User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Ed
    Mar 30, 2005
    10
    It rocks.
  2. DragonKnightofFinalFantasy
    Aug 3, 2005
    6
    An improvement of the last FMA game. Now I'm a really big fan of the FMA anime and so far the games are bad (FMA Broken Angel) to very medicore (FMA Crimson Elixier). Which disappoints me and this is from SquarEnix! I mean come on they can do better than this. The graphics have been given a much appreciated overall with new Budokai 2-3 anime style graphics and I liked that. Theres An improvement of the last FMA game. Now I'm a really big fan of the FMA anime and so far the games are bad (FMA Broken Angel) to very medicore (FMA Crimson Elixier). Which disappoints me and this is from SquarEnix! I mean come on they can do better than this. The graphics have been given a much appreciated overall with new Budokai 2-3 anime style graphics and I liked that. Theres thousands of invisible walls though and that irratated me and the animation for the characters was good and it still had the dumb text boxes and character portaits but at least this time its voice-acted!.....which leads us to the sound department its voiceovers are done by the American voice-actors so thumbs up there its acting is solid overall. The audio itself didn't really grab me but it wasn't that bad and the gameplay is faster and it has combos now but its not much of an improvement overall and it feels pretty similar and you level up to boost your alchemic abilities but its pretty basic really and again Square didn't give you more options with Ed's brother Al the poor chap with his soul stuck in a piece of armor it would've rocked to have more freedom with him or play with him or better have a buddy jump in and play with you. The story follows the anime brother Al and Ed look for the Philosper's Stone to regain Ed's arm and leg and Ed's physical body they lost trying to revive their dead mother using Alchemy a forbidden and unknown use of alchemy. Sadly its pretty short but its midly enjoyable nonethless. Expand
  3. GerardH.
    Dec 27, 2005
    5
    The game is crap. I like FMA but if your over the age of 10 you will hate this game. The most annoying things are: -every 1 min of gameplay=1 min of load time . The loadtime between sections isnt bad but there are a LOT of sections. -EXTEMELY LONG DIALOGUE!!! This wouldn't be bad by itself, except for... -No way to fast forward past dialogue sections, and... -The game has the voices The game is crap. I like FMA but if your over the age of 10 you will hate this game. The most annoying things are: -every 1 min of gameplay=1 min of load time . The loadtime between sections isnt bad but there are a LOT of sections. -EXTEMELY LONG DIALOGUE!!! This wouldn't be bad by itself, except for... -No way to fast forward past dialogue sections, and... -The game has the voices of the characters from FMA read the dialogue but afterEVERY SINGLE SENTENCE you have to press a button to continue the dialogue...WTF?! I can understand the game being designed like that if there weren't voices reading out the dialogue but its so beyond incredibly annoying ( I'm only to chapter 4 and I think there has been about 1 hr of dialogue, compared to 45 min of playing. Imagine that another way. It takes the character about 10 seconds on avg to say their lines. Then a button. 10 more sec of dialogue, then a button. Pretty annoying after a while. If it wasn't the dialogue problems, I would have given this game a 8 out of 10. I should give it a 2 since there are 4 idiots who gave it a 10. I feel bad for my girl since she bought this for me as a christmas gift, but I'm pretty inclined to just return this junk and say I never opened it Expand
  4. DarkShadowC
    Jul 26, 2005
    7
    I really enjoyed the game since im a FullMetal ALchimist fan. But ofcorse you people might think ill say 10 this game rocks but i think people that like this game should say more what they need to improve i mean the story's fun in all just watching the cartoon when ur done fighting but i the makers need to pay close attention on the the fighting like make it more exciting at least I really enjoyed the game since im a FullMetal ALchimist fan. But ofcorse you people might think ill say 10 this game rocks but i think people that like this game should say more what they need to improve i mean the story's fun in all just watching the cartoon when ur done fighting but i the makers need to pay close attention on the the fighting like make it more exciting at least cuase when i fight alot in the game it gits really broing when u git used to it for some reason..... I gave it a 7 because they did improved on the game so i give em credit for that and the new combos i liked .. Expand
  5. Thinkablefire
    Jul 6, 2005
    7
    Anime fans should definitely look into this game. It is surley a better improvement than the first one. Nothing to new but it sure does keep you on your feet. I recommend renting before buying for the storyline is pretty good but.....
  6. Underdogshadow
    Aug 5, 2005
    10
    its a really great game with tricky gameplay that alows it to get a 10.
  7. EdwardE.
    May 21, 2006
    9
    I thought the game was really fun, and I have cleared it 3 times. The dialoge was pretty long, but I thought it was cool the characters vocies were added, but I wish that it didn't fallow the storyline so much, so it could be a new adventure. If you are very into the manga and anime (* like me,) you already know whats going to happen. Its a really fun game though, and I always enjoy I thought the game was really fun, and I have cleared it 3 times. The dialoge was pretty long, but I thought it was cool the characters vocies were added, but I wish that it didn't fallow the storyline so much, so it could be a new adventure. If you are very into the manga and anime (* like me,) you already know whats going to happen. Its a really fun game though, and I always enjoy playing it. SO I give it a nine. Expand
  8. JeffreyG.
    Mar 17, 2005
    10
    I LOVE this game.
  9. BobbyN.
    Jun 12, 2005
    10
    I thought this game looked cool. I may be 13 but I know a good game when I see it.
  10. Dec 3, 2011
    5
    Fullmetal Alchemist is an alright game that has some very annoying flaws that prevent it from being a good game. The graphics could use a lot of polish so the graphics are not great at all but the voice acting is very top-notch. The plot is relatively interesting as the plot of the game does not follow the plot of the anime although the anime's plot is much better the plot of the game isFullmetal Alchemist is an alright game that has some very annoying flaws that prevent it from being a good game. The graphics could use a lot of polish so the graphics are not great at all but the voice acting is very top-notch. The plot is relatively interesting as the plot of the game does not follow the plot of the anime although the anime's plot is much better the plot of the game is still nice. The gameplay is where the problems crop up, the gameplay is complex and rather annoying as enemies can constantly wear away at your health without you being able to retaliate and soon you are dead. You cannot heal yourself in the game and this proves infuriating. The worst thing about the game is the save points, they are so unevenly spaced out and so few that if you die you have to start from like 30 minutes ago and watch the same stuff a million times because you can't skip. I became very infurated because of this, all these flaws make Fullmetal Alchemist one of the hardest games you will ever play. Overall, Fullmetal Alchemist has a great story that is bound to keep you hooked but the annoying gameplay elements will turn you away. I recommed renting this game because you won't want it anymore after dying a million times and redoing everything a 100 times that you almost break the TV. Breakdown for "Fullmetal Alchemist 2: Curse of the Crimson Elixir": Presentation: 8, Graphics: 4, Sound: 7, Gameplay: 4.5, Lasting Appeal: 5, Verdict: 5.3 out of 10 "Average". One of the hardest games you will ever play.â Expand
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Like most carnivals it's fun today, dull tomorrow.
  2. 65
    It's not a classic game, but Fullmetal Alchemist 2 ably performs both of its intended functions: it's fun for existing series fans, and a decent enough game that those who haven't had contact with the original property will get far enough that the concept could intrigue them.
  3. It's entertaining enough, even for those who aren't major followers of the show, but despite all it has going for it, the short length and repetitive gameplay keep Fullmetal Alchemist 2 from being anything more noteworthy than a weekend rental.