• Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Mar 28, 2006
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
Buy On
  1. Ten Hammers maintains a good presentation and adds some minor control tweaks, but overall you're left with a strategy experience that feels very familiar if you played the first game.
  2. Game Informer
    73
    The Full Spectrum Warrior series has given inspiration to "Brothers in Arms" and 360's "Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter", but is still lacking some of its own. [Apr 2006, p.116]
  3. FSW: Ten Hammers is not a sequel for people who didn't enjoy the slow action of the original. The pace is exactly the same here, with slightly more player control and all of the same general ugliness you remember.
  4. 60
    Perhaps the weakest addition is a new targeting mode that allows the actual aiming of shots.
  5. An unholy level of difficulty squelches the fun, and bullets will frequently find your grunts unless they're behind the most fortress-like of cover.
  6. games(TM)
    70
    A cerebral and unusual war game with issues that don’t, in the end, detract from its effectiveness. [Apr 2006, p.122]
  7. While the first FSW was considered somewhat revolutionary, it was something different and unique, only one sequel later the game seems a bit one dimensional and stale.
  8. Edge Magazine
    70
    It’s on Live, though, that Ten Hammers truly explodes into life, the absolute requirement for tactics creating jumpy matches that outgun anything so far on Xbox or its baby brother. [Apr 2006, p.92]
  9. While the tactical combat is still the best around, more casual gamers hoping for a military action fix may find it too frustrating, too inconsistent and too cold for their liking.
  10. Expectations are high for this sequel to the highly acclaimed ultra-realistic simulation shooter. Sadly it doesn't quite deliver, focussing instead on tiny changes to the overall formula.
  11. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    50
    It's spoiled by painfully awkward gameplay, lobotomized recruits (on both sides), and a million annoying ways to die. [Apr 2006, p.95]
  12. 70
    Ultimately, the biggest flaw with Full Spectrum Warrior: Ten Hammers is polish. Everything here works decently enough, but it all feels like minor tweaks as opposed to major innovation.
  13. However, fans of the genre will appreciate the added commands and improved AI of the game. Whether these improvements are enough to purchase the second title in the Full Spectrum Warrior series will most likely be decided by a game rental first.
  14. The rigidly linear levels with obvious trigger points, the failure to evolve the basic gameplay and the newly random nature of the effectiveness of cover all conspire to devalue what was a novel and rather fun original.
  15. It’s a thinking man’s war game worth a shot if you’re in the mood for something different.
  16. The strategy play can sometimes feel mechanical, but budding tacticians will undoubtedly love it.
  17. Although Ten Hammers has some nice touches, it is nowhere near the gameit could and should have been. This is a case of great original, poor sequel syndrome, I’m afraid.

Awards & Rankings

70
72
#72 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2006
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. ruelestrada
    Jul 17, 2006
    8
    i love the game its good to have a strategy on my own, but what i is that you cant save the game in an easy way and if you had mistake oni love the game its good to have a strategy on my own, but what i is that you cant save the game in an easy way and if you had mistake on saving it you will go back to the start of the game and it makes me even though you have finish level 6............... i wish you could send me some tips on how to go to advance level . Full Review »
  2. TomasO.
    Jun 13, 2006
    9
    Nice and interesting game, just needs more work on precision fire and some other controls.
  3. MikeW.
    Apr 26, 2006
    7
    i think thay made the game to hard from the start and people end up stop playing it but if you stick with it you will be happy it has a good i think thay made the game to hard from the start and people end up stop playing it but if you stick with it you will be happy it has a good picture the view can be kinda be a pain sometimes but the thing i hate the most is that you cant shoot you have to tell it to shoot for you. Full Review »