User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 2 out of 12

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Chong
    Mar 15, 2004
    8
    Although the game is in Japanese and missions are 'go to point A' type. Difficulty level is basically the same except enemy is more responsive and can take more shots. It doesn't ruin the game at all. Especially the brilliant landscape and stages layout. Mixed funs: ample gun fires, cool melee, silent scope style shooting (control pad layout is even better than silent scope Although the game is in Japanese and missions are 'go to point A' type. Difficulty level is basically the same except enemy is more responsive and can take more shots. It doesn't ruin the game at all. Especially the brilliant landscape and stages layout. Mixed funs: ample gun fires, cool melee, silent scope style shooting (control pad layout is even better than silent scope 3). The control pad layout is well thought and can be mastered within an hour. Plus: when completed all levels, there are hidden level, multi-player mode and more. Definitely a must try. Expand
  2. KaneD.
    May 30, 2005
    10
    I read the lowest rating by PSM... frankly it is crap. It sounds like whoever wrote it never actually played the game. For the stuff the character has to do, it must be put in third person or it would be impossible to do some of the things the character must do in a first person setting. Personally I believe it is a great game, it is hard and a bit irritating at first but once you get the I read the lowest rating by PSM... frankly it is crap. It sounds like whoever wrote it never actually played the game. For the stuff the character has to do, it must be put in third person or it would be impossible to do some of the things the character must do in a first person setting. Personally I believe it is a great game, it is hard and a bit irritating at first but once you get the hang of it one can really get involved. Expand
  3. YelzagkS.
    Sep 22, 2005
    10
    I just wanted to state that Ghost in Shell: Stand A Lone Complex was the best video game that I have ever played. Not only was it fun, but it was also challenging. What I liked best was the 3rd Person Shooter format with the elements of platforming (jumping, puzzles-lite), combined with run-n-gunning (instead of boring stealth), and beautiful visuals. The controller scheme was equally I just wanted to state that Ghost in Shell: Stand A Lone Complex was the best video game that I have ever played. Not only was it fun, but it was also challenging. What I liked best was the 3rd Person Shooter format with the elements of platforming (jumping, puzzles-lite), combined with run-n-gunning (instead of boring stealth), and beautiful visuals. The controller scheme was equally brilliant, although it did seem awkward at first. I look forward to a sequel. Expand
  4. SeanC.
    Jan 20, 2006
    7
    I enjoyed this game, and the controls felt very fluid to my gamer hands. The story, while dense, was on par with what I expected from the license. Truly, the only place where the game *really* stumbles is the AI. For a game based on characters with computers for brains, the AI is just laughably boring. I wouldn't even call it bad, just predictable. However, I did enjoy the final boss I enjoyed this game, and the controls felt very fluid to my gamer hands. The story, while dense, was on par with what I expected from the license. Truly, the only place where the game *really* stumbles is the AI. For a game based on characters with computers for brains, the AI is just laughably boring. I wouldn't even call it bad, just predictable. However, I did enjoy the final boss in the game. Where the game really gets going is multiplayer, which can actually be quite fun, especially playing as the Major. If they create a sequel to the game, I would ask only a few things of it beyond what was delivered here: More immersion in the story. Let the player uncover a lot more, through reading computer files, actually watching/listening or what have you. A bit more Splinter Cell, a little less Tomb Raider. Better AI. Please challenge me, because after I beat the game on Normal, I tried Hard, and all I got were beefier enemies. System linkable or online multiplayer would be fun, some extra game modes to mix things up, with goals other than annihilating you opponent. Finally, level design could be improved, both in Single and Multiplayer. Overall, the game was fun for me, and I especially liked the fluid animation and stylish graphics. However, I hesitate to purchase the game, since I don't think that it would prove to be as much fun over the long term. Expand
  5. Stoic
    Mar 25, 2005
    1
    One might think that since the GITS movie and Stand Alone Complex anime were so cool, that the game would shine. Expect only frustration. Jumping is beyond difficult, the effects seemingly random and expect to spend at least an hour trying to even get from the pier to the other side of the boxes. The one button for jumping, another for grapping control scheme is really annoying. Save your One might think that since the GITS movie and Stand Alone Complex anime were so cool, that the game would shine. Expect only frustration. Jumping is beyond difficult, the effects seemingly random and expect to spend at least an hour trying to even get from the pier to the other side of the boxes. The one button for jumping, another for grapping control scheme is really annoying. Save your money and buy the anime, at least that you will enjoy, this is worthless and a waste of 50 dollars. Collapse
  6. Aug 9, 2013
    8
    Stand Alone Complex is a good partner to the Anime and a decent game with excellent graphics. The controls are easy to pick up and play than other games in this genre and there is some excitement and good gameplay here. It does have widescreen support. The presentation is directly out of the Stand Alone Complex anime DVDs so it looks really cool, and better than most 2004 games. You canStand Alone Complex is a good partner to the Anime and a decent game with excellent graphics. The controls are easy to pick up and play than other games in this genre and there is some excitement and good gameplay here. It does have widescreen support. The presentation is directly out of the Stand Alone Complex anime DVDs so it looks really cool, and better than most 2004 games. You can skip cutscenes and in game dialogue. You aren't forced into a training mission either! There are levels where you play Batou and seem to have fun blasting everything. The first mission is kind of a medium difficulty. You may get stuck if you didn't learn all the controls, namely that R1 button is a grab, kind of like old tomb raider. But its not clunky. I landed most of my jumps in the second level where things really get going. If you are not good at platforming or shooting, this might be a headache, but its not too difficult. This game is sort of like The Matrix games. Run, blast, and dodge to the next switch or checkpoint, with some ghost hacking thrown in. The enemies can't see too far, so I can see what people are saying about AI, but they can be very dangerous in range. Weapons are varied enough to be fun with some management and scouting for ammo. I think this game lacks coherent story, even if you've seen the animes, so maybe a little bit of immersion is lost. The gameplay is fast paced and pretty tight. They could have made more things to jump on besides shipping containers, but overall this is detailed enough. Its a fun game to play that makes you want to beat the whole thing. Its not James Bond level of awesome, but its worthy of collecting and playing. Expand
  7. Nov 20, 2012
    7
    Awkward controls, animation, NPC models, and bad multiplayer. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone who is not a fan of the original series. The game is decent but nothing special. With some extra tuning this game could have been great
  8. Apr 2, 2013
    6
    A decent enough attempt. While I rarely expect licence games to be any good, I was surprised that this game was half decent. Good visuals, fun gameplay, loyal to the series' narrative. However, it does lack polish and the controls can be a bit frustrating at times. With a bit more development by a more experienced team it could have been allot better.

    Overall: A decent game that will
    A decent enough attempt. While I rarely expect licence games to be any good, I was surprised that this game was half decent. Good visuals, fun gameplay, loyal to the series' narrative. However, it does lack polish and the controls can be a bit frustrating at times. With a bit more development by a more experienced team it could have been allot better.

    Overall:
    A decent game that will appeal to fans of the show, but only to a certain extent. Don't expect anything too grand, but it is worth a try for fans at least.
    Expand
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 34
  2. Negative: 3 out of 34
  1. 78
    This game is good, but could have been much better. A longer story and less sound on the next one will make it a "top of its field" game.
  2. 7 / 7 / 8 / 7 - 29 [Vol 795; 12 Mar 2004]
  3. Levels can be bland at times, but there's some breathtaking aerial work to be performed...A difficult and sometimes frustrating ride; however, it is engrossing and ambitious.