarities to Star Wars or the fact that it resembles western RPG "dungeon crawlers" in places (the influence on the Dragon Age games is huge). Characters are a bit flat thus excluding any sufficient emotional engagement to them (or the story), but not so it prevented me from enjoying either. The politicking, scheming and manoeuvring amongst the antagonists was well done. Impressive visual design, a common criticism is the lack of a Nobuo Uematsu score; which is noticeable at first, though Hitoshi Sakimoto's music fits the game perfectly and certainly grew on me enough that I had to buy the soundtrack. Gameplay can get repetitive in places and the new battle system negates any sort of strategy (the free camera is also an annoyance in confined areas) but the game is well worth playing through to the satisfying (and spectacular) finalé. Expand
  34. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    I only played this in 2013 on a ps2 emulator (4x resolution) and it was one the best game experiences I"ve had in a long time! (and I play a sht ton of games) It truly is a beautiful RPG with a very good story, massive world and deep gameplay.
    I didn't mind at all the supposedly negative MMO influences, at the contrary it feels so natural in the context of open world mechanics. Nice new
    I only played this in 2013 on a ps2 emulator (4x resolution) and it was one the best game experiences I"ve had in a long time! (and I play a sht ton of games) It truly is a beautiful RPG with a very good story, massive world and deep gameplay.
    I didn't mind at all the supposedly negative MMO influences, at the contrary it feels so natural in the context of open world mechanics. Nice new touch compared to the usual ATB/RTB battle systems and I even loved the gambit system which a lot of people seem to complain about.

    Graphics are unbelievably good for a ps2 game and one of the best examples where an increased internal resolution on the emulator can make a huge difference in overall quality to the point it doesn't seem you are playing a 2006 game at all.

    The music is simply perfect, I may be old style but it's hard to beat well made symphonic soundtracks. (compared to most of the electronic uninspired garbage 99% of games use today)

    It may have some minor gameplay issues but overall I just love everything about this game, I don't really care if it is a "true" FF game or not, it simply is a wonderful experience and I strongly encourage anyone to give it a try on the pcsx2 emulator on pc even if you have played it 9 years ago.
    Expand
  35. Jan 5, 2015
    10
    My favorite of all the final fantasy games, truly a work of art, even today most new gen console games can't hold a candle to this in terms of story, character development, combat/Strategy and environment.
    If we get a HD remake I'll buy it in heart beat.
  36. Nov 2, 2014
    9
    For a Final Fantasy game, it's not great. Don't get me wrong, it was a pretty good game, but not FF VI or VII quality. I started to question the series when XI came out. I'm not a big fan of MMORPG's and when I looked at the combat in this game, and saw how similar it looked to XI, I was hesitant to get it. But I got it because of my inner fanboy. The gameplay worked out well in the end,For a Final Fantasy game, it's not great. Don't get me wrong, it was a pretty good game, but not FF VI or VII quality. I started to question the series when XI came out. I'm not a big fan of MMORPG's and when I looked at the combat in this game, and saw how similar it looked to XI, I was hesitant to get it. But I got it because of my inner fanboy. The gameplay worked out well in the end, although it's not the most engaging for me. The story took a lot of ideas from Star Wars making this game pretty unoriginal. Although, the environments, and the lengthy gameplay made up for some of its flaws. One of my biggest complaints though, would have to be the main character. Like many people have said, he's pretty much pointless to the story and you can finish the game without even leveling him up after getting more party members. But again, a lot of its strong points make up for these flaws in the game. If you're looking for a game to start the FF series with, don't start with this. But, if you are already familiar with the series, then give this a try. 9/10 Expand
  37. Mar 22, 2016
    8
    I will start off by saying that alot of die hard FF fans may not get attached to this game, but IMO it definitely has its' own unique identity that is worth observing. FF 1 - FF 9 will always be a special set for me and I consider these "classic," but like FF10 this game brings something different and interesting. First, FF12 does look pretty nice on the PS2 and I do enjoy the new combatI will start off by saying that alot of die hard FF fans may not get attached to this game, but IMO it definitely has its' own unique identity that is worth observing. FF 1 - FF 9 will always be a special set for me and I consider these "classic," but like FF10 this game brings something different and interesting. First, FF12 does look pretty nice on the PS2 and I do enjoy the new combat system where it is not as turn-based and you can move around while attacking. Also, even though the maps aren't completely non-linear, they do a much better job compared to 10 and 10-2. This game is a challenge for sure, you will get stuck in certain places and have to train to progress. There is nothing wrong with this, its the way the game is meant to be. Anyone remember how hard FF1 was at first? It was actually unbearable at certain points :) FF 12 brings in fresh ideas, but I am not a huge fan of the crystarium leveling and I think this is where I miss the other games the most. There are many people though that really enjoy this system, you may be one of them! I also have to say that I am really not a fan of the time spent on Cocoon, kind of a slow start to a FF game and this is the linear part of the game. If you are a fan of the series though, I believe they did make some improvements but they can even take it further. Expand
  38. Jan 1, 2014
    9
    Games in the series FF are my favorite. I burn with love for Final Fantasy VIII, but XII is also great! Games differ radically: Final Fantasy XII has new characters, story, combat system, open and different world, and of course the graphics and music. Twelfth part series leading Square Enix uses all the possibilities PS2 and more! Rendered animations are just beautiful, moreover, the sameGames in the series FF are my favorite. I burn with love for Final Fantasy VIII, but XII is also great! Games differ radically: Final Fantasy XII has new characters, story, combat system, open and different world, and of course the graphics and music. Twelfth part series leading Square Enix uses all the possibilities PS2 and more! Rendered animations are just beautiful, moreover, the same goes for textures. The characters are designed with the idea and I curiously followed their fate. The new combat system was difficult for me to get used to but I managed, and finally I really liked.It is very different from that of the eighth part of the FF but I really liked him. I believe that the game 100 percent deserved 10/10 from PlayStation magazine. I hope you enjoy it too Expand
  39. Sep 10, 2013
    9
    I'm gonna be blunt since this game has been out for a long time, I've played it twice at its release and I've played through it again and I can only say this game is amazing. Not only is the battle system progressive, it even lets you choose how your AI functions (it's still better than FFXIII's). The story is deep and even though the characters aren't that profound (according to some),I'm gonna be blunt since this game has been out for a long time, I've played it twice at its release and I've played through it again and I can only say this game is amazing. Not only is the battle system progressive, it even lets you choose how your AI functions (it's still better than FFXIII's). The story is deep and even though the characters aren't that profound (according to some), you never wonder why the hell they're there instead of just leaving. This game really is an improvement for the Final Fantasy series and I seriously can't help but wonder why there are so many haters. I can see alot of fans are disappointed because there's no cliche romance in this chapter of the series but there's absolutely no need for one. Crying over spilt milk is what all the babies are doing, grown ups LOVE Final Fantasy XII Expand
  40. Aug 14, 2017
    8
    I think one of the reasons people are so critical is because it is a final fantasy game. If it would be a new series then evrybody would say: ''Did you hear of this game? It's really good, you should try it out.''
    And they would be correct. The game is really good. The environments are beautiful, the characters are okay, the story is good... My problem is with the gameplay. At first it
    I think one of the reasons people are so critical is because it is a final fantasy game. If it would be a new series then evrybody would say: ''Did you hear of this game? It's really good, you should try it out.''
    And they would be correct. The game is really good. The environments are beautiful, the characters are okay, the story is good... My problem is with the gameplay. At first it seemed boring to me because you control only one character instead of all of them and when an enemy appears your party members attack on their own accord and during the fight you can hardly evade the attacks of the enemies. What is the point of creating real time battles (the opposite of turn based battles in which you stand in a row and await your turn) if you can't evade. You can run away while you wait for your bar to charge but you will recieve damage of a swordslash 4 meters away from you. Another thing is the large amount of grinding before a boss battle because you aren't strong enough yet to beat him. It happens multiple times that you have to grind for 2 to 3 hours and that isn't fun. However, later I started to value the depht of the gambit system. The instructions you can give your party members are really extensive and you can really spend a lot of time thinking about how to set up the gambits of each character. There is a lot to do in this game and it has a beautiful soundtrack.
    Expand
  41. May 25, 2013
    10
    Some fans does not like FFXII because it is not like previous FF games but i think it is the best one, It does have much of what a FF game is. FF needs change to it so that it doesen´t become clones of each other like COD has.
  42. Ogr
    Jun 28, 2014
    9
    To make it short: FFXII is a great game and in my opinion better than FFX, critics show that they are equal but many fans seem to be disappointed by FFXII... I think it's because the usual Final Fantasy Fan wants a love story and doesn't like a more free to explore world and a political based story, FFXII is more adult than FFX.

    FFXII has the better combat system, tons of stuff to do
    To make it short: FFXII is a great game and in my opinion better than FFX, critics show that they are equal but many fans seem to be disappointed by FFXII... I think it's because the usual Final Fantasy Fan wants a love story and doesn't like a more free to explore world and a political based story, FFXII is more adult than FFX.

    FFXII has the better combat system, tons of stuff to do and explore, a great looking world and a nice (not great) story with no real main character... what I actually like.
    Expand
  43. Nov 12, 2014
    10
    I've played nearly every core game in the Final Fantasy, and this one has my favorite battle system. Your characters run around and fight in real time instead of having to wait through a cut scene animation for every battle.

    The story is a bit weak compared to other games in the series. There are amazing characters, but I don't feel like the game spent enough time developing them. That
    I've played nearly every core game in the Final Fantasy, and this one has my favorite battle system. Your characters run around and fight in real time instead of having to wait through a cut scene animation for every battle.

    The story is a bit weak compared to other games in the series. There are amazing characters, but I don't feel like the game spent enough time developing them. That is to say, the story was still better than what you'll find in most other games, but it wasn't Final Fantasy quality. However, the battle system totally makes up for it. 10/10 for enjoyment.
    Expand
  44. Aug 31, 2014
    10
    One of the if not THE best game on PS2.
    +This game features an exceptional open world with easily the best graphics on PS2. One of the best soundtracks ever (approx 5 hours of top quality OST).
    +The combat system is the most innovative and original I have ever seen in an RPG. (the gambit system rules). It may be a bit complex at first, but you soon get used to it. +The game itself is
    One of the if not THE best game on PS2.
    +This game features an exceptional open world with easily the best graphics on PS2. One of the best soundtracks ever (approx 5 hours of top quality OST).
    +The combat system is the most innovative and original I have ever seen in an RPG. (the gambit system rules). It may be a bit complex at first, but you soon get used to it.
    +The game itself is full of content (well over 200 hours of gameplay without getting bored).
    +The characters are very likeable (balthier ftw).
    Frankly, if you have a PS2 or an emulator on your PC or just want to check this game out, don't hesitate. It deserves it's critic rating and is easily one of the best games ever made.
    You can see that the developpers made everything in detail for example when you see that weather conditions affect the usefullness of your weapons, or that some enemies will detect you based on smell, some on hearing, some on vision, and some (like the undead for example) when you have less than 40% HP.
    I think this is enough to see at what extent the developpers wanted to make the perfect game and its really not far from that.
    If there was a negative point I could come up with it's that there are some things that you can not know without going on the wiki or having a walkthrough.
    Apart from that, this game is 10++/10. Definitely a must have.
    Expand
  45. Sep 14, 2014
    9
    Epico e grandioso, com uma grande historia , jogabilidade e suas sideguest o jogo o prende por horas sem vc nem ao menos perceber. Mas um grande Final Fantasy da Square.
  46. Oct 19, 2014
    10
    This game is my favorite PS2 game of all time! I know there are many people that don't like this game, but thats probably because they are used to the old style final fantasy games of turn-based and random encounters. Final Fantasy XII gets rid of that and lets you choose which enemies to fight, when to fight them, and how to fight them. The "how to fight them" part is where the gambitsThis game is my favorite PS2 game of all time! I know there are many people that don't like this game, but thats probably because they are used to the old style final fantasy games of turn-based and random encounters. Final Fantasy XII gets rid of that and lets you choose which enemies to fight, when to fight them, and how to fight them. The "how to fight them" part is where the gambits come into play. Gambits are automatic commands that excute under certain conditions and can be set up for each of the characters. For example, instead of repeatedly pressing attack when your ATB gauge fills up, you can set up a gambit to do that for you. This eliminates the repetitive and time consuming process of navigating through the menus to find the action you wish to take. Gambits are prioritized with the most important at the top of the list and the least important at the bottom. As you progress through the game however, the large diversity of gambits combined with the growing number of gambits you can set up can make the game (if done properly) play by itself without needing your input. So I recommend that you only use a few basic gambits to make sure that doesn't happen.

    Here are some pros and cons to the game:

    Pros:
    - excellent battle system (no random encounters; enemies are seen from a distance and battles are done in real time without switching between exploration mode and battle mode)
    - gambits make battles much more convenient
    - open world; many large areas in the game to explore (and freedom to do so)
    - many optional quests gives more gameplay value
    - boss fights are fun
    - freedom to customize characters' weapons, armor, and abilities.
    - graphics are amazing! (for PS2)
    - great diverse soundtrack
    - story is good (if understood)
    - The world of Ivalice and its history is excellently created
    - lots of optional character interaction

    Cons:
    - gambits may make the game play by itself
    - story is boring and sometimes confusing
    - main characters aren't really interesting and don't go through much change througout the story
    - boss fights can be very long at times (but depending on your play-style, it can be a pro or con)

    Basically, this is kind of like a single player MMO because of all the freedoms this game allows you to have. If you are a fan of MMOs and don't mind the single player aspect, this is the game for you!

    A masterpiece of the PS2 era and a definite 10/10!
    Expand
  47. Dec 21, 2015
    10
    This is my favourite Final Fantasy game, after Final Fantasy 7. It's incredible how it feels like the Final Fantasy Tactics, even the storyline core plays with the same themes (human beings playing with unknown powers gone bad). I love Team Ivalice. I love FFXII, FFT and Vagrant Story. Those are my kind of games. War and Dark Fantasy at it's finest. Some people will never understandThis is my favourite Final Fantasy game, after Final Fantasy 7. It's incredible how it feels like the Final Fantasy Tactics, even the storyline core plays with the same themes (human beings playing with unknown powers gone bad). I love Team Ivalice. I love FFXII, FFT and Vagrant Story. Those are my kind of games. War and Dark Fantasy at it's finest. Some people will never understand because they want FF series to be the same thing over and over. I'm glad this one wasn't. Expand
  48. May 27, 2015
    9
    This was my 1st Final Fantasy Game and my first impressions of it were not good let me tell ya. I used to hate this game I wanted to throw it out the window but for some reason I didn't.

    ~ Story ~ The story starts off with Reks who in my opinion would have made a better protagonist than Vaan but lets move on. After doing Roxas's Story I mean Reks Story you move on to Sora's Story I
    This was my 1st Final Fantasy Game and my first impressions of it were not good let me tell ya. I used to hate this game I wanted to throw it out the window but for some reason I didn't.

    ~ Story ~

    The story starts off with Reks who in my opinion would have made a better protagonist than Vaan but lets move on. After doing Roxas's Story I mean Reks Story you move on to Sora's Story I mean Vaan's Story. It starts off like this Vaan kills some rats than he goes on a hunting quest to kill a tomato so he can make tomato soup than he goes to Giza Plains to make a sunstone because the game wants to kill time. After that Vaan decides to go steal from the Castle Treasury because he read too many Sly Cooper Comics everything goes accordingly until he runs into Fran & Balthier and from there Vaan's long adventure begins.

    In all seriousness the story is actually political and war like and I love that. I also love the dialogue in this game even if there isn't enough of it. Overall decent story.

    ~ Characters ~

    Vaan - he wants revenge against the empire that stole his home of Dalmasca and his brother Reks. I consider Vaan a team player even if others don't. Vaan's outfit sucks I have no idea what Tetsuya Nomura was thinking.

    Penelo - has no role in this story other than to watch over Vaan she really has no purpose in this story whatsoever and I don't consider her a team player.

    Ashelia B'nargin Dalmasca - She seeks peace yet also looms towards revenge she seeks to fight yet questions the methods for which she should do so she is a very interesting character and I wish she had more dialogue.

    Basch Fon Rosenberg - A Fugitive seeking to atone for crimes he didn't commit. Freedom has blessed him with a chance to redeem himself and to free Dalmasca of Archadian Rule.

    Balthier - The best character in this game and the guy Vaan aspires to become in the future.

    Fran - She needs way more dialogue time. And her ears are just weird.

    ~ Sound ~

    Not the best music ever but I did enjoy Soundtrack moderately. Some of the songs in the game now give me huge nostalgia and I like them more than I did when I 1st started playing this game.

    ~ Graphics ~

    If only you were here you would hear me whistling to the masterpiece of FFXII's Graphics. My only issue is the attack & magic animations look kind of lame sometimes.

    ~ Gameplay ~

    Waiting For An Attack - This was why I hated this game. You have to wait for a bar to load to attack? What kind of stupid **** is this?[In my head]. The characters have no abilities at all you only have Attack Techniks and various Magic Spells. Enemies all have different abilities and magic attacks what do you have? Oh you only have Attack useless Techniks & Magic wow. The game does get better and alot more fun as you move along since the bar loads way faster and you get Haste which speeds it up even more.

    Mist Quickening - This is basically your trump card if your about to die or you just want to beat a boss quickly. But it takes away all your MP and you have to continuously press R2 and then press 1 of either Triangle Square Circle or X Buttons to do it right, you miss and all your MP is gone no take backs or do overs and if you need to heal your party your pretty much screwed unless you brought enough potions.

    License Board - I love the License Board why? Because it looks so cool I feel like I'm playing a game inside a game when I use it. To gain the use of weapons armor magic techniks quickenings or summons you get in the game you need to get the License for it in the License Board through the use of LP[License Points] you'll get License Points from defeating monsters. The License Board can restrict things sometimes but I still think its fun to use and its not hard to get LP.

    Gambits - Gambits are basically auto commands you set up in the main menu such as - Attack Nearby Enemies or When Poisoned - Use Antidote they come in useful for some situations like when your fighting a boss and you don't feel like using an Antidote while your fighting set up a Gambit for Balthier to use an antidote on you so you don't have to. There's alot of Gambits, you'll either find some or buy some.

    Overall - The Gameplay is fun even if waiting for a bar to load to attack sounds stupid and retarded it is fun.

    ~ In The End ~

    In the beginning I considered FFXII to be the worst game I ever played and I wished to throw into the deepest depths of fiery hell and watch it burn in the fire but after 3 years of trying to beat this stupid game the FFXII Strategy Guide my friend gave me and me beating the game again twice enjoying it alot more than the 1st time I have to say this is 1 of my favorite PS2 Games and I love it alot and I hope others will love it as well
    Expand
  49. May 3, 2015
    10
    Final Fantasy XII is simply a masterpiece in every single aspect of the game, this work of art should be undoubtedly fully enjoyed by those more mature gamers.
  50. Jul 6, 2015
    10
    The game changes the gameplay of Final Fantasy series totally, is confusing at the beginning but becames very enjoyable at the end, the story is not that interesting but its still ok, the open world will make you play this for hours and hours, it´s a huge game and a must have for your collection
  51. Nov 21, 2015
    10
    I think this game is a very expansive and rewarding experience for any gamer, the amount of work put into every last detail such as the side quests, the immerse story it delivers only to dwell you into the game that much more, everything is brilliantly crafted together from the political to the personal and emotional. Not only is this a very difficult thing to achieve while also fluentlyI think this game is a very expansive and rewarding experience for any gamer, the amount of work put into every last detail such as the side quests, the immerse story it delivers only to dwell you into the game that much more, everything is brilliantly crafted together from the political to the personal and emotional. Not only is this a very difficult thing to achieve while also fluently incorporating this into the world of Ivalice, which I feel as we players tend to forget this is a game that wanted to present a perfect balance but as its influence being politics/war and worldly themes, with that in mind I find that its ties to the characters within plot was nothing less nor short than brilliant, giving excitement for those of the characters and the other NPCs and even presenting some good antagonists whom also play fantastic plot twisting roles in such a tale, to me making it one of the more complex darker and more mature themed story lines prior seen in the franchise thus far. To enjoy a tale such as this you must really enjoy the story for what it is worth, and let it sort of take you away as you play sort of street urchin as you get swept in way over your head. The story is this games strongest point, and given so much at the table, no your right it can't perfect, but then again nothing is. As for the graphics little need be said, amazing choice of colors for the game over all I see no problems the graphics along with all the CGI work makes this game a shame to be a PS2 title quite frankly, and here we go with the music, i will admit its not the classic FF jingles you are used to hearing from Nobue , but given the game taking place in Ivalice , the soundtrack holds up pretty damn good. Lastly i sort of feel that maybe Zodiac Job system should have been implemented right away at the games first release, the original format is just fine, it really expresses the flexibility this game tries to imbue. Overall this in my opinion has gone down as a classic, the Last of Final Fantasy as we once knew it, with 13, and 14 we only hope the 15 will be the next winner, but as for Final Fantasy XII, we got ourselves a winner Expand
  52. Mar 18, 2016
    10
    Best RPG I have ever played. Wide world-Wide gameplay-Fantastic music-Awesome graphics-Amazing locations and arenas-Beautiful artistic design-Superb sound effects
    Simply the best PS2 game
  53. May 20, 2016
    10
    I don't understand all the hate that this game receives. This is by far my favorite FF game.
    Battle system is a fun balance of action and tactical thinking.
    Graphics are amazing for a PS2 game. Story... Story is the best in the series! Mature and interesting, with great set of characters (Balthier is my favorite character in FF games). This game deserves much more positive attention,
    I don't understand all the hate that this game receives. This is by far my favorite FF game.
    Battle system is a fun balance of action and tactical thinking.
    Graphics are amazing for a PS2 game.
    Story... Story is the best in the series! Mature and interesting, with great set of characters (Balthier is my favorite character in FF games).
    This game deserves much more positive attention, especially since most horrible FF13 sold twice as much as this awesome game.
    Expand
  54. May 10, 2016
    8
    Ok. If you've played FFX you'll know FFXII is worse. Yes, both are very different and FFXII has a completely different combat system. The best of this game is its graphics. The cinematic videos are really stunning and the best parts are at begining and at the end of this game. In my opinion, one of its flaws, apart that is way too long, is that when you are more or less in the middle ofOk. If you've played FFX you'll know FFXII is worse. Yes, both are very different and FFXII has a completely different combat system. The best of this game is its graphics. The cinematic videos are really stunning and the best parts are at begining and at the end of this game. In my opinion, one of its flaws, apart that is way too long, is that when you are more or less in the middle of the game the story becomes very poor, and I missed more conversations and cinematic. I would rated with and 8'5. I mean, as I said, the best is the graphics, the plot is also interesting, the battle system you have to get use to it and the soundtrack it's good but nothing special. What I can assure you is that you'll be entertained. Expand
  55. Aug 4, 2016
    10
    I love this game from start to finish. This game has all I wanted to see. Great rpg, good story, memorable gameplay and good gameplay, and great characters. And much more.
  56. Jun 11, 2017
    8
    FFXII is great in a lot of ways and delivers many things that I have always wanted in past Final Fantasy games. Unfortunately for me it lacked some of what made many of the other games in the series truly masterful and as a result I think it ends up as one of the more mid-level entries in the series. The game is far above average, but in my opinion its confusing narrative and generic mainFFXII is great in a lot of ways and delivers many things that I have always wanted in past Final Fantasy games. Unfortunately for me it lacked some of what made many of the other games in the series truly masterful and as a result I think it ends up as one of the more mid-level entries in the series. The game is far above average, but in my opinion its confusing narrative and generic main characters hold it back from being a masterpiece.

    The gameplay is as good as past entries but it makes a lot of big changes, some good some bad. One of the gameplay changes that I really appreciate is that there are no more random encounters, which was one of the things I hated in past entries. Being able to see all of your enemies on the field is a great change for a lot of reasons. You can often avoid enemies and get through redundant areas quickly. You can also track down or avoid strong enemies which makes grinding and travel far better. You will often need to avoid strong enemies because sometimes they are way above your level, even early in the game. It is so much more believable and makes attempting to defeat strong enemies early much more rewarding. Gameplay is also much less linear than it was in FFX and that was one of the weakest parts of that game. One downside I found was the MMO style combat to be quite boring at times, especially dealing with weak enemies that don't require the use of special abilities to defeat. There are still some cool looking spells but there are few that are as cinematic as the overdrives in FFX. Summonings this time around are good but didn't feel as satisfying.

    The story while still good, is a step down from many of the other FF games that I have played. FFVI, FFVII, FFIX and FFX all had more engaging stories. The problem with the story is that most of the major events take place in the background. The main characters, particularly Vaan seems almost unnecessary to the plot. A lot of the bigger ideas that are presented have very little relation to the characters you are playing as. The Occuria for example only have a few scenes and their role is never really fleshed out. The player is also not given context for a lot of the dialog and world building that happens between many of the characters. Final Fantasy games almost always have complex stories but usually as the story progresses you learn a little bit more with every scene and by the end almost everything is revealed in a meaningful way. In FFXII most of the scenes are not given much context and that made it difficult to get invested in what was happening. The motivations of the characters seemed vague throughout most of the story. That isn't say that the writing is bad, a lot of the dialog is very believable and sophisticated but they didn't seem to blend together well into a cohesive whole.

    The story does have many good ideas though. The Bahamut air fortress was awesome and the idea of the judges is great. The Occuria had potential to be a good idea they just aren't well explained in the story. I really did feel that this world could serve as the stage for many great stories but the one they chose to tell didn't seem to take advantage of the cool world that they have designed.

    Characters are also a weak point of FFXII. Vaan is probably my least favorite main character in a Final Fantasy game. He just seemed to be generic and he didn't seem to serve a meaningful role in the quest. On the surface he seems a lot like Luke Skywalker but lacked almost all the important qualities that make Luke an interesting character. A lot of the characters seemed to be loosely modeled after Star Wars characters, but most weren't as iconic. I also felt that the characters bonds with each other were a bit underdeveloped. Most of the interactions between the characters didn't give me the indication that they had formed deep relationships. Ashe in particular could have used more conversations since her role is quite complex. I also didn't feel like I got to know the characters in a deep way.

    Visually FFXII is mostly excellent, the monster designs are some of the best in the series and the environments are large and detailed. The Judges are all cool looking and iconic. The airships are also awesome looking and there are some really unique ones. The cutscenes are great although I think they are a slight step down from FFX. My only major complaint with the graphics is that a lot of areas of the game look very dull. Like a lot of MMOs of the time, everything seems to have a matte look to it. Lot of areas of the game look a bit desaturated. Overall though it's a great looking game and one of the better looking of that time period.

    Sound Design is almost always great in Final Fantasy games and this is no exception, however, it isn't one of the best soundtracks or uses of music in the series. The voice acting is very good but I would have liked to have more memorable music.

    I give FFXII an 84%
    Expand
  57. Mar 22, 2017
    8
    Para ser sincero, no es el mejor Final Fantasy pero el simple hecho de que para completar el juego al cien por cien se necesiten una cantidad de horas desquiciante, hizo que para mi que este videojuego marcara un antes y un después en mi historia como jugador de PS2.

Awards & Rankings

3
1
#1 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2006
2
#2 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2006
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 64
  2. Negative: 0 out of 64
  1. The story soars, but not so often. The dungeons are long and meandering. The gameplay is effective, but not engrossing. It's a staggeringly well-made game that throws more at you than any other RPG on the PS2... but well-made doesn't necessarily mean "fun."
  2. This is absolutely my favorite Final Fantasy title, a claim I probably would have laughed at two years ago when rumors about the game’s battle system began to circulate.
  3. One of those rare games that can be appreciated by both hardcore and casual fans alike, Final Fantasy XII may very well be Square's last great adventure, and a fitting sendoff, for the PlayStation 2.