Gallop Racer 2003: A New Breed PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Tecmo
  • Release Date: Mar 31, 2003
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
Buy On
  1. Game Informer
    85
    With a near-limitless plethora of horses, tons of strategy, and loads of gameplay extras, this is a sure bet. [May 2003, p.83]
  2. This game has extended play written all over it. Starting with a fledgling jockey and horse and building up over time and progressively more difficult races results in a game that, if you are a fan of the genre, will have you entertained for weeks on end.
  3. 80
    The races are challenging and exciting, plus the management features give the game a considerable amount of depth. The game goes beyond its high concept and delivers a rather enjoyable hybrid of arcade and simulation-styled gameplay.
  4. PSM Magazine
    80
    A variety of game modes and high replay value make GR 2003 a game not to be missed. [May 2003, p.36]
  5. 79
    It's got plenty of depth and, believe it or not, there is skill involved. Considering the lack of horse racing games on the PS2, this is truly as good as it gets.
  6. 78
    The central gameplay mechanic of Gallop Racer 2003, and the one I found compelling, is that it forces you to strike an ever-shifting balance between your horse's position on the track and its level of stamina.
  7. A much better gambling system, improved breeding and hours and hours of racing keeps this one at the head of the pack.
  8. GameNow
    75
    Are you into horse racing? OK, then you'll absolutely go giddyap over GR03. Are you into racing games in general? Then you ought to give GR03 a test ride. [June 2003, p.50]
  9. With 3,000 horses and an assortment of gameplay modes and mini-games you won’t be looking anywhere else to satisfy your horse fetish.
  10. 70
    For all its frustrations and shortcomings, GR2003 does pay off with the thrill of long-sought victory and a sense of accomplishment for having figured out the bizarre subtleties of this stat-heavy simulation.
  11. Play Magazine
    70
    More often than not, I found myself totally absorbed in this moment, rocking back and forth like an idiot while my heart raced as the finish neared. [May 2003, p.74]
  12. You’ll also likely be mad and happy that Tecmo added much needed new stuff while also butchering some aspects of its predecessor that should have never been touched.
  13. GMR Magazine
    70
    The game may be too complicated and difficult for most, but you've got to appreciate its dedication to realism and great graphics. [June 2003, p.75]
  14. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    60
    The fools who don't live and die for horse racing (we'll call them funambulists) will find this game generally confusing, and will probably never figure out the diluted betting system. [June 2003, p.105]
  15. A more well-designed interface, a less punishing learning curve, an independent and more robust betting system, and a more action-oriented gameplay system would all go far in bringing new players into the fold.
  16. Cheat Code Central
    3
    Even though the game was intriguing from a documentary point of view, my interest began to wane a few hours into it.
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. LuisR.
    Sep 20, 2005
    10
    me gustaria bajrlo el juego para jugar en mi computadora me gustaria q me lo manden xq soy fanatico de este juego pero solo tengo play one please.
  2. CourtneyI.
    Jun 20, 2004
    8
    G1 jockey can be betta,it 2 hard 4 me i think the easy leval could be easyer and the grapics aint da best.
  3. MeT.
    Apr 5, 2004
    10
    Great game!