Gauntlet: Seven Sorrows PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Midway
  • Release Date: Dec 12, 2005
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 20
  2. Negative: 7 out of 20
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. aspentitan
    Jan 7, 2010
    7
    It is 2010 as i write this and only reviewed this game here because i finished it and thought it might be informative to someone who may want to pick this game up used. It is an extremely easy game to finish but even in 2010 I disagree this title deserves under a 6 rating. I usually only give poor scores if the game is unplayable due to glitches, terrible camera or poor controls. This It is 2010 as i write this and only reviewed this game here because i finished it and thought it might be informative to someone who may want to pick this game up used. It is an extremely easy game to finish but even in 2010 I disagree this title deserves under a 6 rating. I usually only give poor scores if the game is unplayable due to glitches, terrible camera or poor controls. This game has none of those issues and is actually quite good looking on backwards compatible ps3 or with component cables on ps2. I found the game very simple but always entertaining. Game is very short, less than 7 hrs but each character (3) somehow plays different even though all you do is hit the x button repetitively to play the game. Combos are not really necessary to learn and the RPG element really isn't necessary. I conclude this game got bashed really hard because it isn't really a gauntlet game and may have misled all fans of gauntlet. It is basically an action game and kind of a tribute to gauntlet as a theme base. I find this title equal to the repetitive lord of the rings games on ps2 so if you like those this is good too. It is not a must own but it finds a unique place in my 100 game library. I own Wii, Xbox360 and PS3 and have sold other games ahead of this one. It really isn't too bad, a nice solid game that is an easy hack and slash but very entertaining throughout from start to finish and in my mind that was what gauntlet always was, so no hard feelings from me. Expand
  2. DavidS.
    Jan 3, 2006
    5
    Is metacritic accurate or what? I rented this expecting a sub par gaming experience and behold, I was given one! I finished the game in 4 hours just in time for dinner! I picked up the joystick later and tried some online play but it was just too boring. I guess if you have 4 hrs. to kill it's worth a rental, but if not you should steer way clear of this stinker. Monotonous gameplay Is metacritic accurate or what? I rented this expecting a sub par gaming experience and behold, I was given one! I finished the game in 4 hours just in time for dinner! I picked up the joystick later and tried some online play but it was just too boring. I guess if you have 4 hrs. to kill it's worth a rental, but if not you should steer way clear of this stinker. Monotonous gameplay is okay if there's some actual RPG elements to experiment with ex.(Castlevania). Sadly, this element is missing. Graphis are average to poor along with the sound. If this game were for Sega Genesis it would be pretty cool. NOT! Expand
  3. ToneeH.
    Jan 6, 2006
    0
    Not challening at all. Defeated this game in 7 days and I am 8 yearls old. I loved the old game dark legacy.
  4. DecepticonPom
    Sep 9, 2006
    3
    Considering how incredible Dark Legacy was, this plays like a bedroom fanboy's home-made 'tribute'. Such potential with some reinvention of the formula but ultimately a lifeless romp which is far too easy. I'm hardly an expert gameplayer but as a comparison, I took about 3 weeks to complete Dark Legacy. Seven Sorrows took less than 4 hours.
  5. LeahJohns
    Jan 3, 2006
    1
    This game was absolutely terrible. I spent $50 on it and was sickened by my loss of money. On top of that, when I beat it after 3 hours, my reward was an extra. The extra was a lame preview of L.A. Rush. Like they were trying to sell me another game through this one. Blah!!!!
  6. [Anonymous]
    Dec 18, 2005
    5
    The graphics were great, but we finished the game in about 8 hours. The cooperative play was cool, but the game was pretty much just killing tons of guys who never stopped coming. There was basically no strategy, and money can only be used to buy combo moves which run out quickly. There is no store, and special abilities are limited to combo moves (no potions, spells, etc.). While the The graphics were great, but we finished the game in about 8 hours. The cooperative play was cool, but the game was pretty much just killing tons of guys who never stopped coming. There was basically no strategy, and money can only be used to buy combo moves which run out quickly. There is no store, and special abilities are limited to combo moves (no potions, spells, etc.). While the game looked a lot like Lord of the Rings, it was much shorter and less fun. This game is going back to the store to be traded in, since there is no reason to replay. Expand
  7. NateM.
    Dec 15, 2005
    5
    As a Gauntlet goes, not very impressive. As said more like a demo than anything. It lacks any sort of gameplay the previous two contained. It took about four hours to beat on hard. A renter not a buyer.
  8. Z.Peba
    Dec 29, 2005
    3
    I liked the Dark Legacy. The goals of runing stones and others. This one doesn´t have many goals and is short and easy. Just for kids.
  9. Mar 17, 2014
    0
    Short, simple, easy and NOT a Gauntlet game by any means. With lackluster combat and level design this game falls so short of any hopes of being entertaining. Online play is a joke because well there is no one playing online. I found one person who was playing and we killed maybe 10 enemies before either he got disconnected or he just logged off and this was a week after the game came out.Short, simple, easy and NOT a Gauntlet game by any means. With lackluster combat and level design this game falls so short of any hopes of being entertaining. Online play is a joke because well there is no one playing online. I found one person who was playing and we killed maybe 10 enemies before either he got disconnected or he just logged off and this was a week after the game came out. Just save yourself the money and wasted time and skip this one. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#71 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 38
  2. Negative: 8 out of 38
  1. Whether you play it alone or with friends, this uninspired update to the '80s swords-and-sorcery arcade dungeon crawl misses the mark with its boring, mindless action and short, forgettable quest.
  2. 40
    More of a tech demo than a solid game. The engine is pretty and the characters look great, but it's sorely lacking in the gameplay department.
  3. It keeps the classic feel, but has enough new gameplay to make it solid. And it's the first real console-based Gauntlet game ever, which adds a new element to the 4 player co-op play that was a cornerstone of the series.