User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1057 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JT
    Nov 13, 2006
    9
    This is by far the most challenging, beautiful, and entertaining and thought provoking game I have ever experienced from any RPG manufacturer. And I have been playing video games since I was 3 years old and now am 24. I am pleased to see that they have different strategies to kill monsters by using the Gambit command, by setting up the right conifg. to kill monsters even faster. With the This is by far the most challenging, beautiful, and entertaining and thought provoking game I have ever experienced from any RPG manufacturer. And I have been playing video games since I was 3 years old and now am 24. I am pleased to see that they have different strategies to kill monsters by using the Gambit command, by setting up the right conifg. to kill monsters even faster. With the old Final Fantasies, you would just go beef up your characters and get the best of everything and not use the variety of spells, and special skills (or at least I didn't) to beat up monsters. This makes it a lot more thought provoking besides mashing X on your controller all day. The use of the FFXI battle system and the way monsters can be aggro'd to you is very challenging. I never died on FF 1~10 because of always getting the opprotunity to cure after a battle. Sometimes in this you may find yourself suprised and get clobbered by a monster linking with one that you already have on you! The maps on this game are just like FFXI, you must buy them to view the area, except in this case, if you investigate some areas without a map, it will draw it for you. Very nice so you dont get lost like in Vana'diel (FFXI) if you have no clue where to purchase one. Viewing this world is very beutiful, and give your right analog stick a whirl every now and then and look at the time and thought that they put into every detail. It is worth it just for the eye candy, even if you are in a dank dungeon, or a beutiful city. Cut scenes are once again, over the top in this game and is a nice thing to see and blends in with in game engine very well. Very long cut scenes, but as usual, the best in the business of RPG's. Why I have to give this game a 9 sadly is because of no two player control. Why is there no two player control? I thought it would of been like Secret of Mana from the old SNES console where you can hack and slash your way through enemies. I loved playing that game with friends and family because it's rare to have an RPG that two people can play. There was no sense in why it couldn't be two player and very dissapointing. I figured since it was using the FFXI battle System/engine that it would be simple enough. I guess I am deeply dissapointed in this because I won't be able to play along side my father of our favorite RPG of all time. No big deal though. We will just have to resort to who beat the game the fastest and gloating, instead of teaming up! And last but not least, times change, people change, and games change. This change was for the good of this great legacy of FF that I have been playing since Nintendo. People that don't like to read and learn about how to utilize the new structure will most likely be left in the dust and get frustrated about dying all the time and quit. Well if you don't like reading and learning, this isn't the game for you. For any open minded adventurer, this is it! This game we will look back five years ago and say "now that was ground breaking." Enjoy it as much as I have for the first 3 hours! LoL! Expand
  2. SandyY.
    Dec 5, 2006
    9
    I have been playing the game for hours and it definitely looks like I am addicted . The game has great graphics and its hard to tell the cutscenes from the movies . Has an ultra-addictive battle system , beautiful chracters but I gave it a nine because it lacks in the character development department and you hardly feel connected. Still love it a lot.
  3. GregG.
    Jan 12, 2007
    9
    Very good game. The graphics in the cut-scenes and during gameplay are amazing. The battle system takes a little getting used to, but the change is refreshing. The only shortcoming of this game, to me at least, was that the voice acting did not match the images at all. But other than that, this game is great, even comparable to classics like FF7 or FFX.
  4. JackC.
    Jan 14, 2007
    9
    Stop whining about something you don't like, it won't make it better. To those who haven't tried it yet, do it. You may like it, you may not. It's an acquired taste.
  5. IsaacM
    May 15, 2008
    9
    This game isn't worth a 10 (no FF is except for FF7) but I really enjoyed the concepts explored here. The story was OK sort of a cross between Tactics and FF9 but nothing to shout out about. The character development certainly needed work, though I enjoyed not really having a main character. What seals the deal for me is the gameplay. The battle system is truly great, with the gambit This game isn't worth a 10 (no FF is except for FF7) but I really enjoyed the concepts explored here. The story was OK sort of a cross between Tactics and FF9 but nothing to shout out about. The character development certainly needed work, though I enjoyed not really having a main character. What seals the deal for me is the gameplay. The battle system is truly great, with the gambit system being awfully complex at first (I found it to be quite useful for getting rid of the grunts in the game without too much effort though) but once used to it a truly inspiring decision. This does defeat the purpose of actually PLAYING the game though. Now I played this on 'Active' mode (I have never played a Final Fantasy on 'Wait' and I don't intend starting now) so I found the battles, even with what looked like easy monsters to beat in a new area, extremely challenging (I dare all you FF fans out there to try and finish this game on Active mode to see what I mean) and the bosses were just plain cruel at times (yes I'm talking about you Bomb King and Zodiark) but as long as you set the gambits up right and build up your characters solidly it becomes truly addictive to play this game completely seamlessly without any pause in the action, though if you slip up in a boss fight you will be mercilessly destroyed. I really liked all the sidequests and have gotten thoroughly sidetracked with these. I've just beaten Yiazmat (yeesh what a painful guy he is to beat it took me 5 and a half hours on Active!!) and I've somehow managed to swallow up 118 hours!! Just got Omega Mark XII to beat and I can finish the game. All in all a very nice little addition to my FF library (7, (Dirge of Cerberus and Advent Children included), 8 (complete with PocketStation), 9, Tactics, 10, 10-2 and 12) Expand
  6. AlejandroD
    Mar 28, 2009
    9
    I do not understand all the negativity from some of the so called fans of the series. You guys probably think that Final Fantasy started with the part VII. However, this not only has that sense of old final fantasy, but it adds an extra layer of intensity and depth to it. This is truly a great game, not perfect, because it starts very slow, but after a while it is excellent!!
  7. driver01z
    Apr 17, 2009
    9
    I have enjoyed each Final Fantasy and RPGs in general. Definitely enjoyed this game. The new battle system is different, but I liked that it allows for quicker battles and more "direct" action, which can become kind of addictive in my opinion. Plenty of things to do in the game. I spent over 100 hours playing through it, and I certainly haven
  8. AJL.
    Nov 11, 2006
    9
    Amazing this game has drawn me in. I'm half way done and I can say im amazed by what I see the game is truly a masterpeice. I love everything about it including its new battlesystem. The battle system is disliked by some because it can be a difficult concept for a console gamer. the Gambit system is a set of macros which is commonly used in online games. in fact ff12 takes alot of Amazing this game has drawn me in. I'm half way done and I can say im amazed by what I see the game is truly a masterpeice. I love everything about it including its new battlesystem. The battle system is disliked by some because it can be a difficult concept for a console gamer. the Gambit system is a set of macros which is commonly used in online games. in fact ff12 takes alot of aspects from online games in effort to create a uniqe console final fantasy and not just an rpg clone. some of the main characters are not well developed and uninteresting, however thats the only flaw.everything else is exciting and enthralling. Expand
  9. AndyM.
    Nov 5, 2006
    9
    An excellent game. Improves vastly on FFX, and incorporates quite a bit of the feel of WoW. Most everything has matured. Fantastic graphics, voices, storyline. Huge boss battles. Very imaginative. And the character liberal management allows you to choose your character's strengths (6 black mages, here we come!). Character development may get overwhelming, and battles may get chaotic, An excellent game. Improves vastly on FFX, and incorporates quite a bit of the feel of WoW. Most everything has matured. Fantastic graphics, voices, storyline. Huge boss battles. Very imaginative. And the character liberal management allows you to choose your character's strengths (6 black mages, here we come!). Character development may get overwhelming, and battles may get chaotic, but overall: engrossing, addicting and one of the best RPGs ever. Expand
  10. MarcD.
    Dec 17, 2006
    9
    The much publicised new battle system can get a little messy. Battles tend to get a little out of control and it's a far cry from the overly systematic scheme of past installments. That said, the system is a breath of fresh air. It reinvigorates the series the same way that MGS resurrected the old Metal Gear series. Vagrant Story was a brilliant and daring RPG...and Square Enix had The much publicised new battle system can get a little messy. Battles tend to get a little out of control and it's a far cry from the overly systematic scheme of past installments. That said, the system is a breath of fresh air. It reinvigorates the series the same way that MGS resurrected the old Metal Gear series. Vagrant Story was a brilliant and daring RPG...and Square Enix had the common sense to bring the flavour back with it's flagship title. A great game. Together with the upcoming God of War 2...the PS2 is receiving a remarkable swansong... Expand
  11. DiogoC.
    Dec 31, 2006
    9
    The game is very cool, I love it, but it lacks the romance and the history could be better.
  12. RonR.
    Dec 30, 2006
    9
    The battle system is a little different, and the character development isn't as great as in previous installments of the series. But overall, the graphics and gameplay of Final Fantasy XII put it over the top. I would compare this game to classics like Final Fantasy VII and X.
  13. Matt
    Dec 5, 2006
    9
    Just when I thought Square Enix was going to keep on cranking out more craptacular FFVII side story games, they made this. I'm genuinely impressed that this new, and extremely long-awaited entry in the final fantasy series retains the charisma I felt when I played games like FFVII (before it was the hype monster it is today), FFIX and FFX. Good work SE, now keep it up.
  14. MikeP.
    Jan 19, 2007
    9
    I really think this is the best FF I've playd but I did have some trouble with the gambits system and the battle system but other than that it was amazing.
  15. AnonymousMC
    Aug 22, 2007
    9
    First off, I hardly have any given right to review this game, as my log is only at 8 hours. However, not my fault for this, as I had an unfortunate memory card problem. But, I recently picked it up again, and remembered why I loved it. I can not pass judgment on anything past the leviathan, but up to that point, I have loved everything about this game. It is beautiful, as all have said,First off, I hardly have any given right to review this game, as my log is only at 8 hours. However, not my fault for this, as I had an unfortunate memory card problem. But, I recently picked it up again, and remembered why I loved it. I can not pass judgment on anything past the leviathan, but up to that point, I have loved everything about this game. It is beautiful, as all have said, in graphics and sound. I have never felt so immersed in a true 3-D world in a PS2 game. I really enjoyed the Gambit and License system in this game, and battle is actually a brain test now. I also noticed that some people criticize two main things: Vaan as a lead and the story being boring. First off, Vaan is less of a lead and more of your personal ticket to the story. He was not made to be some super interesting mega-character, but rather kind of a camera man.

    As for the story, sure it is different from FF9 and FF10, but it is good in its own way. Sure, gone is the sappy love story and the vengeance. Say good-bye to the brewing love in the party. Live with it. It provides what I seem to be finding as a very complex and twisting dark, political plot of deception and hate. I think it will shape up quite well.

    My only beef with the game was the insane difficulty increases. I was quite annoyed when I could fight through 20 enemies without manually healing, yet be destroyed by a boss in a matter of minutes. That, and how hard it is even move up one level.
    Expand
  16. Sep 28, 2010
    9
    It's a bit late to write a review for this game for I'll just hop in the wagon anyway. It's simple, it's like Final Fantasy XIII, the breaks boundaries when it comes to graphics and gameplay, but snoozes on plot and characters. The score for Final Fantasy XII is easily one of the weakest in the series, but to me gamplay is the heart of all games, and Final Fantasy shines by giving us aIt's a bit late to write a review for this game for I'll just hop in the wagon anyway. It's simple, it's like Final Fantasy XIII, the breaks boundaries when it comes to graphics and gameplay, but snoozes on plot and characters. The score for Final Fantasy XII is easily one of the weakest in the series, but to me gamplay is the heart of all games, and Final Fantasy shines by giving us a similar to MMOPRG style gameplay. I just want to say that I give props to whatever game that's willing to take risk so Square Enix, good for you. Expand
  17. Jan 16, 2012
    9
    Many fans of Final Fantasy will bash this game because of its dramatically different Gambit battle system. While this is definitely unlike any Final Fantasy game you have experienced, the Gambit system really is an extremely well done battle system that even went on to inspire games like Dragon Age Origins. If you take the time to learn it you will appreciate the strategic aspects ofMany fans of Final Fantasy will bash this game because of its dramatically different Gambit battle system. While this is definitely unlike any Final Fantasy game you have experienced, the Gambit system really is an extremely well done battle system that even went on to inspire games like Dragon Age Origins. If you take the time to learn it you will appreciate the strategic aspects of planning your battle commands beforehand but in the event you really do not like the battle system, Gambits can be turned off for a more traditional Final Fantasy style of gameplay. Once Gamebits have been turned off, the battle system becomes Final Fantasy except with a controllable character and seamless battles, both of which are enormous improvements to the game. I fear many people have dismissed this game far too early, and if they had taken the time to appreciate the mechanics of the game they would have been able to experience one of the most intricate stories and deep characters ever created in a Final Fantasy game. Expand
  18. Nov 5, 2010
    9
    The JRPG market has been dead and foul-smelling for a long time. Growing up in the 90's I first got my taste of their rpg's back when it was a fresh concept, with Final Fantasy IV and Phantasy Star I being my first, but it's a sad thing to see that their combat mechanics have changed in the way that evolution changes organisms...extremely freakin slow. In that time I've slogged throughThe JRPG market has been dead and foul-smelling for a long time. Growing up in the 90's I first got my taste of their rpg's back when it was a fresh concept, with Final Fantasy IV and Phantasy Star I being my first, but it's a sad thing to see that their combat mechanics have changed in the way that evolution changes organisms...extremely freakin slow. In that time I've slogged through FF VI, VII, VIII, IX, X, and XI and with each new addition, I've felt the same way about their new "changed mechanics" for their combat: It still sucks. I don't know if the developers had a hair up their ass this time, but whatever the case XII is a refreshing new look at this series. First for me is that the combat was actually fun and strategic, as well as engaging. The ability to program your characters routines, via the Gambit System, is an excellent addition to help alleviate the grinding that inevitably dawns on a JRPG, but is still flexible enough to allow you to take control of your characters at any moment. Options is the key, as options can be taken or left depending on your tastes. So you don't have to use the Gambits if you don't want to, but it will always be accessible if you change your mind. This is good. Many people seem to hate the characters, and I do agree Vaan is pretty annoying at times, but in XII the main characters are less obvious. You play through the view point of Vaan, but you'll quickly learn that two of the other characters that join you are the true protagonists of the story. This didn't bother me one bit, and I found the characters to be really different from previous Final Fantasies, and although Penelo seems kind of a throw back, most of the characters are very human and believable. The story is very in-depth and more of one about nations vying for power, politics, and grey areas for motivations, which are all elements that I love. The pacing is pretty fast at times, although there are moments where it does lag and lose focus, but I think it servers as a good moment to side quest to break up the constant advance of the story. These side quests are obviously optional, so you could just rush through the story as quickly as possible, but I wouldn't recommend it. FF XII is as close to a sandbox as you're gonna get for a JRPG, and I really appreciated their attempt to not conform to typical JRPG standards. This is probably the most western approach they've taken that I can recall. One of the things that makes this game shine is the voice over's, which are amazing when compared to pretty much anything. The quality of the voices and the accents are interesting (I can never get enough of Fran's accent) and it makes you look forward to those moments when the characters speak. I can't say the same about the music, however. It isn't bad, but it isn't the best of the series, and sometimes I don't even notice it's there. Overall if you are interested in a non-linear JRPG, with open exploration, great combat mechanics, an interesting and highly political story, and a mostly memorable (if somewhat small) main cast, then this will make you smile. It did for me and renewed my interest in a decrepit and ailing series. (Insert obligatory Final Fantasy XIII jab here) Expand
  19. Jan 6, 2011
    9
    Im not going to lie here, the gameplay itself is ok, but the game is more passive due to all the gambits. If you wanted to lvl up in the game and you have enough gambits you can basiclly just go to one map and leave the room because the gambits will do all the work for you. Also, the way they have you moving from one end of the map all the way to the other is kind of annoying. I liked theIm not going to lie here, the gameplay itself is ok, but the game is more passive due to all the gambits. If you wanted to lvl up in the game and you have enough gambits you can basiclly just go to one map and leave the room because the gambits will do all the work for you. Also, the way they have you moving from one end of the map all the way to the other is kind of annoying. I liked the storyline to the game even though it follows Vaan and Bashe. I like the game mainly because you also need skill to play and not just a very high lvl, i like games when i can go up against a boss that is like 10 or 15 lvls higher than me because makes the game more difficult. In this game you dont need to lvl up to go to certain areas and live, also the new way to flee from a battle is ok, i always hated FFVII because when i was trying to get to a save spot I would run into like 50 battles at least Expand
  20. May 18, 2011
    9
    This game pretty much did everything right. Amazing story(older audience), endearing characters, for it's time good graphics, amazing battle system (FFXI style) and great open world experience. Now, the only reason I didn't give this game a 10 is more due to a personal preference and that's the language. They speak in the old shakespearean dialect which i never took time to learn so IThis game pretty much did everything right. Amazing story(older audience), endearing characters, for it's time good graphics, amazing battle system (FFXI style) and great open world experience. Now, the only reason I didn't give this game a 10 is more due to a personal preference and that's the language. They speak in the old shakespearean dialect which i never took time to learn so I missed some parts. Aside from that this was a great game with an insane amount of side content. Expand
  21. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    The gambit system is the best KI system to date. You can tell your characters exactly what and when they should do something. The battle system by itself is also very good having a nice tempo and style to it. The world is bigger than in previous ff´s and beautiful. The OST backs the atmosphere of the game having some really nice tracks in it. Easily best RPG in the PS 2 Era.
  22. Jul 21, 2011
    9
    Pretty sweet game. So much to do, awesome battle system. Interesting characters (some are annoying but most are great). One of my faves for Playstation 2
  23. Jun 25, 2013
    9
    The first six hours were a bit of a trudge; to begin with it didn't "feel" like (previous) Final Fantasy but once I got used to the mechanics FFXII really grew on me, possibly due to the innumerable similarities to Star Wars or the fact that it resembles western RPG "dungeon crawlers" in places (the influence on the Dragon Age games is huge). Characters are a bit flat thus excluding anyThe first six hours were a bit of a trudge; to begin with it didn't "feel" like (previous) Final Fantasy but once I got used to the mechanics FFXII really grew on me, possibly due to the innumerable similarities to Star Wars or the fact that it resembles western RPG "dungeon crawlers" in places (the influence on the Dragon Age games is huge). Characters are a bit flat thus excluding any sufficient emotional engagement to them (or the story), but not so it prevented me from enjoying either. The politicking, scheming and manoeuvring amongst the antagonists was well done. Impressive visual design, a common criticism is the lack of a Nobuo Uematsu score; which is noticeable at first, though Hitoshi Sakimoto's music fits the game perfectly and certainly grew on me enough that I had to buy the soundtrack. Gameplay can get repetitive in places and the new battle system negates any sort of strategy (the free camera is also an annoyance in confined areas) but the game is well worth playing through to the satisfying (and spectacular) finalé. Expand
  24. Sep 3, 2011
    9
    FFXII is a step in the right direction. Its the most dynamic Final Fantasy to date, which can make it good or bad depending on how you play it. If you have to do alot of grinding then you are not using all of the tools available correctly.
  25. Feb 20, 2012
    9
    When all is said and done with the Final Fantasy franchise, I won't be surprised if VII and XII still stand out to me as the games that completely consumed me while I was playing them. Granted, it took me a couple tries to establish any momentum with this game (but that's fairly common for me). Once I did, I fell in love with the gambit system. It has become the measuring stick by which IWhen all is said and done with the Final Fantasy franchise, I won't be surprised if VII and XII still stand out to me as the games that completely consumed me while I was playing them. Granted, it took me a couple tries to establish any momentum with this game (but that's fairly common for me). Once I did, I fell in love with the gambit system. It has become the measuring stick by which I judge every combat mechanic in a game that goes beyond needing a single player and single character to accomplish everything. I wish ever MMO I played let me set up a FF12-like gambit system for as many characters as I need to fill out a party or raid. Any game that does....just reminds me how much I loved FF12. I finished all but the last hunt (as I could only stomach one four-hour attempt, only to have it end when a rez didn't happen quickly enough while the guy was one-shotting the group), which is more effort I've put into a non-MMO since FF7. Near perfection, this game's only shortcoming, from my perspective, is the vacuous story that was heavy on pageantry and light on having a point. Expand
  26. Dec 26, 2013
    9
    I really enjoyed this one! Final Fantasy XII has a great political fantasy story. The story stays compelling and interesting and it doesn't fall on it's self. Diverse cast of characters and they are all memorable. Also the character development is great. Licenceboard system is great and new gameplay is very deep. Every RPG fun should check this out.
  27. Nov 2, 2014
    9
    For a Final Fantasy game, it's not great. Don't get me wrong, it was a pretty good game, but not FF VI or VII quality. I started to question the series when XI came out. I'm not a big fan of MMORPG's and when I looked at the combat in this game, and saw how similar it looked to XI, I was hesitant to get it. But I got it because of my inner fanboy. The gameplay worked out well in the end,For a Final Fantasy game, it's not great. Don't get me wrong, it was a pretty good game, but not FF VI or VII quality. I started to question the series when XI came out. I'm not a big fan of MMORPG's and when I looked at the combat in this game, and saw how similar it looked to XI, I was hesitant to get it. But I got it because of my inner fanboy. The gameplay worked out well in the end, although it's not the most engaging for me. The story took a lot of ideas from Star Wars making this game pretty unoriginal. Although, the environments, and the lengthy gameplay made up for some of its flaws. One of my biggest complaints though, would have to be the main character. Like many people have said, he's pretty much pointless to the story and you can finish the game without even leveling him up after getting more party members. But again, a lot of its strong points make up for these flaws in the game. If you're looking for a game to start the FF series with, don't start with this. But, if you are already familiar with the series, then give this a try. 9/10 Expand
  28. Jan 1, 2014
    9
    Games in the series FF are my favorite. I burn with love for Final Fantasy VIII, but XII is also great! Games differ radically: Final Fantasy XII has new characters, story, combat system, open and different world, and of course the graphics and music. Twelfth part series leading Square Enix uses all the possibilities PS2 and more! Rendered animations are just beautiful, moreover, the sameGames in the series FF are my favorite. I burn with love for Final Fantasy VIII, but XII is also great! Games differ radically: Final Fantasy XII has new characters, story, combat system, open and different world, and of course the graphics and music. Twelfth part series leading Square Enix uses all the possibilities PS2 and more! Rendered animations are just beautiful, moreover, the same goes for textures. The characters are designed with the idea and I curiously followed their fate. The new combat system was difficult for me to get used to but I managed, and finally I really liked.It is very different from that of the eighth part of the FF but I really liked him. I believe that the game 100 percent deserved 10/10 from PlayStation magazine. I hope you enjoy it too Expand
  29. Sep 10, 2013
    9
    I'm gonna be blunt since this game has been out for a long time, I've played it twice at its release and I've played through it again and I can only say this game is amazing. Not only is the battle system progressive, it even lets you choose how your AI functions (it's still better than FFXIII's). The story is deep and even though the characters aren't that profound (according to some),I'm gonna be blunt since this game has been out for a long time, I've played it twice at its release and I've played through it again and I can only say this game is amazing. Not only is the battle system progressive, it even lets you choose how your AI functions (it's still better than FFXIII's). The story is deep and even though the characters aren't that profound (according to some), you never wonder why the hell they're there instead of just leaving. This game really is an improvement for the Final Fantasy series and I seriously can't help but wonder why there are so many haters. I can see alot of fans are disappointed because there's no cliche romance in this chapter of the series but there's absolutely no need for one. Crying over spilt milk is what all the babies are doing, grown ups LOVE Final Fantasy XII Expand
  30. Ogr
    Jun 28, 2014
    9
    To make it short: FFXII is a great game and in my opinion better than FFX, critics show that they are equal but many fans seem to be disappointed by FFXII... I think it's because the usual Final Fantasy Fan wants a love story and doesn't like a more free to explore world and a political based story, FFXII is more adult than FFX.

    FFXII has the better combat system, tons of stuff to do
    To make it short: FFXII is a great game and in my opinion better than FFX, critics show that they are equal but many fans seem to be disappointed by FFXII... I think it's because the usual Final Fantasy Fan wants a love story and doesn't like a more free to explore world and a political based story, FFXII is more adult than FFX.

    FFXII has the better combat system, tons of stuff to do and explore, a great looking world and a nice (not great) story with no real main character... what I actually like.
    Expand
  31. Nov 13, 2013
    9
    A near masterpiece that will enthral you in it's countless moments of magnificence. Aside from the slow start (which might have trended certain people away from the game's true beauty), the game deserves all the praises it gets, as once you pass those sluggish hours, you'll find yourself spending countless, unregrettable hours in the endless, outstanding world of Final Fantasy XII.
  32. Nov 26, 2013
    9
    On the subject of the game play only, FF-XII introduces a new type of battle mechanic unique to the Final Fantasy games. It gives an air of pseudo-real time combat which strays from Final Fantasy's traditional turn-based actions. Its innovative and adds to the level of immersion because it deliberately demands one's attention. The player technically only ever controls one of the threeOn the subject of the game play only, FF-XII introduces a new type of battle mechanic unique to the Final Fantasy games. It gives an air of pseudo-real time combat which strays from Final Fantasy's traditional turn-based actions. Its innovative and adds to the level of immersion because it deliberately demands one's attention. The player technically only ever controls one of the three characters at a time, as the other two are governed by AI and a new system called "Gambits" which are basically a set of instructions and priorities programmed by the player for the character AIs to follow. This allows the player to essentially control their entire team at once while being in an pseudo-real time battle. Understanding the functionality of gambits will consume time, as it requires experimentation and strategy. Players will need carefully crafted gambits to tackle the most difficult of bosses. Expand
  33. Sep 14, 2014
    9
    Epico e grandioso, com uma grande historia , jogabilidade e suas sideguest o jogo o prende por horas sem vc nem ao menos perceber. Mas um grande Final Fantasy da Square.
  34. May 27, 2015
    9
    This was my 1st Final Fantasy Game and my first impressions of it were not good let me tell ya. I used to hate this game I wanted to throw it out the window but for some reason I didn't.

    ~ Story ~ The story starts off with Reks who in my opinion would have made a better protagonist than Vaan but lets move on. After doing Roxas's Story I mean Reks Story you move on to Sora's Story I
    This was my 1st Final Fantasy Game and my first impressions of it were not good let me tell ya. I used to hate this game I wanted to throw it out the window but for some reason I didn't.

    ~ Story ~

    The story starts off with Reks who in my opinion would have made a better protagonist than Vaan but lets move on. After doing Roxas's Story I mean Reks Story you move on to Sora's Story I mean Vaan's Story. It starts off like this Vaan kills some rats than he goes on a hunting quest to kill a tomato so he can make tomato soup than he goes to Giza Plains to make a sunstone because the game wants to kill time. After that Vaan decides to go steal from the Castle Treasury because he read too many Sly Cooper Comics everything goes accordingly until he runs into Fran & Balthier and from there Vaan's long adventure begins.

    In all seriousness the story is actually political and war like and I love that. I also love the dialogue in this game even if there isn't enough of it. Overall decent story.

    ~ Characters ~

    Vaan - he wants revenge against the empire that stole his home of Dalmasca and his brother Reks. I consider Vaan a team player even if others don't. Vaan's outfit sucks I have no idea what Tetsuya Nomura was thinking.

    Penelo - has no role in this story other than to watch over Vaan she really has no purpose in this story whatsoever and I don't consider her a team player.

    Ashelia B'nargin Dalmasca - She seeks peace yet also looms towards revenge she seeks to fight yet questions the methods for which she should do so she is a very interesting character and I wish she had more dialogue.

    Basch Fon Rosenberg - A Fugitive seeking to atone for crimes he didn't commit. Freedom has blessed him with a chance to redeem himself and to free Dalmasca of Archadian Rule.

    Balthier - The best character in this game and the guy Vaan aspires to become in the future.

    Fran - She needs way more dialogue time. And her ears are just weird.

    ~ Sound ~

    Not the best music ever but I did enjoy Soundtrack moderately. Some of the songs in the game now give me huge nostalgia and I like them more than I did when I 1st started playing this game.

    ~ Graphics ~

    If only you were here you would hear me whistling to the masterpiece of FFXII's Graphics. My only issue is the attack & magic animations look kind of lame sometimes.

    ~ Gameplay ~

    Waiting For An Attack - This was why I hated this game. You have to wait for a bar to load to attack? What kind of stupid **** is this?[In my head]. The characters have no abilities at all you only have Attack Techniks and various Magic Spells. Enemies all have different abilities and magic attacks what do you have? Oh you only have Attack useless Techniks & Magic wow. The game does get better and alot more fun as you move along since the bar loads way faster and you get Haste which speeds it up even more.

    Mist Quickening - This is basically your trump card if your about to die or you just want to beat a boss quickly. But it takes away all your MP and you have to continuously press R2 and then press 1 of either Triangle Square Circle or X Buttons to do it right, you miss and all your MP is gone no take backs or do overs and if you need to heal your party your pretty much screwed unless you brought enough potions.

    License Board - I love the License Board why? Because it looks so cool I feel like I'm playing a game inside a game when I use it. To gain the use of weapons armor magic techniks quickenings or summons you get in the game you need to get the License for it in the License Board through the use of LP[License Points] you'll get License Points from defeating monsters. The License Board can restrict things sometimes but I still think its fun to use and its not hard to get LP.

    Gambits - Gambits are basically auto commands you set up in the main menu such as - Attack Nearby Enemies or When Poisoned - Use Antidote they come in useful for some situations like when your fighting a boss and you don't feel like using an Antidote while your fighting set up a Gambit for Balthier to use an antidote on you so you don't have to. There's alot of Gambits, you'll either find some or buy some.

    Overall - The Gameplay is fun even if waiting for a bar to load to attack sounds stupid and retarded it is fun.

    ~ In The End ~

    In the beginning I considered FFXII to be the worst game I ever played and I wished to throw into the deepest depths of fiery hell and watch it burn in the fire but after 3 years of trying to beat this stupid game the FFXII Strategy Guide my friend gave me and me beating the game again twice enjoying it alot more than the 1st time I have to say this is 1 of my favorite PS2 Games and I love it alot and I hope others will love it as well
    Expand
  35. DanielG.
    Jan 1, 2007
    8
    FFXII is a pleasant surprise, though in my opinion it's not as good as VII or VIII. The pros; true epic FF storyline, excellent graphics for the PS2, long life for a classic FF experience. The cons; crap battle system, if i want to play an MMO I'll waste my money on WoW or Guild Wars but FF should not be hack 'n' slash, easy to cheat in terms of HP, there's magic FFXII is a pleasant surprise, though in my opinion it's not as good as VII or VIII. The pros; true epic FF storyline, excellent graphics for the PS2, long life for a classic FF experience. The cons; crap battle system, if i want to play an MMO I'll waste my money on WoW or Guild Wars but FF should not be hack 'n' slash, easy to cheat in terms of HP, there's magic that doubles your Max HP until you die, which to me is like removing the point of gaining levels, true FFVIII features similarities with the Junction system, but that was necessary to reach 9999HP at Lv. 100. Anyway no matter what's wrong with it, it's a good FF far better than all previous PS2 attempts (lest we forget the dire X and X-2) and XI which was a crappy MMO, I'd say it definitely deserves a place on the game shelf/pile but let's see if SE can truly redeem themselves on the Next Gen consoles. Expand
  36. AnonymousMC
    May 21, 2006
    8
    Its a very enjoyable game, colorfull and imaginetive as final fantasy games always, the reel time combat system is prety good but also very slow and lags the tactical aspects of previus games in the series. oh and of course its very text heavy so wait for the US version unless u can understand japenese.
  37. AndrewC.
    Jan 10, 2007
    8
    First off, I'd like to state something. I'm a huge Final Fantasy fan, especially for VI-X. The epic stories and great gameplay have always pulled me in very well. I also love it when developers mix up their series a bit. I admire that Square Enix is bold enough to do drastic new things in Final Fantasy XII. The problem is that it just isn't executed perfectly. The character First off, I'd like to state something. I'm a huge Final Fantasy fan, especially for VI-X. The epic stories and great gameplay have always pulled me in very well. I also love it when developers mix up their series a bit. I admire that Square Enix is bold enough to do drastic new things in Final Fantasy XII. The problem is that it just isn't executed perfectly. The character building takes too long to get into, and the gambit system is really tough to learn. Also, many of the environments are expansive and empty, aside from all the enemies. The graphics are artistic and interesting, but nothing all too special, which is a shocker when it comes to Final Fantasy. But most of all, it's just really hard to get in to. There's too many tough enemies, and it's too hard to get a hold of new equipment. Some serious tweaking and more direction to the player would have been nice. Really, though, Final Fantasy XII is still good. It just could have, and should have, been better. Expand
  38. TesserianN.
    Oct 9, 2008
    8
    It's been a year- still a great story- I still love going to Rabanastre, out into the vast deserts- THAT is still the main charm, of being in a magical desert city surrounded by vast spaces to explore. Musical still gret- gameplay: Battle system excellent- but way too mych reptitititition...I really get to feeling sorry for the hundreds and hundreds of wolves I had to kill. But, yes, It's been a year- still a great story- I still love going to Rabanastre, out into the vast deserts- THAT is still the main charm, of being in a magical desert city surrounded by vast spaces to explore. Musical still gret- gameplay: Battle system excellent- but way too mych reptitititition...I really get to feeling sorry for the hundreds and hundreds of wolves I had to kill. But, yes, please make us another large scale epic game featuring Ivalice. Expand
  39. MikeG.
    Jul 17, 2007
    8
    Let me tell you, contrary to what Mr 'Avery' says, the story is utter bilge, and in itself barely 'semi-literate'. The transparent pseudo-intellect of certain characters is particularly annoying, forced and unrealistic, and knowledge of the 'English language' (and in particular articles of LITERATURE) will only show the player how far videogames have to go Let me tell you, contrary to what Mr 'Avery' says, the story is utter bilge, and in itself barely 'semi-literate'. The transparent pseudo-intellect of certain characters is particularly annoying, forced and unrealistic, and knowledge of the 'English language' (and in particular articles of LITERATURE) will only show the player how far videogames have to go before they even approximate the quality of plot to be found in the average fairly well-written book. That said, the game is engrossing. It retains the same addictive gameplay and high production values that characterise the series, and the battle system, though initially tedious, eventually becomes second-nature. The graphics are technically excellent but not as artistically inspired as titles such as Okami, Ico and Shadow of the Colossus, the PS2's artistic flagbearers. Overall the game is good but I'm starting to wonder if they'll ever come remotely close to topping VII or VIII. Expand
  40. DemonC.
    Apr 15, 2008
    8
    Good game with very nice visuals, and a great musical score. Battle system is nicely done, I prefer the old school turn based battle system though. Side quests, especially the hunts get tedious with the time, no real variety. Also prepare for long travels on foot. All in all still a very good RPG.
  41. AlexM.
    Jul 27, 2008
    8
    Okay, I just got home happy and thinking "Oh wow, Final Fantasy XII, the best thing I'd bought an entire year!" Then I locked myself to my room and the hell was loose. First couple hours were just enjoyable; I've just witnessed kingslaughret, everytime-better-getting-CGIs, met the main characters, getting introduced to promising good story, met interesting side-characters (Old Okay, I just got home happy and thinking "Oh wow, Final Fantasy XII, the best thing I'd bought an entire year!" Then I locked myself to my room and the hell was loose. First couple hours were just enjoyable; I've just witnessed kingslaughret, everytime-better-getting-CGIs, met the main characters, getting introduced to promising good story, met interesting side-characters (Old Dalan, Migelo etc.) and so on. At that point of game I just thought "OMG this game is going to b the best forever!". Then I started the mob hunts, which made me feel like "Oh dear lord, can this game get any better?" Since the gambits weren't really hard to get in for me, I was sure that the game couldn't get any better. I was right. It got WORSE. At first I barely noticed it, but the story started to break up a little. What happened to all those side characters that I got introduced with nearly the whole beginning of the game? Why the heroes began to act like they were in a bad karate movie? (Someone talks an hour, then we go to somewhere, there we either fight like maniacs which isn't bad of course, or just run from one corner to another of place and do a mission or two) Seriously, I was really conserning that Final Fantasy makers had actually made A POOR STORY. I played through the Phoan Coast, Salikawood, Jagds, multiple caverns, and IN NONE OF THEM nearly any kind of character developement did occur. I realized how hollow the plot actually was. Then I got to the Archades where the plot started to get on and move at GOOD rate. Draklor laboratories, the Pharos Cataphract, Bahamut... they all were nice places. Both by gameplay and story, which finally started to get together again. But then the game was just finished. I just flinched and all by surprise taken out the final boss. I was certainly happy, and then later tried to remember what happened in the game. Oddly, I didn't remember much anything; only everything that resolved around the Empire; the Judges, Vossler, Leviathan, Bahamut (a.k.a the Death Star rip-off). I noticed that the game didn't offer me nearly any kind of memories of it, which was shame, the game was still pretty good and I was still working on mob hunts which even these days keep me entertained. So, enough chit-chatting then. Time to sum all that nonsense together: My review: + Gameplay -it's like playing Kingdom Hearts, but it's still good + Sidequests - there're PLENTY times PLENTY of them and I have done a little over half of them... in 25 hours!! They keep you really entertained for a long period. + Graphics -were there any doubt of it? + Monsters -there were a lot of them and plenty of variety too and were all unique in a way or another + Story (periodically) -it actually had some addictive moments in the start and the end + Leveling Up- system -many can oppose this, but to me it was pretty simple and from Squenix a good try to test something new - Story (more peridiocally) -overall, it didn't make me feel anthing. It was so hollow that I wondered if I could transfer the story from another FF (X for instance) and keep the rest, then we'd have a good game - Character developement - seriously, after the start of the game ends and the story starts really going, nothing happens here. Just some "Basch is not a traitor" going on forever and that's that. I really was disappointed here, it could've been far better. - Environments -yeah, they are large, but normally just annoingly large grassy plain or dungeon. Luckily the monster variety is a bit larger. Sorry for a long talk, it's just my way to do it! Expand
  42. JonathanL.
    Jul 8, 2008
    8
    A beautiful game with the great usual Final Fantasy audio touch and a great cast of characters all pulling the weight of a terrible combat system and unorthodox storyline. Final Fantasy 12 may have the very basic elements of a Final Fantasy, but the story gameplay is sub-par. Not only lacks an incentive to beat the game but lacks a fun factor as well.
  43. hehemehe
    Jun 14, 2007
    8
    While i gave it an 8... tahts low for a ff game in my opinion [other than 2.. thats like a 3rating] but yea... the story.. its interesting but WAY overhyped. the combat feels very very smooth at times.. and then other times it just feels cluttred and you don't know what the hell is going on. i found the gameplay to be very opinionated on how people like it.. the lisence board is the While i gave it an 8... tahts low for a ff game in my opinion [other than 2.. thats like a 3rating] but yea... the story.. its interesting but WAY overhyped. the combat feels very very smooth at times.. and then other times it just feels cluttred and you don't know what the hell is going on. i found the gameplay to be very opinionated on how people like it.. the lisence board is the dumbest thing ever.. i enjoyed the sphere grid in ff10 the most... the gambit system i didn't like because then your just controlling your party leader for the most part. the graphics are the physically best the ps2 can handle so thats great. the voice acting, while it is AMAZZZZING.. gets annoying because the game tries to make the characters sound more serious/smarter in very dumb cliche situations [balthier in paticular you will hate if you dislike bad smartass'ing that talk smart] overall.. through all these negatives. it was still really fun. its just that i just was hoping with my hopes sky high that they would release something like 10.. ya know.. ff on the ps2 should die with a bang... not a experiment. Expand
  44. ChrisB
    Sep 28, 2009
    8
    It is a decent game and a decent final fantasy game. decent....... thats the perfect word to describe this game. hows the gameplay? its decent. hows the graphics? theyre decent. how is the storyline? its decent. how is the difficulty? its decent........ this is one of the most decent games ever made! now, i did enjoy it and it provided an enjoyable gaming experience but it stil isnt my It is a decent game and a decent final fantasy game. decent....... thats the perfect word to describe this game. hows the gameplay? its decent. hows the graphics? theyre decent. how is the storyline? its decent. how is the difficulty? its decent........ this is one of the most decent games ever made! now, i did enjoy it and it provided an enjoyable gaming experience but it stil isnt my favorite FF game. pros: the license grid system was pretty good. it reminded me of the FFX sphere grid only it was a million times easier to complete. the gameplay is innovative and different from the other games. i dont think i like it more than the other games but it was still refreshing to have a different FF experience. also the bazzar market was a fun experience. collecting loot and treasure to trade instead of just finding gil made things alot more interesting but complicated. cons: the storyline wasnt that great. it seemed to be all over he place and at some points it just gets absurdly unorganized. its not a terrible storyline, but it just did not interest me. the main problem with the story is that there are no characters to relate to. frankly there are just too many stories and too many characters to actually pick out a favorite. There really isn't one main character to focus on and so you don't get emotionally attached to any of them. mixed: the play-length is good and bad. how is this possible? well im wondering this too. i never thought i would play an RPG that is too long. even with a strategy guide, it took me over 125 hours to complete ever side quest, fight all the espers and complete all the hunts and whatnot. it was an enjoyable experience but it just went on and on and on. also the weapons was a double edged sword (no pun intended). it is nice to have complete control over a large variety of weapons but the problem is that anyone can use any weapon. this means there are no iconic weapons like clouds buster sword or wakka's blitz-ball. the music is pretty well done but not that memorable. overall: this game is a worthy effort. its not exceptional when compared to other games but it is fun and enjoyable and i guess that is the most important thing. Expand
  45. Sep 22, 2010
    8
    All of it's elements combined Final Fantasy XII had the potential to be an amazing game, just like those before it, and from a gameplay perspective it is a worthy title. It makes some great changes to the standard role playing combat system that just plain work and leave you wondering why it hasn't been done before. Considering the gameplay combined with the visuals FF XII is one of theAll of it's elements combined Final Fantasy XII had the potential to be an amazing game, just like those before it, and from a gameplay perspective it is a worthy title. It makes some great changes to the standard role playing combat system that just plain work and leave you wondering why it hasn't been done before. Considering the gameplay combined with the visuals FF XII is one of the greatest games you could pick up for the PS2. However unlike the series titles before it FF XII doesn't have a story or characters of nearly equal quality and in the end it's only the lack of story and poorly developed characters that hold this title back from being as good as the Final Fantasy games that created the hordes of fans the series enjoys. If you play this game looking for an epic story with great characters it pains me to say that you will be extremely disappointed. However if your looking for a game that you can play for hours on end and not necessarily be sick of by the seventy hour mark you'll find that Final Fantasy XII certainly delivers. Expand
  46. Mar 9, 2011
    8
    A beautiful, engrossing experience, and a downright fun game to play. While the character development is somewhat lacking and the voice acting is spotty, at best, the game's strengths more than make up for its weaknesses. The combat system is crisp and fulfilling. While you only control one character at the time, you can easily hop between characters to insert a necessary command,A beautiful, engrossing experience, and a downright fun game to play. While the character development is somewhat lacking and the voice acting is spotty, at best, the game's strengths more than make up for its weaknesses. The combat system is crisp and fulfilling. While you only control one character at the time, you can easily hop between characters to insert a necessary command, although the extensive "Gambit" system allows you to customize the actions of your non-controlled party members with such specificity that you usually won't have to. The special move system is also interesting, although a little too random and costly, in my opinion. Using up your entire party's MP on a chain of moves that might not work out in the end can be really annoying. Also, summons weren't all that effective, and didn't seem to play too important a role in the game. Generally, though, the difficulty always seems to be just right, which makes for a challenging RPG that isn't frustrating. The world is massive, varied and intricately detailed. Unlike many RPGs that have come since, you will never encounter a recycled environment or cookie-cutter dungeon. Additionally, enemy designs are interesting and fairly varied.

    There are side quests to be had, though none as fulfilling as those from FFVI, VII, IX and X. The side quests are essentially a series of "Hunts," where you go to various places in the world to kill a particular monster. There isn't much depth to many of them, though they can be very challenging. Fans of past FF games will be slightly disappointed with the fairly limited number of end-game, open-world options.

    The experience and leveling system is also interesting, unique and rewarding. It is sort of a combination of Final Fantasy Tactics and Final Fantasy X. You have your standard leveling, which increases all your standard stats, but you also accrue points which you can spend to purchase abilities from a skill grid that is far less linear than FFX's sphere grid. As you work your way to edges of the grid, abilities become more expensive and more powerful. Unlocking the grid is rewarding and interesting.

    Overall, a great game with a few flaws. Definitely a fulfilling way to spend 45+ hours of your life.



    Overall, this is a great game.
    Expand
  47. Mar 1, 2012
    8
    One of the best directions this series went. Final fantasy XII has what i consider the most enjoyable combat/gameplay/freedom of the entire series by a insurmountable margin. The European shades and character designs clash perfectly with the hint of japanese that peeks out. If my viewpoint had weight, I would suggest they keep this as the next gen look/feel. The world feels grounded andOne of the best directions this series went. Final fantasy XII has what i consider the most enjoyable combat/gameplay/freedom of the entire series by a insurmountable margin. The European shades and character designs clash perfectly with the hint of japanese that peeks out. If my viewpoint had weight, I would suggest they keep this as the next gen look/feel. The world feels grounded and makes the magical have a context - instead of making everything over-the-top and never having the power of that transition between the two. Basically, this game does everything so much better than other final fantasy games except one super important thing - the story itself. It's a little lacking, and the connection to the characters is a little less significant throughout the coarse of the game. World - 10/10 Gameplay - 9/10 - Story - 7/10 Expand
  48. Oct 14, 2011
    8
    I thought the battle system was awkward, but this is a pretty solid game. I used to play Final Fantasy XI, and honestly - Final Fantasy XII is what Final Fantasy XI should have been. I can go out and fight whenever I want, without having to seek help for a few hours. It would be fun if Square made an online game where you control a party, not a single character. I think that's where theyI thought the battle system was awkward, but this is a pretty solid game. I used to play Final Fantasy XI, and honestly - Final Fantasy XII is what Final Fantasy XI should have been. I can go out and fight whenever I want, without having to seek help for a few hours. It would be fun if Square made an online game where you control a party, not a single character. I think that's where they went wrong in their online games. Could you imagine playing any Final Fantasy, just with a 1 character party? Exactly. Onto the review. The battle system lets you basically program how your characters are to act. The skill grid is great, if you invest enough time into the game each character can obtain all the skills, except for the summons, which are one per character. They let you build your characters however you see fit. If you liked Final Fantasy XI , this is like playing that, except single player, no subscription fees, and straight out more fun. The story left me confused though, I wasn't sure exactly what I was fighting for. Still a solid score, however. Expand
  49. May 20, 2011
    8
    First things first. The story sucks, its all kings and queens and castles, urgh! it's almost as bad as FF9!! The characters are also quite poor, Balthier being the only decent one. That however is where the bad points end. The gameplay is everything that a great FF should be. A massive world to explore, to be able to go anywhere you want, LOTS of side quests, LOADS of character upgradesFirst things first. The story sucks, its all kings and queens and castles, urgh! it's almost as bad as FF9!! The characters are also quite poor, Balthier being the only decent one. That however is where the bad points end. The gameplay is everything that a great FF should be. A massive world to explore, to be able to go anywhere you want, LOTS of side quests, LOADS of character upgrades through licenses, new weapons, amour you name it. Plenty of grinding to be done, and a game that will eat up your time. In terms of gameplay, it is everything FF13 wasn't!! The battle system was fine. It was essentially the same as FF7 or FF8, but you could move around. This however did not really effect the battle at all, so its a moo point!

    If you can over look the horrible story (and I know that is an important element) and bland characters, there is a great a large enough game to make that forgivable! No FF7 or FFX, but most RPG fans will find something that captures their attention in this game
    Expand
  50. dz9
    Jul 27, 2011
    8
    I'm going to start my review with the checklist that each RPG game, and Final Fantasy games in particular have to pass. Great cast of characters, immersive world, engaging story, strategic combat, and a good open feeling (but in FF's case, an open yet linear guidance) with presentation. Characters- This is one of the only FF games where I can say I liked every cast member, most FF gamesI'm going to start my review with the checklist that each RPG game, and Final Fantasy games in particular have to pass. Great cast of characters, immersive world, engaging story, strategic combat, and a good open feeling (but in FF's case, an open yet linear guidance) with presentation. Characters- This is one of the only FF games where I can say I liked every cast member, most FF games only produce 2-4 good characters whereas FF13 only produced one...but this game everyone added their own twist to the story. However, there was one character who fell flat as compared to the others, and sad to say, in this one, it was the main character Vaan. His role in the story is rather irrelevant, especially when you compare him to characters like Cloud, Tidus, and Zidane. Don't get me wrong, his voice actor was great, and he is favorable, but as the main character, he went a little limp. Immersive world- the world of Ivalice is great, maybe not as gorgeous as some of the environments in FF10, but Ivalice is definitely a win. As far as the engaging story...well... this may be up to opinion. Whereas most FF stories are completely "out of this world," and the main characters are chosen to save the realm from one great villain, this FF title focuses more on a "down to earth" approach, for example: most plot points are more politically based with a slight mix of fantasy, whereas its usually the other way around. This may be a killer to hardcore fans, and don't get me wrong, in its essence, it's still not the greatest story Square could've came up with, but it still is deep and engaging with only a few pacing problems. Combat- the combat in the game may also be a killer to hardcore fans because of the lack of the traditional turn base combat. But in its core, it still is turn based, and the new look and feel is exactly what FF needed. However, the gambit system in the game could use some work, gambits range from malfunctioning, annoying, or too easy. Also not at its best is the license board. The license board is basically the sphere grid but with way more freedom to level up as you please. Which sounds good, but without the strategy guide, you can be leveling the completely wrong way and the game never truly gives you any guidance in this department. And to me, the biggest drawback to the combat is the lack of guidance, every weapon is different and have their perks and disadvantages to them....which is a good, but the game never actually tells you anything, and again... without the strategy guide, the overwhelming customization with the license board and armory may in the end, ruin your experience. Freedom- This game is rather linear as compared to earlier titles, but not enough to make the gamer feel "constricted," and is definitely no where near as linear as FF13. Side quests are about "half in half," half of the hunts and other side quests are fun and entertaining, whereas the other half is boring and confusing and are barely good enough to endure. In the end- FF 12 is a great game, sure it has its drawbacks and flaws, but most of them are minor and permissible. The Good: FF12 has great customization of the likes that previous FF games have never even seen, great graphics for a ps2 game, a good cast of characters, great innovation to the combat (but could still use some work), and an above average story. The Bad: FF12 never really teaches the gamer how to utilize the customization options, the main character is rather stale, half of the side quests are more than lackluster, and depending on the gamer... gambits may be best to keep off. Honestly, this is not Square's best title, you will definitely be able to distinguish between the quality of this title, and the likes of FF:6,7,9,& 10. However, this title is definitely worthy of its name and shows great innovation and promise for the future of Final Fantasy (excluding 13) Expand
  51. Jan 19, 2012
    8
    Overall I think final fantasy XII is a good game.That being said, it has it's down points.The story is adequate but not as interesting as some of it's predecessors and the main character could be a bit more interesting. The battles are challenging, but sometimes I'd wonder if they're fair in certain areas or battles. Items are sometimes almost impossible to obtain. Likewise, side questOverall I think final fantasy XII is a good game.That being said, it has it's down points.The story is adequate but not as interesting as some of it's predecessors and the main character could be a bit more interesting. The battles are challenging, but sometimes I'd wonder if they're fair in certain areas or battles. Items are sometimes almost impossible to obtain. Likewise, side quest some enemies are almost impossible to find. To sum it up, it seems you're just a little to limited in this final fantasy. If you like challenging side quest and battles you should try this. After all, it's not a bad game. You may like it even. Expand
  52. Mar 22, 2016
    8
    I will start off by saying that alot of die hard FF fans may not get attached to this game, but IMO it definitely has its' own unique identity that is worth observing. FF 1 - FF 9 will always be a special set for me and I consider these "classic," but like FF10 this game brings something different and interesting. First, FF12 does look pretty nice on the PS2 and I do enjoy the new combatI will start off by saying that alot of die hard FF fans may not get attached to this game, but IMO it definitely has its' own unique identity that is worth observing. FF 1 - FF 9 will always be a special set for me and I consider these "classic," but like FF10 this game brings something different and interesting. First, FF12 does look pretty nice on the PS2 and I do enjoy the new combat system where it is not as turn-based and you can move around while attacking. Also, even though the maps aren't completely non-linear, they do a much better job compared to 10 and 10-2. This game is a challenge for sure, you will get stuck in certain places and have to train to progress. There is nothing wrong with this, its the way the game is meant to be. Anyone remember how hard FF1 was at first? It was actually unbearable at certain points :) FF 12 brings in fresh ideas, but I am not a huge fan of the crystarium leveling and I think this is where I miss the other games the most. There are many people though that really enjoy this system, you may be one of them! I also have to say that I am really not a fan of the time spent on Cocoon, kind of a slow start to a FF game and this is the linear part of the game. If you are a fan of the series though, I believe they did make some improvements but they can even take it further. Expand
  53. Aug 14, 2017
    8
    I think one of the reasons people are so critical is because it is a final fantasy game. If it would be a new series then evrybody would say: ''Did you hear of this game? It's really good, you should try it out.''
    And they would be correct. The game is really good. The environments are beautiful, the characters are okay, the story is good... My problem is with the gameplay. At first it
    I think one of the reasons people are so critical is because it is a final fantasy game. If it would be a new series then evrybody would say: ''Did you hear of this game? It's really good, you should try it out.''
    And they would be correct. The game is really good. The environments are beautiful, the characters are okay, the story is good... My problem is with the gameplay. At first it seemed boring to me because you control only one character instead of all of them and when an enemy appears your party members attack on their own accord and during the fight you can hardly evade the attacks of the enemies. What is the point of creating real time battles (the opposite of turn based battles in which you stand in a row and await your turn) if you can't evade. You can run away while you wait for your bar to charge but you will recieve damage of a swordslash 4 meters away from you. Another thing is the large amount of grinding before a boss battle because you aren't strong enough yet to beat him. It happens multiple times that you have to grind for 2 to 3 hours and that isn't fun. However, later I started to value the depht of the gambit system. The instructions you can give your party members are really extensive and you can really spend a lot of time thinking about how to set up the gambits of each character. There is a lot to do in this game and it has a beautiful soundtrack.
    Expand
  54. Sep 22, 2014
    8
    This really is a vegemite game; you either love it or hate it.

    The gameplay is probably the biggest argue point of the entire game. I found the Gambit system to be truly refreshing, easy to work with, versatile and fun. It allowed for so many combinations, and your Gambit setup truly does reflect your play style. That being said, many people hated it with a passion, and I can see why.
    This really is a vegemite game; you either love it or hate it.

    The gameplay is probably the biggest argue point of the entire game. I found the Gambit system to be truly refreshing, easy to work with, versatile and fun. It allowed for so many combinations, and your Gambit setup truly does reflect your play style. That being said, many people hated it with a passion, and I can see why. Yes, it had all these great points, but at times it did feel as if you were taking a back seat and just watching your characters do all the work. I do think that these people screaming 'IT'S THE WORST SYSTEM EVER IT'S SO BORING' are exaggerating and need to sit down and take a breath, however.

    The storyline is far different from the other Final Fantasy's. While I didn't like the massive amounts of text at the start and in big events, and got a bit bored with having to read paragraphs at a time all to end up skimming over it, getting confused later on, and having to Wiki what I missed, the storyline was a fairly strong one, allowing the player to be immersed in the world of Ivalice.

    Characters were a high point of the game. Vaan reminded me of Tidus a lot, and Penelo was cute and all, but where I really fell in love with the characters was with Fran and Balthier. Their relationship was better than any we see between characters in the latest FF games. I must admit, they're my OTP.

    Graphics, not much needs to be said here, they were absolutely great for a PS2 game, and even for today's standards.

    Overall, 8/10. 7/10 for gameplay, 8/10 for story, 9/10 for characters, and 9/10 for graphics. Recommend for anyone with patience and who can recognise a good game.
    Expand
  55. May 10, 2016
    8
    Ok. If you've played FFX you'll know FFXII is worse. Yes, both are very different and FFXII has a completely different combat system. The best of this game is its graphics. The cinematic videos are really stunning and the best parts are at begining and at the end of this game. In my opinion, one of its flaws, apart that is way too long, is that when you are more or less in the middle ofOk. If you've played FFX you'll know FFXII is worse. Yes, both are very different and FFXII has a completely different combat system. The best of this game is its graphics. The cinematic videos are really stunning and the best parts are at begining and at the end of this game. In my opinion, one of its flaws, apart that is way too long, is that when you are more or less in the middle of the game the story becomes very poor, and I missed more conversations and cinematic. I would rated with and 8'5. I mean, as I said, the best is the graphics, the plot is also interesting, the battle system you have to get use to it and the soundtrack it's good but nothing special. What I can assure you is that you'll be entertained. Expand
  56. Jun 11, 2017
    8
    FFXII is great in a lot of ways and delivers many things that I have always wanted in past Final Fantasy games. Unfortunately for me it lacked some of what made many of the other games in the series truly masterful and as a result I think it ends up as one of the more mid-level entries in the series. The game is far above average, but in my opinion its confusing narrative and generic mainFFXII is great in a lot of ways and delivers many things that I have always wanted in past Final Fantasy games. Unfortunately for me it lacked some of what made many of the other games in the series truly masterful and as a result I think it ends up as one of the more mid-level entries in the series. The game is far above average, but in my opinion its confusing narrative and generic main characters hold it back from being a masterpiece.

    The gameplay is as good as past entries but it makes a lot of big changes, some good some bad. One of the gameplay changes that I really appreciate is that there are no more random encounters, which was one of the things I hated in past entries. Being able to see all of your enemies on the field is a great change for a lot of reasons. You can often avoid enemies and get through redundant areas quickly. You can also track down or avoid strong enemies which makes grinding and travel far better. You will often need to avoid strong enemies because sometimes they are way above your level, even early in the game. It is so much more believable and makes attempting to defeat strong enemies early much more rewarding. Gameplay is also much less linear than it was in FFX and that was one of the weakest parts of that game. One downside I found was the MMO style combat to be quite boring at times, especially dealing with weak enemies that don't require the use of special abilities to defeat. There are still some cool looking spells but there are few that are as cinematic as the overdrives in FFX. Summonings this time around are good but didn't feel as satisfying.

    The story while still good, is a step down from many of the other FF games that I have played. FFVI, FFVII, FFIX and FFX all had more engaging stories. The problem with the story is that most of the major events take place in the background. The main characters, particularly Vaan seems almost unnecessary to the plot. A lot of the bigger ideas that are presented have very little relation to the characters you are playing as. The Occuria for example only have a few scenes and their role is never really fleshed out. The player is also not given context for a lot of the dialog and world building that happens between many of the characters. Final Fantasy games almost always have complex stories but usually as the story progresses you learn a little bit more with every scene and by the end almost everything is revealed in a meaningful way. In FFXII most of the scenes are not given much context and that made it difficult to get invested in what was happening. The motivations of the characters seemed vague throughout most of the story. That isn't say that the writing is bad, a lot of the dialog is very believable and sophisticated but they didn't seem to blend together well into a cohesive whole.

    The story does have many good ideas though. The Bahamut air fortress was awesome and the idea of the judges is great. The Occuria had potential to be a good idea they just aren't well explained in the story. I really did feel that this world could serve as the stage for many great stories but the one they chose to tell didn't seem to take advantage of the cool world that they have designed.

    Characters are also a weak point of FFXII. Vaan is probably my least favorite main character in a Final Fantasy game. He just seemed to be generic and he didn't seem to serve a meaningful role in the quest. On the surface he seems a lot like Luke Skywalker but lacked almost all the important qualities that make Luke an interesting character. A lot of the characters seemed to be loosely modeled after Star Wars characters, but most weren't as iconic. I also felt that the characters bonds with each other were a bit underdeveloped. Most of the interactions between the characters didn't give me the indication that they had formed deep relationships. Ashe in particular could have used more conversations since her role is quite complex. I also didn't feel like I got to know the characters in a deep way.

    Visually FFXII is mostly excellent, the monster designs are some of the best in the series and the environments are large and detailed. The Judges are all cool looking and iconic. The airships are also awesome looking and there are some really unique ones. The cutscenes are great although I think they are a slight step down from FFX. My only major complaint with the graphics is that a lot of areas of the game look very dull. Like a lot of MMOs of the time, everything seems to have a matte look to it. Lot of areas of the game look a bit desaturated. Overall though it's a great looking game and one of the better looking of that time period.

    Sound Design is almost always great in Final Fantasy games and this is no exception, however, it isn't one of the best soundtracks or uses of music in the series. The voice acting is very good but I would have liked to have more memorable music.

    I give FFXII an 84%
    Expand
  57. Mar 22, 2017
    8
    Para ser sincero, no es el mejor Final Fantasy pero el simple hecho de que para completar el juego al cien por cien se necesiten una cantidad de horas desquiciante, hizo que para mi que este videojuego marcara un antes y un después en mi historia como jugador de PS2.

Awards & Rankings

3
1
#1 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2006
2
#2 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2006
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 64
  2. Negative: 0 out of 64
  1. The story soars, but not so often. The dungeons are long and meandering. The gameplay is effective, but not engrossing. It's a staggeringly well-made game that throws more at you than any other RPG on the PS2... but well-made doesn't necessarily mean "fun."
  2. This is absolutely my favorite Final Fantasy title, a claim I probably would have laughed at two years ago when rumors about the game’s battle system began to circulate.
  3. One of those rare games that can be appreciated by both hardcore and casual fans alike, Final Fantasy XII may very well be Square's last great adventure, and a fitting sendoff, for the PlayStation 2.