Frogger: The Great Quest PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Nov 18, 2001
  • Also On: PC
User Score
4.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 29
  2. Negative: 14 out of 29
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 30, 2011
    3
    I'm appalled at why Frogger went from crossing traffic to crossing a freaking jungle, but the worst part about "The Great Quest" is that it's one of the most unimaginative games I've ever seen. Pros: Rich in visuals; the detail in some of the levels are nice to look at. Cons: The characters look hideous; terrible control and camera; a completely unimaginative storyline; the mechanicsI'm appalled at why Frogger went from crossing traffic to crossing a freaking jungle, but the worst part about "The Great Quest" is that it's one of the most unimaginative games I've ever seen. Pros: Rich in visuals; the detail in some of the levels are nice to look at. Cons: The characters look hideous; terrible control and camera; a completely unimaginative storyline; the mechanics aren't that impressive either. Expand
  2. Ladeeda
    May 12, 2002
    10
    This is the all time BEST GAME!
  3. GregIt'snoteasybeinggreen
    Mar 6, 2002
    5
    Pure middle of the road drivel. Entertaining, but barely. Frogger + Tomb Raider = so-so.
  4. JamieW.
    Jun 8, 2002
    7
    It's a fun game, but the camera angles make me sick sometimes because they jump around too much. It's like watching a video where someone is shaking the video camera. Sometimes it takes a few hours to pass a level. I can't find the key on The River Town level (4). Can anyone help? You have to spit frog goobers at the bell three times on level 3 to open the doors with bells It's a fun game, but the camera angles make me sick sometimes because they jump around too much. It's like watching a video where someone is shaking the video camera. Sometimes it takes a few hours to pass a level. I can't find the key on The River Town level (4). Can anyone help? You have to spit frog goobers at the bell three times on level 3 to open the doors with bells on them. After you open the doors Slick Willy appears on the top level and you have to fight him to pass the level. Expand
  5. C.B.
    Aug 20, 2003
    5
    I really like the graphics of the game, but I don't like the camera angles and the fact that the everytime I want to jump on something it is really difficult to either get on the object or I slide off. As for the Castle, you kill the Big Chicken by destroying his machines. You have to take out 2 blue glass objects on each of his machines in order to destroy the Big Chicken. In order I really like the graphics of the game, but I don't like the camera angles and the fact that the everytime I want to jump on something it is really difficult to either get on the object or I slide off. As for the Castle, you kill the Big Chicken by destroying his machines. You have to take out 2 blue glass objects on each of his machines in order to destroy the Big Chicken. In order to get to the big chicken there is a wooden door on the lower level. To the left of the door is a small dead end corridor. On the right side while going down this short corridor, you'll notice a small spot where the bricks are different. Try to open this hidden door and the wooden door around the corner will open. You will get out of the castle after you defeat the chicken. Expand
  6. Jenn
    Feb 10, 2002
    6
    It's fun but the graphics and control suck! You can like see through the scenery!
  7. JohnL.
    Mar 3, 2002
    0
    Graphics suck, many glitches, and transparent scenery. I can't even figure out how to pass level 3, if u could help me, out send me an email.
  8. MaxS.
    Dec 15, 2001
    1
    This Game SUCKS!!!
  9. HardyH.
    Dec 20, 2001
    0
    Worst game ever.
  10. Tammy
    Jan 13, 2002
    10
    This is The Most Fun, And addictive game I have ever played!! Only Problem: Frogger, Being A FROG Needs To Be Able To Stick To Walls And Rocks!
  11. KristieN.
    Feb 21, 2002
    6
    I like the game but i'm stuck at the castle when the guy tells u to find the secret exit....Can sum one help me PLEASE..it's been 2 months i still can't get of of this room!!!! tomforce_86@yahool.com
  12. EricaE.
    Mar 11, 2002
    0
    This game sucks!!! I just bought it and it's already getting returned. Camara agles are awful and controlling the little creature!!! What was Konami thinking!! I can't even get off the damn ship!!!
  13. CoryT.
    Apr 28, 2002
    10
    I know how to get off the ship: you jump on the rail and spit on the bue bell three times. It is easy. This game rulez.
  14. MichelleB.
    Apr 29, 2002
    2
    The idea is good but the control and graphics are terrible. What is this N64?
  15. TarenS.
    May 21, 2002
    9
    It's good but I can't get out of the castle. Help!!!
  16. SherriMC
    May 3, 2002
    4
    The idea is fun...but the game control truly does stink!!! I don't even know why I keep playing it! The game seems as tho it is not telling you things as well....so I bought the guide...what another waste of money!! ( dont buy the guide....it wont tell you anything you dont already know....it is a glorified version of the manual that comes with the game.) Also....twice so far....I The idea is fun...but the game control truly does stink!!! I don't even know why I keep playing it! The game seems as tho it is not telling you things as well....so I bought the guide...what another waste of money!! ( dont buy the guide....it wont tell you anything you dont already know....it is a glorified version of the manual that comes with the game.) Also....twice so far....I have gotten stuck...once where the ship is, i was walking in the water under the dock, I jumped, and my head went right through and I was stuck there....of course the level was complete( i was just wandering around)..the only way to escape was to reset the Ps2..so I had to do the level over again... the same sorta thing happened to me in the Forest Maze portion of Dark Trail Ruins. If you are into this game aside from its suckiness.....you really should try Jak and Daxter!!!( 10+)!!! If you havent bought Frogger......DONT!!! Expand
  17. ChristinaP.
    Jun 3, 2002
    6
    The camera angles suck, and the movements are really choppy. A little help: to get out of the castle, go up to the big bookshelf in the guest room and push 0. But how do you beat the big chicken?
  18. RyanM.
    Feb 10, 2003
    0
    i liked the original frogger, so i picked up this game just to check it out. This game is a sick disgrace of frogger. it makes the original look bad. This game is horrendous. absolute horror. I say we kill the frog and let it rest in peace.
  19. DebS.
    Mar 24, 2002
    6
    Game not bad, but can't seem to figure out how to gt off the ship, looking for help!!!
  20. VladZ.
    Jul 12, 2002
    6
    The scenery is detailed and well colored, but I am really annoyed about the controls and the camera view is the worst Ive seen. I've also got stuck in the dark Trail ruins a couple of times now. How'd you get out? Can you actually kill that pink minotaur guy? The scenery saved this game from being rated a 3!
  21. DahenN.
    Dec 26, 2001
    0
    Don't ever buy this game, because it f....... sucks.
  22. Jul 6, 2012
    5
    This is such a weird game. The story is weird, the scenery is weird, the characters are weird, the controls are weird, the camera angles are weird, the enemies are weird, the music is weird... everything was just so weird. Was this a bad game? Not necessarily, but it wasn't very good either.
  23. Feb 28, 2014
    3
    This game is bad. It has graphics that belong on the N64, the levels are bad (except for the swamp level, that one is kind of good with it's atmosphere), it's characters are just horrendous, the enemies are copy paste, the game usually has no idea what the f*** is going on, *cough*cow in the mushroom level*cough*, the camera is bad, and the music... is actually pretty good. It's a shameThis game is bad. It has graphics that belong on the N64, the levels are bad (except for the swamp level, that one is kind of good with it's atmosphere), it's characters are just horrendous, the enemies are copy paste, the game usually has no idea what the f*** is going on, *cough*cow in the mushroom level*cough*, the camera is bad, and the music... is actually pretty good. It's a shame that such a good soundtrack got wasted on this garbage. The only reason you should EVER consider buying this game from the local truck stop bargain bin from 2002, is for the soundtrack. Expand
  24. Jul 25, 2016
    4
    This game is so strange and doesn't seem like a frogger game heck it isn't even good. In metascore I would give this a 42. This game is luckily not on the gamecube.
  25. Dec 16, 2016
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I really tried with this game, I really tried to like it, but it's so flawed. This had potential of being amazing, but instead it feels it was more rushed than Spyro Enter The Dragonfly, Sonic 06 and Sonic Boom Rise of Lyric. It was cool having a Frogger game where he can walk, but this is not the way to do it. Lots of broken physics, questionable writing and while the graphics are decent, they still look a little messy. The ending to the game was pretty bad as well, where Frogger becomes a human prince. I know that's part of the fairy tale, but still. This is probably the worst Frogger game out there. It could've been amazing, but it wasn't. Expand
Metascore
32

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 6 out of 6
  1. Unfortunately, the camera grates throughout proceedings and you often find yourself either stuck behind scenery or with Frogger running directly toward you and thus not being able to see where you are going.
  2. Something just short of eye bleeding disaster...Let this frog drown.
  3. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    30
    I can’t remember a more boring example of the game’s genre in years. [Feb 2002, p.107]