Ghosthunter PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Namco
  • Release Date: Aug 17, 2004
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 44
  2. Negative: 2 out of 44
Buy On
  1. Weekly Famitsu
    73
    7 / 7 / 8 / 7 - 29 [Vol 821]
  2. The graphics are definitely of SCEE’s highest caliber, but the unbalanced gameplay drags on forever before actually feeling like you accomplished something.
  3. As far as gameplay is concerned, Ghosthunter is obviously flawed (although it's by no means unplayable). However, as an experience, Ghosthunter is quite accomplished – it does a great job of developing its characters and it's genuinely spooky on more than one occasion.
  4. It's a middle of the road 3rd person shooter lost in a rather large genre. It has some small control and camera issues, but those can be overcome. But I can't overcome the feeling of disinterest I have playing the game.
  5. Most of its challenge comes from scenarios that don't require you to have mastered its individual rules and quirks, but which exploit large and obvious holes in the controls.
  6. This odd mixture of survival horror, atmospheric visuals, brain-dead puzzles and action clichés manages to come together despite itself, creating a PS2 exclusive that delivers more than the sum of its disparate parts.
  7. GMR Magazine
    70
    The real selling point is Ghosthunter's presentation, and the graphics, script, music, and acting are all first-rate. [Sept 2004, p.96]
  8. Even with the seeming laundry list of complaints I have about this game, I still kind of enjoyed it. There's a certain sense of accomplishment that comes from solving the tougher puzzles.
  9. When not having "almost fun" by busting ghosts (see boxout) we're left wondering what the game wants. Gallons of paint and polish can't disguise the fact that the heart of Ghosthunter is very old.
  10. The most painful and obvious flaw is the camera. It hangs up on walls, drifts inside your character, and is otherwise difficult to handle. [Sept 2004, p.109]
  11. The game's central silliness charmed me. Were the game exactly the same in every respect except for the ghosts, and I was playing some kind of a futurecop battling crooks in jetpacks, the game would have been a five—just good enough.
  12. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    62
    It's your standard third-person action-adventure game, sans cool gameplay hook, distinctive protagonist, or over-the-top concept. [Sept 2004, p.102]
  13. 60
    We walked away from this one wishing that there had been a lot more gameplay to complement the cool graphics and atmosphere.
  14. 60
    Ghosthunter's main flaw is that it fails to develop a cohesive and believable internal logic; abilities like astral projection are accessible only at specific locations and only useful in highly contrived situations. [Sept 2004, p.85]
  15. While it looks beautiful, and often immerses the player in a very effective way, some of the repetitive fighting sections really undermine the considerable work that has obviously gone into this game. I only wish that the controls had been tightened enough to create a more functional game.
  16. It pushes the PS2's hardware to incredible limits as it creates very atmospheric environments using amazing graphics and sound; however, Ghosthunter also features poorly conceived puzzles and level design that make for some frustrating moments.
  17. 60
    It just lacks some of the special elements that other Survival Horror and Action Adventure games have that make the game immensely fun, and therefore you won’t pick this over "Resident Evil or "Silent Hill."
  18. If you're the kind of gamer that enjoys immersive, atmospheric graphics and a surreal world to explore, then you might well find the patience to plough through Ghosthunter's many faults.
  19. 60
    Players expecting a cerebral horror that gets under the skin and with plenty of frights (a la Silent Hill) will be sorely disappointed. Ghosthunter's roots are firmly action-based, with its graphics, plot and overall presentation providing an enjoyable one-off gaming experience with little replay value.
  20. 50
    It's passable at best, and surpassed by The Suffering in nearly every aspect. Sadly, Sony had the right idea in not bringing this title to the U.S., as it simply brings nothing new to the table.
  21. Edge Magazine
    50
    Ghosthunter is from the same studio that brought us "Primal," and it shows. With so many adventure games on the market, this is an interesting, but ultimately staid example. Like "Primal," Ghosthunter struggles to be fun. [Jan 2004, p.101]
  22. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    50
    Throw in lukewarm A.I. and some clipping problems, and you've got a scary, pretty game that's just not a whole lot of fun to play. [Sept 2004, p.96]
  23. While Ghosthunter sets up a freaky scene, it never does much to distinguish itself from your average action game. There are no big scares and only mildly interesting action.
  24. The ghost gameplay is fine up until the wild camera and sometimes desolate gameplay pop up.

Awards & Rankings

#76 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2004
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Jan 16, 2013
    7
    There was allot of hype prior to this game's release. A real shame that it didn't fully live up to it. But I will say the game is stillThere was allot of hype prior to this game's release. A real shame that it didn't fully live up to it. But I will say the game is still extremely good none the less. Just a real shame that it isn't what it could be. The first few levels are really done well and the level design is superbly detailed. Camera can be extremely irritating at times, particularly in the enclosed areas. So many good and unique idea are introduced but just barely implemented. The last few levels do feel like they were rushed and I got the distinct impression that the developers were pushed into releasing a game that wasn't fully complete. Ghost texturing is a bit poorly done at some points. Overall: It is a REALLY good game that really feels like it is the BETA version of the game. As if they still needed to polish it off and a few more things. Full Review »
  2. Chris
    Jan 5, 2009
    9
    To be completly honest, I really enjoy this game. Its been a while since I played it, but what scares me is that I actually remember everyTo be completly honest, I really enjoy this game. Its been a while since I played it, but what scares me is that I actually remember every level with great detail. This for me is a good thing, because in most games its all a bit patchy in memory. This game, for its time was a benchmark for someone that was unique and quirky to qoute some other people on here. It was frustrating at times (following a certain ghost) but apart from that it was solid. Combat, interesting and unique. Story, solid, to be honest for modern day game stories it was great.
    If you STILL have a PS2 buy it or rent it, either way TRY it, trust me and the general public. Critics try too hard to nip pick about certain graphical issues/technical issues simply because they know how the industry works. But anyway Im hoping they create a similar game for XBOX 360 in the near future
    Full Review »
  3. JoshP.
    Nov 27, 2007
    10
    Great Game fun and scary with surprises. Don't let the so-called professionals discourage you at looking at this great game.