• Publisher: Midway
  • Release Date: Jun 27, 2003
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 25
  2. Negative: 3 out of 25
  1. Offers fun, fast, and wide-open game play in the vein of Tony Hawk, even with the disappointing multiplayer aspect.
  2. You can't help but love this game. Even if you're not at all interested in bikes, boards and inline skates, there are enough levels, modes and objectives to interest virtually all gamers.
  3. The moves and modifers require a lot more memorization and button tapping. It's frustrating and there is quite the learning curve on the controls, so you can't just jump in.
  4. The repetitive challenges are uncreative, and the game's choppy graphics and collision-detection isues make the whole experience head-splitting. [Aug 2003, p.116]
  5. The trick system is overwhelming in scope and the difficulty is challenging yet rewarding once you master its nuances.
  6. For a motocross game, MetalX is pretty hardcore. [Aug 2003, p.91]
  7. An average game built on a lot of great, borrowed ideas. The playability is good and there are plenty of tricks to be tried, but folks with more active imaginations and sensitive fingers might want to stay away from this C-class jump-fest.
  8. I swear, I felt my IQ drop as I was playing the game, the sounds of brain cells popping melding nicely with the oh-so-bland cock-rock soundtrack that seems to be a requisite feature of sophomoric extreme sports tie-ins.
  9. 33
    FMX is crippled by a trick-modifier system that makes big combos too irritating to complete. [Aug 2003, p.34]
  10. 90
    Delivers a burly extreme experience that doesn’t feel like it was cloned.
  11. It’s got scantily clad women, hard rock music, dirt bikes, and lots of bloody crashes. It doesn’t break any new ground by any means, but FMX provides an entertaining extreme sports experience.
  12. Between the variety, the playability and the great feeling of accomplishment that comes from completing one of the many tasks, FMX is really quite good fun. Overly ambitious but fun nonetheless. [Oct 2003, p.115]
  13. The game's poor graphical performance really gets in the way of the game's cool trick system, and the end result is undeniably tarnished.
  14. The greatest feature of the game is that once unlocked, you can apparently drive from one end of the first level all the way to the end of the last level, as they’re all connected portions of one large city, which the designers claim loads seamlessly.
  15. This game plays well, and looks good. The musical score pops and drives this game very well. The action is well rendered and fast paced.
  16. 76
    It's wide-open, fun and has a good sense of humor, to boot. Besides, who can resist the allure of Motley Crue, Megadeth and Motorhead contributing heavily to the soundtrack?
  17. While this muck jam has expansive environments and great graphics, it also boasts as much originality as a Winger sing-along chorus. But that doesn’t mean it can’t be fun.
  18. Although none of us may have asked for it, this game does offer a reasonably fun time... It's the kind of game they invented the rental for. [Aug 2003, p.99]
  19. The game itself, while not deep, does allow a pretty solid amount of playing time to accomplish all the goals on the expansive levels.
  20. The animation is sweet, depth of faces and places deep like Def Poetry, the play mechanics are superb and the controls are nicely laid. [July 2003, p.79]
  21. Level design is a blast, with plenty of ramps and rails everywhere and crazy challenges galore. It may not be perfect, but it is fun. [Sept 2003, p.38]
  22. While FMX is competent, its Career mode lacks magic and its racing and freestyle components do not outshine those of other motocross titles.
  23. The bikes handle brilliantly, with a real sense of momentum and a transfer of weight to the front and rear wheels under acceleration and braking.
  24. Two things, besides the lack of a true multiplayer option, set Freestyle Metal X apart from other ex-games: the option to link its unlockable environments, so you can speed directly from the seaside into a snowstorm; and its soundtrack's handful of classic metal tunes from Twisted Sister, Mötley Crüe, Megadeth, and Motörhead.
  25. Faults aside, the adventurous out there will thoroughly enjoy the level design - it's a blast!
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Aug 30, 2014
    7
    This is a funny kick-ass metal dirtbike game. You can create your own arenas do awesome tricks and do my personal event hill climbs. There areThis is a funny kick-ass metal dirtbike game. You can create your own arenas do awesome tricks and do my personal event hill climbs. There are plenty of different characters and bikes for you to customize and make your own. The campaign is long and there are plenty of game modes. The cons of the game are some bugs spontaneous spastic controls and occasional freezing. Crashing into things in this game is also more fun then admitted I think. Full Review »
  2. Kenh.
    Oct 10, 2003
    8
    I don't know what all these critics are talking about, this game is kickass. The soundtrack is awesome, there's posters of girls, I don't know what all these critics are talking about, this game is kickass. The soundtrack is awesome, there's posters of girls, all in all, this game kicks ass. Everything but it was kind of hard. Full Review »
  3. Idon'tKnow
    Oct 10, 2003
    10
    It's insane. This is the best dirtbike game avilible. It combines an Atv off road Fury feel with dirtbikes. I have been waiting so long It's insane. This is the best dirtbike game avilible. It combines an Atv off road Fury feel with dirtbikes. I have been waiting so long for a game like this. Now i have 1. Now all need is an M16 and i can complete my regimen and arsenal to rule the world. Full Review »