• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Gauntlet: Seven Sorrows Image
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 19 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Blending an intuitive combat system, accessible RPG elements, and new junction skills, Seven Sorrows features the dynamic co-op it's known for, and, for the first time ever, it is online supporting up to four players. Centuries ago, four immortal heroes set out to kill the most powerfulBlending an intuitive combat system, accessible RPG elements, and new junction skills, Seven Sorrows features the dynamic co-op it's known for, and, for the first time ever, it is online supporting up to four players. Centuries ago, four immortal heroes set out to kill the most powerful emperor their age had ever known. They failed, and for their crimes, three were crucified on a great tree at the bottom of the world. Mysteriously set free, the heroes set out to finish what they had started, only to find that they must now save their tormentor from his own dreams and madness. Driven to grief by seven acts of deep cruelty and selfishness, the emperor seeks to undo the one that pains him the most: the murder of his lover, Cusirimay. If the ancient heroes cannot undo the emperor's deeds on their own, his mad plans may tear apart the world. Seven Sorrows is the fusion of fantasy fighting action with the strategy of user-friendly RPG elements, providing gamers a deep, engaging gameplay experience complete with solo play, co-op and an online community. The new fighting system allows for easy pick-up-and-play while simultaneously offering deeper choices for more advanced players. Additionally, online RPG and collection elements add significant replay value to the game. [Midway] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 38
  2. Negative: 8 out of 38
  1. The minimalist twist to Gauntlet: Seven Sorrows may turn of those gamers looking for depth, but the game really does pull you in with some great visuals and slick combo moves.
  2. Seven Sorrows is best played with 4 players which helps retain some semblance of the intended Gauntlet experience.
  3. 70
    While there is a certain satisfaction to be had at unleashing 50-hit combos in Seven Sorrows, many people will find the game just too shallow in this day and age. The most enjoyment out of Seven Sorrows will be had playing with friends or online.
  4. Enjoyably frantic, brief and basic. Gauntlet is showing its age but still offers a decent few hours of mindless maiming. [Mar 2006, p.94]
  5. A decent romp when playing with others, even if it does get old after a while. [Feb 2006, p.80]
  6. Fundamentally unchanged since 1985, the Gauntlet experience remains fun, but the latest incarnation doesn't really take the franchise to the proverbial next level. It's a great way to kill an afternoon with friends, but nothing more.
  7. At least in terms of being faithful to the source material, it retains a similar level of simplicity, except that in 2006 that just isn't enough.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 9
  2. Negative: 5 out of 9
  1. aspentitan
    Jan 7, 2010
    7
    It is 2010 as i write this and only reviewed this game here because i finished it and thought it might be informative to someone who may want It is 2010 as i write this and only reviewed this game here because i finished it and thought it might be informative to someone who may want to pick this game up used. It is an extremely easy game to finish but even in 2010 I disagree this title deserves under a 6 rating. I usually only give poor scores if the game is unplayable due to glitches, terrible camera or poor controls. This game has none of those issues and is actually quite good looking on backwards compatible ps3 or with component cables on ps2. I found the game very simple but always entertaining. Game is very short, less than 7 hrs but each character (3) somehow plays different even though all you do is hit the x button repetitively to play the game. Combos are not really necessary to learn and the RPG element really isn't necessary. I conclude this game got bashed really hard because it isn't really a gauntlet game and may have misled all fans of gauntlet. It is basically an action game and kind of a tribute to gauntlet as a theme base. I find this title equal to the repetitive lord of the rings games on ps2 so if you like those this is good too. It is not a must own but it finds a unique place in my 100 game library. I own Wii, Xbox360 and PS3 and have sold other games ahead of this one. It really isn't too bad, a nice solid game that is an easy hack and slash but very entertaining throughout from start to finish and in my mind that was what gauntlet always was, so no hard feelings from me. Expand
  2. [Anonymous]
    Dec 18, 2005
    5
    The graphics were great, but we finished the game in about 8 hours. The cooperative play was cool, but the game was pretty much just killing The graphics were great, but we finished the game in about 8 hours. The cooperative play was cool, but the game was pretty much just killing tons of guys who never stopped coming. There was basically no strategy, and money can only be used to buy combo moves which run out quickly. There is no store, and special abilities are limited to combo moves (no potions, spells, etc.). While the game looked a lot like Lord of the Rings, it was much shorter and less fun. This game is going back to the store to be traded in, since there is no reason to replay. Collapse
  3. DavidS.
    Jan 3, 2006
    5
    Is metacritic accurate or what? I rented this expecting a sub par gaming experience and behold, I was given one! I finished the game in 4 Is metacritic accurate or what? I rented this expecting a sub par gaming experience and behold, I was given one! I finished the game in 4 hours just in time for dinner! I picked up the joystick later and tried some online play but it was just too boring. I guess if you have 4 hrs. to kill it's worth a rental, but if not you should steer way clear of this stinker. Monotonous gameplay is okay if there's some actual RPG elements to experiment with ex.(Castlevania). Sadly, this element is missing. Graphis are average to poor along with the sound. If this game were for Sega Genesis it would be pretty cool. NOT! Expand
  4. Z.Peba
    Dec 29, 2005
    3
    I liked the Dark Legacy. The goals of runing stones and others. This one doesn´t have many goals and is short and easy. Just for kids.
  5. DecepticonPom
    Sep 9, 2006
    3
    Considering how incredible Dark Legacy was, this plays like a bedroom fanboy's home-made 'tribute'. Such potential with some Considering how incredible Dark Legacy was, this plays like a bedroom fanboy's home-made 'tribute'. Such potential with some reinvention of the formula but ultimately a lifeless romp which is far too easy. I'm hardly an expert gameplayer but as a comparison, I took about 3 weeks to complete Dark Legacy. Seven Sorrows took less than 4 hours. Expand
  6. LeahJohns
    Jan 3, 2006
    1
    This game was absolutely terrible. I spent $50 on it and was sickened by my loss of money. On top of that, when I beat it after 3 hours, myThis game was absolutely terrible. I spent $50 on it and was sickened by my loss of money. On top of that, when I beat it after 3 hours, my reward was an extra. The extra was a lame preview of L.A. Rush. Like they were trying to sell me another game through this one. Blah!!!! Expand
  7. ToneeH.
    Jan 6, 2006
    0
    Not challening at all. Defeated this game in 7 days and I am 8 yearls old. I loved the old game dark legacy.

See all 9 User Reviews