Gitaroo Man PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Koei
  • Release Date: Feb 19, 2002
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
Buy On
  1. A refreshing sip of musical ambrosia.
  2. The music is really good, and the challenge is incredibly hard.
  3. Game Informer
    90
    The best rhythm game ever released. [Mar 2002, p.78]
  4. Quite simply, Gitaroo-Man lays the funk down on all competing musical games currently on the market with enough left over style to put a particular K9 back in the doghouse.
  5. 90
    Transcending PaRappa, this Japanese import combines innovative control with a hot soundtrack for a frustrating yet addictive experience.
  6. Koei's fresh burst of creativity is a relief from the other music games that just don't quite cut it.
  7. Arguably the most original and inventive rhythm game since the advent of "Dance Dance Revolution" or the original "Parappa the Rapper," and it's easily one of the best rhythm games for the PlayStation 2.
  8. 85
    It has a huge variety of rocking music, fascinating graphics, and an original gameplay system that manages to hold up surprisingly well in comparison to the monotonous rhythm competition.
  9. 85
    Overall it shows how a rhythm game should be made: it's weird, witty, and addictive.
  10. For the most part this is a fairly solid example of the genre, although positioning the cone can feel somewhat erratic thanks to the slightly jerky controls.
  11. Its easy-to-learn gameplay will hook you, and its attractive audiovisual package will reel you in.
  12. Play Magazine
    80
    The game system is very addictive, and the hilariously bizarre scenarios are wonderfully conceived and drawn, with each stage playing out like some futuristic rock opera from the fruity side of the Japanese aesthetic. [Mar 2002, p.43]
  13. 80
    While the graphics aren't especially mind-blowing, they complement the game's overall feel and make the unbelievable story that much more appealing.
  14. Next Generation Magazine
    80
    It's that eclectic mix of gameplay and personality that makes this a must-play. [Nov 2001, p.105]
  15. The sheer appeal and addictive quality of this title is unmistakable.
  16. It's meant for those players that can achieve a perfect rating in "Dance Dance Revolution" and are still hungry for more hand-eye coordinated punishment after working out a sweat.
  17. Gitaroo Man's key is that it truly makes you feel that you are producing the music with your actions and that is very satisfying.
  18. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    70
    As a game to pick up here and there just to jam through, Gitaroo couldn't rock any harder. [Feb 2002, p.107]
  19. PSM Magazine
    70
    A fun game for a while, offering players cool music a weird story, and intense gameplay. [Feb 2002, p.44]
  20. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    68
    A great combination of frantic, Japanese guitar rock and wacky anime-inspired action. [Feb 2002, p.148]
  21. The music alone will draw you back for a few repeat plays, just don’t expect it to last much longer than a single rental period.

Awards & Rankings

#77 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. EmilyK
    Oct 4, 2003
    10
    This game is too addicting for it's own good. intuitive and fresh gameplay, awesome soundtrack, great voice talent, and a quirky andThis game is too addicting for it's own good. intuitive and fresh gameplay, awesome soundtrack, great voice talent, and a quirky and entertaining story makes this game stand out above all other rhythm games released. Full Review »
  2. JohnY.
    Jan 29, 2005
    10
    This game just blows all others away. As classic as Parappa the Rapper was, Giratoo Man RULES!
  3. MattiasA.
    Oct 27, 2004
    10
    This game is one of the best games I've ever played, and I've played tons of games in my life. The music is so [Censor] good, and I This game is one of the best games I've ever played, and I've played tons of games in my life. The music is so [Censor] good, and I can't figure out how a game can be that good, please somebody tell me. Full Review »