Frogger: The Great Quest PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Nov 18, 2001
  • Also On: PC
User Score
4.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 29
  2. Negative: 14 out of 29
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 30, 2011
    3
    I'm appalled at why Frogger went from crossing traffic to crossing a freaking jungle, but the worst part about "The Great Quest" is that it's one of the most unimaginative games I've ever seen. Pros: Rich in visuals; the detail in some of the levels are nice to look at. Cons: The characters look hideous; terrible control and camera; a completely unimaginative storyline; the mechanicsI'm appalled at why Frogger went from crossing traffic to crossing a freaking jungle, but the worst part about "The Great Quest" is that it's one of the most unimaginative games I've ever seen. Pros: Rich in visuals; the detail in some of the levels are nice to look at. Cons: The characters look hideous; terrible control and camera; a completely unimaginative storyline; the mechanics aren't that impressive either. Expand
  2. JohnL.
    Mar 3, 2002
    0
    Graphics suck, many glitches, and transparent scenery. I can't even figure out how to pass level 3, if u could help me, out send me an email.
  3. EricaE.
    Mar 11, 2002
    0
    This game sucks!!! I just bought it and it's already getting returned. Camara agles are awful and controlling the little creature!!! What was Konami thinking!! I can't even get off the damn ship!!!
  4. MichelleB.
    Apr 29, 2002
    2
    The idea is good but the control and graphics are terrible. What is this N64?
  5. RyanM.
    Feb 10, 2003
    0
    i liked the original frogger, so i picked up this game just to check it out. This game is a sick disgrace of frogger. it makes the original look bad. This game is horrendous. absolute horror. I say we kill the frog and let it rest in peace.
  6. DahenN.
    Dec 26, 2001
    0
    Don't ever buy this game, because it f....... sucks.
  7. Feb 28, 2014
    3
    This game is bad. It has graphics that belong on the N64, the levels are bad (except for the swamp level, that one is kind of good with it's atmosphere), it's characters are just horrendous, the enemies are copy paste, the game usually has no idea what the f*** is going on, *cough*cow in the mushroom level*cough*, the camera is bad, and the music... is actually pretty good. It's a shameThis game is bad. It has graphics that belong on the N64, the levels are bad (except for the swamp level, that one is kind of good with it's atmosphere), it's characters are just horrendous, the enemies are copy paste, the game usually has no idea what the f*** is going on, *cough*cow in the mushroom level*cough*, the camera is bad, and the music... is actually pretty good. It's a shame that such a good soundtrack got wasted on this garbage. The only reason you should EVER consider buying this game from the local truck stop bargain bin from 2002, is for the soundtrack. Expand
  8. Jul 25, 2016
    4
    This game is so strange and doesn't seem like a frogger game heck it isn't even good. In metascore I would give this a 42. This game is luckily not on the gamecube.
  9. Dec 16, 2016
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I really tried with this game, I really tried to like it, but it's so flawed. This had potential of being amazing, but instead it feels it was more rushed than Spyro Enter The Dragonfly, Sonic 06 and Sonic Boom Rise of Lyric. It was cool having a Frogger game where he can walk, but this is not the way to do it. Lots of broken physics, questionable writing and while the graphics are decent, they still look a little messy. The ending to the game was pretty bad as well, where Frogger becomes a human prince. I know that's part of the fairy tale, but still. This is probably the worst Frogger game out there. It could've been amazing, but it wasn't. Expand
Metascore
32

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 6 out of 6
  1. Unfortunately, the camera grates throughout proceedings and you often find yourself either stuck behind scenery or with Frogger running directly toward you and thus not being able to see where you are going.
  2. Something just short of eye bleeding disaster...Let this frog drown.
  3. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    30
    I can’t remember a more boring example of the game’s genre in years. [Feb 2002, p.107]