Final Fantasy XII PlayStation 2

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1039 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. FFFan
    Aug 9, 2007
    10
    I give this game a ten on pure entertainment value. I don't always have the time to play, but when I do I can play for a few hours and even though I don't get alot of gameplay done it is still great. The only beef I have with the game is the way the enemies jump up in level so fast. I have needed to spend alot of time running around leveling up to get further. Other than this, I give this game a ten on pure entertainment value. I don't always have the time to play, but when I do I can play for a few hours and even though I don't get alot of gameplay done it is still great. The only beef I have with the game is the way the enemies jump up in level so fast. I have needed to spend alot of time running around leveling up to get further. Other than this, FFXII is the greatest game that I have ever played. Graphics are awesome, surround sound for the sound is fantastic, and the story is sweet. I hope that Square will come out with a sequel that is PS2 or PS3 playable, not just Nintendo DS. Though I will buy that one too. Expand
  2. Angelbane
    Jul 22, 2007
    10
    Anyone who gave this game a 6 or less can go throw all their videogames out and start reading a good book. If you don't like the camera angles, the story, or the battle system I'm sorry to say, but your thought stray not far from incompetence. Simply put: Smart people made it so the stupid won't play it. Sometimes harsh words are the simplest to understand. If you really Anyone who gave this game a 6 or less can go throw all their videogames out and start reading a good book. If you don't like the camera angles, the story, or the battle system I'm sorry to say, but your thought stray not far from incompetence. Simply put: Smart people made it so the stupid won't play it. Sometimes harsh words are the simplest to understand. If you really can't keep up with the greatness of a game like this then you've seriously not been going to school or something, because to the more educated I'm sure the features were very simple. Square, please don't listen to any review thats 6 or less because honestly I think you're doing great. If Square people really are reading this don't rush into FF13 because of the hype. Make sure that the story is as solid as FF12 and just as entertaining. I could play FF12 over 100 times... You know what? I think I will. Can't wait for 13 and 14. Like I said though, there might be a problem if FF13 is rushed. Keep it real Square Enix, keep it real. Expand
  3. MikeG.
    Jul 17, 2007
    8
    Let me tell you, contrary to what Mr 'Avery' says, the story is utter bilge, and in itself barely 'semi-literate'. The transparent pseudo-intellect of certain characters is particularly annoying, forced and unrealistic, and knowledge of the 'English language' (and in particular articles of LITERATURE) will only show the player how far videogames have to go Let me tell you, contrary to what Mr 'Avery' says, the story is utter bilge, and in itself barely 'semi-literate'. The transparent pseudo-intellect of certain characters is particularly annoying, forced and unrealistic, and knowledge of the 'English language' (and in particular articles of LITERATURE) will only show the player how far videogames have to go before they even approximate the quality of plot to be found in the average fairly well-written book. That said, the game is engrossing. It retains the same addictive gameplay and high production values that characterise the series, and the battle system, though initially tedious, eventually becomes second-nature. The graphics are technically excellent but not as artistically inspired as titles such as Okami, Ico and Shadow of the Colossus, the PS2's artistic flagbearers. Overall the game is good but I'm starting to wonder if they'll ever come remotely close to topping VII or VIII. Expand
  4. Dr.Avery
    Jun 24, 2007
    10
    In a single word? Epic. Squaresoft's flagship series has finally returned to its roots -- rejecting the insipid, childish plot and dialog which plagued IX, X and X-2. Instead of dumbing it down for the youngsters, the story and speech have been elevated to an almost shakespearian bearing. A most refreshing change of pace from the usual condescending puerile drivel we are usually fed In a single word? Epic. Squaresoft's flagship series has finally returned to its roots -- rejecting the insipid, childish plot and dialog which plagued IX, X and X-2. Instead of dumbing it down for the youngsters, the story and speech have been elevated to an almost shakespearian bearing. A most refreshing change of pace from the usual condescending puerile drivel we are usually fed as gamers. The gameplay could have been a bit more complex and customizable (as with VII or VIII), but the graphics, and overall style puts this game in a class of it's own. A class which will likely remain the sole domain of FF XII until the fourteenth installment of the series is released (the thirteenth will, no doubt, be rushed through development too quickly to be any good) The architecture is particularly noteworthy. The tombs and ancient places of this game seem to have come forth from the wildest dreams of the engineers of ancient Egypt -- What might have been built if they had an army of 1000 foot tall men to do their work. Your enjoyment of this game will depend largely on your level of education. School-age children and semi-literate adults, are likely going to struggle to keep up with the shades of meaning hidden behind some very obfuscatory and stylized language. However, those with a mastery of the English language are in for one of the best plots to be found in any media. Expand
  5. hehemehe
    Jun 14, 2007
    8
    While i gave it an 8... tahts low for a ff game in my opinion [other than 2.. thats like a 3rating] but yea... the story.. its interesting but WAY overhyped. the combat feels very very smooth at times.. and then other times it just feels cluttred and you don't know what the hell is going on. i found the gameplay to be very opinionated on how people like it.. the lisence board is the While i gave it an 8... tahts low for a ff game in my opinion [other than 2.. thats like a 3rating] but yea... the story.. its interesting but WAY overhyped. the combat feels very very smooth at times.. and then other times it just feels cluttred and you don't know what the hell is going on. i found the gameplay to be very opinionated on how people like it.. the lisence board is the dumbest thing ever.. i enjoyed the sphere grid in ff10 the most... the gambit system i didn't like because then your just controlling your party leader for the most part. the graphics are the physically best the ps2 can handle so thats great. the voice acting, while it is AMAZZZZING.. gets annoying because the game tries to make the characters sound more serious/smarter in very dumb cliche situations [balthier in paticular you will hate if you dislike bad smartass'ing that talk smart] overall.. through all these negatives. it was still really fun. its just that i just was hoping with my hopes sky high that they would release something like 10.. ya know.. ff on the ps2 should die with a bang... not a experiment. Expand
  6. Sciros
    May 21, 2007
    10
    An amazing game through-and-through. Visually impressive in every way. The sheer number of detailed facades, monsters, items, and characters in the game gave me a great respect for the designers and artists, who are the without question at the top of their field. The music is epic and comples, and it gives the game a unique mood. The combat system is an improved version of KOTOR's An amazing game through-and-through. Visually impressive in every way. The sheer number of detailed facades, monsters, items, and characters in the game gave me a great respect for the designers and artists, who are the without question at the top of their field. The music is epic and comples, and it gives the game a unique mood. The combat system is an improved version of KOTOR's (which was a 3-D adaptation of the Baldur's Gate system). In other words, it takes some adjustment at first but once you get the hang of it it's amazing. The Gambit system gives you the option of being as active or inactive during the battle as you prefer. The story is actually GOOD; I am not sure why people claim it has no story. Not only did the writers put effort into the plot, but the dialogue is top-notch and the voice acting (in the US release, at least) is the best I have ever heard in a game. In my mind Gideon Emery's Balthier stands out as the most perfectly executed character in games, period. Altogether, FFXII is a must-play and deserves every bit of praise. The only shortcoming: leveling takes a long time so if one wants to fully explore the entire game and all sidequests, it will take some real patience. But the fact that the game even *has* so *many* high-level sidequests is astounding, and far more than one should be used to expecting from a single game. In every way, it goes above and beyond what is typical. Expand
  7. JoeM.
    May 15, 2007
    10
    Did I hear someone talking about a bad camera angle - did they fail to notice that the camera angle can be adjusted throughout with the right analogue stick depending on where you want to look? Even if this game did have a bad camera angle (which it doesn't) that isn't enough justification to give it a 0/10. Now i'm going to justify why it deserves 10/10 - superb graphics Did I hear someone talking about a bad camera angle - did they fail to notice that the camera angle can be adjusted throughout with the right analogue stick depending on where you want to look? Even if this game did have a bad camera angle (which it doesn't) that isn't enough justification to give it a 0/10. Now i'm going to justify why it deserves 10/10 - superb graphics with a massive expansive world, great characters and voice acting, a beautiful musical score, fun and strategic battles, loads of sidequests and a long game meaning you can spend over 100 hours on it and an immersive story. Seriously though, what more could you want from an RPG? I challenge anyone to suggest, and even if they do come up with something, Squaresoft will probably right these wrongs in thier next spellbinding installment to this deservedly long running series. In other words, yep, they've done it again. Well actually, not only that, but this is the best of the lot since number 7, and that's a big claim but it really is an outstanding game and comes with my highest reccomendation. Expand
  8. LewisT.
    Apr 8, 2007
    10
    I have not completed this game, which automatically makes my opinion less valid indeed, but I am a huge fan of the Final Fantasy's 7 through X-2. Both 8 AND 10 rank in my top 5 favorite games of all time. I was almost reluctant to even purchase this game because I was frightened of this ruining such a grand and renowned series. But after such a small time in the game (around 10 I have not completed this game, which automatically makes my opinion less valid indeed, but I am a huge fan of the Final Fantasy's 7 through X-2. Both 8 AND 10 rank in my top 5 favorite games of all time. I was almost reluctant to even purchase this game because I was frightened of this ruining such a grand and renowned series. But after such a small time in the game (around 10 hours) I'm as hooked as I was with all of the others. I mean, okay the character development isn't brilliant, and the story is certainly, rather baffling at times, but other than that it's more than impressive. The battle system will take any fan some time to get used to, but once you've overcome that, you can definitely appreciate it, and how important tactics are. I love the in-depth systems incorporated into the game, such as gambits and licenses. It makes the game more demanding, but more customizable, and ultimately more satisfying. The graphics as expected, rate amongst the best in the PS2 franchise, and I'm very impressed with the game thus far. And as far as I am concerned, the first few hours of the game are the most important. Expand
  9. MannyF.
    Mar 27, 2007
    10
    For those of you with good taste and patience, prepare to play the best RPG ever made. To the others... don't bother, I can't stand the thought of another ignorant negative review of this game on here. THIS IS FINAL FANTASY! Period.
  10. Mithyus
    Mar 25, 2007
    10
    Although Final Fantasy XII strays a bit off the path that has credited the series it's notoriety, it is nevertheless a great gaming experience.
  11. JamesB.
    Mar 16, 2007
    10
    I have to say, this is the best FF game I've seen in a long time. I was really disappointed in FFX, and almost didn't get this game for fear it would be similar, but I'm glad I did. I love the new battle system and everything... I don't see why people say there's no strategy, though. Personally, I think this game takes more strategy than any other Final Fantasy I have to say, this is the best FF game I've seen in a long time. I was really disappointed in FFX, and almost didn't get this game for fear it would be similar, but I'm glad I did. I love the new battle system and everything... I don't see why people say there's no strategy, though. Personally, I think this game takes more strategy than any other Final Fantasy game. I can't think of a single flaw with this game. Expand
  12. Mobius
    Feb 28, 2007
    10
    I remember playing Final Fantasy VII all those years ago and remember how amazed i was back then and how I felt after completing it. After FF VII things when down hill, though good games none of the others gave me that feeling of Awe, so much so that i never felt compelled to complete FF8 & FF9, i got myself FFX and probly clocked 10 hours on it before i got bored and traded it in, i I remember playing Final Fantasy VII all those years ago and remember how amazed i was back then and how I felt after completing it. After FF VII things when down hill, though good games none of the others gave me that feeling of Awe, so much so that i never felt compelled to complete FF8 & FF9, i got myself FFX and probly clocked 10 hours on it before i got bored and traded it in, i never bothered with FFX-2. but something completed me to purchase FFXII on day of release even though I had not read anything about it or got caught up in any hype in fact the first i heard of FFXII was about a 2 weeks before its release. but upon loading up and being greeted by a impressive intro I entered the game and was very pleased with what i saw. the new combat system is great as getting into random battles every 6 steps in the previous games became very annoying, this time around I can see the enemy before I decide to fight. the graphics are fantastic with plenty of well written speech and facial expressions. For me playing FFXII is like playing FFVII for the first time all over again. I picked up the game on a Friday and by the Sunday I had already clocked up 19 hours of fun, I think this game may affect my relationship with the wife. Expand
  13. Barry
    Feb 26, 2007
    10
    Best game on PS2, this year at the least. Even more so than Okami. Battle system is perfect, graphics are the best on PS2 and the size of the map is just awesomely huge. It's a different experience for FF fans. Amazing.
  14. Andrew
    Feb 21, 2007
    10
    Too many people knock this game for being just what it is - a bold, new direction for the series. As a longtime Final Fantasy fan, I was thrilled to be rid of ridiculous amounts of annoying random battles, and hopefully they are gone for good. The rest of this game is certainly worthy of being called a Final Fantasy game (epic storyline, enjoyable character, massively destructive battles). Enjoy.
  15. JimH.
    Feb 19, 2007
    9
    This is my first FF game and I think the graphics and camera work *are* truly amazing, as is the story. I don't like the action, the 'pause and pick' aspect of this. It makes the play disjointed. But all in all this is really enjoyable to play with my young daughter. Many times we come across creatures and go "what the heck is that?!" Final Fantasy XII *is* fantastic.
  16. MatteoPais
    Feb 17, 2007
    10
    A very revolution in Final Fantasy games.
  17. DavidJ.
    Jan 30, 2007
    10
    If you look through the reviews, you'll notice that most negative ones are from people who never finished the game. Finish the game, you'll love it. It's a bit slow to pick up, but so was Final Fantasy 9, and it hardly "destroyed the Final Fantasy franchise". In the end, this is flat-out the most fun Final Fantasy to date.
  18. MikeP.
    Jan 19, 2007
    9
    I really think this is the best FF I've playd but I did have some trouble with the gambits system and the battle system but other than that it was amazing.
  19. JackC.
    Jan 14, 2007
    9
    Stop whining about something you don't like, it won't make it better. To those who haven't tried it yet, do it. You may like it, you may not. It's an acquired taste.
  20. GregG.
    Jan 12, 2007
    9
    Very good game. The graphics in the cut-scenes and during gameplay are amazing. The battle system takes a little getting used to, but the change is refreshing. The only shortcoming of this game, to me at least, was that the voice acting did not match the images at all. But other than that, this game is great, even comparable to classics like FF7 or FFX.
  21. AndrewC.
    Jan 10, 2007
    8
    First off, I'd like to state something. I'm a huge Final Fantasy fan, especially for VI-X. The epic stories and great gameplay have always pulled me in very well. I also love it when developers mix up their series a bit. I admire that Square Enix is bold enough to do drastic new things in Final Fantasy XII. The problem is that it just isn't executed perfectly. The character First off, I'd like to state something. I'm a huge Final Fantasy fan, especially for VI-X. The epic stories and great gameplay have always pulled me in very well. I also love it when developers mix up their series a bit. I admire that Square Enix is bold enough to do drastic new things in Final Fantasy XII. The problem is that it just isn't executed perfectly. The character building takes too long to get into, and the gambit system is really tough to learn. Also, many of the environments are expansive and empty, aside from all the enemies. The graphics are artistic and interesting, but nothing all too special, which is a shocker when it comes to Final Fantasy. But most of all, it's just really hard to get in to. There's too many tough enemies, and it's too hard to get a hold of new equipment. Some serious tweaking and more direction to the player would have been nice. Really, though, Final Fantasy XII is still good. It just could have, and should have, been better. Expand
  22. EoghanR.
    Jan 9, 2007
    10
    This game is best game I have ever played, it has amazing visuals. An excellent soundtrack and an utterly brilliant, well thought out story with really interesting characters and locations with the best Final Fantasy battle-system I have ever seen (I still love all Final Fantasy's though!) this has made Final Fantasy look like it should be. p.s. can't wait until Final Fantasy XIII.
  23. ArC.
    Jan 8, 2007
    10
    This is the greatest game I ever played! I never got bored because there was so much to do all the time! The graphics were superb! I Love FF XII!! I wasn't disappointed in buying it. Even the Game Cover was nice.
  24. RyanG.
    Jan 2, 2007
    10
    Past all the nostalgia, this IS the definite Final Fantasy...or even RPG.
  25. DanielG.
    Jan 1, 2007
    8
    FFXII is a pleasant surprise, though in my opinion it's not as good as VII or VIII. The pros; true epic FF storyline, excellent graphics for the PS2, long life for a classic FF experience. The cons; crap battle system, if i want to play an MMO I'll waste my money on WoW or Guild Wars but FF should not be hack 'n' slash, easy to cheat in terms of HP, there's magic FFXII is a pleasant surprise, though in my opinion it's not as good as VII or VIII. The pros; true epic FF storyline, excellent graphics for the PS2, long life for a classic FF experience. The cons; crap battle system, if i want to play an MMO I'll waste my money on WoW or Guild Wars but FF should not be hack 'n' slash, easy to cheat in terms of HP, there's magic that doubles your Max HP until you die, which to me is like removing the point of gaining levels, true FFVIII features similarities with the Junction system, but that was necessary to reach 9999HP at Lv. 100. Anyway no matter what's wrong with it, it's a good FF far better than all previous PS2 attempts (lest we forget the dire X and X-2) and XI which was a crappy MMO, I'd say it definitely deserves a place on the game shelf/pile but let's see if SE can truly redeem themselves on the Next Gen consoles. Expand
  26. DiogoC.
    Dec 31, 2006
    9
    The game is very cool, I love it, but it lacks the romance and the history could be better.
  27. RonR.
    Dec 30, 2006
    9
    The battle system is a little different, and the character development isn't as great as in previous installments of the series. But overall, the graphics and gameplay of Final Fantasy XII put it over the top. I would compare this game to classics like Final Fantasy VII and X.
  28. Will
    Dec 27, 2006
    10
    First off, let me say that I am not a Final Fantasy fanboy or enthusiast. I have only played Final Fantasy III, VII, X, and Tactics. And of course, XII. I did enjoy all of them, but XII is just better in every way. FFXII is not X. It is not VII either. It is DEFINITELY not like oldschool FFIII. For all these reasons, I love it. The same trite turn based gameplay of past Final Fantasies First off, let me say that I am not a Final Fantasy fanboy or enthusiast. I have only played Final Fantasy III, VII, X, and Tactics. And of course, XII. I did enjoy all of them, but XII is just better in every way. FFXII is not X. It is not VII either. It is DEFINITELY not like oldschool FFIII. For all these reasons, I love it. The same trite turn based gameplay of past Final Fantasies and console rpgs is just past its prime. Time to move on people. This is a modern rpg and is just plain better. I'm sorry but i can't go and play Chrono Trigger and honestly say its better than FFXII. Same for all those other old rpgs with insanely boring mechanics. They have no difficulty, little complexity, and ffs people, the stories weren't that great MOVE ON. The SNES age is over! If you wan't FFIII or FFVII or w/e it may be, go play them. If you want progress in game sophistication and playability to stand still, tough noogies. That said, FFXII is a remarkable game on just about every front. Graphically impressive, beautiful sound, and a non-trite story make this game really revitalize the stagnating console rpg market. This game is GOOD! Expand
  29. DanielK.
    Dec 21, 2006
    10
    An exceptionally deep Final Fantasy, blending series staples while ushering in new and much needed "breath of fresh air" play mechanics.
  30. MarcD.
    Dec 17, 2006
    9
    The much publicised new battle system can get a little messy. Battles tend to get a little out of control and it's a far cry from the overly systematic scheme of past installments. That said, the system is a breath of fresh air. It reinvigorates the series the same way that MGS resurrected the old Metal Gear series. Vagrant Story was a brilliant and daring RPG...and Square Enix had The much publicised new battle system can get a little messy. Battles tend to get a little out of control and it's a far cry from the overly systematic scheme of past installments. That said, the system is a breath of fresh air. It reinvigorates the series the same way that MGS resurrected the old Metal Gear series. Vagrant Story was a brilliant and daring RPG...and Square Enix had the common sense to bring the flavour back with it's flagship title. A great game. Together with the upcoming God of War 2...the PS2 is receiving a remarkable swansong... Expand
  31. AnonymousMC
    Dec 11, 2006
    10
    I just love the game! people who think it sucks probably just didn't play it enough or wait for the cool stuff and besides sometimes I like a change in gameplay not always atb gauges. I mean do you really want to have that repeated for future ff games all the time?
  32. Devin
    Dec 10, 2006
    10
    Simply amazing, my only problem is that it makes my other new games seem dull. The person who gave it a 3 because the he/she died all the time must just not be very good and maybe should play something for younger ages. I just finished FFXII and it was amazing.
  33. Matt
    Dec 5, 2006
    9
    Just when I thought Square Enix was going to keep on cranking out more craptacular FFVII side story games, they made this. I'm genuinely impressed that this new, and extremely long-awaited entry in the final fantasy series retains the charisma I felt when I played games like FFVII (before it was the hype monster it is today), FFIX and FFX. Good work SE, now keep it up.
  34. SandyY.
    Dec 5, 2006
    9
    I have been playing the game for hours and it definitely looks like I am addicted . The game has great graphics and its hard to tell the cutscenes from the movies . Has an ultra-addictive battle system , beautiful chracters but I gave it a nine because it lacks in the character development department and you hardly feel connected. Still love it a lot.
  35. StephenM.
    Dec 4, 2006
    10
    While I will not claim the game to be perfect, and admit that some complaints are valid, this game is simply superb. I have been a fan of the FF series since the first NES game, and this is certainly of the 5 best FF games I have ever played. While I admit, in terms of story, FF3 can never be touched, everything else about this game is fun, fun, fun. Don't miss it. It is my belief While I will not claim the game to be perfect, and admit that some complaints are valid, this game is simply superb. I have been a fan of the FF series since the first NES game, and this is certainly of the 5 best FF games I have ever played. While I admit, in terms of story, FF3 can never be touched, everything else about this game is fun, fun, fun. Don't miss it. It is my belief that every user who complains about the battle system and the challenges of the game simply haven't played it enough, need to learn patience, and should stop playing RPG's. Expand
  36. JonathanX.
    Nov 21, 2006
    10
    Perfect in any aspect. Lots of sidequests, charismatic characters, graphics, music, everything is just PERFECT.
  37. BonbonA.
    Nov 18, 2006
    10
    A solid storyline, brand new ideas, best graphic ever, beautiful gameplay, hundreds of challenges n quests. All composed in one game. There's only one word to describe this. "Perfect".
  38. MikeJ.
    Nov 16, 2006
    10
    Best game in Final Fantasy Series by far. 50 hours into game and not nearly halfway done with game. Tons of sidequests to do many options to explore. The new battle system takes away the long wait of screen loading and makes battles much more realistic. The license board is absolutely wonderful with actual board points that do HELP you in your game. The espers are phenominal and actually Best game in Final Fantasy Series by far. 50 hours into game and not nearly halfway done with game. Tons of sidequests to do many options to explore. The new battle system takes away the long wait of screen loading and makes battles much more realistic. The license board is absolutely wonderful with actual board points that do HELP you in your game. The espers are phenominal and actually are a part of the battle. Not a one time summoning. Expand
  39. JT
    Nov 13, 2006
    9
    This is by far the most challenging, beautiful, and entertaining and thought provoking game I have ever experienced from any RPG manufacturer. And I have been playing video games since I was 3 years old and now am 24. I am pleased to see that they have different strategies to kill monsters by using the Gambit command, by setting up the right conifg. to kill monsters even faster. With the This is by far the most challenging, beautiful, and entertaining and thought provoking game I have ever experienced from any RPG manufacturer. And I have been playing video games since I was 3 years old and now am 24. I am pleased to see that they have different strategies to kill monsters by using the Gambit command, by setting up the right conifg. to kill monsters even faster. With the old Final Fantasies, you would just go beef up your characters and get the best of everything and not use the variety of spells, and special skills (or at least I didn't) to beat up monsters. This makes it a lot more thought provoking besides mashing X on your controller all day. The use of the FFXI battle system and the way monsters can be aggro'd to you is very challenging. I never died on FF 1~10 because of always getting the opprotunity to cure after a battle. Sometimes in this you may find yourself suprised and get clobbered by a monster linking with one that you already have on you! The maps on this game are just like FFXI, you must buy them to view the area, except in this case, if you investigate some areas without a map, it will draw it for you. Very nice so you dont get lost like in Vana'diel (FFXI) if you have no clue where to purchase one. Viewing this world is very beutiful, and give your right analog stick a whirl every now and then and look at the time and thought that they put into every detail. It is worth it just for the eye candy, even if you are in a dank dungeon, or a beutiful city. Cut scenes are once again, over the top in this game and is a nice thing to see and blends in with in game engine very well. Very long cut scenes, but as usual, the best in the business of RPG's. Why I have to give this game a 9 sadly is because of no two player control. Why is there no two player control? I thought it would of been like Secret of Mana from the old SNES console where you can hack and slash your way through enemies. I loved playing that game with friends and family because it's rare to have an RPG that two people can play. There was no sense in why it couldn't be two player and very dissapointing. I figured since it was using the FFXI battle System/engine that it would be simple enough. I guess I am deeply dissapointed in this because I won't be able to play along side my father of our favorite RPG of all time. No big deal though. We will just have to resort to who beat the game the fastest and gloating, instead of teaming up! And last but not least, times change, people change, and games change. This change was for the good of this great legacy of FF that I have been playing since Nintendo. People that don't like to read and learn about how to utilize the new structure will most likely be left in the dust and get frustrated about dying all the time and quit. Well if you don't like reading and learning, this isn't the game for you. For any open minded adventurer, this is it! This game we will look back five years ago and say "now that was ground breaking." Enjoy it as much as I have for the first 3 hours! LoL! Expand
  40. AJL.
    Nov 11, 2006
    9
    Amazing this game has drawn me in. I'm half way done and I can say im amazed by what I see the game is truly a masterpeice. I love everything about it including its new battlesystem. The battle system is disliked by some because it can be a difficult concept for a console gamer. the Gambit system is a set of macros which is commonly used in online games. in fact ff12 takes alot of Amazing this game has drawn me in. I'm half way done and I can say im amazed by what I see the game is truly a masterpeice. I love everything about it including its new battlesystem. The battle system is disliked by some because it can be a difficult concept for a console gamer. the Gambit system is a set of macros which is commonly used in online games. in fact ff12 takes alot of aspects from online games in effort to create a uniqe console final fantasy and not just an rpg clone. some of the main characters are not well developed and uninteresting, however thats the only flaw.everything else is exciting and enthralling. Expand
  41. CoryD.
    Nov 10, 2006
    10
    Well for starters I have all most every FF game out there on the market and got to say that this Is one of they best console FF games EVER. Love how there is a mix of all most all the ff's in this game, now only if you can play a Moogle knight that would ROCK Kupo. Love the moogles, thank you SQUARE ENIX I give you 2 thumbs up.
  42. J.F.
    Nov 7, 2006
    9
    About 27 hours of playtime in and I'm hooked. I can't remember the last time I was this enthralled by a console game. My poor PC is going to be lonely for a long time it seems. I'll admit I was a fan of FF X and this one puts it to shame. To shame I say! Graphically ( except maybe the cutscenes and summons) this game is far superior. The License system is like the sphere About 27 hours of playtime in and I'm hooked. I can't remember the last time I was this enthralled by a console game. My poor PC is going to be lonely for a long time it seems. I'll admit I was a fan of FF X and this one puts it to shame. To shame I say! Graphically ( except maybe the cutscenes and summons) this game is far superior. The License system is like the sphere grid but better. Exploration is open ended which is a huge advancement over many linear or "train track" style RPG's. It kind of reminds me of an offline MMORPG which is perfect. I played FFXI online and WoW and this is like having all the expansive content and immersive world without all the irritatating chatter and ninja drama. Love it! My only gripe against FFXII is probably that some of the most amazing gear ( e.g. Uber sword at beginning) is only reachable if you know secrets that could only be found in game guides. Kind of a bummer since I found out too late but that is a minor scratch on an otherwise flawless game. Sound 9/10 Graphics 9/10 Story 9/10 Battle System 10/10 ( Amazing!!!) Overall 93 % Expand
  43. Wookie
    Nov 6, 2006
    10
    This game rocks. Disclaimer--I'm not done with it yet, I'm 30 hours in. The new battle system is genius. You can program character behavior to do just about anything. For example, you can set your main healer to cast Cure any time a party member drops below 70% HP. That's easy though--how about setting your secondary healer to cast Cura (area of effect group heal) when This game rocks. Disclaimer--I'm not done with it yet, I'm 30 hours in. The new battle system is genius. You can program character behavior to do just about anything. For example, you can set your main healer to cast Cure any time a party member drops below 70% HP. That's easy though--how about setting your secondary healer to cast Cura (area of effect group heal) when anyone drops below 30%? Try setting all members to prioritize killing any enemy with a critical level of HP, or make your Black Mage cast the AOE Dark spell by default. It's a micro-managing RPG player's dream. I used to be a turn-based combat diehard, but FFXII has totally changed my mind. I loved the ability to customize your turn based combat, but eventually, I began to sleepwalk through the battles. "Attack, attack, attack, cast Hastega." And again, "attack, attack, attack, cast Firaga." Now, you literally walk through battles, watching your characters carry out orders. Tweak away their performance to your heart's content--I find myself using spells and abilities in FFXII that I never used in any of the prior series. Have fun! Expand
  44. BrettF.
    Nov 6, 2006
    10
    Square-Enix has successfully managed to create something that is far more than just a game. Final Fantasy XII is, without a doubt, a work of art, in much the same way that a painting, novel, or piece of music is a work of art. The fact that Square-Enix used a video game console as it's medium does nothing, in my opinion, to make their latest masterpiece any less than beautiful. Square-Enix has successfully managed to create something that is far more than just a game. Final Fantasy XII is, without a doubt, a work of art, in much the same way that a painting, novel, or piece of music is a work of art. The fact that Square-Enix used a video game console as it's medium does nothing, in my opinion, to make their latest masterpiece any less than beautiful. Anyone who thinks that video games can be nothing but mindless entertainment should spend some time with this game, as it is sure to convert them. Expand
  45. AndyM.
    Nov 5, 2006
    9
    An excellent game. Improves vastly on FFX, and incorporates quite a bit of the feel of WoW. Most everything has matured. Fantastic graphics, voices, storyline. Huge boss battles. Very imaginative. And the character liberal management allows you to choose your character's strengths (6 black mages, here we come!). Character development may get overwhelming, and battles may get chaotic, An excellent game. Improves vastly on FFX, and incorporates quite a bit of the feel of WoW. Most everything has matured. Fantastic graphics, voices, storyline. Huge boss battles. Very imaginative. And the character liberal management allows you to choose your character's strengths (6 black mages, here we come!). Character development may get overwhelming, and battles may get chaotic, but overall: engrossing, addicting and one of the best RPGs ever. Expand
  46. Pixl8d[infinitezer0]
    Nov 3, 2006
    10
    [97%] -A truely epic and ingenious masterpiece. What Square-Enix has achieved with Final Fantasy XII is leaps and bounds ahead of every other game out there. To justify a score for it while comparing it to other games would be absolutely pointless, as it is on a completely different level. FFXII makes you wonder why you purchase titles of less quality, and it makes you wonder just HOW [97%] -A truely epic and ingenious masterpiece. What Square-Enix has achieved with Final Fantasy XII is leaps and bounds ahead of every other game out there. To justify a score for it while comparing it to other games would be absolutely pointless, as it is on a completely different level. FFXII makes you wonder why you purchase titles of less quality, and it makes you wonder just HOW Square-Enix managed to pull this one off. That being said, the game is still not flawless, but a creation of this magnitude will give Oblivion and Okami a run for their money for Game of the Year as well as, once again, establish a brand new standard for RPG's and gaming in general. The Good News: -MASSIVE/ long gameplay -Graphics/Visuals conquer every other PS2 title to date -Presentation values are the greatest out of any game ever created -New innovative battle system combines old and new for a fun, challenging, and ultimately addicting experience -The story/character development is even better than any other Final Fantasy -Load times are basically nonexistant The Bad News: -Minor camera problems sometimes distract -Immersive world will frustrate those who don't want a "complete" experience -Although there are side quests, the card games and Blitzball will be missed -Soundtrack fits the game well, but falls in comparision to past FF's -Traditionalists will still miss the SNES/PSX role-playing experience Scoring: Story- 9.5 Content- 10 Gameplay- 9.5 Graphics- 9.5 Presentation- 10 Sound- 9.0 Value- 10 Fun Factor- 10 Final Score: 97/100% Expand
  47. DanV.
    Nov 3, 2006
    10
    So far this game is just amazing. The beginning movie was mindblowing. Everything is just sooo massive from the towns to the dungeons and the battle system is really cool once you get the hang of it. I even gotta kick out of dying. Trying attacking the T-Rex from behind when you first come across it and see what happens. I couldn't help, but crack up. (sry for the sidetracking, but So far this game is just amazing. The beginning movie was mindblowing. Everything is just sooo massive from the towns to the dungeons and the battle system is really cool once you get the hang of it. I even gotta kick out of dying. Trying attacking the T-Rex from behind when you first come across it and see what happens. I couldn't help, but crack up. (sry for the sidetracking, but it was pretty funny). so anyway get the game. you'll love it. Expand
  48. JohnO.
    Nov 2, 2006
    10
    I can't believe how complete this game is! I'm left with no doubt that the wait was worth it. This is the first game where I actually went out of my way to explore. Not for some super weapon, or a side quest, but just because I wanted to see everything. And there is a LOT to see! Calling this game massive would be an understatement. Another improvement is of course, the battle I can't believe how complete this game is! I'm left with no doubt that the wait was worth it. This is the first game where I actually went out of my way to explore. Not for some super weapon, or a side quest, but just because I wanted to see everything. And there is a LOT to see! Calling this game massive would be an understatement. Another improvement is of course, the battle system. Now that there are no more random encounters, which made battles annoying, you are free to travel how you see fit. But the new battle system is so fun that you'll probably end up wanting to fight anything you come across. You might have heard that there is less story in this FF than in any previous. This is completely untrue. Everything you could want in an FF story is here. But now that the game is longer, the story is much more spread out. Also it's not as sentimental as previous entries. Instead the story is a lot more realistic, and mature. It's no longer about saving the world, and there isn't anymore teenage angst. The charecters are some of the most interesting to appear in a game, (especially Balthier, who's kind of a mix of Indiana jones, and James Bond. Hilarious.) Don't let the slow begginning put you off. Also don't be afraid of change. That's my only advice for enjoying this game. Expand
  49. JohnT.
    Nov 1, 2006
    10
    Just too much to say, the game is amazing and it is so easy to get side tracked from the main quest there is just so much to do. A must have.
  50. AntranikA.
    Nov 1, 2006
    10
    This game is delicious! I love every moment of it thus far! Yes it takes a few moments to get used to. However, being a huge Final Fantasy fan since I was a little kid, this game is a welcome addition to the series, finally! Especially after FFX! You will NOT be dissapointed! Kefka would be proud!
  51. ChristienL.
    Nov 1, 2006
    9
    So far (about 5 hours into the game) this is an exceptional example of what an RPG can/should be on the PS2 (hell, it looks like it could belong as a launch title on the 360... the graphics are that pretty.) My main complaints all have to do with control & learning curve. The inability to change look inversion & the control for left/right is a bit irritating, especially since most other So far (about 5 hours into the game) this is an exceptional example of what an RPG can/should be on the PS2 (hell, it looks like it could belong as a launch title on the 360... the graphics are that pretty.) My main complaints all have to do with control & learning curve. The inability to change look inversion & the control for left/right is a bit irritating, especially since most other games allow this & it theoretically should have been an easy thing to put into the game. The learning curve is a bit much.. there's a lot of things to learn from licenses, gambits, "loot", etc.. just so many changes for FFX (I don't count FFX2 as a FF game.. it was that bad). Also the battles are much different. Even after all that though, a few hours in and I love it (minus the controls). The new battle system is fun & as soon as I figure out Gambits, I'm sure I'll love it even more. The only thing stopping a 10 is really the control & learning curve. Expand
  52. NaelMZM
    Oct 31, 2006
    10
    what an amazing game! I can't wait to leave the work everyday to start playing & leveling up, i don't sleep much these days and you all know why, lol nice caracters, amazing beasts, lovely world, very good new game play & Great game!! thank you Square-Enix again for this & I cant wait for FF XIII.
  53. Friky00
    Oct 31, 2006
    10
    Incredible game, the final fantasy shines again as the best RPG series in videogame history, I feel the gameplay as a mix of Final Fantasy 6 and Knights of the the old republic, the sub quests, will keep you hooked for 100+ hours, Final Fantasy forever.
  54. Biggles
    Oct 31, 2006
    10
    They fixed what we thought wasn't broken and showed us how broken it really was in doing so. An absolutely fantastic game, and an epic 100+ hour adventure. Coming from a long-time fa of the series, this is a well-deserved 10/10 and a breath of fresh air for both the genre and the series.
  55. EricA.
    Oct 30, 2006
    10
    There is something just grand to this new approach to Final Fantasy. In every way that FFX-2 failed, FFXII succeeds and more. The story is in top form, characters are detailed and interesting (yet still a little angsty for me in typical Final Fantasy tradition), and the big payoff, the Summons, are AMAZING. Restated, AAAAAMAZING! Ahem. Good stuff. Love it.
  56. AnonymousMC
    Oct 10, 2006
    10
    i realy liked that game,it's the best game i see till now on ps2
    the graphic is fantastic and sounds too.and the story it's realy attractive,the charectares are awsome too .
    i would realy like to ask if there is a link how can i get the full story of the game, cause i wanna post it in my documents. i am realy obbsessed in video game specialy RPG game but unluckily i
    i realy liked that game,it's the best game i see till now on ps2
    the graphic is fantastic and sounds too.and the story it's realy attractive,the charectares are awsome too .

    i would realy like to ask if there is a link how can i get the full
    story of the game, cause i wanna post it in my documents.
    i am realy obbsessed in video game specialy RPG game
    but unluckily i havent finish any RPG game befor,becasue i have no time to play the game for a long time.
    is there any solution for that u can advice me.
    thanks for reading my comments.
    Expand
  57. AnonymousMC
    May 21, 2006
    8
    Its a very enjoyable game, colorfull and imaginetive as final fantasy games always, the reel time combat system is prety good but also very slow and lags the tactical aspects of previus games in the series. oh and of course its very text heavy so wait for the US version unless u can understand japenese.

Awards & Rankings

3
1
#1 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2006
2
#2 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2006
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 64
  2. Negative: 0 out of 64
  1. The story soars, but not so often. The dungeons are long and meandering. The gameplay is effective, but not engrossing. It's a staggeringly well-made game that throws more at you than any other RPG on the PS2... but well-made doesn't necessarily mean "fun."
  2. This is absolutely my favorite Final Fantasy title, a claim I probably would have laughed at two years ago when rumors about the game’s battle system began to circulate.
  3. One of those rare games that can be appreciated by both hardcore and casual fans alike, Final Fantasy XII may very well be Square's last great adventure, and a fitting sendoff, for the PlayStation 2.