Final Fantasy XII PlayStation 2

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 874 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ScottB
    Feb 4, 2010
    10
    A very rewarding experience and a majestic soundtrack. Whilst previous Final Fantasy games were rather linear, Final Fantasy 12 lets you go exploring for yourself in a large open world. A fantasic new 'License Board' system brings new depth to levelling up, blowing Final Fantasy 10's 'Sphere Grid' completely out of the water. A true masterpiece.
  2. Aug 25, 2012
    10
    A game people seem to either love or hate. I loved it, loved the characters, story and more importantly gameplay and the world you explore. I disagree about the music from some comments, as i thought it was excellent and matched the zones perfectly, Feywood is a great example, plus the different weather was a great idea and how it changed areas. Lots of exploring to do and some places areA game people seem to either love or hate. I loved it, loved the characters, story and more importantly gameplay and the world you explore. I disagree about the music from some comments, as i thought it was excellent and matched the zones perfectly, Feywood is a great example, plus the different weather was a great idea and how it changed areas. Lots of exploring to do and some places are shockingly hard if you stumble upon them too soon, which makes for a challenge. The best since FFVII, and different armour and weapon bonuses. Great game. Expand
  3. MichaelA.
    Jan 3, 2007
    6
    I did really enjoy this game. The new style of character management felt odd at first, but I really started to get in to it. Hence the rating of 6 I have given it. This rating also has to do with the greatest cinematography and general landscapes ever made for a game. I have played all the SE games and countless RPGs. However, I did place the controller down about halfway and looking back I did really enjoy this game. The new style of character management felt odd at first, but I really started to get in to it. Hence the rating of 6 I have given it. This rating also has to do with the greatest cinematography and general landscapes ever made for a game. I have played all the SE games and countless RPGs. However, I did place the controller down about halfway and looking back at that moment, I'm not sure if I will ever pick it back up. The moment I decided to place/throw the controller down, I spent multiple hours refining my experience in the game, increasing my equipment, leveling up, and conquering the gambit system. Low and behold, after about halfway thru the game (about 50 hours of game play) the story line never grabbed me or took me to my "Final Fantasy" world I come to love over the years. The story is lame and sorely needs cliff notes to understand it as it happens. There are times when a cut scene is over that I Expand
  4. RileyF.
    Oct 9, 2007
    5
    I want my 90 hours back. I have no idea how I managed to drain 90 hours of my life into this game. Its hard to even call this a final fantasy. The plot has you running across MMORPG like planes and killing the same monsters with your rabbit woman, or you 12 year old girl, or your whore girl who has a 7inch spandex dress on. The storyline absolutely blows, The beginning was the best and I want my 90 hours back. I have no idea how I managed to drain 90 hours of my life into this game. Its hard to even call this a final fantasy. The plot has you running across MMORPG like planes and killing the same monsters with your rabbit woman, or you 12 year old girl, or your whore girl who has a 7inch spandex dress on. The storyline absolutely blows, The beginning was the best and last. Once Vaan hits the scene its all over. The towns are cool and so are the dungeons, but I don't care if I have to save some pig thief by going into a crappy waterway and killing some flan to get some stupid item only to be rewarded with some other stupid item. Wait, i've played this before, O YEAH ITS LIKE A MMORPG.....BUT WITH OUT THE MMO, which is the only reason people play MMO's Think of WoW you control 3/6 people who have pretty much same stats and skills. I would call it more like a stupid step cousin of final fantasy. Expand
  5. ChrisC.
    Feb 5, 2007
    6
    If FFXII were called anything except 'Final Fantasy' it wouldn't be receiving nearly as rave reviews. What seems inventive about the battle system at first quickly grows incredibly repetitive and tedious, as all you're usually doing is watching your characters hack at enemies who are stupidly easy despite having way too high HP.
  6. BobG.
    Apr 8, 2008
    5
    I'm a FF fan but this gammbit system sucks like hell, materia system was awesome. If you are playing well you can leave the controller on the floor and do nothing and still beating the mobs. What the hell.
  7. Ferret
    Mar 18, 2009
    9
    The game's storyline is not for impatient, action-driven fans. As earlier comments have said, the plot centers on the situation and it's implications on Ivalice rather than the characters. Considering the relative maturity of the characters, I found this refreshing compared to other RPGs. It's not a game for everyone, but a lot of the hate and dislike at it is by no means The game's storyline is not for impatient, action-driven fans. As earlier comments have said, the plot centers on the situation and it's implications on Ivalice rather than the characters. Considering the relative maturity of the characters, I found this refreshing compared to other RPGs. It's not a game for everyone, but a lot of the hate and dislike at it is by no means earned; most seem unable to express that this game was just not for them, citing instead 'I didn't see any story!' when indeed the plot was rather interesting. The game has some pacing problems, but rest assured the storyline is there, and fleshed out. Expand
  8. [Anonymous]
    Nov 2, 2006
    6
    Although i'm sure it's a very good game i can't get over the fact that they've completely changed the battle system! why fix something that wasn't broken! i personally feel that the game is too much of a mix between star ocean, knights of the old republic, and maybe a SCRAP of the old final fantasy games. as much as i used to hate random battles, i'm kind ofAlthough i'm sure it's a very good game i can't get over the fact that they've completely changed the battle system! why fix something that wasn't broken! i personally feel that the game is too much of a mix between star ocean, knights of the old republic, and maybe a SCRAP of the old final fantasy games. as much as i used to hate random battles, i'm kind of starting to miss them because of ffxii's boring "i hit you, you hit me back" battle system. i just hope that in future ff games they bring back their origional methods of gameplay. but it's still pretty good. Expand
  9. AnonymousMC
    Dec 11, 2006
    10
    I just love the game! people who think it sucks probably just didn't play it enough or wait for the cool stuff and besides sometimes I like a change in gameplay not always atb gauges. I mean do you really want to have that repeated for future ff games all the time?
  10. MikeM.
    Jan 14, 2007
    6
    My problem with this game is how incredibly boring it is. I played this game for 30 hours, hoping it would get fun and exciting, but no avail. Now I haven't touched it in 2 months, and will probably just hock it off for some store credit at a local game shop. Most of the time you aren't even fighting. Once the Gambit system has lost it's thrill, you will find that most of My problem with this game is how incredibly boring it is. I played this game for 30 hours, hoping it would get fun and exciting, but no avail. Now I haven't touched it in 2 months, and will probably just hock it off for some store credit at a local game shop. Most of the time you aren't even fighting. Once the Gambit system has lost it's thrill, you will find that most of the time your characters will kill everything on the screen for you, leaving you to pick up loot, and fill up their license points. The only good fights are bosses who aren't nearly as hard as they could be. On top of this, non of the characters (besides Balthier and Fran, a Han Solo and Chewie ripoff) are really that interesting, and the droning story of two kingdoms going to war isn't that interesting to me either. I suppose this game was made for fans of newer online RPGs since it bears similarities to them. I would have more fun playing FF on my SNES or Playstation though. Expand
  11. BreeH.
    Dec 5, 2008
    10
    Quite simply one of the best in the series. However those people with short attention spans, who want everything to just kick off without knowing the story, will not find this game to be their cup of tea. The battle system allows you to either, have all character run on auto-pilot or wait for your every command. You can be as lazy or active as you want. The game has an engaging and Quite simply one of the best in the series. However those people with short attention spans, who want everything to just kick off without knowing the story, will not find this game to be their cup of tea. The battle system allows you to either, have all character run on auto-pilot or wait for your every command. You can be as lazy or active as you want. The game has an engaging and realistic storyline centering on the evils of power, corruption, and war. These three topics are ever prominent in governments and can easily be seen in recent history if one looks close enough. Even though there is really no "major character" everyone has an equal contribution in the story. The characters, in general, are enjoyable. Each one has their own quirks and weaknesses and in one way or another develops as the story progresses. The graphics were absolutely breath taking with so much detail and lighting it felt as though you were actually standing there. The voice acting was quite simply the best I have ever seen in a game. The words and mouths match up perfectly and each actor put there whole being into the characters which really brought them to life. It was easy to tell what the characters were feeling. The game was all round great with intellectual conversations and a mature and intense stories of the evils man is capable of. I would easily recommend this game to others. Expand
  12. IsaacM
    May 15, 2008
    9
    This game isn't worth a 10 (no FF is except for FF7) but I really enjoyed the concepts explored here. The story was OK sort of a cross between Tactics and FF9 but nothing to shout out about. The character development certainly needed work, though I enjoyed not really having a main character. What seals the deal for me is the gameplay. The battle system is truly great, with the gambit This game isn't worth a 10 (no FF is except for FF7) but I really enjoyed the concepts explored here. The story was OK sort of a cross between Tactics and FF9 but nothing to shout out about. The character development certainly needed work, though I enjoyed not really having a main character. What seals the deal for me is the gameplay. The battle system is truly great, with the gambit system being awfully complex at first (I found it to be quite useful for getting rid of the grunts in the game without too much effort though) but once used to it a truly inspiring decision. This does defeat the purpose of actually PLAYING the game though. Now I played this on 'Active' mode (I have never played a Final Fantasy on 'Wait' and I don't intend starting now) so I found the battles, even with what looked like easy monsters to beat in a new area, extremely challenging (I dare all you FF fans out there to try and finish this game on Active mode to see what I mean) and the bosses were just plain cruel at times (yes I'm talking about you Bomb King and Zodiark) but as long as you set the gambits up right and build up your characters solidly it becomes truly addictive to play this game completely seamlessly without any pause in the action, though if you slip up in a boss fight you will be mercilessly destroyed. I really liked all the sidequests and have gotten thoroughly sidetracked with these. I've just beaten Yiazmat (yeesh what a painful guy he is to beat it took me 5 and a half hours on Active!!) and I've somehow managed to swallow up 118 hours!! Just got Omega Mark XII to beat and I can finish the game. All in all a very nice little addition to my FF library (7, (Dirge of Cerberus and Advent Children included), 8 (complete with PocketStation), 9, Tactics, 10, 10-2 and 12) Expand
  13. BazzmasterB
    Jun 22, 2008
    10
    A refreshing change to a great series with fun side quests and an amazing story.The characters are not as good as previous games in the series but the rest more then makes up for that.
  14. JeremyW.
    Jul 12, 2008
    10
    Of all the 3D FF games this is the most original and sophisticated since Cloud Strife premiered. It is different, but unlike many of these childish reviews, I am not going to disregard it simply on the grounds that it is not using materia, and doesn't feature Sephiroth. Each FF game is a unique entity on its own, and should thus be reviewed on its own merits, not on the expectation Of all the 3D FF games this is the most original and sophisticated since Cloud Strife premiered. It is different, but unlike many of these childish reviews, I am not going to disregard it simply on the grounds that it is not using materia, and doesn't feature Sephiroth. Each FF game is a unique entity on its own, and should thus be reviewed on its own merits, not on the expectation that it should resemble a prior effort. There are several brilliant design aspects to 12, such as the gambit system. This allows a player to take command of his party instead of being a micromanager of all its aspects. You can interrupt a Gambit sequence anytime you want to take charge in a difficult fight. You can also simply turn them off all together if you so choose. So knocking a game based off an optional feature is not logical nor fair. Secondly, the customization options are fantastic. You can designate any character you chose as a healer or tank etc. The Marks (creature hunts) are also extremely fun and a much better side quest than say Chocobo racing. Graphically speaking this is the best FF to date and the monster designs are original and offer a ton of variety. I have played all the FF games and can say this is a fantastic effort and an instant classic. For true fans who have played the Tactics games you will not be disappointed as this seems to merge the two concepts in some ways. The story is epic and the voice acting is grand. The score is also very good, although not quite as memorable. You will understand why the toughest reviewers (Famitsu) game it a 40/40. Expand
  15. AlexM.
    Jul 27, 2008
    8
    Okay, I just got home happy and thinking "Oh wow, Final Fantasy XII, the best thing I'd bought an entire year!" Then I locked myself to my room and the hell was loose. First couple hours were just enjoyable; I've just witnessed kingslaughret, everytime-better-getting-CGIs, met the main characters, getting introduced to promising good story, met interesting side-characters (Old Okay, I just got home happy and thinking "Oh wow, Final Fantasy XII, the best thing I'd bought an entire year!" Then I locked myself to my room and the hell was loose. First couple hours were just enjoyable; I've just witnessed kingslaughret, everytime-better-getting-CGIs, met the main characters, getting introduced to promising good story, met interesting side-characters (Old Dalan, Migelo etc.) and so on. At that point of game I just thought "OMG this game is going to b the best forever!". Then I started the mob hunts, which made me feel like "Oh dear lord, can this game get any better?" Since the gambits weren't really hard to get in for me, I was sure that the game couldn't get any better. I was right. It got WORSE. At first I barely noticed it, but the story started to break up a little. What happened to all those side characters that I got introduced with nearly the whole beginning of the game? Why the heroes began to act like they were in a bad karate movie? (Someone talks an hour, then we go to somewhere, there we either fight like maniacs which isn't bad of course, or just run from one corner to another of place and do a mission or two) Seriously, I was really conserning that Final Fantasy makers had actually made A POOR STORY. I played through the Phoan Coast, Salikawood, Jagds, multiple caverns, and IN NONE OF THEM nearly any kind of character developement did occur. I realized how hollow the plot actually was. Then I got to the Archades where the plot started to get on and move at GOOD rate. Draklor laboratories, the Pharos Cataphract, Bahamut... they all were nice places. Both by gameplay and story, which finally started to get together again. But then the game was just finished. I just flinched and all by surprise taken out the final boss. I was certainly happy, and then later tried to remember what happened in the game. Oddly, I didn't remember much anything; only everything that resolved around the Empire; the Judges, Vossler, Leviathan, Bahamut (a.k.a the Death Star rip-off). I noticed that the game didn't offer me nearly any kind of memories of it, which was shame, the game was still pretty good and I was still working on mob hunts which even these days keep me entertained. So, enough chit-chatting then. Time to sum all that nonsense together: My review: + Gameplay -it's like playing Kingdom Hearts, but it's still good + Sidequests - there're PLENTY times PLENTY of them and I have done a little over half of them... in 25 hours!! They keep you really entertained for a long period. + Graphics -were there any doubt of it? + Monsters -there were a lot of them and plenty of variety too and were all unique in a way or another + Story (periodically) -it actually had some addictive moments in the start and the end + Leveling Up- system -many can oppose this, but to me it was pretty simple and from Squenix a good try to test something new - Story (more peridiocally) -overall, it didn't make me feel anthing. It was so hollow that I wondered if I could transfer the story from another FF (X for instance) and keep the rest, then we'd have a good game - Character developement - seriously, after the start of the game ends and the story starts really going, nothing happens here. Just some "Basch is not a traitor" going on forever and that's that. I really was disappointed here, it could've been far better. - Environments -yeah, they are large, but normally just annoingly large grassy plain or dungeon. Luckily the monster variety is a bit larger. Sorry for a long talk, it's just my way to do it! Expand
  16. JonathanL.
    Jul 8, 2008
    8
    A beautiful game with the great usual Final Fantasy audio touch and a great cast of characters all pulling the weight of a terrible combat system and unorthodox storyline. Final Fantasy 12 may have the very basic elements of a Final Fantasy, but the story gameplay is sub-par. Not only lacks an incentive to beat the game but lacks a fun factor as well.
  17. RhodyT.
    Sep 6, 2008
    10
    As someone who has played every Final Fantasy since IV, I can honestly say this is one of the best Final Fantasy games. Instead of trying to make every game into Final Fantasy VII, Squenix has taken a different route with XII. Instead of focuson in the characters, the story focuses on the situation. Instead of repetitively selecting the same few commands every time you run into a As someone who has played every Final Fantasy since IV, I can honestly say this is one of the best Final Fantasy games. Instead of trying to make every game into Final Fantasy VII, Squenix has taken a different route with XII. Instead of focuson in the characters, the story focuses on the situation. Instead of repetitively selecting the same few commands every time you run into a foreseeable situation, XII allows you to plan ahead. The strategy is still there, but it's done in advance. Perhaps the best thing about this game is that it's so engrossing. The world of Ivalice takes on a life of it's own. For type of regular enemy, there's a page that describes one aspect of Ivalice, whether it's a place or a clan or an event. My advice to anyone who gives this game a score around 7 is to go back and play it a second time, because if you like it the first time, you'll love it the second time. Expand
  18. AlejandroD
    Mar 28, 2009
    9
    I do not understand all the negativity from some of the so called fans of the series. You guys probably think that Final Fantasy started with the part VII. However, this not only has that sense of old final fantasy, but it adds an extra layer of intensity and depth to it. This is truly a great game, not perfect, because it starts very slow, but after a while it is excellent!!
  19. AnonymousMC
    Mar 7, 2009
    10
    Square-Enix boldly takes its flagship series to an all-new direction that combines the best qualities of Western and Japanese RPGs. Finally removing the random battles makes Final Fantasy XII the most immersive and fluent game in the series. Some of the characters actually break the traditional and tired JRPG mold, and the quality of the storytelling and the dialogue with its differentSquare-Enix boldly takes its flagship series to an all-new direction that combines the best qualities of Western and Japanese RPGs. Finally removing the random battles makes Final Fantasy XII the most immersive and fluent game in the series. Some of the characters actually break the traditional and tired JRPG mold, and the quality of the storytelling and the dialogue with its different dialects is on a level previously unseen in any video game. Expand
  20. driver01z
    Apr 17, 2009
    9
    I have enjoyed each Final Fantasy and RPGs in general. Definitely enjoyed this game. The new battle system is different, but I liked that it allows for quicker battles and more "direct" action, which can become kind of addictive in my opinion. Plenty of things to do in the game. I spent over 100 hours playing through it, and I certainly haven
  21. Will
    Dec 27, 2006
    10
    First off, let me say that I am not a Final Fantasy fanboy or enthusiast. I have only played Final Fantasy III, VII, X, and Tactics. And of course, XII. I did enjoy all of them, but XII is just better in every way. FFXII is not X. It is not VII either. It is DEFINITELY not like oldschool FFIII. For all these reasons, I love it. The same trite turn based gameplay of past Final Fantasies First off, let me say that I am not a Final Fantasy fanboy or enthusiast. I have only played Final Fantasy III, VII, X, and Tactics. And of course, XII. I did enjoy all of them, but XII is just better in every way. FFXII is not X. It is not VII either. It is DEFINITELY not like oldschool FFIII. For all these reasons, I love it. The same trite turn based gameplay of past Final Fantasies and console rpgs is just past its prime. Time to move on people. This is a modern rpg and is just plain better. I'm sorry but i can't go and play Chrono Trigger and honestly say its better than FFXII. Same for all those other old rpgs with insanely boring mechanics. They have no difficulty, little complexity, and ffs people, the stories weren't that great MOVE ON. The SNES age is over! If you wan't FFIII or FFVII or w/e it may be, go play them. If you want progress in game sophistication and playability to stand still, tough noogies. That said, FFXII is a remarkable game on just about every front. Graphically impressive, beautiful sound, and a non-trite story make this game really revitalize the stagnating console rpg market. This game is GOOD! Expand
  22. JamesT.
    Jun 18, 2008
    10
    awsome game this is amazing. Some people think this game is bad but have you seen the graphics wow. The gameplay is amazing along with the coolest characters. To the dumbass that said you can't move the camera it's called the right analogue stick try useing it. So this game has a good storyline to it and the people that said this game has a bad storyline you probaly skipped awsome game this is amazing. Some people think this game is bad but have you seen the graphics wow. The gameplay is amazing along with the coolest characters. To the dumbass that said you can't move the camera it's called the right analogue stick try useing it. So this game has a good storyline to it and the people that said this game has a bad storyline you probaly skipped trough all the scenes. Expand
  23. AdrianR.
    Jun 19, 2008
    10
    The best gameplay ever in the FF series for me. I'm glad to hear FFXIII will expand on FFXII's formula. Now lets get the crazy plot/characters back!
  24. MiG
    Aug 15, 2008
    10
    I'll be the first to admit that this game won't appeal to everyone; however, to claim it's not as good as a prior Final Fantasy is a worthless assertion as each game is completely different. The music in this game does not suffer one bit from Uematsu's departure; it is grand, epic, and pleasant to the ears. The combat system is highly entertaining and ONLYlets you be I'll be the first to admit that this game won't appeal to everyone; however, to claim it's not as good as a prior Final Fantasy is a worthless assertion as each game is completely different. The music in this game does not suffer one bit from Uematsu's departure; it is grand, epic, and pleasant to the ears. The combat system is highly entertaining and ONLYlets you be as lazy as YOU want to be. I just wanted to stress that. Whoever says this game plays itself has not played in excess of the first 5 hours, I can promise you that. The characters in this game are well-developed with their own personalities and quirks. If you've liked the previous FF games, or if you'd just like a wonderful RPG well worth anyone's time, this is for you. Enjoy it for what it is. Expand
  25. Brumbek
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    FFXII is one case where the critics get it right and the users get it very wrong. FFXII is definitely deserving of
  26. ChrisB
    Sep 28, 2009
    8
    It is a decent game and a decent final fantasy game. decent....... thats the perfect word to describe this game. hows the gameplay? its decent. hows the graphics? theyre decent. how is the storyline? its decent. how is the difficulty? its decent........ this is one of the most decent games ever made! now, i did enjoy it and it provided an enjoyable gaming experience but it stil isnt my It is a decent game and a decent final fantasy game. decent....... thats the perfect word to describe this game. hows the gameplay? its decent. hows the graphics? theyre decent. how is the storyline? its decent. how is the difficulty? its decent........ this is one of the most decent games ever made! now, i did enjoy it and it provided an enjoyable gaming experience but it stil isnt my favorite FF game. pros: the license grid system was pretty good. it reminded me of the FFX sphere grid only it was a million times easier to complete. the gameplay is innovative and different from the other games. i dont think i like it more than the other games but it was still refreshing to have a different FF experience. also the bazzar market was a fun experience. collecting loot and treasure to trade instead of just finding gil made things alot more interesting but complicated. cons: the storyline wasnt that great. it seemed to be all over he place and at some points it just gets absurdly unorganized. its not a terrible storyline, but it just did not interest me. the main problem with the story is that there are no characters to relate to. frankly there are just too many stories and too many characters to actually pick out a favorite. There really isn't one main character to focus on and so you don't get emotionally attached to any of them. mixed: the play-length is good and bad. how is this possible? well im wondering this too. i never thought i would play an RPG that is too long. even with a strategy guide, it took me over 125 hours to complete ever side quest, fight all the espers and complete all the hunts and whatnot. it was an enjoyable experience but it just went on and on and on. also the weapons was a double edged sword (no pun intended). it is nice to have complete control over a large variety of weapons but the problem is that anyone can use any weapon. this means there are no iconic weapons like clouds buster sword or wakka's blitz-ball. the music is pretty well done but not that memorable. overall: this game is a worthy effort. its not exceptional when compared to other games but it is fun and enjoyable and i guess that is the most important thing. Expand
  27. Sep 22, 2014
    8
    This really is a vegemite game; you either love it or hate it.

    The gameplay is probably the biggest argue point of the entire game. I found the Gambit system to be truly refreshing, easy to work with, versatile and fun. It allowed for so many combinations, and your Gambit setup truly does reflect your play style. That being said, many people hated it with a passion, and I can see why.
    This really is a vegemite game; you either love it or hate it.

    The gameplay is probably the biggest argue point of the entire game. I found the Gambit system to be truly refreshing, easy to work with, versatile and fun. It allowed for so many combinations, and your Gambit setup truly does reflect your play style. That being said, many people hated it with a passion, and I can see why. Yes, it had all these great points, but at times it did feel as if you were taking a back seat and just watching your characters do all the work. I do think that these people screaming 'IT'S THE WORST SYSTEM EVER IT'S SO BORING' are exaggerating and need to sit down and take a breath, however.

    The storyline is far different from the other Final Fantasy's. While I didn't like the massive amounts of text at the start and in big events, and got a bit bored with having to read paragraphs at a time all to end up skimming over it, getting confused later on, and having to Wiki what I missed, the storyline was a fairly strong one, allowing the player to be immersed in the world of Ivalice.

    Characters were a high point of the game. Vaan reminded me of Tidus a lot, and Penelo was cute and all, but where I really fell in love with the characters was with Fran and Balthier. Their relationship was better than any we see between characters in the latest FF games. I must admit, they're my OTP.

    Graphics, not much needs to be said here, they were absolutely great for a PS2 game, and even for today's standards.

    Overall, 8/10. 7/10 for gameplay, 8/10 for story, 9/10 for characters, and 9/10 for graphics. Recommend for anyone with patience and who can recognise a good game.
    Expand
  28. May 20, 2011
    8
    First things first. The story sucks, its all kings and queens and castles, urgh! it's almost as bad as FF9!! The characters are also quite poor, Balthier being the only decent one. That however is where the bad points end. The gameplay is everything that a great FF should be. A massive world to explore, to be able to go anywhere you want, LOTS of side quests, LOADS of character upgradesFirst things first. The story sucks, its all kings and queens and castles, urgh! it's almost as bad as FF9!! The characters are also quite poor, Balthier being the only decent one. That however is where the bad points end. The gameplay is everything that a great FF should be. A massive world to explore, to be able to go anywhere you want, LOTS of side quests, LOADS of character upgrades through licenses, new weapons, amour you name it. Plenty of grinding to be done, and a game that will eat up your time. In terms of gameplay, it is everything FF13 wasn't!! The battle system was fine. It was essentially the same as FF7 or FF8, but you could move around. This however did not really effect the battle at all, so its a moo point!

    If you can over look the horrible story (and I know that is an important element) and bland characters, there is a great a large enough game to make that forgivable! No FF7 or FFX, but most RPG fans will find something that captures their attention in this game
    Expand
  29. Aug 26, 2012
    10
    This is one of my favorite final fantasies, it has a rich storyline, some memorable characters (but i don´t really like Vaan, Balthier is my favorite character in the game though), the battle system is one of the best in the series, it has a good musical score, and the graphics are amazing.
  30. Sep 17, 2012
    10
    One of the most controversial Final Fantasy game (for its battle system) but (probably) the best Final Fantasy game ever made and one of the best video games for PS2.

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2006
#2 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2006
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 64
  2. Negative: 0 out of 64
  1. The story soars, but not so often. The dungeons are long and meandering. The gameplay is effective, but not engrossing. It's a staggeringly well-made game that throws more at you than any other RPG on the PS2... but well-made doesn't necessarily mean "fun."
  2. This is absolutely my favorite Final Fantasy title, a claim I probably would have laughed at two years ago when rumors about the game’s battle system began to circulate.
  3. One of those rare games that can be appreciated by both hardcore and casual fans alike, Final Fantasy XII may very well be Square's last great adventure, and a fitting sendoff, for the PlayStation 2.