Gauntlet: Seven Sorrows PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Midway
  • Release Date: Dec 12, 2005
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 38
  2. Negative: 8 out of 38
Buy On
  1. 70
    While there is a certain satisfaction to be had at unleashing 50-hit combos in Seven Sorrows, many people will find the game just too shallow in this day and age. The most enjoyment out of Seven Sorrows will be had playing with friends or online.
  2. 70
    Watching these heroes pirouette amidst the violence is surprisingly entertaining, and while Seven Sorrows doesn't deliver fully on the promise and longevity of its progenitor, it does provide a fleeting good time.
  3. 70
    It may not be revolutionary or technically stunning, but it is a lot of fun; and that's what games are all about.
  4. Nothing beats running around cramped dungeons seeking treasure and revenge while hacking, arrow-ing, and spell-casting your way through hordes of Lord of the Rings rejects.
  5. 70
    While it is a solid hack and slash action title, Seven Sorrows has to be seen as a disappointment for many fans of the series expecting a deeper, longer experience.
  6. A nice way to kill a few hours when guests are over, but I wouldn't have paid full price for it.
  7. Gauntlet fans will be disappointed and the game won’t win any new converts to Gauntlet fandom.
  8. 65
    Sorrows nails the controls, making the repetitive hack-n-slash action enjoyable in a Dynasty Warriors kinda way, and multiplayer is mostly successful. Unfortunately, the graphics fail to impress, the story isn't anything memorable, banging buttons is as effective as making use of the combos, and what should have been an epic quest can be completed by a novice gamer in around eight hours, with not much reason for replay.
  9. If you're looking for a Gauntlet game in the tradition of the original, you can find "Midway Arcade Treasures" for cheap. If you want one more like the recent N64 releases or Dark Legacy, this is the only game in town.
  10. Seven Sorrows baits you with a role-playing-game-style character development system, but the game's short length (easily clocking in under six hours) makes leveling up unrewarding.
  11. Game Informer
    63
    The game's one noteable feat - online, cooperative multiplayer. This, I am delighted to say, works swimmingly. [Feb 2006, p.102]
  12. PSM Magazine
    60
    A decent romp when playing with others, even if it does get old after a while. [Feb 2006, p.80]
  13. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    60
    It's a bite-size nugget of nostalgia and mindless fun. [Feb 2006, p.77]
  14. Retro purists will like it but most will find the gameplay too basic. The graphics and technology behind the game have obviously improved and grown over the years; it's just a pity the same can't be said of the actual gameplay. [PSW]
  15. The hack n’ slash genre has evolved quite a bit over the years, so people have come to expect more out of a game like this.
  16. Official Playstation 2 Magazine UK
    60
    Enjoyably frantic, brief and basic. Gauntlet is showing its age but still offers a decent few hours of mindless maiming. [Mar 2006, p.94]
  17. The plot is inconsequential, the characters are less than one dimensional and the game is radically overbalanced, amongst other issues.
  18. While mind-numbingly boring in single-player, the game does inch closer to being fun when other players pick up a controller.
  19. Whether you play it alone or with friends, this uninspired update to the '80s swords-and-sorcery arcade dungeon crawl misses the mark with its boring, mindless action and short, forgettable quest.
  20. The A.V. Club
    50
    Fundamentally unchanged since 1985, the Gauntlet experience remains fun, but the latest incarnation doesn't really take the franchise to the proverbial next level. It's a great way to kill an afternoon with friends, but nothing more.
  21. While fun once through, the broken online component and repetitive design means this'll soon be consigned to a dusty game shelf never to be played again.
  22. In the end, Gauntlet: Seven Sorrows is hardly worth its $50 price tag. It feels much more like a budget title that was put together rather quickly.

Awards & Rankings

#60 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 9
  2. Negative: 5 out of 9
  1. Mar 17, 2014
    0
    Short, simple, easy and NOT a Gauntlet game by any means. With lackluster combat and level design this game falls so short of any hopes ofShort, simple, easy and NOT a Gauntlet game by any means. With lackluster combat and level design this game falls so short of any hopes of being entertaining. Online play is a joke because well there is no one playing online. I found one person who was playing and we killed maybe 10 enemies before either he got disconnected or he just logged off and this was a week after the game came out. Just save yourself the money and wasted time and skip this one. Full Review »
  2. aspentitan
    Jan 7, 2010
    7
    It is 2010 as i write this and only reviewed this game here because i finished it and thought it might be informative to someone who may want It is 2010 as i write this and only reviewed this game here because i finished it and thought it might be informative to someone who may want to pick this game up used. It is an extremely easy game to finish but even in 2010 I disagree this title deserves under a 6 rating. I usually only give poor scores if the game is unplayable due to glitches, terrible camera or poor controls. This game has none of those issues and is actually quite good looking on backwards compatible ps3 or with component cables on ps2. I found the game very simple but always entertaining. Game is very short, less than 7 hrs but each character (3) somehow plays different even though all you do is hit the x button repetitively to play the game. Combos are not really necessary to learn and the RPG element really isn't necessary. I conclude this game got bashed really hard because it isn't really a gauntlet game and may have misled all fans of gauntlet. It is basically an action game and kind of a tribute to gauntlet as a theme base. I find this title equal to the repetitive lord of the rings games on ps2 so if you like those this is good too. It is not a must own but it finds a unique place in my 100 game library. I own Wii, Xbox360 and PS3 and have sold other games ahead of this one. It really isn't too bad, a nice solid game that is an easy hack and slash but very entertaining throughout from start to finish and in my mind that was what gauntlet always was, so no hard feelings from me. Full Review »
  3. DecepticonPom
    Sep 9, 2006
    3
    Considering how incredible Dark Legacy was, this plays like a bedroom fanboy's home-made 'tribute'. Such potential with some Considering how incredible Dark Legacy was, this plays like a bedroom fanboy's home-made 'tribute'. Such potential with some reinvention of the formula but ultimately a lifeless romp which is far too easy. I'm hardly an expert gameplayer but as a comparison, I took about 3 weeks to complete Dark Legacy. Seven Sorrows took less than 4 hours. Full Review »