Frogger: The Great Quest PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Nov 18, 2001
  • Also On: PC
User Score
4.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 28
  2. Negative: 13 out of 28
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 25, 2016
    4
    This game is so strange and doesn't seem like a frogger game heck it isn't even good. In metascore I would give this a 42. This game is luckily not on the gamecube.
  2. Feb 28, 2014
    3
    This game is bad. It has graphics that belong on the N64, the levels are bad (except for the swamp level, that one is kind of good with it's atmosphere), it's characters are just horrendous, the enemies are copy paste, the game usually has no idea what the f*** is going on, *cough*cow in the mushroom level*cough*, the camera is bad, and the music... is actually pretty good. It's a shameThis game is bad. It has graphics that belong on the N64, the levels are bad (except for the swamp level, that one is kind of good with it's atmosphere), it's characters are just horrendous, the enemies are copy paste, the game usually has no idea what the f*** is going on, *cough*cow in the mushroom level*cough*, the camera is bad, and the music... is actually pretty good. It's a shame that such a good soundtrack got wasted on this garbage. The only reason you should EVER consider buying this game from the local truck stop bargain bin from 2002, is for the soundtrack. Expand
  3. Apr 30, 2011
    3
    I'm appalled at why Frogger went from crossing traffic to crossing a freaking jungle, but the worst part about "The Great Quest" is that it's one of the most unimaginative games I've ever seen. Pros: Rich in visuals; the detail in some of the levels are nice to look at. Cons: The characters look hideous; terrible control and camera; a completely unimaginative storyline; the mechanicsI'm appalled at why Frogger went from crossing traffic to crossing a freaking jungle, but the worst part about "The Great Quest" is that it's one of the most unimaginative games I've ever seen. Pros: Rich in visuals; the detail in some of the levels are nice to look at. Cons: The characters look hideous; terrible control and camera; a completely unimaginative storyline; the mechanics aren't that impressive either. Expand
  4. RyanM.
    Feb 10, 2003
    0
    i liked the original frogger, so i picked up this game just to check it out. This game is a sick disgrace of frogger. it makes the original look bad. This game is horrendous. absolute horror. I say we kill the frog and let it rest in peace.
  5. SherriMC
    May 3, 2002
    4
    The idea is fun...but the game control truly does stink!!! I don't even know why I keep playing it! The game seems as tho it is not telling you things as well....so I bought the guide...what another waste of money!! ( dont buy the guide....it wont tell you anything you dont already know....it is a glorified version of the manual that comes with the game.) Also....twice so far....I The idea is fun...but the game control truly does stink!!! I don't even know why I keep playing it! The game seems as tho it is not telling you things as well....so I bought the guide...what another waste of money!! ( dont buy the guide....it wont tell you anything you dont already know....it is a glorified version of the manual that comes with the game.) Also....twice so far....I have gotten stuck...once where the ship is, i was walking in the water under the dock, I jumped, and my head went right through and I was stuck there....of course the level was complete( i was just wandering around)..the only way to escape was to reset the Ps2..so I had to do the level over again... the same sorta thing happened to me in the Forest Maze portion of Dark Trail Ruins. If you are into this game aside from its suckiness.....you really should try Jak and Daxter!!!( 10+)!!! If you havent bought Frogger......DONT!!! Expand
  6. MichelleB.
    Apr 29, 2002
    2
    The idea is good but the control and graphics are terrible. What is this N64?
  7. EricaE.
    Mar 11, 2002
    0
    This game sucks!!! I just bought it and it's already getting returned. Camara agles are awful and controlling the little creature!!! What was Konami thinking!! I can't even get off the damn ship!!!
  8. JohnL.
    Mar 3, 2002
    0
    Graphics suck, many glitches, and transparent scenery. I can't even figure out how to pass level 3, if u could help me, out send me an email.
  9. DahenN.
    Dec 26, 2001
    0
    Don't ever buy this game, because it f....... sucks.
  10. HardyH.
    Dec 20, 2001
    0
    Worst game ever.
  11. MaxS.
    Dec 15, 2001
    1
    This Game SUCKS!!!
Metascore
32

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 6 out of 6
  1. Unfortunately, the camera grates throughout proceedings and you often find yourself either stuck behind scenery or with Frogger running directly toward you and thus not being able to see where you are going.
  2. Something just short of eye bleeding disaster...Let this frog drown.
  3. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    30
    I can’t remember a more boring example of the game’s genre in years. [Feb 2002, p.107]