• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Nov 19, 2001
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 29
  2. Negative: 3 out of 29

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MattW.
    Mar 23, 2002
    10
    Frequency surprised me. I bought it because I figured it was the next best thing to dance dance revolution, and this game almost supasses DDR. The soundtrack is one of the best ever. The gameplay is some of the most addicting ever. The remix mode is one of the most innovative gameplay features ever. You need to go out right now and buy this game (if u haven't already).
  2. RyanM.
    Jun 5, 2004
    9
    This game lets you get more involved with the music. More then any other dancing game could offer. This is by far the best dancing music game next to it's predecessor, amplitude.
  3. JustinH.
    Mar 30, 2005
    10
    This game kicks ass!!!! It's challenging but in a fun way! It keeps you on your toes and allows you to test your reflexes!
  4. RyanT.
    Mar 12, 2002
    10
    This game is so awesome! I was hooked immediately!
  5. Dana
    Jun 28, 2002
    10
    Amazing! i'm hooked! my friends have been playing this for a while now, and introduced me recently. it takes a while to get the hang of it, but you really will just keep trying until you get it right.
  6. ZiggyStardust
    Aug 13, 2002
    6
    This may be one of the simplest games i'v eever played. there are 3 buttons, and each has to be pressed at specific times as shown by an indicator on the screen. the button puches are synchronized with the music beats to give the illusion of creating the music. let me just state right here that the music in here absolutely rocks. it's not my fav genera but that doesn'tThis may be one of the simplest games i'v eever played. there are 3 buttons, and each has to be pressed at specific times as shown by an indicator on the screen. the button puches are synchronized with the music beats to give the illusion of creating the music. let me just state right here that the music in here absolutely rocks. it's not my fav genera but that doesn't matter b/c the tunes are so happenin' (haha, after using that word you'll probably just discount my coolness and music tastes). listening to the wicked music is what makes the experience worthwhile even under such a simplistic premise. likely the best part is the 4 player multi play (assuming you have the 4 player adaptor and 2 extra controllers... not a great purchase with the ps2 and it's 4 player game selection). 2 player is still sorta fun though. although again it's not very complex. slightly more so than the single player game however. in sum, it's a nice game if you are a big music game fan. i'm not sure i'd recommend it to anyone who isn't though simply b/c it's too simple. Expand
  7. FreQFreak
    Jan 3, 2003
    10
    This game rocks. The replayability is higher than any other game, I got it when it came out and Im still making remixes of some great artists introduced throughout this game. For what its purpose is this game is perfect. Good job Harmonix.
  8. ZigfestR.
    Mar 22, 2003
    10
    SWEET!
  9. BobD.
    Apr 13, 2003
    10
    Such a great game.
  10. sh4down0b0dy
    Jun 19, 2003
    10
    the game is so damn addicting you won't believe it! at first i thought "how could one beat that game at 'normal'? that's so incredibly fast - you can't push THAT quickly". well now i've played through it on expert (incl. all bonus songs) and still play it just out of fun. the songs are so great that even score hunting is fun. this game never stops surprising the game is so damn addicting you won't believe it! at first i thought "how could one beat that game at 'normal'? that's so incredibly fast - you can't push THAT quickly". well now i've played through it on expert (incl. all bonus songs) and still play it just out of fun. the songs are so great that even score hunting is fun. this game never stops surprising you - or rather you'll be surprised by yourself while you're pushing combinations you never thought you could do... and i'm talking of really MAD combinations here ;) Expand
  11. AlexN.
    Feb 27, 2004
    10
    This game is nothing less than amazing... If _ANY_ game has replay value, this is it. Not only that but it's incredibly challenging, fun, and good to impress people with. On top of all that, it's an incredible game by all standards and should not recieve lower than a 9 or 10 on ANYONE's review, if they've actually played it. See This game is nothing less than amazing... If _ANY_ game has replay value, this is it. Not only that but it's incredibly challenging, fun, and good to impress people with. On top of all that, it's an incredible game by all standards and should not recieve lower than a 9 or 10 on ANYONE's review, if they've actually played it. See http://yoyhed.dynup.net/documents/txt/frequency.txt for my scores.. I'm sure they'll be better than yours! Expand
  12. AustinB.
    Mar 9, 2004
    10
    Amazing... absolutely amazing...
  13. JustinA.
    Jul 10, 2005
    10
    It's one of the best games ever!
  14. ToneDeaf
    Nov 5, 2002
    10
    I originally got this game as a demo on the network adaptor setup disk, after beating the 4 songs of the demo and playing with the remix a couple times, I figured I'd go ahead and buy the full version, it is truly an addictive game, online play is awesome, you can play with people that have a high ping time, and there is hardly any lag. If you are planning to get the network adapter, I originally got this game as a demo on the network adaptor setup disk, after beating the 4 songs of the demo and playing with the remix a couple times, I figured I'd go ahead and buy the full version, it is truly an addictive game, online play is awesome, you can play with people that have a high ping time, and there is hardly any lag. If you are planning to get the network adapter, this is definitely a must have. Expand
  15. Atari4eva
    Feb 12, 2002
    10
    Best music game EVER!
  16. sh4down0b0dy
    Jun 19, 2003
    10
    the game is so damn addicting you won't believe it! at first i thought "how could one beat that game at 'normal'? that's so incredibly fast - you can't push THAT quickly". well now i've played through it on expert (incl. all bonus songs) and still play it just out of fun. the songs are so great that even score hunting is fun. this game never stops surprising the game is so damn addicting you won't believe it! at first i thought "how could one beat that game at 'normal'? that's so incredibly fast - you can't push THAT quickly". well now i've played through it on expert (incl. all bonus songs) and still play it just out of fun. the songs are so great that even score hunting is fun. this game never stops surprising you - or rather you'll be surprised by yourself while you're pushing combinations you never thought you could do... and i'm talking of really MAD combinations here ;) Collapse
  17. JustinM.
    Jun 18, 2004
    10
    Absolutely Spectacular!
  18. Spaz
    Nov 25, 2005
    10
    This game is crazy awesome. People looking for a new game to overcome boredom should definately pick this one up. I am hoping for a sequal.
  19. BlueFalcon
    Nov 13, 2007
    4
    All you do is press buttons in sync with the screen while crappy dance music plays. The button presses aren't very related to the beats or rythm of the music. I could see the game appealing to someone who likes dance music a lot, and isn't normally into video games. But then, getting a dance mat and dance dance revolution would be a much better decision.
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. A simple but challenging rhythm game with unique gameplay and one of the best game soundtracks ever.
  2. It may be a bit too challenging for its own good. [Jan 2002, p.128]
  3. If you don't have the patience or your dedication level doesn't extend past that of the average mule, then you'll probably want to skip out on this game...here's yet another excellent title that'll probably be overlooked by 90% of the gamers out there.