Ghosthunter PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Namco
  • Release Date: Aug 17, 2004
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 16, 2013
    7
    There was allot of hype prior to this game's release. A real shame that it didn't fully live up to it. But I will say the game is still extremely good none the less. Just a real shame that it isn't what it could be. The first few levels are really done well and the level design is superbly detailed. Camera can be extremely irritating at times, particularly in the enclosed areas. So manyThere was allot of hype prior to this game's release. A real shame that it didn't fully live up to it. But I will say the game is still extremely good none the less. Just a real shame that it isn't what it could be. The first few levels are really done well and the level design is superbly detailed. Camera can be extremely irritating at times, particularly in the enclosed areas. So many good and unique idea are introduced but just barely implemented. The last few levels do feel like they were rushed and I got the distinct impression that the developers were pushed into releasing a game that wasn't fully complete. Ghost texturing is a bit poorly done at some points. Overall: It is a REALLY good game that really feels like it is the BETA version of the game. As if they still needed to polish it off and a few more things. Collapse
  2. Chris
    Jan 5, 2009
    9
    To be completly honest, I really enjoy this game. Its been a while since I played it, but what scares me is that I actually remember every level with great detail. This for me is a good thing, because in most games its all a bit patchy in memory. This game, for its time was a benchmark for someone that was unique and quirky to qoute some other people on here. It was frustrating at timesTo be completly honest, I really enjoy this game. Its been a while since I played it, but what scares me is that I actually remember every level with great detail. This for me is a good thing, because in most games its all a bit patchy in memory. This game, for its time was a benchmark for someone that was unique and quirky to qoute some other people on here. It was frustrating at times (following a certain ghost) but apart from that it was solid. Combat, interesting and unique. Story, solid, to be honest for modern day game stories it was great.
    If you STILL have a PS2 buy it or rent it, either way TRY it, trust me and the general public. Critics try too hard to nip pick about certain graphical issues/technical issues simply because they know how the industry works. But anyway Im hoping they create a similar game for XBOX 360 in the near future
    Expand
  3. JoshP.
    Nov 27, 2007
    10
    Great Game fun and scary with surprises. Don't let the so-called professionals discourage you at looking at this great game.
  4. Mike
    Oct 3, 2006
    9
    There's something unique and oddly appealing about the games that SCEE's Cambridge Studio creates. I felt both Ghosthunter and Primal were underappreciated. Their earlier games on the PS1 (MediEvil I & II) were at least well received. Anyway...Ghosthunter isn't meant to be a survival horror game, or frightening in the least as far as I could tell. Then again, games There's something unique and oddly appealing about the games that SCEE's Cambridge Studio creates. I felt both Ghosthunter and Primal were underappreciated. Their earlier games on the PS1 (MediEvil I & II) were at least well received. Anyway...Ghosthunter isn't meant to be a survival horror game, or frightening in the least as far as I could tell. Then again, games don't normally 'scare' me (Doom 3 might be the exception), and until someone creates a virtually real simulation of being audited by the IRS or something similar I don't expect that'll change. It's mostly run & gun action interspersed with competent, sometimes amusing/quirky story-progressing cinematic scenes. Much of what makes Ghosthunter special, and perhaps a little spooky, is the effective use of visuals to create a certain atmosphere and mood. The level set in the bayou in Louisiana was particularly memorable in this regard for me. This aspect isn't as easy to convey for 'professional' reviewers (and can be somewhat subjective) compared to the standard "gameplay, graphics and audio" routine. Though I didn't really find any of those areas lacking either. Sure, control wasn't as good as it could've been, but that's common with far too many games on consoles, especially 1st person shooters and 3rd person games that aren't platformers, like this one. As always, a few measly lines of code is all it would take for proper mouse & keyboard support...grumble. Gameplay most certainly was repetetive, but I consider this to be an irrelevant complaint for the most part. Video games are, by their nature, repetetive. This one's a little more so since you won't be riding a pterodactyl in one level, then driving an Aston Martin in another as you would in your average Turok/James Bond hybrid. Seriously though, most complaints levied at Ghosthunter in regard to doing the same thing over & over are likely due to many reviewers not finding enough good puzzles breaking up the action. Fair enough, it's not much of a thinking man's game. Neither was The Suffering, and I liked this one better. I'd give it an 8.8. Expand
  5. GrahamM.
    Sep 10, 2004
    10
    I cant find a single thing wrong with Namco's "Ghosthunter" on the PS2. Ghosthunter delivers a slick piece of polished work complete with film-quality visuals, a creepy atmosphere, and some rockingly good Ghostbusting (did I say that? I meant GhostHUNTING) action! My only complaint so far is that Ghosthunter is EASY. And boy, do I mean EASY. I havent died ONCE, and I've played I cant find a single thing wrong with Namco's "Ghosthunter" on the PS2. Ghosthunter delivers a slick piece of polished work complete with film-quality visuals, a creepy atmosphere, and some rockingly good Ghostbusting (did I say that? I meant GhostHUNTING) action! My only complaint so far is that Ghosthunter is EASY. And boy, do I mean EASY. I havent died ONCE, and I've played the game for days. But apparently it gets a great deal more difficult, and It's decently long, so I'm drooling in anticipation. Well, gotta go obsess some more. 'Till next time!!! Expand
  6. Dan
    Aug 16, 2004
    8
    I'm just over three quarters of the way through this one and i am not disappointed. Admittedly i picked this one up in a summer sale for only three pounds (stupidly cheap). I was put off buying it on its release by the reviews that the game received on its release in the UK - the critics were very scathing. Imagine my delight when I discovered that contrary to what some critics lead I'm just over three quarters of the way through this one and i am not disappointed. Admittedly i picked this one up in a summer sale for only three pounds (stupidly cheap). I was put off buying it on its release by the reviews that the game received on its release in the UK - the critics were very scathing. Imagine my delight when I discovered that contrary to what some critics lead me to believe, the game is fun. Most of the criticism focused on the character control which can be unforgiving. However, it does not detract from the enjoyment of the game. I personally did not find the control mechanics frustrating and by no means did the game deserve the hammering it received from magazines like Edge. Which brings me on to what the game does offer the discerning gamer... The environments are beautifully realised and it is clear that the programmers have toiled exceptionally hard to create some quite superb effects. I loved the mansion level which has some wonderful moments and some genuinely eerie scenery. There are some ingenious spectres in the game, my personal favourite being a hideously distorted teddy bear and the game never fails to deliver some wonderful visual feats. There is even the opportunity to study the ghosts that you capture in the game which are housed in an enormous tank. The music and voice acting add further substance to the game which as i have tried to establish, has a wonderfully cinematic feel. I unreservedly recommend this game especially to fans of survival horror and action games. In spite of the flaws that critics mention, the game rewards the player through its rich and lavish environments and imaginative character design. Parts of the game will have you genuinely marvelling at the detail, they may even scare you! There are hours of game play here and you certainly get your money's worth (especially me!). If you get stuck, I recommend the excellent walkthrough provided on gamefaqs.com (The one by RaccoonCityPD), it certainly helped me in places. So...Don't be put off by those bad reviews and have a go! Expand
  7. BenN.
    Feb 5, 2004
    9
    Wots with the poor ratin this game is wicked, the detail of it is amazin, an itz propa good long lastin game, u gota buy this 1.
  8. MassimoP.
    Jan 7, 2004
    9
    One of the best ps2 games i have ever played.
  9. LukeP.
    Dec 13, 2003
    10
    Believe me. This is one of the best PS2 game ever. I don't understand why it had a poor score. My friend thinks this is a great game too. Superlative graphics, great sound, great atmosphere.
  10. Luca
    Dec 13, 2003
    10
    It's one of the best games i played in the early years.
  11. ZiweiT.
    Dec 9, 2003
    7
    Great game! Although much can be improved it still great for the graphic and sounds, good work!!!!!
  12. Jan 16, 2013
    7
    There was allot of hype prior to this game's release. A real shame that it didn't fully live up to it. But I will say the game is still extremely good none the less. Just a real shame that it isn't what it could be. The first few levels are really done well and the level design is superbly detailed. Camera can be extremely irritating at times, particularly in the enclosed areas. So manyThere was allot of hype prior to this game's release. A real shame that it didn't fully live up to it. But I will say the game is still extremely good none the less. Just a real shame that it isn't what it could be. The first few levels are really done well and the level design is superbly detailed. Camera can be extremely irritating at times, particularly in the enclosed areas. So many good and unique idea are introduced but just barely implemented. The last few levels do feel like they were rushed and I got the distinct impression that the developers were pushed into releasing a game that wasn't fully complete. Ghost texturing is a bit poorly done at some points. Overall: It is a REALLY good game that really feels like it is the BETA version of the game. As if they still needed to polish it off and a few more things. Collapse

Awards & Rankings

77
#77 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2004
46
#46 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2004
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 44
  2. Negative: 2 out of 44
  1. 60
    We walked away from this one wishing that there had been a lot more gameplay to complement the cool graphics and atmosphere.
  2. As far as gameplay is concerned, Ghosthunter is obviously flawed (although it's by no means unplayable). However, as an experience, Ghosthunter is quite accomplished – it does a great job of developing its characters and it's genuinely spooky on more than one occasion.
  3. When not having "almost fun" by busting ghosts (see boxout) we're left wondering what the game wants. Gallons of paint and polish can't disguise the fact that the heart of Ghosthunter is very old.