Final Fantasy XII PlayStation 2

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 980 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ChrisM
    Mar 3, 2010
    6
    This is the first Final Fantasy that I repeatedly put down for weeks before being motivated to continue. I still need to prevail over the final boss. The reason for it being far from the best, primarily, is the characters. I mean, seriously, the characters were worst cast in the entire franchise. I had no connection with most of them; and only had a minimal connection with Fran and This is the first Final Fantasy that I repeatedly put down for weeks before being motivated to continue. I still need to prevail over the final boss. The reason for it being far from the best, primarily, is the characters. I mean, seriously, the characters were worst cast in the entire franchise. I had no connection with most of them; and only had a minimal connection with Fran and Balthier. Besides that they were so forgettable. It is key that a inal Fantasy has a solid group of protagonists and XII failed spectacularily in that department. I cared more for some of the villains than I did any of them. It's quite sad, tbh. The story was ok, but nothing too great; but the way it was told and the voice work was beautiful. The voice cast did an immense job on this game. The world f Ivalice was lovely, the battle sstem was good (I do understand people's qualms with it, though) and it had some gorgeous musical scores (although the OST, overall, was forgettable). One of the greatest things about the game was the Hunts sidequest. Loved that. Expand
  2. Lev
    Aug 20, 2008
    7
    I found this FF to be an enjoyable one, and while it's still not that amazing I think it's a decent game, and reminds me more of a 'western' rpg than a Japaneses one. I didn't have a problem with the characters, and I guess I'm among the few people who prefer Vaan over Cloud, Squall or Tidus. The story could also have been worked on, but I guess it's not I found this FF to be an enjoyable one, and while it's still not that amazing I think it's a decent game, and reminds me more of a 'western' rpg than a Japaneses one. I didn't have a problem with the characters, and I guess I'm among the few people who prefer Vaan over Cloud, Squall or Tidus. The story could also have been worked on, but I guess it's not that bad, although I don't really agree with the fact that it's 'very political', it wasn't that complicated. I found the battle system to be good, with the gambits you can actually get a chance to customize how you want to play, and you can also move around which gives you more interaction with battles. Many people prefer ATB, but I think that system also has it's own faults, it was far from perfect. ( I think it worked best in FF9) I have to add that I really liked the soundtrack, even though I'm not that into epic fantasy music, it was very enjoyable for me, I generally like Sakimoto's work. All in all this game does have an 'experimental' feel to it, but judging from the looks of FFXIII they will be back to the old track that 6, or rather 7 started, but I hope we get to see more Ivalice stuff too, since I prefer that. Expand
  3. AnsonG.
    Dec 9, 2006
    5
    This game was too difficult and frustrating. Well Im a big fan of "Final Fantasy" series but something go awry about battle system. Ok, look, the Final Fantasy XII was a great looking game. The begining was nice but at least they have saved the game by created the perfect story and plot. All the characters was amazing. And the battle system, oh well.....ok look, when starting the u got This game was too difficult and frustrating. Well Im a big fan of "Final Fantasy" series but something go awry about battle system. Ok, look, the Final Fantasy XII was a great looking game. The begining was nice but at least they have saved the game by created the perfect story and plot. All the characters was amazing. And the battle system, oh well.....ok look, when starting the u got alot characters around you, which u will make easier to fight against the enemy. You have to click by pressing X button, to go into Command menu, you have only have 3 command= Attack, magics&technics and items. I click "Attack" and then select one of the enemys when got closer to enemy. You need to wait the AP gauge to start the action. Even though i try run away from them when my character HP low but after that they still hit me. Well all you have to do click the Command menu and then click the "Attack" to the enemy far away from you for first strike, I advise you. So please take care and remember to see 1st how the battle system it is then only you buy this game. I hope the "Final Fantasy XIII" will save the day. Expand
  4. MichaelA.
    Jan 3, 2007
    6
    I did really enjoy this game. The new style of character management felt odd at first, but I really started to get in to it. Hence the rating of 6 I have given it. This rating also has to do with the greatest cinematography and general landscapes ever made for a game. I have played all the SE games and countless RPGs. However, I did place the controller down about halfway and looking back I did really enjoy this game. The new style of character management felt odd at first, but I really started to get in to it. Hence the rating of 6 I have given it. This rating also has to do with the greatest cinematography and general landscapes ever made for a game. I have played all the SE games and countless RPGs. However, I did place the controller down about halfway and looking back at that moment, I'm not sure if I will ever pick it back up. The moment I decided to place/throw the controller down, I spent multiple hours refining my experience in the game, increasing my equipment, leveling up, and conquering the gambit system. Low and behold, after about halfway thru the game (about 50 hours of game play) the story line never grabbed me or took me to my "Final Fantasy" world I come to love over the years. The story is lame and sorely needs cliff notes to understand it as it happens. There are times when a cut scene is over that I Expand
  5. RileyF.
    Oct 9, 2007
    5
    I want my 90 hours back. I have no idea how I managed to drain 90 hours of my life into this game. Its hard to even call this a final fantasy. The plot has you running across MMORPG like planes and killing the same monsters with your rabbit woman, or you 12 year old girl, or your whore girl who has a 7inch spandex dress on. The storyline absolutely blows, The beginning was the best and I want my 90 hours back. I have no idea how I managed to drain 90 hours of my life into this game. Its hard to even call this a final fantasy. The plot has you running across MMORPG like planes and killing the same monsters with your rabbit woman, or you 12 year old girl, or your whore girl who has a 7inch spandex dress on. The storyline absolutely blows, The beginning was the best and last. Once Vaan hits the scene its all over. The towns are cool and so are the dungeons, but I don't care if I have to save some pig thief by going into a crappy waterway and killing some flan to get some stupid item only to be rewarded with some other stupid item. Wait, i've played this before, O YEAH ITS LIKE A MMORPG.....BUT WITH OUT THE MMO, which is the only reason people play MMO's Think of WoW you control 3/6 people who have pretty much same stats and skills. I would call it more like a stupid step cousin of final fantasy. Expand
  6. ChrisC.
    Feb 5, 2007
    6
    If FFXII were called anything except 'Final Fantasy' it wouldn't be receiving nearly as rave reviews. What seems inventive about the battle system at first quickly grows incredibly repetitive and tedious, as all you're usually doing is watching your characters hack at enemies who are stupidly easy despite having way too high HP.
  7. MarkT.
    Mar 23, 2007
    6
    Final Fantasy 12 diverged in a lot of ways from past episodes of the series. The most glaring flaw in it that I can see is the story. Aside from FFX-2, which never was designed to present an ideal story in the first place, the story in FF12 has to be the worst since FF5. Don't get me wrong -- the story had enormous potential, and in itself, the plot wasn't that bad. It's Final Fantasy 12 diverged in a lot of ways from past episodes of the series. The most glaring flaw in it that I can see is the story. Aside from FFX-2, which never was designed to present an ideal story in the first place, the story in FF12 has to be the worst since FF5. Don't get me wrong -- the story had enormous potential, and in itself, the plot wasn't that bad. It's the execution that was terrible. The final fantasy series is supposed to consist of roleplaying games. How can you 'roleplay', or better phrased, dive into the roles of the characters in question, when you receive virtually no background information about any of the characters? CGIs, which have always been an important tool for conveying character backgrounds and moving the story forward, are so sparse that they are hardly even noticed. This is in stark contrast to FFX. After completing FF12, I had 60 hours logged. If I were to estimate it, i'd say that only 20 minutes of that was spent watching CGI movies that propel the story forward. Is this really what an RPG game is supposed to be like? The story lacked all of the usual plot twists the most FF games have, and most importantly, it lacked the epic scope of most FF games. At the end of the game, I was sad to realize that I didn't really care what happened to the main characters. Balthier was probably my favorite since he was the most well developed and unique, but even that character was barely developed enough to warrant an RPG. FF12 actually closely resembles an online MMORPG than a console roleplaying game. So much so that the painstaking 'level grinds' and repetitive game play are enough to put you to sleep. Espers, another staple of the recent FF series, are all but useless. The same is true for magic. The 100 level tower toward the end of the game that must be climbed level by level is absolutely horrible. It consists of 50 floors, yes, 50, which all look identical and consist of nothing but slaying the same monsters and walking the same path to get to the next one. This is simply inexcusable in a console game. All in all, FF12 had enormous potential, but it no where near lived up to the hype, especially considering that it spent 5 years in development. The battle system was monotonous and boring, the characters were bland, and the story when it was understandable was so loosely thrown together that it leaves a person shaking their head in confusion. I'm giving the game a 6 merely because of the amazing graphics -- this was the game's only true saving grace. Expand
  8. Molly
    Jun 2, 2007
    6
    I found FFXII's battle system a little difficult to get used to at first, but later on, it felt really natural and easy to use. I love the gambit system. One of the most annoying things about these kinds of games for me is to keep having to click on monsters to kill them - this cut that out, but did not get rid of strategy, since I could essentially program my character's I found FFXII's battle system a little difficult to get used to at first, but later on, it felt really natural and easy to use. I love the gambit system. One of the most annoying things about these kinds of games for me is to keep having to click on monsters to kill them - this cut that out, but did not get rid of strategy, since I could essentially program my character's actions. I also love the inventory system and the fact that you can get loot, steal loot, or poach monsters to collect items to sell. I like the collecting aspect of games. However, I do not find the storyline to be rewarding at all. It is convoluted and confusing. I'm over half-way through the game and have absolutely no idea what's going on. I went to wikipedia.com to read up on the storyline, hoping that it would engage me some more (since I put so many hours into this game and would LIKE to enjoy playing it) but there are too many characters, too many obscure political plot points that I still just don't get it. I wish they had gotten the storyline better; the battle system is so great that it deserves a better story! Lastly, the music - I don't like it. The theme song reminds me of graduation music. Definitely not the best in FF's history, in my opinion. Expand
  9. LeroyS.
    Jun 6, 2007
    7
    There is so much wrong with this game. The sript writers worked seperate from the the game directors.
  10. CHinkaC.
    Feb 29, 2008
    6
    Sadly, as good as the graphics were, this game did nothing for me. It was boring and confusing. I liked the 3D aspect to the dungeons, but at the same time this seemed to make production think the dungeons should be bigger, longer, and more painful. Plus the only reward to completeing these dungeons were long cutseens that moved the plotless plot along farther. The only reason I kept Sadly, as good as the graphics were, this game did nothing for me. It was boring and confusing. I liked the 3D aspect to the dungeons, but at the same time this seemed to make production think the dungeons should be bigger, longer, and more painful. Plus the only reward to completeing these dungeons were long cutseens that moved the plotless plot along farther. The only reason I kept going was that I was clinging to the shred of hope that the ending would be good. As are all Final Fantasy endings thus far It wasn't. Expand
  11. BobG.
    Apr 8, 2008
    5
    I'm a FF fan but this gammbit system sucks like hell, materia system was awesome. If you are playing well you can leave the controller on the floor and do nothing and still beating the mobs. What the hell.
  12. ZennykerZ
    Apr 5, 2009
    7
    Sincerely, the game is very beautiful, the soundtrack is good, and the gameplay works well for what is proposed. Still, the world is so big, that sometimes you'll get yourself bored by all of the distance necessary to go from point X to Y. And you don't feel motivated to do so, because the story don't looks like a Final Fantasy. They cutted the fantasy part for half, at Sincerely, the game is very beautiful, the soundtrack is good, and the gameplay works well for what is proposed. Still, the world is so big, that sometimes you'll get yourself bored by all of the distance necessary to go from point X to Y. And you don't feel motivated to do so, because the story don't looks like a Final Fantasy. They cutted the fantasy part for half, at least, in the storyline. And, for teleporting from place to place, you need an item or a money payment (for the Airship transport). Couldn't it be, like, Kingdom Hearts? The worlds can be very big, but still, you don't feel bored, if you wanna go to someplace, all you have to do is enter at the point of the world that you prefer. The characters have some problems too. Sometimes, don't seem to demonstrate personalities. They look all the same! Expand
  13. BenH
    Mar 11, 2010
    5
    When I saw that this was the second highest rated FF on metacritic, I couldn't believe it. Its not that this game is bad (unlike the melodramatic dross that was FFX-2), it
  14. [Anonymous]
    Nov 2, 2006
    6
    Although i'm sure it's a very good game i can't get over the fact that they've completely changed the battle system! why fix something that wasn't broken! i personally feel that the game is too much of a mix between star ocean, knights of the old republic, and maybe a SCRAP of the old final fantasy games. as much as i used to hate random battles, i'm kind ofAlthough i'm sure it's a very good game i can't get over the fact that they've completely changed the battle system! why fix something that wasn't broken! i personally feel that the game is too much of a mix between star ocean, knights of the old republic, and maybe a SCRAP of the old final fantasy games. as much as i used to hate random battles, i'm kind of starting to miss them because of ffxii's boring "i hit you, you hit me back" battle system. i just hope that in future ff games they bring back their origional methods of gameplay. but it's still pretty good. Expand
  15. MikeM.
    Jan 14, 2007
    6
    My problem with this game is how incredibly boring it is. I played this game for 30 hours, hoping it would get fun and exciting, but no avail. Now I haven't touched it in 2 months, and will probably just hock it off for some store credit at a local game shop. Most of the time you aren't even fighting. Once the Gambit system has lost it's thrill, you will find that most of My problem with this game is how incredibly boring it is. I played this game for 30 hours, hoping it would get fun and exciting, but no avail. Now I haven't touched it in 2 months, and will probably just hock it off for some store credit at a local game shop. Most of the time you aren't even fighting. Once the Gambit system has lost it's thrill, you will find that most of the time your characters will kill everything on the screen for you, leaving you to pick up loot, and fill up their license points. The only good fights are bosses who aren't nearly as hard as they could be. On top of this, non of the characters (besides Balthier and Fran, a Han Solo and Chewie ripoff) are really that interesting, and the droning story of two kingdoms going to war isn't that interesting to me either. I suppose this game was made for fans of newer online RPGs since it bears similarities to them. I would have more fun playing FF on my SNES or Playstation though. Expand
  16. AlexW.
    Jan 7, 2007
    5
    Who knows why the critics acclaimed this title. It completely strips the "Final Fantasy" mood from my senses whenever I play this game. Don't get me wrong, the game is okay, but its so close to being bad. When I first popped this game in Christmas morning, I was slowly drained of my Final Fantasy high as the beginning text/scene droned on...and on... and on... I got the premise after Who knows why the critics acclaimed this title. It completely strips the "Final Fantasy" mood from my senses whenever I play this game. Don't get me wrong, the game is okay, but its so close to being bad. When I first popped this game in Christmas morning, I was slowly drained of my Final Fantasy high as the beginning text/scene droned on...and on... and on... I got the premise after the first minute for Christs sake! After the awful beginning scene was finished, I started playing and was shocked at how awful the camera was, not to mention how annoying it was to move. Later on I finally got to my first batte (if you coul call it that) and my allied killed the guy before I could touch him. Fun? Certainly not. Finally, I get to a point where I can kill someone and I am deeply bothered by the TERRIBLE battle system. I can't believe the critics praised this excuse-for-fun battle system! S-E has completely abolished the main engredient in games: FUN. They've packed it with gimmicky engines and a lackluster storyline and missions. Jesus Square Enix, first Dirge of Cerberus and now this? Get your heaed in the game! Expand
  17. JesusC.
    Oct 9, 2007
    6
    If you lack the reading comprehension to read through a much better Final Fantasy (See 7--which is only incomprehensible if you are NOT paying attention) then FFX-XII are probably great games. However, in my opinion, those titles are popular entirely by their character design. Hey, we know you guys like to fap, but that doesn
  18. BobbyJ.
    Feb 6, 2007
    7
    Though the gameplay is enjoyable, I found the story the least engaging so far in the series. The main character has little involvement in the events that happen around him, and the rest of the characters' backstories are contrived and sentimental. Many rare items depend not on your ability to hunt for them, but on arbitrary probabilities. You could potentially go through the game Though the gameplay is enjoyable, I found the story the least engaging so far in the series. The main character has little involvement in the events that happen around him, and the rest of the characters' backstories are contrived and sentimental. Many rare items depend not on your ability to hunt for them, but on arbitrary probabilities. You could potentially go through the game and, because certain items appear only 5% of the time in a given treasure chest, be without any interesting weapons. Thorough completion of tasks also offers little reward. Expand
  19. Qman
    Mar 25, 2007
    5
    Great game. Oh wait, did I say great? I meant boring. Sorry, I must've zoned out after hacking and slashing my way through 900 monsters only to be confronted with a cutscene that informs me where the next 900 are. Lots of potential. Poor execution. Try adding a story Square-Enix. Go on, take it back to the lab. If you add some plot I'll bump it up to a 6. Promise.
  20. Patrick
    Jun 24, 2007
    5
    (This Review Subject to Change - this is initial thoughts) Beautiful game, great CG, etc. etc. etc... but WOW is there a sharp learning curve. With -so many- changes to the 'Standard FF Formula', it definitely would've been handy to have more time to actually get used to it before being thrown into the deep end of the pool so soon. I'm only 9 1/2 hours in, and (This Review Subject to Change - this is initial thoughts) Beautiful game, great CG, etc. etc. etc... but WOW is there a sharp learning curve. With -so many- changes to the 'Standard FF Formula', it definitely would've been handy to have more time to actually get used to it before being thrown into the deep end of the pool so soon. I'm only 9 1/2 hours in, and I've had to stop and reload -several- times already due to frustration, and I've been playing since VII. Vaan is also the -least- charismatic 'lead' in the franchise to date; it seems to me it would have made more sense to let Ashe actually be the Lead, she seems at this point to be the one the story is actually ABOUT. Expand
  21. AVideoGameCritic
    Jun 5, 2007
    5
    Unfortunately, the excellent gameplay and fantastic graphics and art direction are ruined by a horribly under-developed story and characters, an over-abundance of tedious, time-consuming dungeons, and the fact that you have to go hours between cutscenes. A gigantic step back from Final Fantasy IX and X and it's really unfortunate that we've had to wait 5 years for this disappointment.
  22. SophieB.
    Sep 22, 2007
    7
    A very enjoyable game and with interesting new changes for the Final Fantasy series, but unfortunately I do not like the new battle system, and in my opinion neither the characters or storyline are as appealing - and I don't enjoy it as much as the others. A solid game, one of the better games of the year, breathtaking graphics and can be quite fun - but not as good as the previous A very enjoyable game and with interesting new changes for the Final Fantasy series, but unfortunately I do not like the new battle system, and in my opinion neither the characters or storyline are as appealing - and I don't enjoy it as much as the others. A solid game, one of the better games of the year, breathtaking graphics and can be quite fun - but not as good as the previous Final Fantasys. Expand
  23. DawnaV.
    Feb 29, 2008
    7
    Despite illustrious graphics and beautifully rendered cut-scenes, this game somehow felt...empty to me. Granted, there are a choice few characters that manage to shine through the monotony of endless dungeons and complicated plot ramblings: Ashe, Fran & Balthier being the only ones I personally found significant. And true, the translation was magnificently done with words bordering on Despite illustrious graphics and beautifully rendered cut-scenes, this game somehow felt...empty to me. Granted, there are a choice few characters that manage to shine through the monotony of endless dungeons and complicated plot ramblings: Ashe, Fran & Balthier being the only ones I personally found significant. And true, the translation was magnificently done with words bordering on poetic due to one of the most well-translated RPGs yet Expand
  24. AnonymousMC
    May 5, 2008
    7
    The visuals were top of the line 10/10 considering the low poly count. I've never seen textures painted so well in my life.
    The score was forgettable and dissapointing, possibly because Uematsu wasn't there.
    Combat system was a great change although I found it less "epic" than the previous style combat in past FF's also the repetitve "hacking" made the fighting look
    The visuals were top of the line 10/10 considering the low poly count. I've never seen textures painted so well in my life.
    The score was forgettable and dissapointing, possibly because Uematsu wasn't there.

    Combat system was a great change although I found it less "epic" than the previous style combat in past FF's also the repetitve "hacking" made the fighting look stupid.
    Storyline wasn't that interesting, and characters weren't that great or deep.

    The licence board was dissapointing because it was nowhere near big enough.
    Sidequests had the typical flaw of Square, without a strategy guide or the internet you would never find out half the sidequests existed.

    Although there's alot of flaws, the game is definately worth buying and is enjoyable, although I don't think I'll be replaying this game annually like I do with FF7 and 8.

    jiyasa@hotmail.com
    Expand
  25. ArielK
    Nov 6, 2009
    5
    I had a terrible experience with this game. About an hour into playing, I put the controller down. I couldn't bring myself to play anymore. Did you ever read Eragon? I thought the same thing as I did when I read that book - why the hell bother? It's one of those LotR facsimiles with the bizarre name scheme that's overly reminiscent of Celtic and English folklore. It's I had a terrible experience with this game. About an hour into playing, I put the controller down. I couldn't bring myself to play anymore. Did you ever read Eragon? I thought the same thing as I did when I read that book - why the hell bother? It's one of those LotR facsimiles with the bizarre name scheme that's overly reminiscent of Celtic and English folklore. It's everything I hoped Final Fantasy would not become - a stereotype of the fantasy genre with a male stripper as the lead character. Of course, Vaan isn't really a stripper. That's just the first thing I thought of as he walked around with a few buckles for a shirt, proclaiming "Someday, I wanna be a sky pirate!" No set of characters lacked so much depth since Final Fantasy I. Yes, I played FFI. The story seems obvious from the first hour of gameplay. You are a resistance faction fighting against two warring kingdoms squashing out the little guy. No matter what you add to it, no matter what debauchery the characters engage in, the plot is that basic. No plot twists, no huge discovery that you've been fighting for the wrong cause. The overarching plot, and motive of the villains - whoever they may be - is obvious from the first level. Also, I like English people, but does every frigging government official and soldier have to have an English accent? It screams LotR ripoff. Cough cough, Eragon. Now I didn't totally hate this game. Besides its plot being about as interesting as overcooked white meat, the game does have its merits. For the first time (for a single player FF) the ATB system has been dropped in favor of an all-out melee approach. This is a welcome and refreshing new way of gameplay. Sure, it could be refined, but as a foray into a little-tested system, executes well. The graphics are gorgeous. I am honestly impressed with SE's work with the graphics. However, it's not like they outdid themselves. Final Fantasy has a history of gorgeous scenery, and if you pay attention to all the field maps, you'll realize you often are walking through a barren terrain with some features and a unique skyline. Good, but a little repetitive. The music is also repetitive - but tends to complement the game appropriately. No epic scores here, certainly nothing the likes of One Winged Angel or even Eyes on Me, but it's good enough to keep the sound on the whole time and whistle to while you gain LPs. Overall, I was disappointed by this game. It had introduced some firsts, and unique systems, but all of that just wasn't enough, for me, to overlap the absurdly lacking plot. I wish that in the future, SE writes up a fantastical, unique world like Midgar or Spira, not this bland copy of Middle Earth. Overall, 5 / 10. Expand
  26. JohnT
    Feb 23, 2009
    7
    How did this game get such a high rating??? I saw one dude mention that this was the best game in the series; are you freakin kidding me? Look, if you're looking for a graphics intensive game then this one is "O.K.". If you're an actual RPG fan then chances are you expect a little more story line; which was total garbage. The game plays nothing like the previous games in the How did this game get such a high rating??? I saw one dude mention that this was the best game in the series; are you freakin kidding me? Look, if you're looking for a graphics intensive game then this one is "O.K.". If you're an actual RPG fan then chances are you expect a little more story line; which was total garbage. The game plays nothing like the previous games in the series. Try to imagine a MMORPG, now imagine playing it by yourself. That's the exact same experience you'll get out of this; Square Enix put so much into making this into a single player FF11(also trash!). 10 was a good game, 9 was ok(opinions vary), 8 was pretty damn good and 7 was amazing(the absolute best; hands down), Tactics was freakin great. This game; was a piece of shit. Nuff said. Expand
  27. J.S.
    Jul 14, 2009
    7
    The weakest game in the Final Fantasy series, Final Fantasy XII shows a complete lack of storyline and gameplay. The gameplay is very tedious: the critically aclaimed 'liscence system' is an extremely simple choice of passive abilites.. All combat is automated, and every room is infested with monster after monster. You can simply set your characters to heal eachother when The weakest game in the Final Fantasy series, Final Fantasy XII shows a complete lack of storyline and gameplay. The gameplay is very tedious: the critically aclaimed 'liscence system' is an extremely simple choice of passive abilites.. All combat is automated, and every room is infested with monster after monster. You can simply set your characters to heal eachother when someone is below 50% health, walk into a group of monsters, then go take a nap. The graphics are sub-par for its time and especially for a Final Fantasy game. This sacrifice was done so that the ridiculous action-RPG system could be implemented. It seems like the game was aimed at those comming off from MMORPGs. All the negatives aside, the 2 hours of storyline that managed to find their way into the 70+ hours of tedious gameplay were actually very enjoyable. The plot was very cliche for the genre, but it was done better than I've seen it before. This game brings all the flash and ambiguity of a hollywood blockbuster to the console; simply slapping the words 'final fantasy' on the box. Expand
  28. AmbushC.
    Nov 21, 2006
    7
    OK, been playing FFXII for about twenty hours now and while I'm well aware that there's a lot of stuff to unveil and do, I can pretty much say that I already have a well formed opinion about the game. The game is huge and incredibly well done in any way imaginable. But, as I already read somewhere else, 'well done doesn't mean fun'. Ok, it is fun. But, for me at OK, been playing FFXII for about twenty hours now and while I'm well aware that there's a lot of stuff to unveil and do, I can pretty much say that I already have a well formed opinion about the game. The game is huge and incredibly well done in any way imaginable. But, as I already read somewhere else, 'well done doesn't mean fun'. Ok, it is fun. But, for me at least, it doesn't even get close to the sheer feeling and awe experience that was for me to play FFX. Hands down. Forget it. If you think that this game will have that moving story, compelling characters and unforgettable moments, you will be disapointed. If feels a lot more like a MMORPG... and that's a shame. I played FFXI, and it didn't worked for me. I prefer story driven games like FFX. To give you an idea, with FFXIII feel more like playing Diablo than a FF game. Expand
  29. CaptainU.
    Nov 5, 2006
    7
    1. Character AI+movement when gambited = Horrible 2. Espers story battle wise = Useless 3. License Board = Crap (sphere grid is much better) 4. Story = so-so and unexciting 5. Battle System = More interesting than previous FFs 6. FMV sequences = Long and purrty 7. Characters = Ok except for vaan
  30. PaulD.
    Dec 12, 2006
    7
    For those of you looking for the next FFVII, or the next FFX, heck even the next FFIV or FFVI and dive into FFXII, expect to feel the same way you do when jumping into a cold pool. Nearly every aspect of the game has been reworked from its non-MMORPG brethren from combat to character development. Some is good, other parts however will leave you wanting to dust off an old copy of FFVII and For those of you looking for the next FFVII, or the next FFX, heck even the next FFIV or FFVI and dive into FFXII, expect to feel the same way you do when jumping into a cold pool. Nearly every aspect of the game has been reworked from its non-MMORPG brethren from combat to character development. Some is good, other parts however will leave you wanting to dust off an old copy of FFVII and kill Sephiroth all over again. The graphics of this game are exactly what we have come to expect from a premier game developer in this day and age. While there are some small problems from time to time, mainly characters appearing from thin air right after a map load, they are for the most part forgivable because the rest of the world looks so freaking... cool. The cut scenes are by far the best so far in the series, the best in most series actually RPG or not, and the opening sequence will leave you eager for battle. And that is where the shock occurs. The battle system has been completely revamped and will take some serious getting use to. Add this to a camera that seems made to frustrate a player(although with time and practice this changes) many players will put down the game before they even start, which would be a shame as their IS fun to be mined here but you will have to work for it. If you have ever played a MMORPG you will know what to expect and there is some obvious influence from the previous online installment in the series. Gone are the random battles in the past, you will be able to see your foes and if you want to fight them, simply walk up to them and start attacking. The ease of this is at first a breath of fresh air to a series that seems at times to be stuck in the past, after a while though it turns into a chore. Another side effect of the new system is that the fear of being jumped at any moment while in hostile territory is gone, and this hurts the experience a lot more than one might first expect and after finally getting down the pre-battle command gambit system included with the game it seems to almost play itself. In fact it is quite simple to wade into a group of foes and then... put the controller down and take up knitting. Seriously, knitting. You will find that in most instances your input into a battle is not required, in fact even the toughest of foes will have you pressing a button only on rare occasions. The second, although less drastic change is the character development tool. The new system involves gaining LP which you can spend to unlock abilities, magic, traits, and the ability to use armor and weapons. The entire set up at first feels like the old sphere grid from FFX, but that is where the similarities end. Unlike the character oriented sphere grid the new "grid" is much more open ended. Any character can become... anything. Want your pirate to be a healer? You can do it. Want your princess to become a sword swinging tank that can take down the toughest foe? Done. While this freedom might sound nice at first the end result is that by the end of the game you inevitably unlock nearly all of the grid for each character and they become simple cookie cutters off each other. Perhaps most unforgivable is that simply learning a spell or ability on the grid does not mean that you can use it. You must then go purchase that spell or ability (often at a hefty price) from a vendor. This is annoying at best and infuriating at worst as you will inevitably spend money on a skill you cannot yet use or LP on a skill that you cannot yet use and feels often like selling you a nifty clock and then charging you extra for the batteries. The story in this installment is another change for the series. While the previous games have centered on the story of a main character the "main" character this time around is for the most part just their. In fact most people will be hard pressed to understand why the others even suffer his presence. While the story is good this lack of a centralized theme means that the player simply isn't drawn into the game, and hence the world it is set in, as fully as in the past. Indeed the stories biggest failing is the lack of a main villain, expectably early on. You simply don't know who the bad guy is. While this is not really a failing from a story telling stand point it is yet another thing that helps to stop the character from really wanting to climb the mountain and slay the demon, a mentality that was crucial in the previous installments. Don't let all of this deter you however, FFXII is a good game though it is a far cry from what some critics are hailing it as and for most it will be a love it or hate it relationship. The best advice that I can give you is to rent this game first, if you are able to look past its faults you will find a little nugget of gold. If you can't, well there is always FFVII sitting on the shelf to remind you of the series heyday. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2006
#2 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2006
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 64
  2. Negative: 0 out of 64
  1. The story soars, but not so often. The dungeons are long and meandering. The gameplay is effective, but not engrossing. It's a staggeringly well-made game that throws more at you than any other RPG on the PS2... but well-made doesn't necessarily mean "fun."
  2. This is absolutely my favorite Final Fantasy title, a claim I probably would have laughed at two years ago when rumors about the game’s battle system began to circulate.
  3. One of those rare games that can be appreciated by both hardcore and casual fans alike, Final Fantasy XII may very well be Square's last great adventure, and a fitting sendoff, for the PlayStation 2.