Ghosthunter PlayStation 2

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Ghosthunter Image
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 22 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Following the adventures of Lazarus Jones on his first day on the Detroit Police Force, Ghosthunter sees the plucky rookie called in to investigate a disturbance in an old abandoned school, the scene of a grisly (and ultimately unsolved) mass-murder. Heading out with his senior partner AnnaFollowing the adventures of Lazarus Jones on his first day on the Detroit Police Force, Ghosthunter sees the plucky rookie called in to investigate a disturbance in an old abandoned school, the scene of a grisly (and ultimately unsolved) mass-murder. Heading out with his senior partner Anna Steele, Lazarus sets off on what he believes is a routine call but, in the true spirit of survival horror, it's not long before the crime-bothering duo are knee-deep in ectoplasm. After much bickering between the pair, Jones somehow inadvertently sets free a horde of ghosts contained in the school's secret paranormal research lab. An errant apparition materialises, grabs Anna, and drags her away with him to a dark, eerie place (the school canteen, perhaps?). One of the wayward spooks (Astral) also manages to 'bond' with Jones, giving him the gift of supernatural sight, allowing him to see dead people. Nice. Picking up the reins as Laz, you'll start out in search of Anna, and attempt to figure out the mysteries buried deep in the school's past along the way... [SCEE] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 44
  2. Negative: 2 out of 44
  1. Cheat Code Central
    90
    The gameplay can become a bit a redundant and you won't find much for replay value but Ghosthunter is certainly one of the best rental choices of the year.
  2. 84
    Workable but straightforward action marred only by some annoying puzzles isn't a bad thing. When you take that, combine it with likable characters, an interesting and ridiculous plotline, and some of the best visuals around, you get something that's great.
  3. Through its impressive graphics engine, excellent use of voice talent, and well-told storyline, Ghosthunter is a game that should absolutely be played by anyone who enjoys a good, creepy action romp.
  4. Most of its challenge comes from scenarios that don't require you to have mastered its individual rules and quirks, but which exploit large and obvious holes in the controls.
  5. The most painful and obvious flaw is the camera. It hangs up on walls, drifts inside your character, and is otherwise difficult to handle. [Sept 2004, p.109]
  6. While it looks beautiful, and often immerses the player in a very effective way, some of the repetitive fighting sections really undermine the considerable work that has obviously gone into this game. I only wish that the controls had been tightened enough to create a more functional game.
  7. Regardless of the strong visuals and design, Ghosthunter only feels like a half-hearted attempt, and a flawed one at that.

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. JoshP.
    Nov 27, 2007
    10
    Great Game fun and scary with surprises. Don't let the so-called professionals discourage you at looking at this great game.
  2. LukeP.
    Dec 13, 2003
    10
    Believe me. This is one of the best PS2 game ever. I don't understand why it had a poor score. My friend thinks this is a great game Believe me. This is one of the best PS2 game ever. I don't understand why it had a poor score. My friend thinks this is a great game too. Superlative graphics, great sound, great atmosphere. Expand
  3. GrahamM.
    Sep 10, 2004
    10
    I cant find a single thing wrong with Namco's "Ghosthunter" on the PS2. Ghosthunter delivers a slick piece of polished work complete I cant find a single thing wrong with Namco's "Ghosthunter" on the PS2. Ghosthunter delivers a slick piece of polished work complete with film-quality visuals, a creepy atmosphere, and some rockingly good Ghostbusting (did I say that? I meant GhostHUNTING) action! My only complaint so far is that Ghosthunter is EASY. And boy, do I mean EASY. I havent died ONCE, and I've played the game for days. But apparently it gets a great deal more difficult, and It's decently long, so I'm drooling in anticipation. Well, gotta go obsess some more. 'Till next time!!! Expand
  4. MassimoP.
    Jan 7, 2004
    9
    One of the best ps2 games i have ever played.
  5. Mike
    Oct 3, 2006
    9
    There's something unique and oddly appealing about the games that SCEE's Cambridge Studio creates. I felt both Ghosthunter and There's something unique and oddly appealing about the games that SCEE's Cambridge Studio creates. I felt both Ghosthunter and Primal were underappreciated. Their earlier games on the PS1 (MediEvil I & II) were at least well received. Anyway...Ghosthunter isn't meant to be a survival horror game, or frightening in the least as far as I could tell. Then again, games don't normally 'scare' me (Doom 3 might be the exception), and until someone creates a virtually real simulation of being audited by the IRS or something similar I don't expect that'll change. It's mostly run & gun action interspersed with competent, sometimes amusing/quirky story-progressing cinematic scenes. Much of what makes Ghosthunter special, and perhaps a little spooky, is the effective use of visuals to create a certain atmosphere and mood. The level set in the bayou in Louisiana was particularly memorable in this regard for me. This aspect isn't as easy to convey for 'professional' reviewers (and can be somewhat subjective) compared to the standard "gameplay, graphics and audio" routine. Though I didn't really find any of those areas lacking either. Sure, control wasn't as good as it could've been, but that's common with far too many games on consoles, especially 1st person shooters and 3rd person games that aren't platformers, like this one. As always, a few measly lines of code is all it would take for proper mouse & keyboard support...grumble. Gameplay most certainly was repetetive, but I consider this to be an irrelevant complaint for the most part. Video games are, by their nature, repetetive. This one's a little more so since you won't be riding a pterodactyl in one level, then driving an Aston Martin in another as you would in your average Turok/James Bond hybrid. Seriously though, most complaints levied at Ghosthunter in regard to doing the same thing over & over are likely due to many reviewers not finding enough good puzzles breaking up the action. Fair enough, it's not much of a thinking man's game. Neither was The Suffering, and I liked this one better. I'd give it an 8.8. Expand
  6. BenN.
    Feb 5, 2004
    9
    Wots with the poor ratin this game is wicked, the detail of it is amazin, an itz propa good long lastin game, u gota buy this 1.
  7. ZiweiT.
    Dec 9, 2003
    7
    Great game! Although much can be improved it still great for the graphic and sounds, good work!!!!!

See all 11 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#74 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2004
#87 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2004