Frogger: The Great Quest PlayStation 2

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: PC
Frogger: The Great Quest Image
Metascore
32

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: When Frogger makes a wish on a falling star, the Fairy Frogmother appears and tells him he should follow his heart's desire. She grants him three gifts: a Magic Bag that can hold many items, the power to see Fairies and Magic Items, and protection from serious harm. With her advice andWhen Frogger makes a wish on a falling star, the Fairy Frogmother appears and tells him he should follow his heart's desire. She grants him three gifts: a Magic Bag that can hold many items, the power to see Fairies and Magic Items, and protection from serious harm. With her advice and support, Frogger gathers up his courage and sets off in search of the adventure of a lifetime. [Konami] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 6 out of 6
  1. Unfortunately, the camera grates throughout proceedings and you often find yourself either stuck behind scenery or with Frogger running directly toward you and thus not being able to see where you are going.
  2. Although suffering from flaws on all fronts (particularly control), I think I can point to the reliance on item collecting as the primary culprit that brings The Great Quest down hard.
  3. 30
    The game's control is about as bad as it gets...Character movement is very choppy, the jumping is imprecise and it's all made even worse by the game's many camera problems.
  4. One of the worst games in Konami’s storied history, Frogger: The Great Quest doesn’t live up its title, its heritage, or its company...A froggin’ waste of time.
  5. Something just short of eye bleeding disaster...Let this frog drown.
  6. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    30
    I can’t remember a more boring example of the game’s genre in years. [Feb 2002, p.107]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 25
  2. Negative: 12 out of 25
  1. Ladeeda
    May 12, 2002
    10
    This is the all time BEST GAME!
  2. Tammy
    Jan 13, 2002
    10
    This is The Most Fun, And addictive game I have ever played!! Only Problem: Frogger, Being A FROG Needs To Be Able To Stick To Walls And Rocks!
  3. VladZ.
    Jul 12, 2002
    6
    The scenery is detailed and well colored, but I am really annoyed about the controls and the camera view is the worst Ive seen. I've The scenery is detailed and well colored, but I am really annoyed about the controls and the camera view is the worst Ive seen. I've also got stuck in the dark Trail ruins a couple of times now. How'd you get out? Can you actually kill that pink minotaur guy? The scenery saved this game from being rated a 3! Collapse
  4. C.B.
    Aug 20, 2003
    5
    I really like the graphics of the game, but I don't like the camera angles and the fact that the everytime I want to jump on something I really like the graphics of the game, but I don't like the camera angles and the fact that the everytime I want to jump on something it is really difficult to either get on the object or I slide off. As for the Castle, you kill the Big Chicken by destroying his machines. You have to take out 2 blue glass objects on each of his machines in order to destroy the Big Chicken. In order to get to the big chicken there is a wooden door on the lower level. To the left of the door is a small dead end corridor. On the right side while going down this short corridor, you'll notice a small spot where the bricks are different. Try to open this hidden door and the wooden door around the corner will open. You will get out of the castle after you defeat the chicken. Expand
  5. Dec 16, 2016
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I really tried with this game, I really tried to like it, but it's so flawed. This had potential of being amazing, but instead it feels it was more rushed than Spyro Enter The Dragonfly, Sonic 06 and Sonic Boom Rise of Lyric. It was cool having a Frogger game where he can walk, but this is not the way to do it. Lots of broken physics, questionable writing and while the graphics are decent, they still look a little messy. The ending to the game was pretty bad as well, where Frogger becomes a human prince. I know that's part of the fairy tale, but still. This is probably the worst Frogger game out there. It could've been amazing, but it wasn't. Expand
  6. Apr 30, 2011
    3
    I'm appalled at why Frogger went from crossing traffic to crossing a freaking jungle, but the worst part about "The Great Quest" is that it'sI'm appalled at why Frogger went from crossing traffic to crossing a freaking jungle, but the worst part about "The Great Quest" is that it's one of the most unimaginative games I've ever seen. Pros: Rich in visuals; the detail in some of the levels are nice to look at. Cons: The characters look hideous; terrible control and camera; a completely unimaginative storyline; the mechanics aren't that impressive either. Expand
  7. DahenN.
    Dec 26, 2001
    0
    Don't ever buy this game, because it f....... sucks.

See all 25 User Reviews