Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. 70
    The ambiance and atmosphere are usually enough all by themselves to suck you in; but never quite enough to make you ignore the hundred little things that matter.
  2. Although the controls could do with tweaking and the multiplayer doesn't hold much excitement, it's still fundamentally entertaining. It's an odd concoction, built around an idea we'd love to see developed further than it is here, but thanks to some genius AI, enjoyable level design, simple objectives and underlying black humour, it works.
  3. An outstanding achievement in tactical action, Freedom Fighters soars to the top of the genre with spot-on gameplay and solid visuals. Streamlined tactical controls and solid AI make playing the game easy and fun.
  4. While the game could have been lengthier, Freedom Fighters is still just an outstanding blend of pure action and tactical squad combat. The squad control works incredibly well.
  5. This game is a tasty piece of eye candy. All the environments are not only huge, but extremely detailed. It runs on the Same engine as Hitman 2, but looks much better.
  6. With the fabulous visuals, outstanding soundtracks, and easy to pick up gameplay, this is one game that you are sure to enjoy time and time again.
  7. 85
    I played it for a long time and I never really got used to some of the control issues - not that they make the game un-playable, obviously, far from it - they're just nagging.
  8. 84
    A game that gets better the more you play it. The challenge increases at the same rate as your skills and abilities so that you're really appreciating the level of control you've got toward the end and the cool action you can create because of it.
  9. Multiplayer modes notwithstanding, this is an awesome title with a grown-up storyline, not only for its subject matter (how many 10-year-olds know what a Soviet or The Cold War is?), but also for its twists and political implications.
  10. Although this is definitely a nice addition compared to the typically linear nature of titles in this genre, we would have liked to see the developers stretch the barrel a little bit further.
  11. While the gameplay is pretty tight, it’s the addition of charisma and squad mates that sets the game apart.
  12. 7 / 8 / 8 / 8 - 31 silver [Vol 797; 26 Mar 2004]
  13. Insanely addictive. [Jan 2007, p.106]
  14. Even with all its faults, Freedom Fighters' slick presentation and heated action create a mood and atmosphere that few other games can match. [Nov 2003, p.42]
  15. It's far less intricate than a regular squad-based game, yet it retains all the elements that make them fun - as opposed to a title like Brute Force, which had none of them. A fine display of IO's creative talent. [Oct 2003, p.116]
  16. The game's great strength is the well-judged escalation of pace and scale. From your humble dungarees-and-pistol beginnings, the expansion of your squad means missions intensify from hit-and-run raids to large-scale onslaughts. And it is this, ultimately, which induces a sensation of swaggering brawn that allows the game's hiccups to be forgiven. [Oct 2003, p.99]
  17. Its gripping gameplay and the great Cold War-inspired storyline will have you hooked until the last Russkie is dead. [Oct 2003, p.113]
  18. Eliminating enemy forces and hoisting our country's colors high above Manhattan rooftops never feels repetitive... Sadly, Freedom Fighters is over too quickly, it's easily completed during a weekend sitting. [Oct 2003, p.131]
  19. 75
    The qualifications -- short length, lack of replay value, and control issues -- knock the game down value-wise, even though I think anyone who's attracted to quick, violent squad play will have a good time.
  20. Has a handful of minor flaws (the lead character's limited control over his 12-member mercenary team, PC-like graphic stutters, lackluster multiplayer mode, etc.) that prevent it from reaching the heights of immersion and addictive fun that characterized its spiritual predecessor, "Hitman 2."
  21. Commanding soldiers works exceptionally well, the environments look fabulous, and the entire project is built on a concept I can appreciate, but because the game runs out of ways to use your squad so early in the adventure, it feels all dressed up with no place to go.
  22. I haven't even talked about the nonlinear gameplay, the spectacular graphics, the rock-solid controls, the amazing physics (especially the rag-doll death animations - wow), the great variety of missions and settings, the solid voice acting, the awesome orchestral soundtrack, or the exceptional multiplayer. [Oct 2003, p.122]
  23. 80
    Strong voice acting and sound effects (listen for the subtle heavy breathing when running), and a patriotic score set a believable mood, while the dark, detailed, war-torn streets of New York City are almost too tangible.
  24. The AI is surprisingly excellent - if you send a batch of troops out to scout, they will take up careful positions, scale machine gun positions, engage the enemy, and redeploy defensively without any more commands having to be issued.
  25. Relentlessly entertaining, finely crafted and smartly engaging. [Oct 2003, p.73]
  26. 67
    The game is awfully short (it takes only six to seven hours to complete), and the multiplayer does little to extend its replay value. [Oct 2003, p.63]
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 53 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 40
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 40
  3. Negative: 5 out of 40
  1. Feb 25, 2013
    10
    Probably the best early squad-based shooter. The shooting, the game mechanics, the graphics, everything was great about this game. We've been hearing about a possible sequel since 2004, yet none has appeared. One of the greatest potential franchises that was never tapped in to. Such a shame. Full Review »
  2. Oct 7, 2011
    8
    A game from my early childhood, one of my favorite games from my childhood. A tactical shooter where you control a group of freedom fighters as a squad. The plot is ok, the dialog isn't perfect, characters don't have much background, but the story isn't the biggy. This game was one of the top-notch game back them with amazing graphics and really good gameplay. But dang, this game is hard! Or at least it was for me. Still it was brilliant. Full Review »
  3. Nov 2, 2010
    9
    An absolutely brilliant game! The graphics are great for the time it came out. The game play is solid and tactical. The squad controls are amazing, simple, and reliable in a tight fix. The story is a thrill ride of action, twists, and romance. Though we only really care about the Action and Twists =). The games hardest difficulty is as tough as riding a bull with your right arm tied behind your back. It's not impossible but it is VERY hard. The multiplayer is inventive and can be addicting. Which may force to keep your friend over for another two rounds of capture the flag death matches. The only bad thing I have found with the game is that it actually has an ending. Which is a very sad thing.. Not the ending but the game having an ending. Full Review »