Front Mission 4 PlayStation 2

Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
Buy On
  1. The new link system makes it possible to incite huge skirmishes and deal unprecedented amounts of damage to your enemies while opening up new strategic possibilities within your squad, and the addition of voiceovers brings the characters to life like never before.
  2. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    80
    FM4 is taxing on the ol' noggin...But you just can't beat FM4's deep (and plentiful) gameplay and high production values. [July 2004, p.99]
  3. While the game is difficult during parts, there was many times when enemy AI would do nothing.
  4. For anyone with even a remote interest in turn-based strategy games on a console, from expert tacticians to the casually curious, Front Mission 4 is a great game of explosive wanzer combat.
  5. 80
    The Euro-flavored plot and grounded situations help set it apart, and though the gameplay hasn't been watered-down in order to appeal to the casual gamer, it's still accessible enough to make it a worthwhile entry point for those less familiar with the genre.
  6. 80
    If all you need is a good challenge and you have the patience for turn-based strategy games, by all means, pick up this game. If the inconsistent presentation and lack of multiplayer options have you unconvinced, then it may be a good idea to wait for another one to come along. [July 2004, p.102]
  7. 100
    I found few things more immensely satisfying about Front Mission 4 than witnessing a perfectly executed chain of attacks occur all from moving one Wanzer into position and issuing an attack order. Thumbs up for an interesting new way to pump a little fresh spice into the standard turn-based strategy formula.
  8. 75
    The customization element is a definitely a high point, but without interesting and rewarding missions built around them, they just aren't as meaningful as they could be.
  9. Front Mission 4 has solid gameplay, but fails to stand out from the turn-based tactical combat crowd.
  10. Truly a title that has captured all the great aspects of multiple genres. Along with beautiful graphics and extremely deep gameplay mechanics, Front Mission 4 also has a very captivating storyline that keeps you fairly involved with the development of the pilots throughout the game. [JPN Import]
  11. The graphics are a little lacking, and the sound could’ve used a boost. However, the awesome gameplay makes up for these faults.
  12. GMR Magazine
    80
    FM4 isn't likely to win new converts, but it's guaranteed to lease the choir. [July 2004, p.90]
  13. Gone from FM4 is the ability to kill or eject pilots, meaning that you wont be swimming in excess Wanzer parts by a third of the way through the game.
  14. A very dry game. Not truly boring, but far from exciting. If you aren’t a big fan of Strategy RPGs, I’d strongly recommend giving the game a rental before buying.
  15. netjak
    83
    "Where's the Capture function?!" In FM3, that was an awesome attack. You'd pop the enemy pilot of out his wanzer, and you could kill him and take the wanzer, or if you wanted to fight honorably, you'd hop out of your wanzer, and engage in a man to man fight. In FM4, no such luck. [JPN Import]
  16. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    80
    Outside of the "Romance of the Three Kingdoms" series, nothing surpasses the complexity of FM4. [July 2004, p.92]
  17. Play Magazine
    83
    A satisfying and often engaging sequel especially crafted for that seasoned fan who is able to put up with the leaden nature of turn-based strategy. [June 2004, p.60]
  18. PSM Magazine
    80
    It's ridiculously satisfying taking out a bunch of missile-slinging enemy troops with your perfectly geared up wanzer unit - no question. [Sept 2004, p.18]
  19. Front Mission 4 is for die hard strategy RPG gamers, if its not your cup of tea Front Mission 4 isn't for you.
  20. 75
    The upgrades seem to number in the hundreds and require you to navigate multitudes of menus. Whether you look at this as challenging or soul-crushing should give you an idea of whether you should buy the game.
  21. It may have allusions of "Grandia", it may have huge sections marred by cheese-fuelled music that can sound as if it has actually being produced by a fifteen-year old sound chip, but it's still an excellent title that can be so gripping you may find yourself considering a life as a tabletop wargamer, dice in hand and grin on face.
  22. Weekly Famitsu
    80
    8 / 8 / 8 / 8 - 32 gold [Vol 784]
  23. Casual gamers, and fans of other “real-time” mech based games beware though: Front Mission 4 will probably be either too technical, too boring, or just not your cup of tea.

Awards & Rankings

#98 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2004
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Dec 30, 2010
    10
    now if i was gona do my top 3 favorite PS2 games this game would be in it. this was a huge suprise mainly because ive never even heard of thenow if i was gona do my top 3 favorite PS2 games this game would be in it. this was a huge suprise mainly because ive never even heard of the front mission series till i played this game . when i saw it i thought it was just some 3rd person shooting mech game where you just run around and shoot things up and thought ok this might be fun. boy was i wrong and for the better its actaully a Stratagy RPG which by the way i freeking love thoose kinda games and was immidiatly hooked on it . the combat system and level up system are great and i love the whole link system where you can chain your attacks . the story is well told and is decently voiced acted with intresting charicters . its a pretty long game to i think i clocked in almost 50 hours first time through . my only small gripe is i wish you could controll more then just 6 mechs in combat . 10 would have been really nice. you also play 2 differnt sceneroes that will intertwine with each other as the game progresses . so you have 2 main charicters . which felt abit strange at first but i begane to like after some time . all and all a great SRPG . Full Review »
  2. Nov 13, 2010
    6
    SLOW. I find myself continually skipping the battle scenes, but its not fast enough. Prepare to waste hours on a single battle and then lose.SLOW. I find myself continually skipping the battle scenes, but its not fast enough. Prepare to waste hours on a single battle and then lose. The plot is weak. The voice acting is cheesy. Customizing mechs was alright. This game is not fun. I couldn't even sell this game for 99 cents on ebay. Full Review »
  3. RobertR.
    Mar 29, 2005
    10
    This game never gets boring and it is a real thrill and plus it is a r.p.g. and i love those games.